DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on November 26, 2024, claims 1-14 have been examined this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 3/28/2024 has been acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishigami (US 2020/0103515 A1) in view of Wu et al (US20220276338A1) and Hakobyan (US 2020/0182991 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kishigami teaches a speed detection apparatus, comprising [0083]:
a transmission antenna array that transmits a plurality of chirp signals multiplexed between a plurality of transmission antennas [0082 for time division multiplexing of MIMO transmission antennas];
a reception antenna array that includes a plurality of reception antennas receiving the plurality of chirp signals that has been reflected [0082 for time division multiplexing of MIMO receiving antennas];
a chirp control unit that controls the plurality of chirp signals transmitted from the plurality of transmission antennas such that when the plurality of chirp signals multiplexed between the plurality of transmission antennas is separated for each of the plurality of transmission antennas [003 and 0106 for outputting transmission cycle signals in respective periods].
Kishigami fails to explicitly teach intervals TB between the plurality of chirp signals from the same transmission antenna are equal and intervals Tc between the plurality of chirp signals from different transmission antennas are unequal.
Wu has disclosure are directed toward apparatuses and/or methods involving the communication of radar signals (abstract) and teaches intervals TB between the plurality of chirp signals from the same transmission antenna are equal and intervals Tc between the plurality of chirp signals from different transmission antennas are unequal [0037 for multiple values of CIT that differ from each other].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the multiplexed transmission techniques, as disclosed by Kishigami, further including the chirp interval calculations as taught by Wu for the purpose to construct three sets of hypotheses for testing potential phase correction values (Wu, 0039).
Kishigami fails to explicitly teach and a speed determination unit that calculates, on a basis of the plurality of reflected chirp signals received by the plurality of reception antennas, M speed candidates faster than a maximum speed Vmax obtained from the intervals TB, acquires M arrival angle spectra by performing phase error correction and arrival angle estimation on the M speed candidates, and determines a true speed by processing the M arrival angle spectra, M representing a natural number of one or greater.
Hakobyan has a method for a MIMO radar system includes encoding signals that are transmitted from different transmitting antennas (abstract) and teaches a speed determination unit that calculates, on a basis of the plurality of reflected chirp signals received by the plurality of reception antennas, M speed candidates faster than a maximum speed Vmax obtained from the intervals TB [0057 for actual speed can differ by integer multiples of vu and corresponding values],
acquires M arrival angle spectra by performing phase error correction and arrival angle estimation on the M speed candidates [0059-0061 for using Doppler compensation and Doppler shifts],
and determines a true speed by processing the M arrival angle spectra, M representing a natural number of one or greater [0063 for selecting results of angle estimations by quality based on peak values].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the multiplexed transmission techniques, as disclosed by Kishigami, further including the arrival angle calculations as taught by Hakobyan for the purpose to improve the detection (Hakobyan, 0056).
Regarding Claim 2, Kishigami fails to explicitly teach the chirp control unit multiplexes the plurality of chirp signals between the plurality of transmission antennas such that TcL / TB > 1 / N is satisfied, TcL representing the longest interval of the intervals Tc between the plurality of chirp signals from the different transmission antennas.
Wu has disclosure are directed toward apparatuses and/or methods involving the communication of radar signals (abstract) and teaches the chirp control unit multiplexes the plurality of chirp signals between the plurality of transmission antennas such that TcL / TB > 1 / N is satisfied, TcL representing the longest interval of the intervals Tc between the plurality of chirp signals from the different transmission antennas [0026 for using the sum of CIT between each chirp based on PRI values, and 0037 for multiple values of CIT that differ from each other].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the multiplexed transmission techniques, as disclosed by Kishigami, further including the chirp interval calculations as taught by Wu for the purpose to construct three sets of hypotheses for testing potential phase correction values (Wu, 0039).
Regarding Claim 3, Kishigami teaches the chirp control unit multiplexes the plurality of chirp signals between the plurality of transmission antennas in time division [0082 for time division multiplexing in which a transmission time is shifted for each transmission antenna and a signal is transmitted].
Regarding Claim 4, Kishigami fails to explicitly teach the chirp control unit multiplexes the plurality of chirp signals between the plurality of transmission antennas in phase division.
Hakobyan has a method for a MIMO radar system includes encoding signals that are transmitted from different transmitting antennas (abstract) and teaches the chirp control unit multiplexes the plurality of chirp signals between the plurality of transmission antennas in phase division [0012-0014 for using phase modulation and amplitude modulation for the individual transmission antennas].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the multiplexed transmission techniques, as disclosed by Kishigami, further including the arrival angle calculations as taught by Hakobyan for the purpose to process multiple ambiguity hypotheses (Hakobyan, 0012).
Regarding Claim 5, Kishigami teaches the transmission antenna array and the reception antenna array constitute a horizontal MIMO array [0710 for having antennas in the horizontal and vertical directions for field of view and 0712 for multiple transmit and receive antennas in an array].
Regarding Claim 6, Kishigami teaches the transmission antenna array and the reception antenna array constitute a vertical MIMO array [0178 for using dH, and 0710 for having antennas in the horizontal and vertical directions for field of view].
Regarding Claim 7, Kishigami teaches the vertical MIMO array is a vertical MIMO array with equal intervals [0178 and 0710].
Regarding Claim 8, Kishigami teaches the speed determination unit performs arrival angle estimation by fast Fourier transform (FFT) or discrete Fourier transform (DFT) [0182 for using FFT].
Regarding Claim 9, Kishigami teaches the speed determination unit performs arrival angle estimation by CAPON, MUSIC, ESPRIT, or compression sensing [0177].
Regarding Claim 10, Kishigami fails to explicitly teach the speed determination unit calculates M speed candidates from a plurality of possible speed candidates that can be taken in a speed width 2 x Vmax x Nwrap obtained by Nwrap (Nwrap > N) and Vmax, Nwrap x (TcL / TB) being an integer multiple, M being larger than N, Nwrap being the number of speed wraps.
Wu has disclosure are directed toward apparatuses and/or methods involving the communication of radar signals (abstract) and teaches the speed determination unit calculates M speed candidates from a plurality of possible speed candidates that can be taken in a speed width 2 x Vmax x Nwrap obtained by Nwrap (Nwrap > N) and Vmax, Nwrap x (TcL / TB) being an integer multiple, M being larger than N, Nwrap being the number of speed wraps [0042 for using CIT and PRI values with coarse ambiguity in integer multiples].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the multiplexed transmission techniques, as disclosed by Kishigami, further including the chirp interval calculations as taught by Wu for the purpose to construct three sets of hypotheses for testing potential phase correction values (Wu, 0039).
Regarding Claim 11, Kishigami fails to explicitly teach the speed determination unit selects and determines a speed at which a main lobe takes a maximum value, of the M arrival angle spectra, from the M speed candidates.
Hakobyan has a method for a MIMO radar system includes encoding signals that are transmitted from different transmitting antennas (abstract) and teaches the speed determination unit selects and determines a speed at which a main lobe takes a maximum value, of the M arrival angle spectra, from the M speed candidates [0061 for using an angle spectrum in which the height of a peak corresponds to the angle and 0063 for the angle estimation having the highest quality].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the multiplexed transmission techniques, as disclosed by Kishigami, further including the arrival angle calculations as taught by Hakobyan for the purpose to improve the detection (Hakobyan, 0056).
Regarding Claim 12, Kishigami fails to explicitly teach the speed determination unit selects and determines a speed at which a ratio between a main lobe and a side lobe takes a maximum value, of the M arrival angle spectra, from the M speed candidates.
Wu has disclosure are directed toward apparatuses and/or methods involving the communication of radar signals (abstract) and teaches the speed determination unit selects and determines a speed at which a ratio between a main lobe and a side lobe takes a maximum value, of the M arrival angle spectra, from the M speed candidates [0028].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the multiplexed transmission techniques, as disclosed by Kishigami, further including the chirp interval calculations as taught by Wu for the purpose to construct three sets of hypotheses for testing potential phase correction values (Wu, 0039).
Regarding Claim 13, Kishigami teaches an information processing device, comprising:
a chirp control unit that controls a plurality of chirp signals transmitted from a plurality of transmission antennas [0103 for using controllers for transmission signals and 0106]
such that when the plurality of chirp signals multiplexed between the plurality of transmission antennas is separated for each of the plurality of transmission antennas [0082 for time division multiplexing of MIMO transmission antennas].
Kishigami fails to explicitly teach intervals TB between the plurality of chirp signals from the same transmission antenna are equal and intervals Tc between the plurality of chirp signals from different transmission antennas are unequal.
Wu has disclosure are directed toward apparatuses and/or methods involving the communication of radar signals (abstract) and teaches intervals TB between the plurality of chirp signals from the same transmission antenna are equal and intervals Tc between the plurality of chirp signals from different transmission antennas are unequal [0037 for multiple values of CIT that differ from each other].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the multiplexed transmission techniques, as disclosed by Kishigami, further including the chirp interval calculations as taught by Wu for the purpose to construct three sets of hypotheses for testing potential phase correction values (Wu, 0039).
Kishigami fails to explicitly teach and a speed determination unit that calculates, on a basis of the plurality of reflected chirp signals received by a plurality of reception antennas, M speed candidates faster than a maximum speed Vmax obtained from the intervals TB, acquires M arrival angle spectra by performing phase error correction and arrival angle estimation on the M speed candidates, and determines a true speed by processing the M arrival angle spectra, M representing a natural number of one or greater.
Hakobyan has a method for a MIMO radar system includes encoding signals that are transmitted from different transmitting antennas (abstract) and teaches and a speed determination unit that calculates, on a basis of the plurality of reflected chirp signals received by a plurality of reception antennas, M speed candidates faster than a maximum speed Vmax obtained from the intervals TB [0057 for actual speed can differ by integer multiples of vu and corresponding values],
acquires M arrival angle spectra by performing phase error correction and arrival angle estimation on the M speed candidates [0059-0061 for using Doppler compensation and Doppler shifts],
and determines a true speed by processing the M arrival angle spectra, M representing a natural number of one or greater [0063 for selecting results of angle estimations by quality based on peak values].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the multiplexed transmission techniques, as disclosed by Kishigami, further including the arrival angle calculations as taught by Hakobyan for the purpose to improve the detection (Hakobyan, 0056).
Regarding Claim 14, Kishigami teaches an information processing method, comprising [0082 and 0103-0106 for using controllers for transmission signals]:
controlling, in a speed detection apparatus that includes a transmission antenna array that transmits a plurality of chirp signals multiplexed between a plurality of transmission antennas [0082 for time division multiplexing of MIMO transmission antennas],
and a reception antenna array that includes a plurality of reception antennas receiving the plurality of chirp signals that has been reflected [0082 for time division multiplexing of MIMO receiving antennas]
the plurality of chirp signals transmitted from the plurality of transmission antennas such that when the plurality of chirp signals multiplexed between the plurality of transmission antennas is separated for each of the plurality of transmission antennas [0106 for outputting transmission cycle signals in respective periods].
Kishigami fails to explicitly teach intervals TB between the plurality of chirp signals from the same transmission antenna are equal and intervals Tc between the plurality of chirp signals from different transmission antennas are unequal.
Wu has disclosure are directed toward apparatuses and/or methods involving the communication of radar signals (abstract) and teaches intervals TB between the plurality of chirp signals from the same transmission antenna are equal and intervals Tc between the plurality of chirp signals from different transmission antennas are unequal [0037 for multiple values of CIT that differ from each other].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the multiplexed transmission techniques, as disclosed by Kishigami, further including the chirp interval calculations as taught by Wu for the purpose to construct three sets of hypotheses for testing potential phase correction values (Wu, 0039).
Kishigami fails to explicitly teach calculating, on a basis of the plurality of reflected chirp signals received by the plurality of reception antennas, M speed candidates faster than a 74 maximum speed Vmax obtained from the intervals TB; acquiring M arrival angle spectra by performing phase error correction and arrival angle estimation on the M speed candidates; and determining a true speed by processing the M arrival angle spectra, M representing a natural number of one or greater.
Hakobyan has a method for a MIMO radar system includes encoding signals that are transmitted from different transmitting antennas (abstract) and teaches calculating, on a basis of the plurality of reflected chirp signals received by the plurality of reception antennas, M speed candidates faster than a 74 maximum speed Vmax obtained from the intervals TB [0057 for actual speed can differ by integer multiples of vu and corresponding values],
acquiring M arrival angle spectra by performing phase error correction and arrival angle estimation on the M speed candidates [0059-0061 for using Doppler compensation and Doppler shifts],
and determining a true speed by processing the M arrival angle spectra, M representing a natural number of one or greater [0063 for selecting results of angle estimations by quality based on peak values].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the multiplexed transmission techniques, as disclosed by Kishigami, further including the arrival angle calculations as taught by Hakobyan for the purpose to improve the detection (Hakobyan, 0056).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rao et al (US 2018/0011170 A1) has a method determines if a velocity of an object detected by a radar is greater than a maximum velocity by receiving on a plurality of receivers at least one frame of chirps transmitted by at least two transmitters and reflected off of the object.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648