DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Office Action addressing U.S. Application No. 18/696,782. Based upon a review of the instant application, the actual filing date of the instant application is March 28, 2024.
Status of the Claims
The Examiner acknowledges the preliminary amendment filed March 28, 2024.
Claims 1-7,10-18,21, and 22 are pending and examined herein;
Claims 1,3-7,10-12,14-18,21, and 22 are rejected;
Claims 2 and 13 are objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-7,10-12,14-18,21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021/221603 to Penna et al. (“Penna”).
Referring to claims 1 and 12, Penna teaches a method (see figure 5A), implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), wherein the WRTU comprises a processor and a transceiver (see item 110 in figure 1 comprising items 120 and 130), wherein the method is for reporting channel state information (CSI) for a direct channel and a reflected channel, the method comprising:
receiving configuration information indicating (1) a reference signal (RS) set including at least a first RS and a second RS, and (2) a phase value associated with one of the first RS or the second RS (see Abstract and ¶¶ 18, 88, 91, 94, 97, and 98);
receiving the first RS in the RS set (see Abstract and ¶¶ 18, 88, 91, 94, 97, and 98);
receiving the second RS in the RS set (see Abstract and ¶¶ 18, 88, 91, 94, 97, and 98);
determining first channel state information (CSI) associated with the direct channel and second CSI associated with the reflected channel using one or more measurements of the received first RS, one or more measurements of the second RS, and the indicated phase value (see Abstract and ¶¶ 18, 88, 91, 94, 97, and 98); and
reporting information indicating the first CSI and the second CSI (see Abstract and ¶¶ 18, 88, 91, 94, 97, and 98).
Referring to claims 3 and 14 Penna teaches the method of claim 1 and the device of claim 12 as shown above, and Penna further teaches the first RS is associated with a first set of reflection parameters of the RIS, and the second RS is associated with a second set of reflection parameters of the RIS, and the second set of reflection parameters are different than the first set of reflection parameters (see ¶¶ 91 and 94, note the IRS can have an initial configuration and then be reconfigured with a subsequent configuration).
Referring to claims 4 and 15, Penna teaches the method of claim 1 and device of claim 12 (as shown above), and Penna further teaches wherein the second RS is received after the first RS (see ¶ 110).
Referring to claims 5 and 16, Penna teaches The method of claim 1 and device of claim 12 (as shown above), and Penna further teaches determining first channel information using the one or more measurements of the received first RS; and determining second channel information using the one or more measurements of the received second RS, wherein the first CSI and the second CSI are determined using the first channel information, the second channel information, and the indicated phase value (see ¶¶ 91, 94, 97, and 98).
Referring to claim 6 and 17, Penna teaches the method of claim 1 and device of claim 12 as shown above, and Penna further teaches the configuration information indicating the RS set includes any of time and/or frequency resources associated with the first RS and the second RS, and/or identifiers of the first RS and the second RS (see ¶¶ 91, 94, 97, and 98).
Referring to claims 7 and 18, Penna teaches the method of claim 1 and device of claim 12 (as shown above), and Penna further teaches receiving configuration information indicating any of one or more CSI parameters, and/or a reporting type, wherein the first CSI includes respective first values of the one or more CSI parameters, and the second CSI includes respective second values of the one or more CSI parameters, and/or the reporting of the information indicating the first CSI and the second CSI is based on the reporting type which is any of aperiodic, periodic, or semi-persistent (see ¶¶ 91, 94, 97, and 98).
Referring to claims 10 and 21, Penna teaches the method of claim 7 and device of claim 12 (as shown above), and Penna further teaches wherein the one or more CSI parameters include any of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a rank indicator (RI), a layer indicator (LI), a channel resource indicator (CRI), a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block resource indicator (SSBRI), a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), and/or a reference signal received power (RSRP) (see item 580 in figure 5A).
Referring to claims 11 and 22, Penna teaches the method of claim 1 and the device of claim 12 (as shown above), and Penna further teaches the first RS and/or the second RS is any of a channel state information RS (CSI-RS), a synchronization signal block (SSB), a sounding reference signal (SRS), and/or a tracking reference signal (TRS) (See Abstract, note the Examiner considers the positioning reference signal (PRS) to be considered a TRS).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art as it pertains to the applicant’s invention:
U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0078537 to Yerramalli et al. teaches a method and system for CSI reporting in a system comprising a RIS and is cited as background information;
U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0291537 to Wang et al. teaches a system wherein a UE receives an RS set, prior to receiving the references signals, measuring and reporting the channel state and is provided as background information.
Signed:
/ERON J SORRELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992