DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 14-15, 16, 18-21, 23, 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘Tuning a compatible interface with LLZTO integrated on cathode material for improving NCM811/LLZTO solid-state battery’ hereinafter referred to as ‘Zhao’
Regarding Claim 1,
Zhao teaches a cathode active material for a lithium-ion battery having a structure comprising a core and a shell, wherein the core comprises lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide compound, and the shell is lithium lanthanum zirconate (LLZO) (Zhao, “The generated LP tightly bonded LLZTO and NCM811 together, forming a compatible cathode surface to the solid electrolyte of LLZTO disk with the LLZTO covering on NCM811.”, see Introduction) with a mass ratio of core to shell in a range of 90-99 to 1-10 (Zhao, “Li6.4La3Zr1.4Ta0.6O12 power (Li6.4La3Zr1.4Ta0.6O12: Ni0.8Co0.1Mn0.1(OH)2 = 0.05, D = 300–500 nm),”, see Experimental )(The examiner notes that the other 95% is NCM811)(The examiner notes that Zhao uses LLZTO but it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the analogous LLZO [Zhao, “For high capacity SSBs, surely, nickel-rich cathode materials are most potential candidates. The use of NCM622/NCM333 cathodes and LLZO/LLZTO were reported in polymer-type SSBs”, see Introduction] see MPEP 2143 (I)(B)) .
Regarding Claim 2,
Zhao teaches the cathode active material according to claim 1, wherein the lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide compound has a formula Li(NiaMnbCoc)02, whereby 0 < a < 1, 0 < b <1, 0 < c < 1 and the sum of a, b, and c is 1 (Zhao, “on LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 cathode material, ”, see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 3,
Zhao teaches the cathode active material according to claim 2, wherein the lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide compound has the formula Li(Ni0.8Mn0.1Co0.1)02 (Zhao, “on LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 cathode material, ”, see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 6,
Zhao teaches a method for preparing a cathode active material for a lithium-ion battery having a structure comprising a core and a shell (Zhao, “Herein, a Li+-conductive self-integrated layer of Li6.4La3Zr1.4Ta0.6O12-Li3PO4 (LLZTO-LP) was constructed on NCM811 cathode material”, see Introduction), the method comprising the steps of:(a) providing the core comprising lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide compound having a shape and size as required (Zhao, “First, 0.5 g of the Ni0.8Co0.1Mn0.1(OH)2 precursor was added to a certain concentration solution of NH4H2PO4 with stirring”, see Experimental), (b) providing the shell which is lithium lanthanum zirconate, and (c) coating the shell obtained from step (Zhao, “Then, LiOH, 5 wt% nanoscale Li6.4La3Zr1.4Ta0.6O12 power (Li6.4La3Zr1.4Ta0.6O12: Ni0.8Co0.1Mn0.1(OH)2 = 0.05, D = 300–500 nm), and the coated precursor sample were uniformly mixed under an argon atmosphere.”, Experimental)(b) onto a surface of the core obtained from step (a) with a mass ratio of core to shell in a range of 90-99 to 1-10 (Zhao, “Li6.4La3Zr1.4Ta0.6O12 power (Li6.4La3Zr1.4Ta0.6O12: Ni0.8Co0.1Mn0.1(OH)2 = 0.05, D = 300–500 nm),”, see Experimental ).
Regarding Claim 7,
Zhao teaches the method for preparing the cathode active material according to claim 6, wherein the lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide compound has a formula Li(NiaMnbCoc)O2, whereby 0 < a < 1, 0 < b < 1, 0 < c < 1 and the sum of a, b, and c is 1 (Zhao, “on LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 cathode material, ”, see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 8,
Zhao teaches the method for preparing the cathode active material according to claim 7, wherein the lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide compound has the formula Li(Ni0.8Mn0.1Co0.1)O2 (Zhao, “on LiNi0.8Co0.1Mn0.1O2 cathode material, ”, see Abstract).
Regarding Claim 14,
Zhao teaches a cathode for a lithium-ion battery comprising: the cathode active material according to any one of- the cathode active material according to any one of a binder, and a conductive material (Zhao, “The positive electrode was fabricated using Super-P (TIMCAL), polyvinylidene fluoride, and the cathode material; they were uniformly mixed (in a ratio of 1:1:8) in N-methyl pyrrolidinone (NMP) to form a slurry, and the slurry was evenly pasted onto an Al current collector.”, see 2.3 Electrochemical Performance).
Regarding Claim 15,
Zhao teaches the cathode according to claim 14, wherein the binder is selected from polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) (PEDOT), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), and a mixture thereof (Zhao, “The positive electrode was fabricated using Super-P (TIMCAL), polyvinylidene fluoride, and the cathode material; they were uniformly mixed (in a ratio of 1:1:8) in N-methyl pyrrolidinone (NMP) to form a slurry, and the slurry was evenly pasted onto an Al current collector.”, see 2.3 Electrochemical Performance).
Regarding Claim 16,
Zhao teaches the cathode according to claim 14, wherein the conductive material is selected from carbon black, acetylene black, super P, and a mixture thereof (Zhao, “The positive electrode was fabricated using Super-P (TIMCAL), polyvinylidene fluoride, and the cathode material; they were uniformly mixed (in a ratio of 1:1:8) in N-methyl pyrrolidinone (NMP) to form a slurry, and the slurry was evenly pasted onto an Al current collector.”, see 2.3 Electrochemical Performance).
Regarding Claim 18,
Zhao teaches a method for preparing a cathode for a lithium-ion battery comprising the steps of:- preparing a mixture of the cathode active material according to preparing a mixture of the cathode active material according to claim 1, binder, and conductive material and coating the mixture on a substrate (Zhao, “The positive electrode was fabricated using Super-P (TIMCAL), polyvinylidene fluoride, and the cathode material; they were uniformly mixed (in a ratio of 1:1:8) in N-methyl pyrrolidinone (NMP) to form a slurry, and the slurry was evenly pasted onto an Al current collector.”, see 2.3 Electrochemical Performance).
Regarding Claim 19,
Zhao teaches the method for preparing the cathode according to claim 18, wherein the binder is selected from polyvinylidene fluoride, poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene), polytetrafluoroethylene, and a mixture thereof (Zhao, “The positive electrode was fabricated using Super-P (TIMCAL), polyvinylidene fluoride, and the cathode material; they were uniformly mixed (in a ratio of 1:1:8) in N-methyl pyrrolidinone (NMP) to form a slurry, and the slurry was evenly pasted onto an Al current collector.”, see 2.3 Electrochemical Performance).
Regarding Claim 20,
Zhao teaches the method for preparing the cathode according to claim 18 wherein the conductive material is selected from carbon black, acetylene black, super P, and a mixture thereof (Zhao, “The positive electrode was fabricated using Super-P (TIMCAL), polyvinylidene fluoride, and the cathode material; they were uniformly mixed (in a ratio of 1:1:8) in N-methyl pyrrolidinone (NMP) to form a slurry, and the slurry was evenly pasted onto an Al current collector.”, see 2.3 Electrochemical Performance).
Regarding Claim 21,
Zhao teaches the method for preparing the cathode according to claim 18, wherein the substrate is aluminum (Zhao, “The positive electrode was fabricated using Super-P (TIMCAL), polyvinylidene fluoride, and the cathode material; they were uniformly mixed (in a ratio of 1:1:8) in N-methyl pyrrolidinone (NMP) to form a slurry, and the slurry was evenly pasted onto an Al current collector.”, see 2.3 Electrochemical Performance).
Regarding Claim 23,
Zhao teaches the method for preparing the cathode according to claim 18, wherein the preparation of the mixture of cathode active material, binder, and conductive material is carried out by a stirring using N-methylpyrrolidone solution as a solvent (Zhao, “The positive electrode was fabricated using Super-P (TIMCAL), polyvinylidene fluoride, and the cathode material; they were uniformly mixed (in a ratio of 1:1:8) in N-methyl pyrrolidinone (NMP) to form a slurry, and the slurry was evenly pasted onto an Al current collector.”, see 2.3 Electrochemical Performance).
Regarding Claim 26,
Zhao teaches the method for preparing the cathode according to claim 18 further comprising drying the coated substrate (Zhao, “the electrode was dried at 100 °C for 12 h under vacuum to remove the NMP solvent”, see 2.3 Electrochemical performance).
Regarding Claim 27,
Zhao teaches the method for preparing the cathode according to claim 26, wherein the substrate is dried by heating at a temperature ranging from 100-180°C (Zhao, “the electrode was dried at 100 °C for 12 h under vacuum to remove the NMP solvent”, see 2.3 Electrochemical performance).
Regarding Claim 28,
Zhao teaches a lithium-ion battery comprising the cathode according to claim 14 (Zhao, “The garnet SSBs were assembled in a glove box filled with argon; the SSBs consisted of a positive electrode (D = 11 mm), a ceramic electrolyte disk (D = 12 mm, H = 0.6 mm), lithium metal sheet (D = 10 mm, H = 0.6 mm), and 2025 button-type cell shell. ”, see 2.3 Electrochemical Performance).
Regarding Claim 29,
Zhao does not teach a cylindrical battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the coin cell taught in Zhao to be a cylindrical cell as it would have been obvious to try, as cylindrical cells are a known storage shape for cells ( see MPEP 2143 (I)(E)))
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘Tuning a compatible interface with LLZTO integrated on cathode material for improving NCM811/LLZTO solid-state battery’ hereinafter referred to as ‘Zhao’ in view of (US-20190027780-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Liu’
Regarding Claim 4,
Zhao does not teach the cathode active material according to claim 1, wherein the lithium lanthanum zirconate has a particle size in a range of 5-15 µm.
Liu teaches wherein the lithium lanthanum zirconate has a particle size in a range of 5-15 µm (Liu, “powder has an average particle size of 3 μm to 50 μm before wet grinding.”, see [0024]).
Liu teaches that particles of this size must be subjected to processing to better make a slurry (Liu, “ In an embodiment, if the particle size D50 of the inorganic solid electrolyte powder obtained by the solid phase reaction method is greater than 20 μm, the inorganic solid electrolyte powder may be first subjected to wet ball milling”, see [0015])
Zhao and Liu are analogous they are both of the same field of battery processing and slurry making.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had a LLZO particle size within the range as taught by Liu in order to prepare the particle for mixing and coating.
Regarding Claim 9,
Zhao teaches the cathode active material according to claim 1, wherein the lithium lanthanum zirconate has a particle size in a range of 5-15 µm .
Liu teaches wherein the lithium lanthanum zirconate has a particle size in a range of 5-15 µm (Liu, “powder has an average particle size of 3 μm to 50 μm before wet grinding.”, see [0024]).
Liu teaches that particles of this size must be subjected to processing to better make a slurry (Liu, “ In an embodiment, if the particle size D50 of the inorganic solid electrolyte powder obtained by the solid phase reaction method is greater than 20 μm, the inorganic solid electrolyte powder may be first subjected to wet ball milling”, see [0015])
Zhao and Liu are analogous they are both of the same field of battery processing and slurry making.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had a LLZO particle size within the range as taught by Liu in order to prepare the particle for mixing and coating.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘Tuning a compatible interface with LLZTO integrated on cathode material for improving NCM811/LLZTO solid-state battery’ hereinafter referred to as ‘Zhao’ in view of (US-20140186678-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Kim’
Regarding Claim 5,
Zhao does not teach the cathode active material according to claim 1, wherein the shell has a thickness in a range of 0.1-1,000 um.
Kim teaches wherein the shell has a thickness in a range of 0.1-1,000 um (Kim, “In the present invention, the diameter of the LLT may be about 10 to 1000 nm, and the thickness of the LLZ may be about 1 to 100 nm, and therefore, the thickness of the LLT/LLZ composite coated layer 140 may be about 0.1 to 1.2 μm. ”, see [0035]).
Kim teaches that this arrangement allows for the improvement of stability of the cell (Kim, “Therefore, in the present invention, to compensate the electrochemical instability of the LLT, stability with the Li metal may be improved, and furthermore, battery capacity may be improved, by adding the LLZ to the LLT as a composite. ”, see [0033]).
Zhao and Kim are analogous as they are both of the same field of LLZO coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thickness of the LLZO layer as taught in Zhao to be as thick as the layer taught in Kim in order to improve the capacity of the cell.
Regarding Claim 10,
Zhao does not teach the cathode active material according to claim 1, wherein the shell has a thickness in a range of 0.1-1,000 pm.
Kim teaches wherein the shell has a thickness in a range of 0.1-1,000 um (Kim, “In the present invention, the diameter of the LLT may be about 10 to 1000 nm, and the thickness of the LLZ may be about 1 to 100 nm, and therefore, the thickness of the LLT/LLZ composite coated layer 140 may be about 0.1 to 1.2 μm. ”, see [0035]).
Kim teaches that this arrangement allows for the improvement of stability of the cell (Kim, “Therefore, in the present invention, to compensate the electrochemical instability of the LLT, stability with the Li metal may be improved, and furthermore, battery capacity may be improved, by adding the LLZ to the LLT as a composite. ”, see [0033]).
Zhao and Kim are analogous as they are both of the same field of LLZO coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thickness of the LLZO layer as taught in Zhao to be as thick as the layer taught in Kim in order to improve the capacity of the cell.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘Tuning a compatible interface with LLZTO integrated on cathode material for improving NCM811/LLZTO solid-state battery’ hereinafter referred to as ‘Zhao’ in view of (US-20190027780-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Liu’ in view of (US-20220298023-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Obrovac’
Regarding Claim 11,
Zhao does not teach the method for preparing the cathode active material according to claim 6, wherein step (c) is carried out using a mechanofusion process with a speed ranging from 2,500-5,000 rpm, motor power ranging from 0.5-1.5 kW, temperature ranging from 20- 50°C, and period of time ranging from 10-60 minutes.
Liu teaches wherein step (c) is carried out using a process with a speed ranging from 2,500-5,000 rpm (Liu, “, a rotation speed in the sand milling process is in a range from 2000 rpm to 3000 rpm”, see [0020]), temperature ranging from 20- 50°C (Liu, “ at a temperature of 35° C”, see [0076]), and period of time ranging from 10-60 minutes (Liu, “the sand milling time is in a range from 1 hour to 24 hours”, see [0019]).
Liu teaches that this process allows for the particle size to be sufficient to allow for an appropriate thickness of battery part (Liu, “a rotation speed in the sand milling process is in a range from 2000 rpm to 3000 rpm. In the present disclosure, if the sand milling time is too short or the rotational speed of the sand milling is too slow, the particle size of the obtained inorganic solid electrolyte powder will be large, and the thickness of the coating layer on the positive and negative electrodes or the separator of the battery will be great, which will reduce the battery performance. ”, see [0020])
Zhao and Liu are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery processing.It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of manufacturing as taught in Zhao to be like that as taught in Liu in order to allow for the appropriate particle size which is needed for the thickness of the cathode and coating.
Liu does not teach motor power ranging from 0.5-1.5 kW, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the amount of power of the machine would be an inherent feature of the same rotating speed (see MPEP 213.07(a))
Zhao does not teach Mechanofusion.
Obrovac teaches Mechanofusion (Obrovac, “it has been discovered that certain high shear and high pressure field processes, such as dry mechanofusion (MF), can be used to prepare desirable aggregates from a variety of precursor particles in a simple manner and with efficient use of the precursor particles. The aggregated precursor particles (“product particles”) can desirably be made in narrow particle size distributions and in smooth, spherical or rounded shapes that are free from cavities. In some aspects, cavities can be included within the product particles.” See [0011]).
Obrovac teaches that mechnofusion allows for efficient production of desirable particles (Obrovac, “it has been discovered that certain high shear and high pressure field processes, such as dry mechanofusion (MF), can be used to prepare desirable aggregates from a variety of precursor particles in a simple manner and with efficient use of the precursor particles. The aggregated precursor particles (“product particles”) can desirably be made in narrow particle size distributions and in smooth, spherical or rounded shapes that are free from cavities. In some aspects, cavities can be included within the product particles.” See [0011]).
Zhao and Obrovac are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery particles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process as taught in modified Zhao to use mechanofusion in order to prepare desirable precursor particles.
Regarding Claim 13,
Zhao does not teach the method for preparing the cathode active material according to claim 6, wherein step (c) is carried out using a mechanofusion process with a speed ranging from 2,500-5,000 rpm, motor power ranging from 0.5-1.5 kW, temperature ranging from 20- 50°C, and period of time ranging from 10-60 minutes.
Liu teaches wherein step (c) is carried out using a process with a speed ranging from 2,500-5,000 rpm (Liu, “, a rotation speed in the sand milling process is in a range from 2000 rpm to 3000 rpm”, see [0020]), temperature ranging from 20- 50°C (Liu, “ at a temperature of 35° C”, see [0076]), and period of time ranging from 10-60 minutes (Liu, “the sand milling time is in a range from 1 hour to 24 hours”, see [0019]).
Liu teaches that this process allows for the particle size to be sufficient to allow for an appropriate thickness of battery part (Liu, “a rotation speed in the sand milling process is in a range from 2000 rpm to 3000 rpm. In the present disclosure, if the sand milling time is too short or the rotational speed of the sand milling is too slow, the particle size of the obtained inorganic solid electrolyte powder will be large, and the thickness of the coating layer on the positive and negative electrodes or the separator of the battery will be great, which will reduce the battery performance. ”, see [0020])
Zhao and Liu are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery processing.It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of manufacturing as taught in Zhao to be like that as taught in Liu in order to allow for the appropriate particle size which is needed for the thickness of the cathode and coating.
Liu does not teach motor power ranging from 0.5-1.5 kW, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the amount of power of the machine would be an inherent feature of the same rotating speed (see MPEP 213.07(a))
Zhao does not teach Mechanofusion.
Obrovac teaches Mechanofusion (Obrovac, “it has been discovered that certain high shear and high pressure field processes, such as dry mechanofusion (MF), can be used to prepare desirable aggregates from a variety of precursor particles in a simple manner and with efficient use of the precursor particles. The aggregated precursor particles (“product particles”) can desirably be made in narrow particle size distributions and in smooth, spherical or rounded shapes that are free from cavities. In some aspects, cavities can be included within the product particles.” See [0011]).
Obrovac teaches that mecahnofusion allows for efficient production of desirable particles (Obrovac, “it has been discovered that certain high shear and high pressure field processes, such as dry mechanofusion (MF), can be used to prepare desirable aggregates from a variety of precursor particles in a simple manner and with efficient use of the precursor particles. The aggregated precursor particles (“product particles”) can desirably be made in narrow particle size distributions and in smooth, spherical or rounded shapes that are free from cavities. In some aspects, cavities can be included within the product particles.” See [0011]).
Zhao and Obrovac are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery particles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process as taught in modified Zhao to use mechanofusion in order to prepare desirable precursor particles.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘Tuning a compatible interface with LLZTO integrated on cathode material for improving NCM811/LLZTO solid-state battery’ hereinafter referred to as ‘Zhao’ in view of in view of (US-20220298023-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Obrovac’
Regarding Claim 12,
Zhao does not teach the method for preparing the cathode active material according to claim 6 further comprising step (d) of modifying the surface of the core formed to obtain a smooth surface prior to performing step (c).
Obrovac teaches the method for preparing the cathode active material according to claim 6 further comprising step (d) of modifying the surface of the core formed to obtain a smooth surface prior to performing step (c) (Obrovac, “it has been discovered that certain high shear and high pressure field processes, such as dry mechanofusion (MF), can be used to prepare desirable aggregates from a variety of precursor particles in a simple manner and with efficient use of the precursor particles. The aggregated precursor particles (“product particles”) can desirably be made in narrow particle size distributions and in smooth, spherical or rounded shapes that are free from cavities. In some aspects, cavities can be included within the product particles.” See [0011]).
Obrovac teaches that mecahnofusion allows for efficient production of desirable particles (Obrovac, “it has been discovered that certain high shear and high pressure field processes, such as dry mechanofusion (MF), can be used to prepare desirable aggregates from a variety of precursor particles in a simple manner and with efficient use of the precursor particles. The aggregated precursor particles (“product particles”) can desirably be made in narrow particle size distributions and in smooth, spherical or rounded shapes that are free from cavities. In some aspects, cavities can be included within the product particles.” See [0011]).
Zhao and Obrovac are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery particles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process as taught in modified Zhao to use mechanofusion in order to prepare desirable precursor particles.
Claims 17 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘Tuning a compatible interface with LLZTO integrated on cathode material for improving NCM811/LLZTO solid-state battery’ hereinafter referred to as ‘Zhao’ in view of (US-20220025502-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Durham’
Regarding Claim 17,
Zhao does not teach the cathode according to claim 14,wherein a weight ratio of cathode active material to binder to conductive material is in a range of 90-98 to 1-5 to 1-5.
Durham teaches a weight ratio of cathode active material to binder to conductive material is in a range of 90-98 to 1-5 to 1-5. (Durham, “pristine, heat treated, and LLZO-coated NMC811. The data was collected in half-cells with lithium metal anodes according to the following: laminate formulation of 93/4/3 (active/carbon/binder)”, see [0019]).
Duhram teaches that its embodiment can improve energy density (Durham, “ thin coating layer can minimize effects due to electrochemical inactivity of LLZO and improve energy density. ”, see [0023])
Zhao and Durham are analogous as they are both of the same field of LLZO coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have increased the concentration of active material as taught in Zhao to the concentration as taught in Durham to improve energy density.
Regarding Claim 22,
Zhao teaches the method for preparing the cathode according to claim 18,wherein the weight ratio of cathode active material to binder to conductive material is in a range of 90-98 to 1-5 to 1-5.
Zhao does not teach the cathode according to claim 14,wherein a weight ratio of cathode active material to binder to conductive material is in a range of 90-98 to 1-5 to 1-5.
Durham teaches a weight ratio of cathode active material to binder to conductive material is in a range of 90-98 to 1-5 to 1-5. (Durham, “pristine, heat treated, and LLZO-coated NMC811. The data was collected in half-cells with lithium metal anodes according to the following: laminate formulation of 93/4/3 (active/carbon/binder)”, see [0019]).
Duhram teaches that its embodiment can improve energy density (Durham, “ thin coating layer can minimize effects due to electrochemical inactivity of LLZO and improve energy density. ”, see [0023])
Zhao and Durham are analogous as they are both of the same field of LLZO coatings.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have increased the concentration of active material as taught in Zhao to the concentration as taught in Durham to improve energy density.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘Tuning a compatible interface with LLZTO integrated on cathode material for improving NCM811/LLZTO solid-state battery’ hereinafter referred to as ‘Zhao’ in view of (US-20170207442-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Ho’
Regarding Claim 24,
Zhao does not teach the method for preparing the cathode according to claim, wherein the obtained mixture of cathode active material, binder, and conductive material has a viscosity in a range of 4,000-10,000 Pa.s
Ho teaches the method for preparing the cathode according to claim, wherein the obtained mixture of cathode active material, binder, and conductive material has a viscosity in a range of 4,000-10,000 Pa.s (Ho, “The viscosity of the slurry is preferably less than about 6,000 mPa·s. In some embodiments, the viscosity of the homogenized slurry is from about 1,000 mPa·s to about 6,000 mPa·s”, see [0117])
Ho teaches that high visocity can affect the dispersion of bulk materials (Ho, “The viscosity of the slurry is preferably less than about 6,000 mPa·s. In some embodiments, the viscosity of the homogenized slurry is from about 1,000 mPa·s to about 6,000 mPa·s”, see [0116]).
Zhao and Ho are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery manufacturing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the viscosity as taught in Zhao to that as taught in Ho in order to properly disperse the bulk material.
Regarding Claim 25,
Zhao does not teach the method for preparing the cathode according to claim 18, wherein the mixture of cathode active material, binder, and conductive material is coated onto the substrate with a coating thickness of 200-270 pm.
Ho teaches wherein the mixture of cathode active material, binder, and conductive material is coated onto the substrate with a coating thickness of 200-270 pm. (Ho, “In certain embodiments, the coating process is performed using a doctor blade coater, a slot-die coater, a transfer coater, a spray coater, a roll coater, a gravure coater, a dip coater, or a curtain coater. In some embodiments, the thickness of the coated film on the current collector is from about 10 μm to about 300 μm,”, see [0123])
Ho teaches that a thicker film increases the density of the cathode (Ho, see example 1 vs example 3 density).
Zhao and Ho are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery production.It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coating thickness as taught to the one as taught in Ho in order to increase the energy density of the cathode.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752