Claim Status
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 64 – 66 and 69 – 70 in the reply filed on April 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 51 – 63 and 67 – 68 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 16, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 64 and 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 64, the reference to a cancelled claim 1 renders the claim indefinite. However, for the sake of compact prosecution, claim 51 will be used as the proper referenced claim for examination.
Regarding claims 64 and 65, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 64 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidsohn et al. (W.O. Patent Application Publication No. 2017201527; cited on IDS, hereinafter Davidsohn).
Regarding claim 64, Davidsohn discloses gene therapy methods using genetic constructs processed from the original DNA (pp. 2 – 3, Bottom of page 2 to Top of page 3) into miRNA, shRNA, RNAi or mRNA (where the mRNA consists of a 5’ Cap and 3’ poly A or equivalent). Davidsohn does not explicitly state that the mRNA has 3’ UTR as in claim 51. However, Davidsohn further discloses a method of treating a mammal for obesity and type II diabetes (metabolic disorder) by administering a Sirt6 (p. 88, Claim 84) viral expression vector. The motivation to add a 3’ UTR to the mRNA construct is because it contains regulatory elements that control: how long the mRNA lasts in a cell, how efficiently it is translated into protein, and where it is localized.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mRNA vector of Davidsohn with a 3’ UTR in order to improve translation efficiency.
Regarding claim 69, Davidsohn discloses administering an effective amount of a vector (p. 3 “such as an AAV”, Bottom of page 3) or plurality of vectors expressing SIRT6 (p. 21; Table 2- Therapy group 15) to a subject.
Claims 65 and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidsohn in view of Zhong et al. (SIRT6 Protects Against Liver Fibrosis by Deacetylation and Suppression of SMAD3 in Hepatic Stellate Cells, Cellular and Molecular Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Volume 10, Issue 2, (2020); cited on IDS, hereinafter Zhong).
Regarding claims 65 and 66, Davidsohn teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except administering the treatment to a subject with NAFLD.
However, Zhong provides the motivation for treating NASH, which progresses from NAFLD, by disclosing that SIRT6 protects against liver fibrosis. The aim of Zhong’s study was centered around the role (p. 341, Background) of hepatic SIRT6 in NASH.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the SIRT6 treatment of Davidsohn with the teaching from Zhong about SIRT6 treating liver fibrosis. Doing so would lead to a favorable outcome for treating NASH, according to Zhong.
Claim 70 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidsohn in view of Conway et al. (Non-viral Delivery of Zinc Finger Nuclease mRNA Enables Highly Efficient In Vivo Genome Editing of Multiple Therapeutic Gene Targets Molecular Therapy, 2019; 27, 866-877; hereinafter Conway).
Regarding claim 70, Davidsohn teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above except administering a single dose of an AAV followed by multiple administrations of the isolated nucleic acid molecule. However, Conway discloses repeat administration (Abstract) of ZFN mRNA-LNP after a single AAV donor dose. Conway further provides the motivation for utilizing this method by disclosing that this technique led to a significantly increased level of genome editing and transgene expression compared to a single dose.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the AAV administration method of Conway with the SIRT6 treatment protocol of Davidsohn. Doing so would increase transgene (SIRT6) expression in a subject, according to Conway.
Double Patenting
Claims 64 – 66 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 26, 27 and 48 – 51 of copending Application No. 19/502,457 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the two applications are directed to a method of treating a fibrotic disease or disorder with a vector encoding SIRT6.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/WALTER JACKSON III/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638