DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. The application is the national stage entry of PCT/US2022/077259, which claims benefit to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/580,918, filed September 30, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on May 5, 2025 and August 15, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 11, 14-15, 19-23, 27, and 39-46 are under consideration in this office action.
Objection to the Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains four embedded hyperlinks and/or other forms of browser-executable code (see pg 12, 13, 25). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-2, 15, 19-23, 27, and 39-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
“[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.’” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
Claims 1, 15, 21-23, 27, 39-40, and 43-46 are drawn to a method for the treatment of osteogenesis imperfecta comprising administering an anti-sclerostin antibody. This antibody is only defined by function, what it binds.
Claims 2 and 42 are drawn to antibodies of amino acid sequences having at least 90% sequence identity with the antibody sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 70 and 81; by virtue of the percent identity language, this claim encompasses variants that do not require all three CDRs from a particular parental antibody. As such, the claims encompass a vast genus of antibodies comprising numerous modifications of the amino acid sequences of HCDR1-3 and LCDR1-3, which defined the antigen binding specificity of the antibody.
Claims 19-20 and 41 are included in the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), because even if one skilled in the art could envision the six CDRs that may be combined to arrive at an antigen-binding domain capable of binding sclerostin, absent empirical determination, one skilled in the art would be unable to envision which of said antigen-binding domains capable of binding sclerostin also meet the structural and functional limitations of claims 19-20 and 41.
As detailed below, applicant’s disclosure is not sufficient to demonstrate possession of the entire claimed genera, and as such, applicant’s disclosure does not satisfy the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Antibodies generally share certain characteristics such as Fc regions or hinge regions. However, these structures are not correlated with the binding function of the antibody. It is well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site generally requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three complementarity determining regions that provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. The amino acid sequences and conformations of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity, which is characteristic of the immunoglobulin. It is expected that all of the heavy and light chain CDRs in their proper order and in the context of framework sequences, which maintain their required conformation, are required in order to produce a protein having antigen-binding function and that proper association of heavy and light chain variable regions is required in order to form functional antigen binding sites (see Almagro et al, Section 3 “Antibody Structure and the Antigen Binding Site” and Figure 1; instant PTO-892).
The art recognizes that the CDRs define the binding properties of an antibody and that even single amino acid changes to this region can completely abrogate the binding specificity of an antibody. See for example Kussie (instant PTO-892), who demonstrates that a single amino acid change in the heavy chain of an antibody which binds p-azophenylarsonate (Ars) completely abrogates the ability of the antibody to bind Ars but adds the functionality of binding the structurally related p-azophenylsulfonate (see abstract).
Furthermore, even when provided with several related antibodies that bind the desired target, this does not represent the astronomical and potentially unknowable breadth of all possible amino acid sequences which will result in the desired binding properties. This is exemplified by the Court decision in Abbvie (Abbvie v Janssen 759 F.3d 1285 (Fed. Cir. 2014)), where Abbvie developed over 200 antibodies that shared 99.5% identity in the variable regions (pg 7) and which bound the target, but in no way allowed one to envisage the unique structure of Centocor’s antibodies which bound the same target but shared only 50% sequence similarity (see table on pg 11).
As another example, see Chen et al., 1995 (instant PTO-892), which demonstrates single amino acid changes in the VH CDR2 sequence can increase binding, decrease binding, destroy binding, or have no effect on binding when compared to the wild-type antibody. See also Koenig 2017 (instant PTO-892), which provides a large mutation analysis study where every amino acid in both variable regions are substituted with every other amino acid. Looking at figure 1 of Koenig, the bottom half of each section (labeled VEGF) relates to the ability of the mutant to bind the original target, with blue meaning a reduced affinity and black meaning a complete loss of binding ability. In VH-CDR2, for example, mutating any given residue to cysteine, resulted in reduced binding at 12 residues and a complete loss of binding at 5 residues. That is, at 100% of the positions, mutation to cysteine reduced or ablated the antibody’s ability to bind the target. Looking at a specific position, in 100% of the mutations of residue 55, binding was reduced (15/19) or eliminated (4/19). While residues 56-65 appear more tolerant of change, residues 50-55 are generally intolerant of change.
It is appreciated that Koenig is studying one specific antibody and there is no evidence that the instant antibodies would react in the same way. However, this is part of the problem. It is entirely unclear from the specification which residues of Applicant’s CDRs are tolerant or intolerant to change, and whether those tolerant positions are only tolerant to conservative mutations. The fact that some residues might tolerate mutation does not convey to the skilled artisan that Applicant knew which of the claimed residues were tolerant of such, i.e. does not convey that Applicant was in possession of those sequences that are mutated yet preserve the claimed function. The specification fails to convey possession of an invention commensurate in scope with what is now claimed and therefore fails to meet the written description requirement.
Looking at Koenig figure 2A, ~200 mutations in the CDR region of the VH chain completely abrogate any binding. While 2B appears to indicate that the CDRs of VL are more tolerant of change than the heavy chain CDRs, still over half of the mutations reduce binding compared to the parent. Thus, making changes to the CDR sequences of an antibody is a highly unpredictable process, and the skilled artisan could not a priori make any predictions regarding such mutations with any reasonable expectation of success nor envisage the breadth of structurally unrelated CDR combinations that would still possess the required functions. Without this guidance or direction the skilled artisan would not consider applicant to be in possession of the claimed genus of antibodies because the skilled artisan recognizes that even seemingly minor changes made without guidance or direction as to the relationship between the particular amino acid sequence of the instantly claimed antibody and its ability to bind antigen, can dramatically affect antigen-antibody binding.
As specificity of an antibody stems from the interaction of six CDRs, sufficient information must be provided to show that the inventor had possession of the invention as claimed. MPEP §2163(II)(A)(3)(a) also discusses Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 927, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1894-95 (Fed. Cir. 2004), where a method of using a PGHS-2 inhibitor did not meet the written description as the inhibitor itself was not sufficiently described, clearly indicating that written description of the compound is still required in a method of using that compound. Thus, the prior art cannot provide sufficient written description of this genus of compounds and the specification as filed does not sufficiently describe the genus either as there is an unknown amount of structurally distinct antibodies in this genus (see Amgen and Centocor decisions discussed above).
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
In the instant case, the specification provides insufficient direction or guidance concerning the relationship between the structure of the possible antibody to demonstrate possession of the breadth of the genus of anti-sclerostin antibodies encompassed by the instant claims, especially in view of the unpredictability of such an endeavor.
According to the specification, the applicant has disclosed at least three species of anti-sclerostin antibodies that comprise specific combinations of the claimed HCDR1-3 and LCDR1-3 amino acid sequences. Although applicant has disclosed numerous species within said genus of sclerostin antibodies, the specification does not provide adequate written description for the entire claimed genus, because one skilled in the art would be unable to immediately envision, recognize, or distinguish most of the members comprised within the genus claimed, specifically which six CDR amino acids sequences from the recited CDRs should be combined to yield an antigen-binding region that is capable of binding sclerostin.
There is no way to determine if these antibodies represent the full breadth of what is claimed. The disclosure of these specific antibodies would not convey to the artisan that applicant was in possession of the full genus of all antibodies which possess the required function nor does it allow the skilled artisan to envisage the specific structure of such antibodies.
To provide adequate written description and evidence of possession of the claimed genus, the specification must provide sufficient distinguishing identifying characteristics of the genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics, structure/function correlation, methods of making the claimed product, or any combination thereof. The specification does not provide a consistent structure for all of the possible antibodies and fails to provide a representative number of species for the claimed genus. Accordingly, in the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus.
Satisfactory disclosure of a "representative number" depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the applicant was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features of the elements possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only three species within the genus.
For claims drawn to a genus, a generic statement that defines a genus of substances by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. Reagents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (CAFC 1997). The recitation of a functional property alone, which must be shared by the members of the genus, is merely descriptive of what the members of the genus must be capable of doing, not of the substance and structure of the members. The Federal Circuit has cautioned that, for claims reciting a genus of antibodies with particular functional properties (e.g., high affinity, neutralization activity, competing with a reference antibody for binding), “[c]laiming antibodies with specific properties, e.g., an antibody that binds to human TNF-α with A2 specificity, can result in a claim that does not meet written description even if the human TNF-α protein is disclosed because antibodies with those properties have not been adequately described." Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 97 USPQ2d 1870, 1875, 1877-78 (Fed. Cir. 2011). An antibody described only by functional characteristic, such as antibody that binds sclerostin, without any known or disclosed correlation between that function and the structure of the sequence, is not a sufficient identifying characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the biomolecule of interest. In re Bell, 991 F.2d 781, 26 U.S.P.Q.2d 1529 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In re Deuel, 51 F.3d 1552, 34 U.S.P.Q.2d 1210 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Except for specifically disclosed antibodies with specific CDRs, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of all of the encompassed antibodies, and therefore conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating it. The product itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481 at 1483. In Fiddes, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found to be unpatentable due to lack of written description for that broad class. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Therefore, claims 1-2, 15, 19-23, 27, and 39-46 do not meet the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11, 14-15, 19-23, 27, and 39-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20200123242, published April 23, 2020 (“Junker”; see instant PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1 and 27, Junker teaches a method for the successful treatment of human patients with osteogenesis imperfecta (OI), the method comprising administration of an anti-sclerostin antibody [0007]. Junker also teaches a method for reducing fracture in patients with OI [0087], which reads on instant claim 42. The dose of Junker is 18-22 mg kg [0103], which reads on instant claims 1 and 43
Junker teaches the method for patients with type I, III, and IV, as detected by mutations in COL1A1/COL1A2 [0174], as in the patients of claims 21-22. The method of Junker includes adult patients, aged 18 and above, and pediatric patients, aged 0-17 [0175], as in claims 23 and 39-40.
Junker teaches an anti-sclerostin antibody comprising VH of SEQ ID NO: 70 and VL of SEQ ID NO: 81, which is identical to the antibody of instant claims 2-3 and 42 (same SEQ ID NOs).
As evidenced by US 20210198350, published July 1, 2021 (“Hesse”; instant PTO-892), the anti-sclerostin antibody setrusumab is comprised of VH/VL pair of SEQ ID NOs: 8/9 [0026], which is identical to the instant VH/VL pair of SEQ ID NOs: 70/81 of claims 2-3. As disclosed in the specification, setrusumab is comprised of heavy chain/light chain pair of SEQ ID NOs: 114/125 [0115], which are comprised of the same heavy chain/light chain pair of SEQ ID NOs: 10/11 as taught by Hesse [0026]. Junker anticipates the antibody setrusumab of instant claim 11.
The antibody dose of Junker can be administered once a month [0105] with 2-20 doses [0105], which reads on the monthly administration for at least 18 consecutive months of instant claim 14. Also, the antibody dose of Junker can be administered monthly for 2 or more years [0158], which reads on the monthly administration for at least 24 consecutive months of instant claim 15.
While Junker is silent regarding the method increases trabecular BMD or BMD of lumbar spine after 12 months of treatment of claims 19-20 and reduces the risk of bone fracture associated with OI of claim 41, it is clear that the same method of Junker would have the same characteristics and effects as the instantly claimed method since there is no evidence to the contrary. Note that rejections for anticipation are appropriate when the prior art discloses a method (or product) that appears to be identical except that the art is silent as to an inherent property; see MPEP § 2112(III). In such situations, the burden is on applicant to provide evidence that the prior art product (or method) is not the same.
In claims 27, 42, and 44, the method comprises administering a first dosage monthly during an initial period of 12 months or more followed by regular dosing at a maintenance dosage. Because the specification states that maintenance dosing “is administered regularly for a period of at least 2 months” [0097], where the dose may be the same amount administered during the initial dosing period [0096], the dosing regimen of Junker comprising monthly administration for up to 2 years also reads on instant claims 27, 42, and 45-46.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 11, 14-15, 19-23, 27, and 39-46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim6578 of U.S. Patent No. 12,173,058. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to the same anti-sclerostin antibody (same SEQ ID NOs) in a method of treating the same disease at the same dose and dose intervals.
Claim 1 of ‘058 teaches a dose of anti-sclerostin antibody of 15-25 mg for the treatment of OI in a human patient, wherein the patients has type I, III, or IV OI with one or more mutations in COL1A1 and or COL1A2 genes, as in instant claims 1-3, 11, 21-22, 27, 42. Claims 7-8 of ‘058 are drawn to pediatric and adult patients, respectively, as in instant claims 23 and 39-40. Further limitations of instant claims 14-15, 27, and 42-46 drawn to dose and dose intervals would have been obvious over claims 1 and 3 of ‘058 because the dose amount and interval are recognized as result-effective variables, and, absent evidence to the contrary, identification of the claimed doses and dosing intervals could be readily determined by routine optimization via methods known in the art.
While ‘058 is silent regarding the method increases trabecular BMD or BMD of lumbar spine after 12 months of treatment of claims 19-20 and reduces the risk of bone fracture associated with OI of claim 41, it is clear that the same method of ‘058 would have the same characteristics and effects as the instantly claimed method since there is no evidence to the contrary. Note that rejections for anticipation are appropriate when the prior art discloses a method (or product) that appears to be identical except that the art is silent as to an inherent property; see MPEP § 2112(III). In such situations, the burden is on applicant to provide evidence that the prior art product (or method) is not the same.
Claims 1-3, 11, 14-15, 19-23, 27, and 39-46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,961,305. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to the same anti-sclerostin antibody (same SEQ ID NOs) in a method of treating the same disease at the same dose and dose intervals.
Claims 1, 6-8, 10-14, and 16-17 of ‘305 teach a dose of anti-sclerostin antibody of 8-25 mg and dosing interval of monthly, bimonthly, or quarterly for the treatment of OI in a human patient, wherein the patients has type I, III, or IV OI with one or more mutations in COL1A1 and or COL1A2 genes, as in instant claims 1-3, 11, 21-22, 27, and 42. Further limitations of instant claims 14-15, 27, and 42-46 drawn dose intervals and amounts would have been obvious over the ‘305 claims because dose amount and interval are recognized as result-effective variables, and, absent evidence to the contrary, identification of the claimed doses and dosing intervals could be readily determined by routine optimization via methods known in the art.
While ‘305 is silent regarding the method increases trabecular BMD or BMD of lumbar spine after 12 months of treatment of claims 19-20 and reduces the risk of bone fracture associated with OI of claim 41, it is clear that the same method of ‘305 would have the same characteristics and effects as the instantly claimed method since there is no evidence to the contrary. Note that rejections for anticipation are appropriate when the prior art discloses a method (or product) that appears to be identical except that the art is silent as to an inherent property; see MPEP § 2112(III). In such situations, the burden is on applicant to provide evidence that the prior art product (or method) is not the same.
Claims 1-3, 11, 14-15, 19-23, 27, and 39-46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 26-41 of copending Application No. 18/935,369 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to the same anti-sclerostin antibody (same SEQ ID NOs) in a method of treating the same disease at the same dose and dose intervals.
Claims 26 and 37-41 of ‘369 teach a dose of anti-sclerostin antibody of 20 mg and dosing interval of 4 weeks for the treatment of OI in a human patient, wherein the patients has type I, III, or IV OI with one or more mutations in COL1A1 and or COL1A2 genes, as in instant claims 1-3, 11, 21-22, 27, and 42. Claims 35-36 of ‘369 are drawn to pediatric and adult patients, respectively, as in instant claims 23 and 39-40. Further limitations of instant claims 14-15, 27, and 42-46 drawn to dose and dose intervals would have been obvious over claims 26 of ‘369 because the dose amount and interval are recognized as result-effective variables, and, absent evidence to the contrary, identification of the claimed doses and dosing intervals could be readily determined by routine optimization via methods known in the art. Claims 26 and 28-33 of ‘369 teach that the method reduces the risk of bone fracture, as in instant claim 41.
While ‘369 is silent regarding the method increases trabecular BMD or BMD of lumbar spine after 12 months of treatment of claims 19-20, it is clear that the same method of ‘369 would have the same characteristics and effects as the instantly claimed method since there is no evidence to the contrary. Note that rejections for anticipation are appropriate when the prior art discloses a method (or product) that appears to be identical except that the art is silent as to an inherent property; see MPEP § 2112(III). In such situations, the burden is on applicant to provide evidence that the prior art product (or method) is not the same.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-3, 11, 14-15, 19-23, 27, and 39-46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/669,337 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to the same anti-sclerostin antibody (same SEQ ID NOs) in a method of treating the same disease at the same dose and dose intervals. Claims 1-3 and 9-13 of ‘337 teach a dose of anti-sclerostin antibody of 10-5000 mg and dosing interval from daily to quarterly for the treatment of OI in a human patient, wherein the patients has type I, III, or IV OI with one or more mutations in COL1A1 and or COL1A2 genes, as in instant claims 1-3, 11, 21-22, 27, and 42. Further limitations of instant claims 14-15, 27, and 42-46 drawn to dose and dose intervals would have been obvious over claims 9-13 of ‘337 because dose amount and interval are recognized as result-effective variables, and, absent evidence to the contrary, identification of the claimed doses and dosing intervals could be readily determined by routine optimization via methods known in the art.
While ‘337 is silent regarding the method increases trabecular BMD or BMD of lumbar spine after 12 months of treatment of claims 19-20 and reduces the risk of bone fracture associated with OI of claim 41, it is clear that the same method of ‘337 would have the same characteristics and effects as the instantly claimed method since there is no evidence to the contrary. Note that rejections for anticipation are appropriate when the prior art discloses a method (or product) that appears to be identical except that the art is silent as to an inherent property; see MPEP § 2112(III). In such situations, the burden is on applicant to provide evidence that the prior art product (or method) is not the same.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Jennifer Benavides
Examiner
Art Unit 1675
/JENNIFER A BENAVIDES/Examiner, Art Unit 1675