DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-19, 23 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (US 10855043B2, hereinafter referred to as “Cheng”).
Regarding claim 16, Cheng discloses a mount (Fig 2B, laser array module 101), comprising: a first metal element (Figs 2A and 2C, laser diode 1 has a metal support plate 2) including a first surface (Fig 2A, surface of 2 connected to functional parts of laser diode 1) for connection to a heat source (Fig 2C, laser diode array 107 produces heat when illuminated); a second metal element (Figs 2F, lead connectors 114, 116, 117) including a second surface for connection to a heat sink (Figs 2C, 2F and 2H, surface of 114/116 adjacent to 112 connect to heat sink module 111); a body made of plastic, glass or ceramic (Fig 2F, multiple insulator tubes 112) and arranged so as to abut against the first and second metal elements (Fig 2H, 112 abuts lead 4 and 116 at 124), said body comprising through-openings (Fig 2F) which extend from a region of the first surface to a region of the second surface (Fig 2H, multiple through-openings for multiple 112 of body extend from surfaces of metal elements/leads 4 and lead connectors 116/114), wherein the mount comprises grooves in the region of the first surface (Fig 2E, circular annular grooves at opening at through hole 120 at first surface of laser diode 1) and in the region of the second surface (Figs 2E, 2K, 2L 2N, 2O, 2P, grooves 121 in region of second surface of conductive pin connector 114, 116, 117), said grooves (121) extending over two of the through-openings (Figs 2E, 2H, and 2K, grooves 121 extend through multiple openings of 112), and wherein the first and second metal elements are arranged on the body such that a closed cooling channel is formed by the through-openings, the grooves and the first and second metal elements (Figs 2B, 2L, liquid-cooling channels (103) run through assembly formed by laser array module 101 and heat sink module 111, including openings of insulator tubes 112, grooves 121, and metal elements 4 and metal elements 114/116).
Regarding claim 17, Cheng discloses wherein the grooves are arranged in the first and second metal elements (Fig 2E, circular annular grooves at opening at through hole 120 at first surface of laser diode 1; Figs 2E, 2K, 2L, 2N, 2O, 2P, grooves 121 in region of second surface of lead connectors 114, 116, 117).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng discloses further comprising a liquid received in the cooling channel and being a dielectric fluid, wherein parts of the liquid are present in gaseous form in the cooling channel (col 9, lines 25-30: thermally conductive medium 34 can be made of phase-change heat conductive material. Heat dissipater 33 can be using gas or liquid cooling).
Regarding claim 19, Cheng discloses wherein the mount and the body are designed in a form of a cylinder (Fig 2F, 112 is cylindrical), wherein the first surface and the second surface are each formed by a base area of the cylinder (Fig 2H), wherein the first and second metal elements are annular (Figs 2A and 2F).
Regarding claim 23, Cheng discloses further comprising fasteners arranged on or in the first and second metal elements to fasten the mount (col 24, lines 1-7: lens array substrate layer 110 attached to heat sink module 111 by adhesive or fastener, screw).
Regarding claim 25, Cheng discloses wherein the cooling channel has a cross-section in a range of 0.25 mm2 to 10 mm2 (Figs 2B and 2H, each lens 108 for laser array appears to be similar in diameter to that of the outside diameter of cooling channel 103, and conventional commercial laser diode lens is about 3.8 mm to 9 mm in diameter (see last 4 lines of webpage at https://optlasers.com/laser-diode-products-and-technology), which falls within claimed inside cross-sectional area of cooling channel)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 10855043B2), hereinafter referred to as “Cheng”) in view of Herring (US 20070146996A1, hereinafter referred to as “Herring”).
Regarding claim 21, Cheng fails to disclose further comprising a metal foam arranged in the cooling channel.
However, Herring teaches further comprising a metal foam arranged in the cooling channel ([0045] lines 4-6: wick 309 (cooling channel) may be formed of a sintered porous metal like steel, aluminum, nickel).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by Herring based on the following rationales: Referring to Herring in [0044], which discusses that slidable wick 309 which may contain a vaporizable fluid, and in [0045] which discusses capillary pressure for wick 309 to transport the fluid using phase-shift properties from liquid to gas. As a result, the capillary pressure created by the wick structure of Herring provides the necessary energy for transporting in an efficient manner for the fluid in a closed loop cooling channel system, thereby providing heat removal capability to the heat sink at a zero energy demand. On the other hand, referring to Cheng, in Figs 2B and 2L, liquid-cooling channels (103) running through assembly formed by laser array module 101 and heat sink module 111 are of regular sized pipes and therefore require energy demand to pump to provide the liquid flow. As a result, above discussed energy demand advantage of Herring over Cheng serves as teaching, suggestion, or motivation, in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine and modify the cooling channel of Cheng by Herring, and there would have been reasonable expectation of success because Cheng and Herring belong to same analogous art as being semiconductor device heat sink with cooling channels.
Claim(s) 22 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 10855043B2), hereinafter referred to as “Cheng”) in view of Sasaki (US 20210108868A1, hereinafter referred to as “Sasaki”).
Regarding claim 22, Cheng fails to disclose wherein the through-openings have a cross-section which decreases in a direction of the region of the first surface starting from the region of the second surface.
However, Sasaki teaches wherein the through-openings have a cross-section which decreases in a direction of the region of the first surface starting from the region of the second surface (Fig 2(b) flow of medium has a decreasing diameter and cross-sectional area).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by Sasaki based on the following rationales: Referring to Sasaki as taught in [0072], for enhanced cooling effect, by decreasing the hole cross-sectional area on the outlet side, heat exchange can be accelerated, which is useful for enhancing heat discharging efficiency by the medium. On the other hand, referring to Cheng, in Figs 2B and 2L, the liquid-cooling channels (103) running through assembly formed by laser array module 101 and heat sink module 111 remain having same diameter pipes. As a result, above discussed heat exchanging efficiency enhancement due to changes in structure of the cooling channel of Sasaki over Cheng serve as teaching, suggestion, or motivation, in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine and modify the cooling channel of Cheng by Sasaki, and there would have been reasonable expectation of success because Cheng and Sasaki belongs to same analogous art as being semiconductor device heat sink with cooling channels.
Regarding claim 28, Cheng fails to disclose wherein the through-openings have at least one enlarged section in cross-section so as to form a reservoir.
However, Sasaki teaches wherein the through-openings have at least one enlarged section in cross-section so as to form a reservoir (Fig 2(b) flow of medium has a decreasing diameter and cross-sectional area from inlet to outlet. Reservoir can be considered to be at larger heat medium hole 3 at opening 301).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by Sasaki based on same rationales previously discussed for claim 22 above, thereby omitted herein for brevity.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 10855043B2), hereinafter referred to as “Cheng”) in view of Byers (US 20230179110A1, hereinafter referred to as “Byers”).
Regarding claim 24, Cheng fails to disclose further comprising a threaded bushing arranged in the body or a threaded bolt arranged on the body.
However, Byers teaches further comprising a threaded bushing arranged in the body or a threaded bolt arranged on the body (Fig 5B-3, threaded bolt 1620 arranged on the body (dielectric block 439); 512c, 409-1c, 409-2c is power rail, heat sink 508-2c, capacitor c, cooling channels 40 for the compact power converter/inverter; note: due to alternative language “or”, only one feature is sufficient, while remaining feature is considered optional and can be omitted).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by Byers based on the following rationales: Referring to Byers in [0381], [0389] and [0402] which explains how the threaded bolts 1620 can be used to secure various components for the heat sink thermal dissipation system for the compact inverter system in an efficient manner.
On the other hand, referring to Cheng, no such threaded bolt is present. As a result, above discussed advantage of Byers over Cheng serve as teaching, suggestion, or motivation, in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine and modify Cheng by Byers, and there would have been reasonable expectation of success because Cheng and Byers belongs to same analogous art as being semiconductor device heat sink with cooling channels.
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 10855043B2), hereinafter referred to as “Cheng”) in view of “Heat Sink Manufacturing Using Metal Injection Molding” online paper from Qpedia dated April 2013, hereinafter referred to as “Qpedia paper”).
Regarding claim 29, Cheng discloses a mount as set forth in claim 16 (see discussion for claim 16 above).
However, Cheng alone fails to sufficiently disclose the method comprising: forming the body by injection molding or milling; metallizing the body in the region of the first surface of the first metal element and in the region of the second surface of the second metal element; and fastening each of the first and second metal elements to a metallized region of the body by soldering, welding method or adhesive.
However, Qpedia paper and Cheng combined teach the method comprising: forming the body by injection molding or milling (Qpedia paper: heat sinks can be made by metal injection molding process as discussed in paper in pages 1-4, and thus implying likewise other components for the cooling assembly can also be fabricated by the same metal injection process; Cheng: Fig 2F, multiple insulator tubes 112 (body); due to presence of “or”, portion of above limitation is considered optional and can be omitted); metallizing the body in the region of the first surface of the first metal element and in the region of the second surface of the second metal element (Qpedia paper: heat sinks can be made by metal injection molding process as discussed in paper in pages 1-4); and fastening each of the first and second metal elements to a metallized region of the body by soldering, welding method or adhesive (due to presence of “or”, portion of above limitation is considered optional and can be omitted; Cheng: col 24, lines 3-6, lines 14-16, lens substrate layer 110 attached to heat sink module 111 by adhesive or fastener, screw; Fig 1B, glue dot 41, col 16, lines 62-64).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by Qpedia paper based on the following rationales: referring to advantages discussed in page 1 of Qpedia reproduced as follow: “The MIM process allows intricate features to be added into the heat sink design to boost thermal performance and its production process is very scalable compared with machining. Injection molding enables complex parts to be formed as easily as simple geometries, thereby allowing increased design freedom. MIM can meet the tolerance requirements for heat sinks without the need for secondary operations, such as machining. Producing net shapes allows considerable savings, since no material is wasted. On the other hand, Cheng fails to recognize such novel MIM process as taught by Qpedia paper. As a result, above discussed advantages of MIM process of Qpeida paper over Cheng serve as teaching, suggestion, or motivation, in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Cheng by Qpedia paper, and there would have been reasonable expectation of success because Cheng and Qpedia paper both belong to same analogous art as being advanced heat sink device with liquid cooling.
Regarding claim 30, Cheng discloses further comprising arranging the grooves in the first and second metal elements (Fig 2E, circular annular grooves at opening at through hole 120 at first surface of laser diode 1; Figs 2E, 2K, 2L, 2N, 2O, 2P, grooves 121 in region of second surface of conductive lead connector 114, 116, 117).
Claim(s) 31 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 10855043B2), hereinafter referred to as “Cheng”) in view of “Heat Sink Manufacturing Using Metal Injection Molding” online paper from Qpedia dated April 2013, hereinafter referred to as “Qpedia paper”), and further in view of Herring (US 20070146996A1, hereinafter referred to as “Herring”).
Regarding claim 31, Cheng and Qpedia paper, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or teach further comprising filling a liquid in a form of a dielectric fluid in the cooling channel, with parts of the liquid being present in gaseous form in the cooling channel.
However, Herring teaches further comprising filling a liquid in a form of a dielectric fluid in the cooling channel, with parts of the liquid being present in gaseous form in the cooling channel ([0044] slidable wick 309 which may contain a vaporizable fluid; [0045] capillary pressure for wick 309 to transport the fluid using phase-shift properties from liquid to gas).
Regarding claim 33, Cheng and Qpedia paper, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or teach further comprising arranging a metal foam in the cooling channel.
However, Herring teaches further comprising arranging a metal foam in the cooling channel ([0045] lines 4-6: wick 309 (cooling channel) may be formed of a sintered porous metal like steel, aluminum, nickel).
Regarding claims 31 and 33, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by Herring in view of Qpedia based on the following rationales: Referring to Herring in [0044], which discusses that slidable wick 309 which may contain a vaporizable fluid, and in [0045] which discusses capillary pressure for wick 309 to transport the fluid using phase-shift properties from liquid to gas. As a result, the capillary pressure created by the wick structure of Herring provides the necessary energy for transporting in an efficient manner for the fluid in a closed loop cooling channel system, thereby providing heat removal capability to the heat sink without demanding energy. On the other hand, referring to Cheng, in Figs 2B and 2L, liquid-cooling channels (103) running through assembly formed by laser array module 101 and heat sink module 111 are of regular sized pipes and therefore require added energy to pump to provide the liquid flow. As a result, above discussed energy demand advantage of Herring over Cheng serve as teaching, suggestion, or motivation, in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine and modify the cooling channel of Cheng by Herring in view of Qpedia paper, and there would have been reasonable expectation of success because Cheng and Herring belongs to same analogous art as being semiconductor device heat sink with cooling channels.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 10855043B2), hereinafter referred to as “Cheng”) in view of “Heat Sink Manufacturing Using Metal Injection Molding” online paper from Qpedia dated April 2013, hereinafter referred to as “Qpedia paper”), and further in view of Sasaki (US 20210108868A1, hereinafter referred to as “Sasaki”).
Regarding claim 34, Cheng and Qpedia paper, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or teach further comprising enlarging at least one section of the through-openings so as to form a reservoir.
However, Sasaki teaches further comprising enlarging at least one section of the through-openings so as to form a reservoir (Fig 2(b), flow of medium has a decreasing diameter and cross-sectional area from inlet to outlet. Reservoir can be considered to be at larger heat medium hole 3 at opening 301.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by Sasaki in view of Qpedia paper based on the following rationales: Referring to Sasaki as taught in [0072], for enhanced cooling effect, by decreasing the hole cross-sectional area on the outlet side, heat exchange can be accelerated, which is useful for enhancing heat discharging efficiency by the medium. On the other hand, referring to Cheng, in Figs 2B and 2L, the liquid-cooling channels (103) running through assembly formed by laser array module 101 and heat sink module 111 remain having same diameter pipes. As a result, above discussed heat exchanging efficiency enhancement due to changes in structure of the cooling channel of Sasaki over Cheng serve as teaching, suggestion, or motivation, in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine and modify the cooling channel of Cheng by Sasaki, and there would have been reasonable expectation of success because Cheng and Sasaki belongs to same analogous art as being semiconductor device heat sink with cooling channels.
Claim(s) 27 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 10855043B2), hereinafter referred to as “Cheng”) in view of Ngoc Bao (DE102019109461A1), (hereinafter referred to as “Ngoc”).
Regarding claim 27, Cheng fails to sufficiently disclose wherein the first and second metal elements each comprise a metal rib which engages in the cooling channel in such a way that an interface between the cooling channel and a corresponding one of the first and second metal elements is enlarged.
However, Ngoc teaches wherein the first and second metal elements each comprise a metal rib which engages in the cooling channel in such a way that an interface between the cooling channel and a corresponding one of the first and second metal elements is enlarged (Fig 2, fins 14 (metal rib) engage cooling channel (15), capacitor 2, mount 10, heat sink 13, conductor substrate 4 (metal element); note: “one of” language in limitation renders the other selection choice being optional and omitted).
Regarding claim 35, Cheng discloses a converter (Fig 2B, laser array module 101 for converting electrical energy to light energy), comprising: a mount (101) comprising a first metal element (Figs 2A and 2C, laser diode 1 has a metal support plate 2 ) including a first surface for connection to a heat source (Fig 2A, surface of metal support plate 2 connected to functional parts of laser diode; Fig 2C, laser diode array 107 produces heat when illuminated), a second metal element including a second surface for connection to a heat sink (Figs 2F, conductive lead connectors 114, 116, 117; Figs 2C, 2F and 2H, surface of 114/116 adjacent to 112 connect to heat sink module 111), a body made of plastic, glass or ceramic and arranged so as to abut against the first and second metal elements (Fig 2H, multiple insulator tubes 112 arranged so as to abut against the first and second metal elements (Fig 2H, 112 abuts 4 and 116 at 124)), said body comprising through-openings which extend from a region of the first surface to a region of the second surface (Figs 2F and 2H, multiple through-openings for multiple 112 of body extend from surfaces of metal elements 4 and 116/114), wherein the mount comprises grooves in the region of the first surface and in the region of the second surface (Fig 2E, circular annular grooves at opening at through hole 120 at first surface of laser diode 1; Figs 2E, 2K 2L 2N, 2O, 2P, grooves 121 in region of second surface of conductive lead connector 114, 116, 117), said grooves (121) extending over two of the through-openings (Fig 2E, grooves 121 extend at least over two of openings 120 and openings of 112; Figs 2H, and 2K, grooves 121 extend through multiple openings of 112), and wherein the first and second metal elements are arranged on the body such that a closed cooling channel is formed by the through-openings, the grooves and the first and second metal elements (Figs 2B and 2L, liquid-cooling channels (103) run through assembly formed by laser array module 101 and heat sink module 111, including openings of body 112, grooves 121, and metal elements 4 and metal elements 114/116); a heat sink (Fig 2C, heat sink module 111);
However, Cheng fails to disclose the following: and at least one of a capacitor and a power rail fastened to the heat sink by the mount.
However, Ngoc teaches the following: and at least one of a capacitor and a power rail fastened to the heat sink by the mount (Figs 1-2, capacitor 2, mount 10, heat sink 13, power rail (conductor substrate 4)).
Regarding claims 27 and 35, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cheng by Ngoc based on the following rationales: Referring to Ngoc in Fig 2, a heat sink 13 with cooling fins 14 transfer heat with coolant 15 flowing through a cooling trough 16. Referring to Cheng, the cooling channels 103 shown by Figs 2B and 2L do not have any such fins. As a result, improvement of heat transfer of Ngoc over Cheng serves as teaching, suggestion, or motivation, in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine and modify Cheng by Ngoc, and there would have been reasonable expectation of success because Cheng and Byers belong to same analogous art as being semiconductor device heat sink with cooling channels
Allowable subject matter
Claim(s) 20, 26 and 32 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Cited prior art including Cheng, Ngoc, Sasaki and Herring, singularly or in any combinations, fails to disclose or teach “further comprising a glass-fiber-reinforced plastic film arranged around a lateral surface of the cylindrical body” of claim 20, “wherein the first and second metal elements each comprise a metal rib which engages in the body” of claim 26, and “designing the body in a form of a cylinder; and arranging a glass-fiber-reinforced plastic film around a lateral surface of the cylindrical body” of claim 32.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Song (US 20190335608A1) discloses an electric vehicle inverter module heat sink with cooing channels. Lee (US 20230156964A1) discloses a converter with a heat sink and a heat pipe mounted in a groove. Meyer (US 20200396865A1) discloses thermally conductive insulator with fins for cooing for power semiconductors. Franke (US 20180235101A1) discloses a heat sink for electronics. Schroeder (US 20220192049A1) discloses a heat sink for a power converter. Falguier (WO2019002713A1) discloses a power converter with heat sink and capacitor. Sotome (US 20120020025A1) discloses cooling structure of capacitor and inverter device. Yao (EP3462592A1) discloses an inverter cooling system. Drofenik (EP 2637489A1) discloses an electrical power semiconductor module with heat sink and capacitor, and a groove in heat sink.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DING Y TAN whose telephone number is (303)297-4271. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 8:00am MT--5:00pm MT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Terrell McKinnon can be reached on 571-272-4797. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DING Y TAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3632
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632