DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amended claims filed on 24 June 2026.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-19 were previously pending the Non-Final Rejection of 26 March 2026.
Claims 1, 4, 10, and 13 have been amended.
Claim 20 has been newly added.
Claims 1-20 remain pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the present rejection is based on a different combination of references, Abedini et al. (US 2023/0119750 A1) (hereinafter Abe) in view of Islam et al. (US 2022/0330250 A1) (hereinafter Is), which includes an additional reference not applied in the prior rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (US 2023/0119750 A1) (hereinafter Abe) in view of Islam et al. (US 2022/0330250 A1) (hereinafter Islam)
Regarding claim 1, Abe-Islam teach a method carried out in a first radio node of a wireless network for configuring a repeater station to repeat radio signals between the wireless network and at least one wireless device (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B), the method comprising:
configuring the repeater station to detect one or more further radio nodes of the wireless network… (Abe, fig. 5, [0028]-[0031], [0037]-[0056], [0064]-[0075]: [0040] In some aspects, a base station 102 or 180, UE 104, or IAB node 111, may transmit transmissions for a second wireless device to a repeater 113 for repetition to the second wireless device (e.g., a UE 104, base station 102/180, IAB node 111, etc.). Similarly, the base station 102 or 180, UE 104, or IAB node 111 may receive repeated transmissions from the second wireless device via the repeater 113. A base station 102/180, UE 104, IAB node 111, or other device may include a phase noise component 199 configured to adjust a repeater operation based on a phase noise in transmission between the first wireless device and the repeater 113 and to apply the adjusted repeater operation to communicate with the second wireless device and/or the repeater. The repeater 113 may include a phase noise component 198 that is configured to receive a request for the repeater 113 to report a phase noise in transmissions (e.g., between the base station 102/180 and the repeater 113) for repetition to a second wireless device (e.g., with at least one UE 104) and to transmit a report of the phase noise to the first wireless device based on the request. The phase noise component 198 may be configured to receive a transmission from a first wireless device for repetition to at least one second wireless device and to transmit the repetition of the transmission to the second wireless device with a phase noise compensation. Although the following description may be focused on 5G NR, the concepts described herein may be applicable to other similar areas, such as LTE, LTE-A, CDMA, GSM, and other wireless technologies.);
receiving an indication of measurement data, obtained in the repeater station based on a reference signal from a second radio node of said one or more further radio nodes…(Abe, fig. 7 and fig. 14A-14B, [0094]-[0098], [0100]-[0107], [0130]-[0136]: [0094] The aspects of FIG. 7 may be performed in combination with any of the aspects of FIG. 6 and/or FIG. 5. In some aspects, the base station 702 may use an uplink signal sent by the UE 704 (in FR1) as forwarded by the repeater 706 on FR2 after frequency shifting, at 727. The base station 602 may measure, at 730, the phase distortion of the received signal (e.g., 728). The base station 702 may measure a constant phase offset and a change in the phase offset over time. As an example, the uplink signal 728 may be scheduled or configured by the base station 702. For example, the base station 702 may have sent a downlink control signal to the UE 704 at 722 that scheduled the uplink signal transmission 726 and/or configured one or more parameter of the uplink transmission 726. The downlink control signaling may pass through the same repeater 706 and be sent over FR2 on the fronthaul and down-converted to FR1 by the repeater 706 before transmission to the UE at 724. The transmission of downlink control signaling to the UE 704 may work, e.g., if the phase noise level is sufficiently low to allow the UE 704 to successfully receive and apply the downlink control signaling (e.g., with low MCS). In some aspects, the phase noise measurement, e.g., at 730, may be performed during an initial access procedure. For example, the base station may measure a phase noise in a random access channel (RACH) Msg1 or a Msg3 of a random access procedure. [0101] The repeater 806 may acquire an estimation of the phase noise (PN) in any of various ways. In some aspects, the repeater 806 may measure CPE on the UE's signal, e.g., based on the downlink signal 822 for the UE 804. In some aspects, the repeater may use the UE's downlink signal, e.g., using a reference signal or pilot signal such as downlink DMRS, sent along with the UE's data or control channel to estimate CPE, at 830. In some aspects, the repeater 806 may use a cyclic prefix (CP) of the downlink symbols of the UE's downlink signal 822 to measure the phase noise or CPE, at 830.); and
transmitting a control signal to control the repeater to repeat radio signals associated with at least one of the first radio node and the second radio node, based on the received indication (Abe, fig. 5-7, fig. 14A-14B, [0064]-[0089], [0100]-[0107], [0130]-[0136]: [0075] In some aspects, a repeater may be capable of some types of control, and may receive information such as timing information (e.g., about a slot, symbol, subframe, frame boundary, etc.) about the communication being forwarded, time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink configuration, ON-OFF scheduling for the repeater, and/or spatial information for beam management. A first type of repeater may be referred to as a traditional repeater and may amplify and forward the signal without any additional information or control. The repeater may be in an always on state and may receive and forward signals without a change in repeater parameters. A second type of repeater may be referred to as an autonomous smart repeater that is capable of obtaining, acquiring, or inferring information to adjust repeater operation, e.g., without direct control signaling. As an example, the second type of repeater may obtain information based on receiving and decoding broadcast channels, and may adjust one or more repeater parameter based on the obtained information. [0083] The control signaling 514 may indicating beamforming information for the repeater device 506, e.g., such as a reception beam for receiving communication from the base station 502 and/or one or more transmission beams for forwarding communication to the UE 504. The control signaling 514 may indicate a transmission power for the repeater to use in uplink and/or downlink forwarding. The control signaling 514 may indicate an operating bandwidth. In some examples, the operating bandwidth may include frequency processing and filtering. The control signaling 514 may indicate a time domain resource allocation for the repeater device 506. The time domain resource allocation may include an UL/DL pattern that indicates when the repeater device 506 is configured to use UL and DL resources. For example, a time domain resource allocation may indicate time resources for the repeater device 506 to apply the indicated beamforming configuration. In some examples, the repeater device 506 may be configured with more than one beam to be applied at different times, e.g., a set of beams to apply in a pattern. The control signaling 514 may include ON-OFF scheduling that turns the repeater, or the repeater operation, on and off at particular times or for particular durations. The control signaling 514 may indicate timing information, such as a slot, symbol, subframe, or frame boundary, for downlink and uplink transmissions with the base station. In some aspects, the repeater may transmit an indication of support for (e.g., a capability) receiving control signaling or additional information from the base station 502, at 512. The base station 502 may send the control signaling based on the capability of the repeater device 506.).
Thus, the system of Abe does not explicitly teach …wherein each of the one or more further radio nodes is different from the first radio node and the second node different from the first radio node.
Similar to the system of Abe, Islam teaches multi-hop integrated access fronthaul network including a distributed unit DU, a first repeating unit RU1, and a second repeating unit RU2, wherein the DU configures RU1 to communicate with RU2 (Islam, fig. 6, [0081]-[0082]), which can be seen as, wherein each of the one or more further radio nodes is different from the first radio node and the second node different from the first radio node (Islam, fig. 4A-4D, fig. 6-9, [0023]-[0052], [0053]-[0101], [0102]-[0122]: Examiner views DU as the first radio node, RU1 as the repeater station, and RU2 as the second/further radio node, since Islam identifies DU, RU1, and RU2 as separate nodes in the multi-hop network and mentions that it configures RU1 to communicate with RU2.[0074] FIG. 4A shows a repeater function, in which a repeater node receives a message X from a first node N1 and sends a message X′ to a second node N2. [0082] In FIG. 6, in an integrated access fronthaul network 600, a fronthaul network includes a DU 602, a first repeating unit RU1 604, a second repeating unit RU2 606, and an access network connects the RU2 606 to a UE 608.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abe with Islam to enable Abe’s repeater to operate in a known multi-hop relay/repeater arrangement and communicate with an additional downstream radio node (Islam, [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 10, Abe-Islam teach a method carried out in a repeater station for enabling the repeater to repeat signals between a wireless network and at least one wireless device (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B), the method comprising:
obtaining, from a first radio node of the wireless network, configuration information for the repeater station to detect one or more further radio nodes of the wireless network…(Abe, fig. 5, [0028]-[0031], [0037]-[0056], [0064]-[0075], [0090]-[0095]: [0092] If the base station determines, e.g., at 613, that the phase noise meets or exceeds the threshold, the base station 602 may, in first aspects or a first option 650, change a configuration of the repeater 606. For example, the repeater 606 may support a configuration to perform FR2-FR1 frequency shifting, e.g., as described in connection with FIG. 5 and may support an amplify and forward operation without frequency shifting. The operation without frequency shifting may be referred to as FR1-FR1 operation, and the amplify ad forward operation with frequency shifting may be referred to as FR2-FR1 operation. In some aspects, the repeater 606 may signal support, at 612, for one or more types of operation, and may indicate to the base station 602 that the repeater 606 supports FR2-FR1 operation, FR1-FR1 operation, and/or that the repeater supports a configuration change between FR2-FR1 and FR1-FR1 operation. In response to the phase noise, as determined at 612, the base station 602 may indicate to the repeater 606, at 614, to adopt a different configuration (such as a FR1-FR1 operation/configuration in which the repeater receives and forwards signals in the same FR and without performing a frequency shift).);
measuring a signal characteristic of a reference signal, received from a second radio node of said one or more further radio nodes, to generate measurement data… (Abe, fig. 7 and fig. 14A-14B, [0060]-[0076], [0094]-[0098], [0100]-[0107], [0130]-[0136]: [0068] Similar to the functionality described in connection with the DL transmission by the base station 310, the controller/processor 359 provides RRC layer functionality associated with system information (e.g., MIB, SIBs) acquisition, RRC connections, and measurement reporting; PDCP layer functionality associated with header compression/decompression, and security (ciphering, deciphering, integrity protection, integrity verification); RLC layer functionality associated with the transfer of upper layer PDUs, error correction through ARQ, concatenation, segmentation, and reassembly of RLC SDUs, re-segmentation of RLC data PDUs, and reordering of RLC data PDUs; and MAC layer functionality associated with mapping between logical channels and transport channels, multiplexing of MAC SDUs onto TBs, demultiplexing of MAC SDUs from TBs, scheduling information reporting, error correction through HARQ, priority handling, and logical channel prioritization.);
transmitting an indication of the measurement data to the first radio node (Abe, fig. 7 and fig. 14A-14B, [0060]-[0076], [0094]-[0098]: [0094] The base station may determine the level of the phase noise, e.g., at 613, in any of various ways. FIG. 7 illustrates an example communication flow 700 between a first wireless device and a second wireless device with an amplify and forward repeater 706. The example in FIG. 7 illustrates an example for a base station 702 and a UE 704, but the aspects may be similarly applied for repetitions between a UE and UE, an IAB node and UE, an RSU and UE. Similarly, the aspects performed by the base station 702 may be performed by a UE, an IAB node, an RSU, or another wireless device. FIG. 7 illustrates an example communication flow 700 between a base station 702, a repeater 706, and a UE 704, including various ways for a base station 702 to determine a phase noise level. The repeater 706 may amplify and frequency shift, at 723, the downlink signal 722 before transmission to the UE 704 at 724. The repeater 706 may amplify and frequency shift, at 727, the uplink signal (e.g., the uplink transmission 726) before forwarding to the base station at 728. FIG. 5 illustrates example aspects of the frequency shift. The aspects of FIG. 7 may be performed in combination with any of the aspects of FIG. 6 and/or FIG. 5. In some aspects, the base station 702 may use an uplink signal sent by the UE 704 (in FR1) as forwarded by the repeater 706 on FR2 after frequency shifting, at 727. The base station 602 may measure, at 730, the phase distortion of the received signal (e.g., 728). The base station 702 may measure a constant phase offset and a change in the phase offset over time. As an example, the uplink signal 728 may be scheduled or configured by the base station 702. For example, the base station 702 may have sent a downlink control signal to the UE 704 at 722 that scheduled the uplink signal transmission 726 and/or configured one or more parameter of the uplink transmission 726. The downlink control signaling may pass through the same repeater 706 and be sent over FR2 on the fronthaul and down-converted to FR1 by the repeater 706 before transmission to the UE at 724. The transmission of downlink control signaling to the UE 704 may work, e.g., if the phase noise level is sufficiently low to allow the UE 704 to successfully receive and apply the downlink control signaling (e.g., with low MCS). In some aspects, the phase noise measurement, e.g., at 730, may be performed during an initial access procedure. For example, the base station may measure a phase noise in a random access channel (RACH) Msg1 or a Msg3 of a random access procedure.); and
receiving a control signal from the first radio node, which controls the repeater station to repeat radio signals associated with at least one of the first radio node and the second radio node, based on the transmitted indication (Abe, fig. 5-7, fig. 14A-14B, [0038]-[0056], [0064]-[0089], [0090]-[0099], [0100]-[0107], [0130]-[0136]: [0038] The repeater 113 may include a component that is capable of receiving control signaling from a control node (e.g., the base station 102, 180) and a repeating unit that forwards the communication with one or more parameters based on the control signaling. In some examples, the repeating may be referred to as a remote unit. In some examples, the repeater may be referred to as a pass-through repeater. [0094] For example, the base station 702 may have sent a downlink control signal to the UE 704 at 722 that scheduled the uplink signal transmission 726 and/or configured one or more parameter of the uplink transmission 726. The downlink control signaling may pass through the same repeater 706 and be sent over FR2 on the fronthaul and down-converted to FR1 by the repeater 706 before transmission to the UE at 724. The transmission of downlink control signaling to the UE 704 may work, e.g., if the phase noise level is sufficiently low to allow the UE 704 to successfully receive and apply the downlink control signaling (e.g., with low MCS). In some aspects, the phase noise measurement, e.g., at 730, may be performed during an initial access procedure. For example, the base station may measure a phase noise in a random access channel (RACH) Msg1 or a Msg3 of a random access procedure.).
Thus, the system of Abe does not explicitly teach …wherein each of the one or more further radio nodes is different from the first radio node and …the second node different from the first radio node.
Similar to the system of Abe, Islam teaches multi-hop integrated access fronthaul network including a distributed unit DU, a first repeating unit RU1, and a second repeating unit RU2, wherein the DU configures RU1 to communicate with RU2 (Islam, fig. 6, [0081]-[0082]), which can be seen as, wherein each of the one or more further radio nodes is different from the first radio node and the second node different from the first radio node (Islam, fig. 4A-4D, fig. 6-9, [0023]-[0052], [0053]-[0101], [0102]-[0122]: Examiner views DU as the first radio node, RU1 as the repeater station, and RU2 as the second/further radio node, since Islam identifies DU, RU1, and RU2 as separate nodes in the multi-hop network and mentions that it configures RU1 to communicate with RU2.[0074] FIG. 4A shows a repeater function, in which a repeater node receives a message X from a first node N1 and sends a message X′ to a second node N2. [0082] In FIG. 6, in an integrated access fronthaul network 600, a fronthaul network includes a DU 602, a first repeating unit RU1 604, a second repeating unit RU2 606, and an access network connects the RU2 606 to a UE 608.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abe with Islam to enable Abe’s repeater to operate in a known multi-hop relay/repeater arrangement and communicate with an additional downstream radio node (Islam, [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 2 and 11, Abe teaches the method (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B):
wherein the control signal identifies timing information for the repeater station to repeat said radio signals (Abe, fig. 5-7, [0064]-[0089]: [0075] In some aspects, a repeater may be capable of some types of control, and may receive information such as timing information (e.g., about a slot, symbol, subframe, frame boundary, etc.) about the communication being forwarded, time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink configuration, ON-OFF scheduling for the repeater, and/or spatial information for beam management. A first type of repeater may be referred to as a traditional repeater and may amplify and forward the signal without any additional information or control. The repeater may be in an always on state and may receive and forward signals without a change in repeater parameters. A second type of repeater may be referred to as an autonomous smart repeater that is capable of obtaining, acquiring, or inferring information to adjust repeater operation, e.g., without direct control signaling. As an example, the second type of repeater may obtain information based on receiving and decoding broadcast channels, and may adjust one or more repeater parameter based on the obtained information. [0083] The control signaling 514 may indicating beamforming information for the repeater device 506, e.g., such as a reception beam for receiving communication from the base station 502 and/or one or more transmission beams for forwarding communication to the UE 504. The control signaling 514 may indicate a transmission power for the repeater to use in uplink and/or downlink forwarding. The control signaling 514 may indicate an operating bandwidth. In some examples, the operating bandwidth may include frequency processing and filtering. The control signaling 514 may indicate a time domain resource allocation for the repeater device 506. The time domain resource allocation may include an UL/DL pattern that indicates when the repeater device 506 is configured to use UL and DL resources. For example, a time domain resource allocation may indicate time resources for the repeater device 506 to apply the indicated beamforming configuration. In some examples, the repeater device 506 may be configured with more than one beam to be applied at different times, e.g., a set of beams to apply in a pattern. The control signaling 514 may include ON-OFF scheduling that turns the repeater, or the repeater operation, on and off at particular times or for particular durations. The control signaling 514 may indicate timing information, such as a slot, symbol, subframe, or frame boundary, for downlink and uplink transmissions with the base station. In some aspects, the repeater may transmit an indication of support for (e.g., a capability) receiving control signaling or additional information from the base station 502, at 512. The base station 502 may send the control signaling based on the capability of the repeater device 506.).
Regarding claim 3 and 12, Abe teaches the method (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B):
wherein the timing information identifies an on-period for the repeater station to repeat radio signals associated with either the first radio node or the second radio node (Abe, fig. 5-7, [0064]-[0089]: [0075] In some aspects, a repeater may be capable of some types of control, and may receive information such as timing information (e.g., about a slot, symbol, subframe, frame boundary, etc.) about the communication being forwarded, time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink configuration, ON-OFF scheduling for the repeater, and/or spatial information for beam management. A first type of repeater may be referred to as a traditional repeater and may amplify and forward the signal without any additional information or control. The repeater may be in an always on state and may receive and forward signals without a change in repeater parameters. A second type of repeater may be referred to as an autonomous smart repeater that is capable of obtaining, acquiring, or inferring information to adjust repeater operation, e.g., without direct control signaling. [0083] The control signaling 514 may include ON-OFF scheduling that turns the repeater, or the repeater operation, on and off at particular times or for particular durations. The control signaling 514 may indicate timing information, such as a slot, symbol, subframe, or frame boundary, for downlink and uplink transmissions with the base station. In some aspects, the repeater may transmit an indication of support for (e.g., a capability) receiving control signaling or additional information from the base station 502, at 512. The base station 502 may send the control signaling based on the capability of the repeater device 506.).
Regarding claim 4 and 13, Abe-Islam teach the method (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B):
obtaining information identifying dual radio capability of the repeater station… (Abe, fig. 5-7, [0038]-[0056], [0064]-[0089]: [0083] the repeater may transmit an indication of support for (e.g., a capability) receiving control signaling or additional information from the base station 502, at 512. The base station 502 may send the control signaling based on the capability of the repeater device 506.),
wherein the timing information identifies an on-period for the repeater station to repeat radio signals associated with either or both of the first radio node and the second radio node (Abe, fig. 5-7, [0038]-[0056], [0064]-[0089]: [0083] The control signaling 514 may include ON-OFF scheduling that turns the repeater, or the repeater operation, on and off at particular times or for particular durations. The control signaling 514 may indicate timing information, such as a slot, symbol, subframe, or frame boundary...).
Thus, the system of Abe does not explicitly teach … the dual radio capability indicating more than one active radio unit individually enabling the repeater station to detect and amplify signals. Similar to the system of Abe, Islam teaches a repeater having multiple radio units. Device 304 includes a WWAN transceiver and a short-range wireless transceiver, each having transmit and receiver circuity (Islam, fig. 3B, [0054]-[0056]. Islam also teaches that RU may use the structure of device 304 and that received RF signals may be detected and amplified (Islam, [0038], [0089]-[0090]), which can be seen as, the dual radio capability indicating more than one active radio unit individually enabling the repeater station to detect and amplify signals (Islam, fig. 4A-4D, fig. 6-9, [0023]-[0052], [0053]-[0101], [0102]-[0122]: Examiner views the WWAN transceiver and short-range wireless transceiver 360 as separate radio units of the repeater, each having respective transmitting and receiving circuitry. [0074] FIG. 4A shows a repeater function, in which a repeater node receives a message X from a first node N1 and sends a message X′ to a second node N2. [0082] In FIG. 6, in an integrated access fronthaul network 600, a fronthaul network includes a DU 602, a first repeating unit RU1 604, a second repeating unit RU2 606, and an access network connects the RU2 606 to a UE 608.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abe with Islam to enable Abe’s repeater to operate in a known multi-hop relay/repeater arrangement and communicate with an additional downstream radio node (Islam, [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 5 and 14, Abe teaches the method (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B):
wherein the timing information further identifies an uplink/downlink scheme for operating the repeater station (Abe, fig. 5-7, [0064]-[0089]: [0075] In some aspects, a repeater may be capable of some types of control, and may receive information such as timing information (e.g., about a slot, symbol, subframe, frame boundary, etc.) about the communication being forwarded, time division duplex (TDD) uplink/downlink configuration, ON-OFF scheduling for the repeater, and/or spatial information for beam management. A first type of repeater may be referred to as a traditional repeater and may amplify and forward the signal without any additional information or control. The repeater may be in an always on state and may receive and forward signals without a change in repeater parameters. A second type of repeater may be referred to as an autonomous smart repeater that is capable of obtaining, acquiring, or inferring information to adjust repeater operation, e.g., without direct control signaling. As an example, the second type of repeater may obtain information based on receiving and decoding broadcast channels, and may adjust one or more repeater parameter based on the obtained information. A third type of repeater may be referred to as a network controlled repeater and may support some aspects of configuration or control based on side information provided to the repeater by a base station. The repeater may receive the information/control signaling/configuration via an established control interface with the base station. In some aspects, the repeater may adjust operation based on side information provided/controlled by the base station without additional side information inferred/obtained by the repeater. In other aspects, the repeater adjust operation based on side information provided/controlled by the base station and also based on remaining side information inferred/obtained/acquired by the repeater itself. In some aspects, the use of the combination of side information from the base station and additional side information obtained/acquired/inferred by the repeater may reduce control signaling overhead and/or latency for the adjustment of parameters at the repeater.).
Regarding claim 6, Abe teaches the method of claim 1 (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B):
wherein configuring the repeater station comprises transmitting, to the repeater station, information identifying a reference signal for each of said one or more further radio nodes (Abe, fig. 6, fig. 8, fig. 10A-10B, [0099]-[0104], [0105]-[0108]: [0101] The repeater 806 may acquire an estimation of the phase noise (PN) in any of various ways. In some aspects, the repeater 806 may measure CPE on the UE's signal, e.g., based on the downlink signal 822 for the UE 804. In some aspects, the repeater may use the UE's downlink signal, e.g., using a reference signal or pilot signal such as downlink DMRS, sent along with the UE's data or control channel to estimate CPE, at 830. In some aspects, the repeater 806 may use a cyclic prefix (CP) of the downlink symbols of the UE's downlink signal 822 to measure the phase noise or CPE, at 830.).
Regarding claim 7 and 16, Abe teaches the method (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B):
wherein said information identifies beam-specific reference signals for each of said one or more further radio nodes (Abe, fig. 6 and fig. 7, [0060]-[0076], [0088]-[0107], [0116]-[0129]: [0060] As illustrated in FIG. 2A, some of the REs carry reference (pilot) signals (RS) for the UE. The RS may include demodulation RS (DM-RS) (indicated as R for one particular configuration, but other DM-RS configurations are possible) and channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) for channel estimation at the UE. The RS may also include beam measurement RS (BRS), beam refinement RS (BRRS), and phase tracking RS (PT-RS).).
Regarding claim 8 and 17, Abe teaches the method (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B):
wherein said information identifies cell- specific reference signals for each of said one or more further radio nodes (Abe, fig. 2A-2D, [0056]-[0063]: [0061] FIG. 2B illustrates an example of various DL channels within a subframe of a frame. The physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carries DCI within one or more control channel elements (CCEs) (e.g., 1, 2, 4, 8, or 16 CCEs), each CCE including six RE groups (REGs), each REG including 12 consecutive REs in an OFDM symbol of an RB. A PDCCH within one BWP may be referred to as a control resource set (CORESET). A UE is configured to monitor PDCCH candidates in a PDCCH search space (e.g., common search space, UE-specific search space) during PDCCH monitoring occasions on the CORESET, where the PDCCH candidates have different DCI formats and different aggregation levels. Additional BWPs may be located at greater and/or lower frequencies across the channel bandwidth. A primary synchronization signal (PSS) may be within symbol 2 of particular subframes of a frame. The PSS is used by a UE 104 to determine subframe/symbol timing and a physical layer identity. A secondary synchronization signal (SSS) may be within symbol 4 of particular subframes of a frame. The SSS is used by a UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing. Based on the physical layer identity and the physical layer cell identity group number, the UE can determine a physical cell identifier (PCI). Based on the PCI, the UE can determine the locations of the DM-RS. The physical broadcast channel (PBCH), which carries a master information block (MIB), may be logically grouped with the PSS and SSS to form a synchronization signal (SS)/PBCH block (also referred to as SS block (SSB)). The MIB provides a number of RBs in the system bandwidth and a system frame number (SFN). The physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) carries user data, broadcast system information not transmitted through the PBCH such as system information blocks (SIBs), and paging messages.).
Regarding claim 9 and 18, Abe teaches the method (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B):
Wherein said repeater station is mobile (Abe, fig. 4A-4B, [0076]-[0081]: [0076] FIG. 4A is a block diagram of an example communication system 400 including a base station 410, a UE 430, and a repeater 420. The repeater 420 may include a repeating unit 422 and a mobile termination 424 (“MT”). In some examples, the repeating unit 422 may be referred to as a remote unit. The base station 410 may correspond to the base station 102, 180 in FIG. 1 or the base station 310 in FIG. 3. The UE 504 may correspond to the UE 104 in FIG. 1 or the UE 350 in FIG. 3.).
Regarding claim 15, Abe teaches the method of claim 10 (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B):
wherein obtaining configuration information comprises receiving information identifying a reference signal for each of said one or more further radio nodes (Abe, fig. 8 and fig. 10A-10B, [0099]-[0104], [0105]-[0108]: [0101] The repeater 806 may acquire an estimation of the phase noise (PN) in any of various ways. In some aspects, the repeater 806 may measure CPE on the UE's signal, e.g., based on the downlink signal 822 for the UE 804. In some aspects, the repeater may use the UE's downlink signal, e.g., using a reference signal or pilot signal such as downlink DMRS, sent along with the UE's data or control channel to estimate CPE, at 830. In some aspects, the repeater 806 may use a cyclic prefix (CP) of the downlink symbols of the UE's downlink signal 822 to measure the phase noise or CPE, at 830.).
Regarding claim 19, Abe teaches the method of claim 10 (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B) comprising:
Repeating radio signals associated with at least one of the first radio node and the second radio node, according to the control signal (Abe, fig. 7 and 8, [0038]-[0041], [0064]-[0077]: [0038] The wireless communication system of FIG. 1 may further include repeaters 113 that forward communication between a base station 102/180 and a UE 104. The repeater 113 may be an analog repeater that receives, amplifies, and forwards a signal between the base station 102/180 and UE 104 over communication links 120. As an example, the repeater 113 may provide additional coverage for a base station 102/180 that may have a signal to a UE 104 at least partially blocked by a blockage 117. The repeater 113 may include a component that is capable of receiving control signaling from a control node (e.g., the base station 102, 180) and a repeating unit that forwards the communication with one or more parameters based on the control signaling. In some examples, the repeating may be referred to as a remote unit. In some examples, the repeater may be referred to as a pass-through repeater.).
Regarding claim 20, Abe teaches the method of claim 1 (Abe, see fig. 7 and fig. 11A-11B) comprising:
wherein configuring the repeater station comprises transmitting, to the repeater station, information identifying a reference signal for each of said one or more further radio nodes, and wherein the reference signal from the second radio node is identified by the information identifying the reference signal for the second radio node (Abe, fig. 7 and 8, [0038]-[0041], [0064]-[0077], [0090]-[0125]: Examiner views the reference signal type and associate time/frequency resources as identifying the particular reference signal to be received and processed by the repeater. [0102] In some aspects, the base station 802 may send an additional reference signal to the repeater 806 to facilitate the phase noise estimate, at 830. As an example, the additional reference signal may include a PTRS, or an additional DMRS, for the repeater. In some aspects, the base station 802 may transmit the reference signal separately, e.g., at 821, from the downlink signal 822 for the UE. In other aspects, the additional reference signal for the phase noise estimation at the repeater may be multiplexed with the downlink signal 822 for the UE. [0103] For example, the additional reference signal may be time division multiplexed (TDMed) with UE's signal 822. In some aspects, the additional reference signal may be included at the beginning and/or end of the UE's signal 822. [0104] Additionally, or alternatively, the additional reference signal(s) may be frequency division multiplied (FDMed) with UE's signal 922 (e.g., 822) and sent on separate RBs not occupied by the UE's DL signal 922.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2468 /Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468