DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response filed on August 27th, 2026 is acknowledged. Three pages of amended claims were received on 8/27/2026. Claims 1-4 and 6-13 have been amended and Claim 5 has been cancelled. Previously withdrawn Claims 14-16 were not included on the claims provided 8/27/2026, however Claims 14-16 are being considered as remaining withdrawn from consideration. The claims have been amended to overcome previous claim objections and previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the non-final rejection mailed 5/13/2026. Claims 1-4 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as noted below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the fire extinguishing system of invention Group I in the reply filed on 2/9/2026 in response to the requirement for restriction mailed 1/13/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 14-16 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitations that use the word “means” are:
The “combined piercing and injection means” in Claims 1-4; and
The “support means” in Claim 4.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “cooling system” in Claims 1 and 12.
The “salt concentration regulating mechanism” in Claim 11.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitations:
The “combined piercing and injection means” in Claims 1-4 corresponds to the disclosure in Page 4 of the Specification which states, “The combined piercing and injection means is preferably arranged as a longitudinal arm, arranged above a parked vehicle, such as arranged on a ceiling of a parking environment e.g, a parking area on a ship. One end of the longitudinal arm being pivot- ally connected above the vehicle, and the other end of the arm comprising a piercing and injection element, such as pointy element arranged as a piercing nozzle, or drilling unit, harpooning unit i.e., a pointy end with an opening therethrough for delivering the fire extinguishing medium.”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “combined piercing and injection means” in Claims 1-4 to be a piercing nozzle and equivalents thereof.
The “cooling system” in Claims 1 and 12 corresponds to the disclosure in Page 15 of the Specification which states, “Fig. 5 shows a diagram of a cooling system 14 for cooling the brine 22. The illustrated cooling system 14 is one possible embodiment but it should be understood that the cooling system 14 may be arranged differently. The system comprises a closed circuit having a refrigerant”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “cooling system” in Claims 1 and 12 to be a refrigerator and equivalents thereof.
The “support means” in Claim 4 corresponds to the disclosure in Page 14 of the Specification which states, “Onto the guide system 48 is arranged support means 50 comprised of two parallel10 arranged arms which support the combined piercing and injection means 52”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “support means” in Claim 4 to be arms and equivalents thereof.
The “salt concentration regulating mechanism” in Claim 11 corresponds to the disclosure in Page 11 of the Specification which states, “The system preferably comprises a salt regulating mechanism, such as a salt regulating mechanism arranged in connection with the cooling system. The system may comprise sensors for detecting the salt concentration of the fire extinguishing medium, and if the salt concentration falls outside a certain predefined range, such as a minimal lower value, the salt regulating mechanism adds an amount of salt, such that the concentration falls within the predefined range.”. Therefore, based on the disclosure and the claims as a whole the examiner interprets the “salt concentration regulating mechanism” in Claim 11 to be an apparatus comprising sensors and a source of salt, and equivalents thereof.
The examiner notes that the “guide system” in Claim 3 is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), as the guide system is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as corresponding to structure of a guide. Furthermore, the “release mechanism” in Claim 4 is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), as the “release mechanism” is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as corresponding to structure of a release.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO-2021-146763-A1 to Ronacher et al. (“Ronacher”) in view of US PGPUB 2015/0258358 A1 to Popp et al. (“Popp”) and PGPUB 2020/0384299 A1 to Hulbert et al. (“Hulbert”).
As to Claim 1, Ronacher discloses a fire extinguishing system (See Fig. 7) for extinguishing a fire in a vehicle, (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0038 disclosing a vehicle with a battery as an energy source), said fire extinguishing system comprising:
a storage medium external to said vehicle (#8), the storage medium containing a fire extinguishing medium (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0052 disclosing water from a tank fire engine. Paragraph 0019 discloses including an additive to aid in cooling and freezing ); and
a delivery system (#7) for delivering said fire extinguishing medium from said storage medium to an inside of said vehicle (See Fig. 7 and Machine Translation of Description Paragraphs 0084-0086),
said delivery system comprising an injection system having mechanically operated and combined piercing and injection means , for piercing and injecting said fire extinguishing medium into said vehicle (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraphs 0087-0090).
Regarding Claim 1, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher as applied to Claim 1 above, Ronacher does not specifically disclose the fire extinguishing system comprising a cooling system for cooling said fire extinguishing medium to a temperature that is below 0 degrees Celsius (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0019 disclosing a freezing process, but a cooling system equivalent to a refrigerator is not specifically disclosed).
However, Popp discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fire extinguishing (See Paragraph 0002), a fire extinguishing system (See Fig. 5) comprising a cooling system for cooling said fire extinguishing medium to a temperature that is below 0 degrees Celsius (#72, which per Paragraph 0051 is a heat sink that is in storage medium #30, thus #72 is equivalent to a refrigerator to reduce temperature of fluid. The heat sink #72 is capable of cooling fire suppressant agent #32 to some temperature that is below 0 degrees Celsius in various conditions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher as applied to Claim 1 above to include the cooling system #72 of Popp in the storage medium #8 of Ronacher since doing so would yield the predictable result of helping cool fire suppressant agent (See Popp Paragraph 0051) to assist in a cooling or freezing process (See Ronacher Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0019 disclosing a cooling or freezing process).
Regarding Claim 1, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp as applied to Claim 1 above, Ronacher does not specifically disclose said fire extinguishing medium comprising a brine.
However, Hulbert discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fire extinguishing (See Paragraph 0002) a fire extinguishing system comprising a fire extinguishing medium that comprises a brine (See Paragraph 0006 disclosing a solution that is water and salt from 2% to 70% concentration. Salt mixed with water is a brine).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp as applied to Claim 1 above such that the fire extinguishing system comprises the fire extinguishing medium of Hulbert since doing so would yield the predictable result of helping decrease fire intensity (See Hulbert Paragraph 0002). Such a modification would utilize a known medium that will not freeze over a range of temperatures that are below 0 degrees C (See Hulbert Paragraph 0053).
As to Claim 2, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert as applied to Claim 1 above, Ronacher further discloses wherein said combined piercing and injection means, being arranged as a mechanically moving element, are moveable between two positions, a first stored position in which said combined piercing and injection means are disengaged from said vehicle , and a second deployed position, where said combined piercing and injection means have pierced said vehicle such that said fire extinguishing medium may be delivered into said vehicle through said combined piercing and injection means (See Figs. 1-2 and See Fig. 7 and Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0090).
As to Claim 3, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert as applied to Claim 2 above, Ronacher further discloses wherein said delivery system comprises a guide system onto which said combined piercing and injection means are moveably connected, such that said combined piercing and injection means are displaceable in a longitudinal direction of said guide system (See the guide system in Annotated Fig. 7, which acts as a guide that can be moved and #7 moves along an arc such that the combined piercing and injection means change a longitudinal location when pivoted relative to #40 to move partially in a longitudinal direction L).
As to Claim 4, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert as applied to Claim 2 above, Ronacher further discloses wherein said delivery system comprises support means (#37) supporting said combined piercing and injection means, said support means comprising a release mechanism for releasing said combined piercing and injection means from said first position into said second position (See Annotated Fig. 7. #37 supports #7 and uses a release mechanism actuated by fluid in #18 per Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0088).
As to Claim 6, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert as applied to Claim 1 above, Hulbert further discloses wherein said fire extinguishing medium further comprises an antifreeze liquid coolant (See Paragraph 0053 disclosing a freezing temperature of below 0 degrees Celsius and See Paragraph 0021 disclosing magnesium chloride, which is an antifreeze).
Regarding Claim 7, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert as applied to Claim 1 above, Hulbert does not specifically disclose wherein said fire extinguishing medium has a temperature of below 0 degrees Celsius (See Paragraph 0053 disclosing that the medium can have a freezing temperature of -10 degrees F to 10 degrees F, but a temperature that the fire extinguishing medium is provided at is not specifically disclosed).
However, Ronacher discloses using a freezing process (See Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0019 disclosing a cooling and/or freezing of a battery with additive added to fire extinguishing fluid).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert as applied to Claim 1 above such that said fire extinguishing medium has a temperature of below 0 degrees Celsius, since doing so would yield the predictable result of helping cool a battery of the vehicle (See Ronacher Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0019).
As to Claim 8, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert and Hulbert as applied to Claim 1 above, Hulbert further discloses wherein a viscosity of the fire extinguishing medium is increased compared to a viscosity of water at 0 degrees Celsius (See Hulbert Paragraphs 0034 and 0053).
As to Claim 9, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert and Hulbert as applied to Claim 1 above, Hulbert further discloses wherein said brine has a salt concentration of above 20% (See Paragraph Hulbert 0063 disclosing a salt concentration as high as 70%).
As to Claim 10, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert as applied to Claim 1 above, Ronacher further discloses wherein said storage medium has a storing capacity that is equal to or higher than a predetermined volume corresponding to an estimated internal volume of said vehicle (See Ronacher Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0052 disclosing #8 being a tank fire engine. A tank fire engine can contain an amount of fire extinguishing fluid that is equal to or higher than some predetermined volume that corresponds to some estimated internal volume of some vehicle).
Regarding Claim 11, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert as applied to Claim 1 above, Ronacher does not disclose wherein said fire extinguishing system comprises a salt concentration regulating mechanism.
However, Hulbert discloses, in the same field of endeavor of fire extinguishing (See Paragraph 0002) a fire extinguishing system that comprises a salt concentration regulating mechanism (See Paragraph 0112 disclosing a refractometer to measure salt content, and a source of salt that can be added to a fire extinguishing medium along with a dilutant to reduce salt content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert as applied to Claim 1 above to include the salt concentration regulating mechanism of Hulbert since doing so would yield the predictable result of helping ensure the fire extinguishing medium has a desired salt content (See Hulbert Paragraph 0112) to yield a desired fire extinguishing performance.
As to Claim 12, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert and Hulbert as applied to Claim 1 above, Popp further discloses wherein said cooling system is arranged for circulating said fire extinguishing medium (See Fig. 5 and Paragraph 0051. The cooling system is a heat sink #72 that can be an array of fins, which at least partially causes circulation of fire extinguishing medium. #72 is stored with #30).
Regarding Claim 12, Popp does not specifically disclose said storage medium and said cooling system being arranged modularly, such that said storage medium can be disconnected from said cooling system (See Paragraph 0051 that #72 is within #30, but #72 being modular is not specifically disclosed).
However, it has been held that when desirable to obtain access to an area, it would be obvious to make a component separable from another for such a purpose. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert as applied above such that the storage medium can be disconnected from said cooling system since doing so would yield the predictable result of allowing access to areas in the storage medium and in the cooling system for servicing the cooling system and the storage medium.
As to Claim 13, in reference to the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert as applied to Claim 1 above, Ronacher further discloses wherein a vehicle parking environment comprising a vehicle parking area and the fire extinguishing system (See Fig. 7. The area shown in Fig. 7 is a vehicle where some vehicle can be parked where the fire extinguish system is used).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding amended Claim 1, which is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronacher in view of Popp and Hulbert, applicant argues that Ronacher does not disclose fire extinguishing medium being at a temperature below 0 degrees Celsius and that nothing in Popp indicates that the heat sink is capable of cooling the fire suppressing agent to temperature below 0 degrees Celsius. Applicant additionally argues that one of ordinary skill in the art using the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher, which uses water as the fire extinguishing medium, would not have been motivated to incorporate a cooling system capable of cooling the water to a temperature below 0 degrees Celsius because doing so would cause the water to freeze, thereby preventing it from functioning as intended as a fire extinguishing medium and thus rendering the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher inoperable. Applicant also argues that Hulbert, which discloses a fire extinguishing system used for fighting forest fires, concerns a materially different application and manner of delivering the fire-retardant composition, and that one of ordinary skill in the art seeking a fire-extinguishing medium suitable for the battery penetration system of Ronacher would not have been motivated to select a composition disclosed for aerial application to forest fires absent any teaching that such a composition would be suitable for use in the system of Ronacher. Applicant states that the combined references of Ronacher, Popp, and Hulbert do not provide a reasoned basis for combining their teachings in the manner required to arrive at the claimed subject matter, and that even if one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Ronacher, Popp, and Hulbert, the proposed combination still fails to teach the claimed cooling system capable of cooling a fire extinguishing medium comprising brine to a temperature below 0 degrees Celsius.
These arguments are not found persuasive. The claimed invention need not be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the applied references, taken as a whole, would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981) and In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971). A prima facie case of obviousness is established by presenting evidence indicating that the reference teachings would appear to be sufficient for one of ordinary skill in the relevant art having those teachings before him to make the proposed combination or other modification. When the prior art fails to disclose a functional limitation, the examiner may be able to rely on the theory of inherency. See: MPEP §2112. In relying upon the theory of inherency, the examiner must provide a basis in fact and/or technical reasoning to reasonably support the determination that the allegedly inherent characteristic necessarily flows from the teachings of the applied prior art. See: MPEP §2112 IV; Ex parte Levy, 17 USPQ2d 1461, 1464 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990). See In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972). It is noted that skill, not the converse, is presumed on the part of those practicing in the art (In re Sovish, 226 USPQ 771) and a conclusion of obviousness can be made from "common sense" of the person of ordinary skill in the art without any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference. (In re Bozek, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969)).
As to the desirability of the modification, the proper inquiry is “whether there is something in the prior art as a whole to suggest the desirability, and thus the obviousness, of making the combination,’ not whether there is something in the prior art as a whole to suggest that the combination is the most desirable combination available.” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 73 USPQ2d 1141 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In response to Applicant's piecemeal analysis of the references, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where, as here, the rejections are based on combinations of references.
Ronacher states in Machine Translation of Description Paragraph 0019 “Another advantageous method variant involves adding at least one additive to the fluid. This creates the possibility not only to bring the fluid into the interior of the battery, but also to add a wide variety of aids for the cooling and/or freezing process”. Therefore, Ronacher discloses utilizing a fire extinguishing fluid that is a mixture of water and additional substances that aid in the cooling process. By disclosing a freezing process, it is understood that the fire extinguishing system of Ronacher is intended to dispense fluid at a low temperature, and freezing temperatures are understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to be temperatures that are below 0 degrees Celsius. Popp teaches a cooling system that reduces a temperature of fire extinguishing fluid. While Popp does not specifically teach a temperature that is below 0 degrees Celsius, Popp teaches a cooling system #72 that is equivalent to a refrigerator and reduces a temperature of fluid. Such a cooling system is capable of reducing fluid temperatures below 0 degrees Celsius under various conditions, including conditions where fluid is already provided at a temperature that is approaching 0 degrees Celsius or in environments where the temperatures are approaching 0 degrees Celsius. Therefore, Popp teaches structure that reads on the limitation of a cooling system “for cooling said fire extinguishing medium to a temperature that is below 0 degrees Celsius”. Ronacher already discloses in Paragraph 0019 a “freezing process” with the fire extinguishing medium having additives to aid in the freezing process, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would use common sense to have such a fire extinguishing medium that is capable of reaching temperatures that are below 0 degrees Celsius using the cooling system of Popp, such that the fire extinguishing system remains operable to sufficiently cool a fire in a vehicle.
Furthermore, Hulbert teaches a fire extinguishing medium comprising a brine that will not freeze at a range of temperatures that are below 0 degrees Celsius. In response to Applicant's argument that Hulbert is nonanalogous art, it has been held that the determination that a reference is from a nonanalogous art is twofold. First, we decide if the reference is within the field of the inventor's endeavor. If it is not, we proceed to determine whether the reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was involved. In re Wood, 202 USPQ 171, 174. In this case, Hulbert is analogous art because the fire suppression system of Hulbert is used for fire suppression, even though the fire suppression system of Hulbert is used for suppressing forest fires rather than vehicle fires. The fire suppression medium of Hulbert is advantageous to use in the fire suppression system of Ronacher, regardless of the fact that they are used in different applications, because it would aid in decreasing fire intensity while also utilizing a known medium that will not freeze over a range of temperatures that are below 0 degrees C as disclosed in Paragraph 0053 of Hulbert. Therefore, the combined teaches of Ronacher, Popp, and Hulbert would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at a fire extinguishing system that meets all of the structural and functional limitations of amended Claim 1, and the above rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are proper.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20210370118-A1 to Baker et al. discloses a fire extinguishing medium comprising a brine in Paragraph 0001.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN EDWARD SCHWARTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 October 15, 2026