DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 38, Applicant argues that the examiner rejected claim 36 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as obvious over Park in view of Official Notice, while simultaneously rejecting dependent claim 38 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Park alone and requests that the § 102 rejection of claim 38 be withdrawn as improper and that the claim 38 be evaluated, consistent with the rejection of its parent claim 36, under 35 USC § 103. While the rejection of claim 38 was inadvertently provided under the wrong heading, claim 38 has already been evaluated consistent with the rejection of its parent claim 36. The primary reference (Park) used in the rejection of claim 36 teaches all the limitations of claim 38 and therefore, the fact that official notice was used for an unrelated feature in claim 36 has no bearing on the fact that the limitations of claim 38 are taught by Park. Therefore, the rejection of claim 38 remains unchanged.
Regarding claim 20, Applicant argues that because the housing 1130 and the base 1120 of Park are separate components and the elastic member is coupled to the housing 1130, the elastic member cannot be considered to be mounted to the base. The examiner cannot agree.
While the housing 1130 and the base 1120 are not originally integrally formed, they are fixed to each other by adhesive ([0758]), thereby forming a single “base”. As shown in the rejection of original claim 20, the housing and base together are considered the claimed “base”. Therefore, as Applicant admits that the elastic member 1710 is coupled to the housing 1130, and the housing 1130 is part of the claimed “base”, Park does indeed disclose that the claimed “spring” is mounted on the claimed “base”.
Applicant additionally argues (with respect to claim 20), that claim 20 requires that another end of the suspension line be fastened to the main circuit board, but in Park the suspension line 1800 is fastened to terminal 1380 on holder 1340 and no the circuit board itself. The examiner cannot agree.
As explained in the rejection of original claim 20, the examiner is interpreting the main circuit board as 1310, 1340, and 1380. Therefore, if the suspension line 1800 is fastened to 1380, it is fastened to the main circuit board. In addition, paragraph [0851] explicitly states that “[t]he wire 1800 may elastically connect the housing 1130 to the second board 1310”. Applicant seems to suggest that wire 1800 is attached to only the terminal 1380 and the terminal 1380 is not actually attached to the second board 1310. However, if the wire 1800 is elastically connecting the housing 1130 to the second board 1310, this means that wire 1800 must be connected to the second board 1310 either directly or through another element. Either way, paragraph [0851] teaches that one end of the suspension line 1800 is fastened to the main circuit board 1310 as claimed.
Applicant additionally argues (with respect to claim 20) that the terminal portion 1630 cannot read on “board-to-board connector” because a “board-to-board connector” is a separable, plug-type interconnect enabling detachable coupling between two circuit boards. Applicant argues that the terminal portion 1630 is connects to boards using solder and therefore is structurally and functionally distinct from a “board-to-board connector”.
While this may be true, Applicant also admits that the terminal portion 1630 is soldered to first board 1110. As shown in fig. 40, first board 1110 includes a board-to-board connector on the left side. Therefore, the second end 1630 of the first flexible circuit board 1600 is coupled with a BTB connector as claimed.
Applicant makes similar arguments with respect to claim 37. The rejection of claim 37 are maintained for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20, 24, 30-32, 34-35, 37, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2023/0336856 A1) hereinafter referenced as Park.
Regarding claim 20, Park discloses
An image stabilization motor, comprising:
a base (1140, 1130, 1120, 1100; fig. 37) comprising a bottom (Top surface of fixed unit 1100 which is the deepest part of the box structure formed by 1100, 1120, 1130, and 1140 and therefore reads on “bottom”.) and a plurality of side walls (Inner side walls of the box structure formed by 1100, 1120, 1130, and 1140 which includes protruding portion 1121; fig. 40);
a movable assembly (1300; fig. 37) disposed at the bottom and comprising:
a main circuit board (1310, 1340, 1380; fig. 37); and
an image sensor (1330; fig. 37) coupled with the main circuit board ([0768]);
a suspension assembly (1710, 1800; fig. 37) fixedly connected to the base ([0848]); Elastic member 1710 is connected to 1130) and coupled with the main circuit board (Terminal 1380 is disposed on the holder 1340 which is part of the main circuit board and the wire 1800 is coupled to terminal 1380 and the elastic member 1710; [0795], [0852]; fig. 37), wherein the suspension assembly (1710, 1800; fig. 37) comprises a spring (1710; fig. 37) mounted on the base ([0848]; Elastic member 1710 is connected to 1130) and a suspension line (1800; fig. 37), wherein one end of the suspension line is fastened to the spring, and wherein another end of the suspension line is fastened to the main circuit board (Terminal 1380 is disposed on the holder 1340 which is part of the main circuit board and the wire 1800 is coupled to terminal 1380 and the elastic member 1710; [0795], [0852]; fig. 37);
a first flexible circuit board (1600; fig. 37) comprising:
a first end coupled with the main circuit board (The connection board 1600 is integrally formed with the second board 1310; [0831]; The connection board 1600 electrically connects the first board to 1110 to the second board 1310; [0832]; fig. 40); and
a second end configured to couple with a board-to-board connector (BTB connector on the left side of first board 1110 which is connected to 1630; fig. 40), wherein a portion of the first flexible circuit board is attached to one of the side walls (The connection board 1600 is adhered to the protruding portion 1121 of the base 1120 which is part of the claimed base; [0755]); and
a driving assembly comprising:
a mover (Coil 1440; fig. 40) fastened to the main circuit board ([0781]); and
a stator (Magnet 1410; fig. 37) mounted to the base (Magnet 1420 is secured to the fixed unit 1100; [0806]) and configured to drive the movable assembly to shift ([0815]; Moves the sensor board 1320 in a direction perpendicular to the optical-axis) and roll ([0815]; Rotates the sensor board 1320 about the optical axis) on a plane on which the image sensor is located.
Regarding claim 24, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20), in addition, Park discloses, wherein the first flexible circuit board and the main circuit board form a rigid-flexible board (The sensor board 1320 is a rigid cavity PCB; [0853]; The connection board 1600 is an FPCB; [0831]. The second board 1310 which includes sensor board 1320 and connection board 1600 are integrally formed; [0831]).
Regarding claim 30, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20), in addition, Park discloses, wherein the movable assembly further comprises an additional circuit board (1320; fig. 38), wherein the image sensor (1330) is fastened to the additional circuit board ([0779]), and wherein the additional circuit is welded to a side of the main circuit board that is adjacent to the base (The second board 1310 is secured to the upper surface of the sensor board 1320; [0768]).
Regarding claim 31, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20), in addition, Park discloses, wherein the movable assembly further comprises a light-transmitting hole in the main circuit board ([0768]; Hole in the second board 1310); and
a light filter (1360; fig. 37) between the light-transmitting hole and the image sensor (The upper surface of the filter 1360 may be disposed lower than the upper surface of the second board 1310; [0774]).
Regarding claim 32, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20), in addition, Park discloses, further comprising a position feedback device (1445; fig. 46B) disposed on the main circuit board (1310; [0819]) at a center of the mover (fig.46B).
Regarding claim 34, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20), in addition, Park discloses, wherein the image stabilization motor further comprises a drive integrated circuit (IC) (1495; fig. 40) disposed on the main circuit board and operably coupled to the driving assembly ([0813]).
Regarding claim 35, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20), in addition, Park discloses, further comprising an accommodating cavity (Cavity of housing 1130; fig. 39) disposed on the base, wherein the accommodating cavity is configured to accommodate an optical part (1220; Lens 1220 is provided in the cavity of the bobbin 1210 and the bobbin 1210 is provided in the cavity of the housing 1130; fig. 39; [0764]), wherein the image sensor (1300; fig. 37) is located on an out-light side of the optical part, wherein an opening is provided on one of the side walls or on a top wall of the base (Opening at 1140; fig. 37), and wherein the opening is located on an in-light side of the optical part.
Regarding claim 37, Park discloses
A camera assembly, comprising:
an image stabilization motor, comprising:
a base (1140, 1130, 1120, 1100; fig. 37) comprising a bottom (Top surface of fixed unit 1100 which is the deepest part of the box structure formed by 1100, 1120, 1130, and 1140 and therefore reads on “bottom”.) and a plurality of side walls (Inner side walls of the box structure formed by 1100, 1120, 1130, and 1140 which includes protruding portion 1121; fig. 40);
a main circuit board (1310, 1340, 1380; fig. 37);
a suspension assembly (1710, 1800; fig. 37) fixedly connected to the base ([0848]); Elastic member 1710 is connected to 1130), wherein the suspension assembly (1710, 1800; fig. 37) comprises a spring (1710; fig. 37) mounted on the base ([0848]; Elastic member 1710 is connected to 1130) and a suspension line (1800; fig. 37), wherein one end of the suspension line is fastened to the spring, and wherein another end of the suspension line is fastened to the main circuit board (Terminal 1380 is disposed on the holder 1340 which is part of the main circuit board and the wire 1800 is coupled to terminal 1380 and the elastic member 1710; [0795], [0852]; fig. 37);
a first flexible circuit board (1600; fig. 37) comprising:
a first end coupled with the main circuit board (The connection board 1600 is integrally formed with the second board 1310; [0831]; The connection board 1600 electrically connects the first board to 1110 to the second board 1310; [0832]; fig. 40); and
a second end configured to couple with a board-to-board connector (BTB connector on the left side of first board 1110 which is connected to 1630; fig. 40), wherein a portion of the first flexible circuit board is attached to one of the side walls (The connection board 1600 is adhered to the protruding portion 1121 of the base 1120 which is part of the claimed base; [0755]);
a movable assembly (1300; fig. 37) disposed at the bottom and comprising:
an image sensor (1330; fig. 37) coupled with the main circuit board ([0768]); and
a driving assembly comprising:
a mover (Coil 1440; fig. 40) fastened to the main circuit board ([0781]); and
a stator (Magnet 1410; fig. 37) mounted in the base and disposed above the mover, (Magnet 1420 is secured to the fixed unit 1100; [0806]; fig. 37) wherein the mover is configured to drive, under an action of the stator, the movable assembly to shift ([0815]; Moves the sensor board 1320 in a direction perpendicular to the optical-axis) and roll ([0815]; Rotates the sensor board 1320 about the optical axis) on a plane on which the image sensor is located;
a lens (1220; fig. 37) mounted in the base (Lens is mounted on bobbin 1210 ([0764]) which is connected to the housing 1130 via elastic member 1710; [0848]; fig. 37), wherein an optical axis of the lens is perpendicular to the plane on which the image sensor is located (fig. 37).
Regarding claim 39, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 37), in addition, Park discloses, wherein the first flexible circuit board and the main circuit board form a rigid-flexible board (The sensor board 1320 is a rigid cavity PCB; [0853]; The connection board 1600 is an FPCB; [0831]. The second board 1310 which includes sensor board 1320 and connection board 1600 are integrally formed; [0831]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park.
Regarding claim 21, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20), in addition, Park discloses, wherein the first flexible circuit board further comprises:
a fixed segment (Terminal portion 1630 is secured to the fixed unit 1100; [0838]; fig. 40) configured to connect to a connection circuit board (Terminal portion 1630 is connected to the first board 1110; [0838]); and
a bent segment (1620; fig. 40) connected between the main circuit board (1310, 1340, 1380; fig. 37) and the fixed segment (1630) and attached to at least two of the side walls (An adhesive is for bonding the connection board 1600 to the base may be disposed in the groove 1121a; [0757]; As there are two opposing grooves 1121a (side walls) the connection board 1600 would be attached to at least two of the side walls.).
Regarding claim 22, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), in addition, Park discloses, wherein the fixed segment (1630; fig. 40) is attached to a top wall of the base (Terminal portion 1630 is secured to the fixed unit 1110; [0838] Therefore the terminal portion is ultimately secured to a top wall of the base as the top wall of the base is part of the base. If Applicant intends to limit the claim so that the fixed segment is directly attached to the top wall of the base, this needs to be stated in the claim.), and wherein the fixed segment is welded to the connection circuit board (Terminal portion 1630 is soldered to the first board 1110; [0838]).
Regarding claim 23, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 21), in addition, Park discloses, further comprising a second flexible circuit board, wherein bent segments of the first flexible circuit board and the second flexible circuit board are respectively connected to opposite ends of the main circuit board ([0833]; fig. 40).
Claim(s) 26, 27, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Takimoto et al. (US 2020/0241314 A1) hereinafter referenced as Takimoto.
Regarding claim 26, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20), however, Park, fails to explicitly disclose the mounting hole filled with damping adhesive. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Takimoto.
In a similar field of endeavor, Takimoto discloses further comprising a mounting hole (120a; fig. 5), wherein the suspension line (30A; fig. 5) passes through the mounting hole, and wherein the mounting hole is filled with a damping adhesive (15; fig. 11; [0080]).
Park teaches an OIS structure wherein a suspension wire connects a fixed portion to a movable portion. Takimoto teaches an OIS structure where a suspension wire connects a fixed portion to a movable portion wherein the suspension wire passes through a hole filled with a damping adhesive. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Park by applying the technique of providing a hole filled with damping adhesive for the suspension wire to pass through to achieve the predictable result of suppressing unnecessary resonance as disclosed in Takimoto ([0079]).
Regarding claim 27, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20), however, Park, fails to explicitly disclose the positioning hole and positioning boss. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Takimoto.
In a similar field of endeavor, Takimoto discloses further comprising a positioning boss (120f1, 120f2; fig. 5) disposed on the base (12; fig. 5), wherein a positioning hole (130e; fig. 9A) is provided on the spring (13; fig. 9A), and wherein the positioning boss is clamped in the positioning hole ([0127]; fig. 5).
Park teaches a spring disposed on the base. Takimoto teaches a spring disposed on the base via positioning bosses and positioning holes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Park by applying the technique of providing positioning bosses on the base which are inserted in positioning holes of the spring to achieve the predictable result of keeping the spring in proper alignment.
Regarding claim 40, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 37), however, Park, fails to explicitly disclose the mounting hole filled with damping adhesive. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art to provide this, as taught by Takimoto.
In a similar field of endeavor, Takimoto discloses further comprising a mounting hole (120a; fig. 5), wherein the suspension line (30A; fig. 5) passes through the mounting hole, and wherein the mounting hole is filled with a damping adhesive (15; fig. 11; [0080]).
Park teaches an OIS structure wherein a suspension wire connects a fixed portion to a movable portion. Takimoto teaches an OIS structure where a suspension wire connects a fixed portion to a movable portion wherein the suspension wire passes through a hole filled with a damping adhesive. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Park by applying the technique of providing a hole filled with damping adhesive for the suspension wire to pass through to achieve the predictable result of suppressing unnecessary resonance as disclosed in Takimoto ([0079]).
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Park (US 2020/0050014 A1) hereinafter referenced as Park2.
Regarding claim 33, Park discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20), however, Park fails to explicitly disclose a heat dissipation monitor on the main circuit board. However, the examiner maintains that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to provide this, as taught by Park2.
In a similar field of endeavor, Park2 discloses further comprising a heat dissipation monitor (1170; [0466]) disposed on the main circuit board (1190; fig. 25A) in the mover (1140; fig. 25A).
Park teaches a camera module with OIS. Park2 teaches a camera module with OIS wherein a heat dissipation monitor is disposed on the main circuit board of the mover. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve Park by applying the technique of providing a heat dissipation monitor on the main circuit board to achieve the predictable result of improving the results of position detection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 28, the prior art of record fails to disclose a first coil with a length extending in a first direction and a second coil with a length extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction and coplanar with the image sensor wherein a first perpendicular bisector of the length of the first coil and a second perpendicular bisector of the length of the second coil pass through a center of the image sensor, wherein the first coil drives the movable assembly in the second direction and the second coil drives the movable assembly in the first direction. While providing a coil arrangement like this is well-known, a coil arrangement like this would typically not be able to rotate the mover about the optical axis. Park, the primary reference specifically allows for x-direction movement, y-direction movement, and rotation about the optical axis for roll compensation. If the coil arrangement of Park were to be switched to the well-known arrangement as shown above, it would teach away from Park as Park would no longer be able to perform roll compensation.
Regarding claim 29, it depends from claim 28 and therefore contains allowable subject matter for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 28).
Claims 36, 38 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 36, although lenses having an optical axis parallel to the image plane and a prism mounted to a base for reflecting light from the lens to the image sensor plane is well-known, providing such a prism in the claimed base would not have resulted in a predictable configuration capable of OIS.
Regarding claim 38, it depends from claim 36 and therefore contains allowable subject matter for the same reasons as stated above (see claim 36).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAUL M. BERARDESCA
Examiner
Art Unit 2637
/PAUL M BERARDESCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637 6/9/2026