CTNF 18/696,585 CTNF 85603 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) was/were submitted on 3/28/24 and 9/8/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 16, it is unclear what “the DCI transmission” in line 6 is referring to since there are two instances of a DCI transmission in claims 15-16. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 19-20, and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240357584 by Gao . Regarding claim 1, Gao teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (¶ 200, device 1200 can be considered as a further example implementation of the network device 110 and/or the terminal device 120; ¶ 38, a terminal device may also be referred to as a…user equipment (UE)), comprising: a memory (¶ 201, memory 1220); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (¶ 201, a memory 1220 coupled to the processor 1210; ¶ 202, The program 1230 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 1210, enable the device 1200 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure): receive a spatial division multiplexing configuration associated with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) having a first set of transmission layers corresponding to a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set and a second set of transmission layers corresponding to a second SRS resource set (¶ 88, the terminal device 120 may receive a downlink control information (DCI) from the network device 110, wherein the DCI may schedule a PUSCH transmission, and the DCI may include a first field and a second field. For example, the first field may indicate a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second field may indicate a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission; ¶ 92, a fourth field in the DCI; ¶ 93, determine the transmission scheme to be spatial domain multiplexing (SDM), based on a first value of the fourth field; ¶ 64, number of transmission layers; ¶ 90, the PUSCH transmission comprises a first number of layers and a second number of layers; ¶ 95, the first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission may be associated with the first SRS resource set, and the second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission may be associated with the second SRS resource set), wherein the first set of transmission layers comprises a first number of transmission layers and the second set of transmission layers comprises a second number of transmission layers (¶ 88, the first field may indicate a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second field may indicate a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission; ¶ 64); and transmit a PUSCH communication that includes the first set of transmission layers and the second set of transmission layers based at least in part on a port mapping that indicates a first association between a first subset of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports of a set of DMRS ports and the first set of transmission layers, and a second association between a second subset of DMRS ports of the set of DMRS ports and the second set of transmission layers (¶ 90, the terminal device 120 may transmit a PUSCH transmission to the network device 110…and the PUSCH transmission comprises a first number of layers and a second number of layers; ¶ 88, the first field may indicate a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second field may indicate a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission; ¶ 64; ¶ 92, terminal device 120 may determine one or more parameters for demodulation reference signal (DMRS) corresponding to the PUSCH transmission, based on the first field, the second field and a fourth field in the DCI, wherein the one or more parameters comprise at least one of: a number of ports for the DMRS; a set of indexes of the ports for the DMRS; a first number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the first number of layers; the first number of ports for the DMRS associated with the first field; a first set of indexes of the first number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the first number of layers; the first set of indexes of the first number of ports for the DMRS associated with the first field; a second number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the second number of layers; the second number of ports for the DMRS associated with the second field; a second set of indexes of the second number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the second number of layers; and the second set of indexes of the second number of ports for the DMRS associated with the second field; ¶ 111, a first value of the antenna ports field may indicate the DMRS ports to be {0, 1, 2}…a second value of the antenna ports field may indicate the DMRS ports to be {0, 2, 3}; ¶ 97, terminal device 120 may determine a power for the first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission based on a first set of parameters, and determine a power for the second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission based on a second set of parameters. For example, the first set of parameters and/or the second set of parameters may be configured via at least one of…DCI from the network device. Examiner correspond the first number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the first number of layers to the first subset of DMRS ports and the second number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the second number of layers to the second subset of DMRS ports), wherein each DMRS port in the set of DMRS ports has a different respective port number of a set of port numbers (¶ 92, a number of ports for the DMRS; a set of indexes of the ports for the DMRS; ¶ 110, DMRS ports are indicated as {0, 1, 2, 3}). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao’s teachings with Gao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for supporting SDM or FDM based PUSCH transmission in case of multi-TRP (Gao ¶ 3). Regarding claim 2, teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the first subset of DMRS ports comprises a first number of DMRS ports (Gao ¶ 92, a first number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the first number of layers…a first set of indexes of the first number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the first number of layers) and wherein the second subset of DMRS ports comprises a second number of DMRS ports (Gao ¶ 92, a second number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the second number of layers…a second set of indexes of the second number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the second number of layers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao’s teachings with Gao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for supporting SDM or FDM based PUSCH transmission in case of multi-TRP (Gao ¶ 3). Regarding claim 19, Gao teaches a base station for wireless communication (¶ 200, device 1200 can be considered as a further example implementation of the network device 110 and/or the terminal device 120; ¶ 37, The network device may refer to a base station (BS)), comprising: a memory (¶ 201, memory 1220); and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (¶ 201, a memory 1220 coupled to the processor 1210; ¶ 202, The program 1230 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 1210, enable the device 1200 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure): transmit a spatial division multiplexing configuration associated with a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) having a first set of transmission layers corresponding to a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set and a second set of transmission layers corresponding to a second SRS resource set (¶ 88, the terminal device 120 may receive a downlink control information (DCI) from the network device 110, wherein the DCI may schedule a PUSCH transmission, and the DCI may include a first field and a second field. For example, the first field may indicate a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second field may indicate a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission; ¶ 92, a fourth field in the DCI; ¶ 93, determine the transmission scheme to be spatial domain multiplexing (SDM), based on a first value of the fourth field; ¶ 64, number of transmission layers; ¶ 90, the PUSCH transmission comprises a first number of layers and a second number of layers; ¶ 95, the first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission may be associated with the first SRS resource set, and the second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission may be associated with the second SRS resource set), wherein the first set of transmission layers comprises a first number of transmission layers and the second set of transmission layers comprises a second number of transmission layers (¶ 88, the first field may indicate a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second field may indicate a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission; ¶ 64); and receive a PUSCH communication that includes the first set of transmission layers and the second set of transmission layers based at least in part on a port mapping that indicates a first association between a first subset of demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports of a set of DMRS ports and the first set of transmission layers, and a second association between a second subset of DMRS ports of the set of DMRS ports and the second set of transmission layers (¶ 90, the terminal device 120 may transmit a PUSCH transmission to the network device 110…and the PUSCH transmission comprises a first number of layers and a second number of layers; ¶ 88, the first field may indicate a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second field may indicate a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission; ¶ 64; ¶ 92, terminal device 120 may determine one or more parameters for demodulation reference signal (DMRS) corresponding to the PUSCH transmission, based on the first field, the second field and a fourth field in the DCI, wherein the one or more parameters comprise at least one of: a number of ports for the DMRS; a set of indexes of the ports for the DMRS; a first number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the first number of layers; the first number of ports for the DMRS associated with the first field; a first set of indexes of the first number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the first number of layers; the first set of indexes of the first number of ports for the DMRS associated with the first field; a second number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the second number of layers; the second number of ports for the DMRS associated with the second field; a second set of indexes of the second number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the second number of layers; and the second set of indexes of the second number of ports for the DMRS associated with the second field; ¶ 111, a first value of the antenna ports field may indicate the DMRS ports to be {0, 1, 2}…a second value of the antenna ports field may indicate the DMRS ports to be {0, 2, 3}; ¶ 97, terminal device 120 may determine a power for the first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission based on a first set of parameters, and determine a power for the second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission based on a second set of parameters. For example, the first set of parameters and/or the second set of parameters may be configured via at least one of…DCI from the network device. Examiner correspond the first number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the first number of layers to the first subset of DMRS ports and the second number of ports for the DMRS corresponding to the second number of layers to the second subset of DMRS ports), wherein each DMRS port in the set of DMRS ports has a different respective port number of a set of port numbers (¶ 92, a number of ports for the DMRS; a set of indexes of the ports for the DMRS; ¶ 110, DMRS ports are indicated as {0, 1, 2, 3}). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao’s teachings with Gao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for supporting SDM or FDM based PUSCH transmission in case of multi-TRP (Gao ¶ 3). Claim 20 recite similar limitations of claim 2 and is thus rejected under similar rationale. Claims 27-30 recite similar limitations of claims 1-2 and 19-20, respectively and are thus rejected under similar rationale . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-4 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of US 20230063015 by Muruganathan et al. (hereinafter Muruganathan) . Regarding claim 3, Gao teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the PUSCH communication, are configured to transmit the first set of transmission layers and the second set of transmission layers using non-codebook-based transmission (Gao ¶ 201-202; ¶ 90; ¶ 64, codebook based PUSCH transmission and/or non-codebook based PUSCH transmission are supported). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao’s teachings with Gao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for supporting SDM or FDM based PUSCH transmission in case of multi-TRP (Gao ¶ 3). Although Gao teaches the first number of DMRS ports, a first number of SRS resources in the first SRS resource set (Gao ¶ 95), the second number of DMRS ports, and a second number of SRS resources in the second SRS resource set (Gao ¶ 95) and that terms “antenna port”, “port” and “DMRS port” can be used interchangeably (Gao ¶ 41), Gao does not explicitly disclose wherein the first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of SRS resources in the first SRS resource set, and wherein the second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of SRS resources in the second SRS resource set. Muruganathan in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of SRS resources in a first SRS resource set, and a second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of SRS resources in a second SRS resource set (¶ 63, transmit a first set of layers of a PUSCH on antenna port(s) that correspond to one or more SRS resources indicated by the first SRI in the first SRS resource set and transmit a second set of layers of the PUSCH on antenna ports that correspond to one or more SRS resources indicated by the second SRI in the second SRS resource set). By modifying Gao’s teachings of the first number of DMRS ports, a first number of SRS resources in the first SRS resource set, the second number of DMRS ports, and a second number of SRS resources in the second SRS resource set with Muruganathan’s teachings of a first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of SRS resources in a first SRS resource set, and a second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of SRS resources in a second SRS resource set, the modification results in the first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of SRS resources in the first SRS resource set, and wherein the second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of SRS resources in the second SRS resource set. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao’s teachings with Muruganathan’s above teachings. The motivation is improving peak throughput and/or reliability of transmissions (Muruganathan ¶ 121). Known work in one field of endeavor (Muruganathan prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Gao prior art) based on design incentives (improving peak throughput and/or reliability of transmissions) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art. Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the UE of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (Gao ¶ 202) receive a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a first SRS resource indicator (SRI) field that indicates the first number of SRS resources and a second SRI field that indicates the second number of SRS resources (Gao ¶ 88, the terminal device 120 may receive a downlink control information (DCI) from the network device 110; ¶ 64, DCI…may comprise the first and second SRI fields corresponding to first and second SRS resource sets, respectively…first SRI field…used to indicate the number of SRS resources…The second SRI field may only indicate the number of SRS resources; ¶ 95, the first SRS resource set…the second SRS resource set; ¶ 47, the first and the second SRIs indicate a same number of SRS resources in the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set, respectively…the number of SRS resources indicated in the first SRI and the second SRI). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Gao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for supporting SDM or FDM based PUSCH transmission in case of multi-TRP (Gao ¶ 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Muruganathan’s teachings of a first SRS resource indicator (SRI) field that indicates a first number of SRS resources in a first SRS resource set and a second SRI field that indicates a second number of SRS resources in a second SRS resource set. The motivation is improving peak throughput and/or reliability of transmissions (Muruganathan ¶ 121). Regarding claim 21, Gao teaches the base station of claim 20, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the PUSCH communication, are configured to receive the first set of transmission layers and the second set of transmission layers using non-codebook-based transmission (Gao ¶ 201-202; ¶ 90; ¶ 64, codebook based PUSCH transmission and/or non-codebook based PUSCH transmission are supported). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao’s teachings with Gao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for supporting SDM or FDM based PUSCH transmission in case of multi-TRP (Gao ¶ 3). Although Gao teaches the first number of DMRS ports, a first number of SRS resources in the first SRS resource set (Gao ¶ 95), the second number of DMRS ports, and a second number of SRS resources in the second SRS resource set (Gao ¶ 95) and that terms “antenna port”, “port” and “DMRS port” can be used interchangeably (Gao ¶ 41), Gao does not explicitly disclose wherein the first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of SRS resources in the first SRS resource set, and wherein the second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of SRS resources in the second SRS resource set. Muruganathan in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of SRS resources in a first SRS resource set, and a second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of SRS resources in a second SRS resource set (¶ 63, transmit a first set of layers of a PUSCH on antenna port(s) that correspond to one or more SRS resources indicated by the first SRI in the first SRS resource set and transmit a second set of layers of the PUSCH on antenna ports that correspond to one or more SRS resources indicated by the second SRI in the second SRS resource set). By modifying Gao’s teachings of the first number of DMRS ports, a first number of SRS resources in the first SRS resource set, the second number of DMRS ports, and a second number of SRS resources in the second SRS resource set with Muruganathan’s teachings of a first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of SRS resources in a first SRS resource set, and a second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of SRS resources in a second SRS resource set, the modification results in the first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of SRS resources in the first SRS resource set, and wherein the second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of SRS resources in the second SRS resource set. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao’s teachings with Muruganathan’s above teachings. The motivation is improving peak throughput and/or reliability of transmissions (Muruganathan ¶ 121). Known work in one field of endeavor (Muruganathan prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Gao prior art) based on design incentives (improving peak throughput and/or reliability of transmissions) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art. Regarding claim 22, the combination teaches the base station of claim 21, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to (Gao ¶ 202) transmit a downlink control information (DCI) transmission comprising a first SRS resource indicator (SRI) field that indicates the first number of SRS resources and a second SRI field that indicates the second number of SRS resources (Gao ¶ 88, the terminal device 120 may receive a downlink control information (DCI) from the network device 110; ¶ 64, DCI…may comprise the first and second SRI fields corresponding to first and second SRS resource sets, respectively…first SRI field…used to indicate the number of SRS resources…The second SRI field may only indicate the number of SRS resources; ¶ 95, the first SRS resource set…the second SRS resource set; ¶ 47, the first and the second SRIs indicate a same number of SRS resources in the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set, respectively…the number of SRS resources indicated in the first SRI and the second SRI). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Gao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for supporting SDM or FDM based PUSCH transmission in case of multi-TRP (Gao ¶ 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Muruganathan’s teachings of a first SRS resource indicator (SRI) field that indicates a first number of SRS resources in a first SRS resource set and a second SRI field that indicates a second number of SRS resources in a second SRS resource set. The motivation is improving peak throughput and/or reliability of transmissions (Muruganathan ¶ 121) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 5-6 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of US 20220224472 by Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim) . Regarding claim 5, Gao teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the PUSCH communication, are configured to transmit the first set of transmission layers and the second set of transmission layers using codebook-based transmission (Gao ¶ 201-202; ¶ 90; ¶ 64, codebook based PUSCH transmission and/or non-codebook based PUSCH transmission are supported). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao’s teachings with Gao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for supporting SDM or FDM based PUSCH transmission in case of multi-TRP (Gao ¶ 3). Although Gao teaches the first number of DMRS ports, a first number of transmission layers associated with a first transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) (Gao ¶ 67, a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second TPMI field includes a second TPMI index and a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission; ¶ 88, the first field may indicate a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second field may indicate a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission), and a second number of transmission layers associated with a second TPMI (Gao ¶ 67, a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second TPMI field includes a second TPMI index and a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission; ¶ 88, the first field may indicate a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second field may indicate a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission), Gao does not explicitly disclose the first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of transmission layers associated with a first transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI), and wherein the second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of transmission layers associated with a second TPMI. Kim in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of transmission layers, and wherein a second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of transmission layers (¶ 456, the number of DMRS ports of the CDM group including the first DMRS port and the number of DMRS ports of the other CDM group may be determined to be a specific number based on the total number of layers; ¶ 359, total number of transmission layers; ¶ 15, a number of layers associated with each CDM group is set differently). By modifying Gao’s teachings of the first number of DMRS ports, a first number of transmission layers associated with a first transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI), and a second number of transmission layers associated with a second TPMI with Kim’s teachings of a first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of transmission layers, and wherein a second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of transmission layers, the modification results in the first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of transmission layers associated with a first transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI), and wherein the second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of transmission layers associated with a second TPMI. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao’s teachings with Kim’s above teachings. The motivation is improving reliability (Kim ¶ 5). Known work in one field of endeavor (Kim prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Gao prior art) based on design incentives (improving reliability) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art. Regarding claim 6, the combination the UE of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive a downlink control information transmission comprising a first TPMI field that indicates the first number of transmission layers and a second TPMI field that indicates the second number of transmission layers (Gao ¶ 201-202; ¶ 88, the terminal device 120 may receive a downlink control information (DCI) from the network device 110, wherein the DCI may schedule a PUSCH transmission, and the DCI may include a first field and a second field. For example, the first field may indicate a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second field may indicate a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission; ¶ 64, number of transmission layers; ¶ 71, the DCI may comprise a plurality of TPMI fields for codebook uplink/PUSCH transmission (for example, the first TPMI field and second TPMI field); ¶ 67, the first TPMI field may include…a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second TPMI field includes…a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Gao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for supporting SDM or FDM based PUSCH transmission in case of multi-TRP (Gao ¶ 3). Regarding claim 23, Gao teaches the base station of claim 20, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the PUSCH communication, are configured to receive the first set of transmission layers and the second set of transmission layers using codebook-based transmission (Gao ¶ 201-202; ¶ 90; ¶ 64, codebook based PUSCH transmission and/or non-codebook based PUSCH transmission are supported). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao’s teachings with Gao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for supporting SDM or FDM based PUSCH transmission in case of multi-TRP (Gao ¶ 3). Although Gao teaches the first number of DMRS ports, a first number of transmission layers associated with a first transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) (Gao ¶ 67, a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second TPMI field includes a second TPMI index and a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission; ¶ 88, the first field may indicate a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second field may indicate a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission), and a second number of transmission layers associated with a second TPMI (Gao ¶ 67, a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second TPMI field includes a second TPMI index and a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission; ¶ 88, the first field may indicate a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second field may indicate a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission), Gao does not explicitly disclose the first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of transmission layers associated with a first transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI), and wherein the second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of transmission layers associated with a second TPMI. Kim in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches a first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of transmission layers, and wherein a second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of transmission layers (¶ 456, the number of DMRS ports of the CDM group including the first DMRS port and the number of DMRS ports of the other CDM group may be determined to be a specific number based on the total number of layers; ¶ 359, total number of transmission layers; ¶ 15, a number of layers associated with each CDM group is set differently). By modifying Gao’s teachings of the first number of DMRS ports, a first number of transmission layers associated with a first transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI), and a second number of transmission layers associated with a second TPMI with Kim’s teachings of a first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of transmission layers, and wherein a second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of transmission layers, the modification results in the first number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a first number of transmission layers associated with a first transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI), and wherein the second number of DMRS ports is based at least in part on a second number of transmission layers associated with a second TPMI. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gao’s teachings with Kim’s above teachings. The motivation is improving reliability (Kim ¶ 5). Known work in one field of endeavor (Kim prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (Gao prior art) based on design incentives (improving reliability) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art. Regarding claim 24, the combination teaches the base station of claim 23, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a downlink control information transmission comprising a first TPMI field that indicates the first number of transmission layers and a second TPMI field that indicates the second number of transmission layers (Gao ¶ 201-202; ¶ 88, the terminal device 120 may receive a downlink control information (DCI) from the network device 110, wherein the DCI may schedule a PUSCH transmission, and the DCI may include a first field and a second field. For example, the first field may indicate a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second field may indicate a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission; ¶ 64, number of transmission layers; ¶ 71, the DCI may comprise a plurality of TPMI fields for codebook uplink/PUSCH transmission (for example, the first TPMI field and second TPMI field); ¶ 67, the first TPMI field may include…a first number of layers for the PUSCH transmission, and the second TPMI field includes…a second number of layers for the PUSCH transmission). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination with Gao’s one or more other embodiments’ teachings. The motivation is providing a solution for supporting SDM or FDM based PUSCH transmission in case of multi-TRP (Gao ¶ 3) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim (s) 7-18 and 25-26 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : US 20230171763 discloses a UE transmission of different layers of a PUSCH to two TRPs; and US 20230076139 discloses layers of PUSCH for transmission. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER P CHAU whose telephone number is (571)270-7152. The examiner can normally be reached 9:30 A.M - 6 P.M. ET M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayaz Sheikh can be reached at 571-272-3795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PETER P CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 2 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 3 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 4 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 5 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 6 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 7 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 8 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 9 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 10 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 11 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 12 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 13 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 14 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 15 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 17 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 18 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 19 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 20 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 21 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 22 Art Unit: 2476 Application/Control Number: 18/696,585 Page 23 Art Unit: 2476