Response to Arguments
Examiner thanks Applicant for incorporating structure such that some of the previous 112(f) invocations are withdrawn herein.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner has provided an updated grounds of rejection, as necessitated by amendment, in view of Yamaguchi. Please see below for additional details.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a measuring device in claims 1 and 8. When looking to the specification, the measuring device is described to be a light barrier 90, transmitter 91, and receiver 93; please see page 9 of the Specification. This limitation shall be construed to cover the structure described in the specification and equivalents thereof. D.M.I., Inc. v. Deere & Co., 755 F.2d 1570, 1574, 225 USPQ 236, 238 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaguchi (JP 6126657 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses a machine for processing sheet metal parts, comprising:
a brush unit with at least one abrasive brush configured to horizontally rotate and brush a surface of the sheet metal parts to be processed (see Figure 7B regarding rotating brushes 31A, 31B and workpiece W; see also [0006], [0039]; wherein the recitation of ‘horizontally’ does not have a frame of reference, i.e. a floor or a different surface, and thus the prior art discloses the claimed invention under broadest reasonable interpretation);
an actuator configured to vertically move the brush unit to adjust a processing gap ([0009]: a frame moving motor for relatively moving a brush frame toward a conveyor belt; see also [0033], [0036]);
a measuring device configured to measure a plurality of diameters of the at least one abrasive brush while the at least one abrasive brush is freely rotating at different speeds (see diameter detecting means disclosed in [0007]; see also [0010], [0038], [0040-0041], [0047-0048]; [0054]; wherein [0061] discloses circumferential speeds in plural and measured diameters; see also [0062]);
a memory configured to store the plurality of measured diameters and the different speeds in association with each other ([0049] discloses storing diameters and the peripheral speeds of the rotating brush; see also [0050], [0061]; [0062]), and
a processor configured to calculate a vertical position of the at least one abrasive brush depending on a selected speed and a diameter of the plurality of diameters corresponding to the selected speed (see [0011-0012], [0049-0051], [0061]: rotation of the brush motor 43 is controlled based on the detected diameters of the rotating brushes such that the circumferential speeds of the brushes coincide with the circumferential speeds of the rotating brushes and stored in the memory; see also depth and positioning control disclosed in [0062]).
Regarding claim 2, Yamaguchi discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Yamaguchi further discloses wherein the measuring device is an optical sensor (see [0012], [0040-0041], [0045-0048], [0050], [0055-0056], [0064]).
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Yamaguchi further discloses wherein the measuring device is a light barrier which is interrupted by the at least one abrasive brush when the brush unit is lowered (see [0012], [0040-0041], [0045-0048], [0050], [0055-0056], [0064]; see also Figures 7A, 7B, and 8).
Regarding claim 5, Yamaguchi discloses a method for calibrating and adjusting a machine for processing a sheet metal part comprising a brush unit with at least one abrasive brush configured to horizontally rotate and brush a surface of the sheet metal part to be processed and an actuator configured to for vertically move the brush unit, (see Figure 7B regarding rotating brushes 31A, 31B and workpiece W; see also [0006], [0039]; see [0009]: a frame moving motor for relatively moving a brush frame toward a conveyor belt; see also [0033], [0036]) the method comprising steps of:
measuring a plurality of diameters of the at least one abrasive brush while the at least one abrasive brush is freely rotating at different speeds (see diameter detecting means disclosed in [0007]; see also [0010], [0038], [0040-0041], [0047-0048]; [0054]; wherein [0061] discloses circumferential speeds in plural and measured diameters; see also [0062]);
storing the plurality of diameters and different speeds in association with each other ([0049] discloses storing diameters and the peripheral speeds of the rotating brush; see also [0050], [0061]; [0062]);
calculating a vertical position of the abrasive brush depending on a selected speed and a diameter of the plurality of diameters corresponding to the selected speed; and vertically moving the brush unit until the brush unit reaches the calculated vertical position above the sheet metal part (see [0011-0012], [0049-0051], [0061]: rotation of the brush motor 43 is controlled based on the detected diameters of the rotating brushes such that the circumferential speeds of the brushes coincide with the circumferential speeds of the rotating brushes and stored in the memory; see also depth and positioning control disclosed in [0062]; see also [0058], [0050]).
Regarding claim 7, Yamaguchi discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Yamaguchi further discloses wherein the plurality of diameters includes diameters of the at least one abrasive brush measured at at least three speeds of the different speeds (wherein [0059] discloses minimum diameters in plural form and preset use limit diameters in plural form, see also [0061], and Figure 8).
Regarding claim 8, Yamaguchi discloses a device for calibrating and adjusting a sheet metal processing machine comprising a brush unit with at least one abrasive brush configured to horizontally rotate and brush a surface of a sheet metal part to be processed and an actuator configured to vertically move the brush unit to adjust a processing gap (see Figure 7B regarding rotating brushes 31A, 31B and workpiece W; see also [0006], [0039]; see [0009]: a frame moving motor for relatively moving a brush frame toward a conveyor belt; see also [0033], [0036]), comprising:
an input interface configured to receive measurement data from a measuring device, which measures a plurality of diameters of the at least one abrasive brush while the at least one abrasive brush is freely rotating at different speeds (see input device 63, [0050]; see diameter detecting means disclosed in [0007]; see also [0010], [0038], [0040-0041], [0047-0048]; [0054]; wherein [0061] discloses circumferential speeds in plural and measured diameters; see also [0062]);
a memory unit configured to store the plurality of measured diameters and the different speeds in association with each other ([0049] discloses storing diameters and the peripheral speeds of the rotating brush; see also [0050], [0061]; [0062]); and
a processor configured to calculate a vertical position of the brush unit relative to the sheet metal part depending on a selected speed and a diameter of the plurality of diameters corresponding to the selected speed (see [0011-0012], [0049-0051], [0061]: rotation of the brush motor 43 is controlled based on the detected diameters of the rotating brushes such that the circumferential speeds of the brushes coincide with the circumferential speeds of the rotating brushes and stored in the memory; see also depth and positioning control disclosed in [0062]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamaguchi discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Yamaguchi further discloses wherein the measurement data received by the input interface comprises respective diameters of the plurality of diameters measured at at least three speeds of the different speeds (wherein [0059] discloses minimum diameters in plural form and preset use limit diameters in plural form, see also [0061], and Figure 8).
Regarding claim 10, Yamaguchi discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program product comprising program code that, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to carry out the steps of the method of claim 5 (see at least [0049] regarding the computer and control device, as well as [0050], [0060] disclosing machine program member 79, and machining condition memory 81 in [0061]).
Regarding claim 11, Yamaguchi discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Yamaguchi further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to, when the selected speed falls between two of the different speeds stores in the memory, calculate the vertical position based on a diameter interpolated from the plurality of diameters stored in the memory (see at least calculating average and rotation of brush motor 43 control in [0061]; see also [0050], [0054]).
Regarding claim 12, Yamaguchi discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Yamaguchi further discloses wherein the bristles of the at least one abrasive brush stand up due to centrifugal force as a rotational speed of the at least one abrasive brush increases, such that the plurality of measured diameters includes different diameters of the at least one abrasive brush measured at the different speeds (see [0006-0007], [0011], [0012-0013], [0050], [0054], [0059], [0061]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (JP 6126657 B2) in view of Giese (US 2024/0149386).
Regarding claim 4, Yamaguchi discloses the claimed invention as applied above. Yamaguchi discloses the abrasive brushes interrupt the light barrier during one complete rotation (see [0012], [0040-0041], [0045-0048], [0050], [0055-0056], [0064]).
However, Yamaguchi does not explicitly teach the configuration of wherein the brush unit is rotatable about a vertical axis of the brush unit and has at least four horizontally rotating abrasive brushes.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Giese teaches of a brush configuration comprising brush unit is rotatable about a vertical axis of the brush unit and has at least four horizontally rotating abrasive brushes (see [0024-0025], [0067], [0072-0073], see circulation, see also [0077]); see also Figure 2, wherein there are at least four roller brushes shown).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Yamaguchi to reflect the quantity and configuration of brushes as taught by Giese. One would be motivated to do so in order to impart effective and uniform machining of a workpiece surface ([0026], [0003]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723