DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-13, 15 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20100327068 A1, hereinafter Chen’068).
Regarding independent claim 1, Chen’068 teaches, “A radio frequency ("RF") module (fig. 1-62; ¶ [0001] - ¶ [0178]) comprising:
a stack (fig. 61-62; ¶ [0156]) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure (¶ [0071] - ¶ [0078]);
a RF front-end functionality (¶ [0128], ¶ [0151]) that is integrated in the stack;
a cavity (fig. 62, ¶ [0159]) in the stack; and
a thermal device (6003) arranged in the cavity and configured to dissipate heat from the stack’.
Regarding claim 2, Chen’068 further teaches, “The RF module according to claim 1, wherein the RF module is configured as a printed circuit board or as an integrated circuit substrate (¶ [0071])”.
Regarding claim 3, Chen’068 further teaches, “The RF module according to claim 1, wherein the RF front-end functionality comprises at least two of: a filter functionality, an analog-to-digital conversion functionality, an antenna functionality, a switching functionality, a receiver functionality, a transmitter functionality, a transceiver functionality, an amplification functionality, a low noise amplification functionality, a power amplification functionality, an oscillator functionality, and a mixer functionality (¶ [0077])”.
Regarding claim 4, Chen’068 further teaches, “The RF module according to claim 1, wherein the RF front-end functionality further comprises: an antenna structure (144, fig. 1) assembled at an outer surface of the stack”.
Regarding claim 5, Chen’068 further teaches, “The RF module according to claim 4, further comprising: an electromagnetic radiation shielding layer structure (110, fig. 1) embedded in the stack below the antenna structure (104), and configured to shield electromagnetic radiation with respect to the antenna structure (104)”.
Regarding claim 6, Chen’068 further teaches, “The RF module according to claim 1, further comprising: a power module part of the RF front-end functionality assembled to the stack, wherein the thermal device arranged in the cavity is configured to dissipate heat from the power module part (power amplifier, ¶ [0077]) of the RF front-end functionality”.
Regarding claim 7, Chen’068 further teaches, “The RF module according to claim 1, wherein: the RF front-end functionality comprises an antenna structure (6104, figs. 61-62); the antenna structure and the cavity are formed at a main surface of the stack; and the cavity is open at the main surface of the stack”.
Regarding claim 9, Chen’068 further teaches, “The RF module according to claim 5, wherein the RF front-end functionality further comprises: an electronic component (6162, fig. 61-62) and/or a filter device embedded on a core layer structure or in a cavity in the core layer structure of the stack, and wherein the filter device comprises a plurality of electrically conductive vias that vertically extend through a dielectric substrate”.
Regarding claim 10, Chen’068 further teaches, “The RF module according to claim 4, wherein the RF front-end functionality comprises: an electronic component (6162, fig. 62) and/or a filter device embedded in the stack and arranged at least partially in a vertical direction below the antenna structure; and/or a fluid cavity (6150) in the stack and arranged below the antenna structure (6104) in the vertical direction”.
Regarding independent claim 11, Chen’068 teaches, “An RF arrangement (fig. 1-62; ¶ [0001] - ¶ [0178]) comprising:
a
a RF front-end functionality (¶ [0128], ¶ [0151]) that is integrated in the stack;
a cavity (fig. 62, ¶ [0159]) in the stack; and
a thermal device (6003) arranged in the cavity and configured to dissipate heat from the stack; and
a further module (6162);
wherein the RF module (6104) and the further module (6162) are stacked one above the other in a vertical direction”.
Regarding claim 12, Chen’068 further teaches, “The RF arrangement according to claim 11,
wherein the RF module (6104) and the further module (6162) are stacked so that an antenna structure (6104) of the RF module is oriented towards a main surface of the further module, and
wherein the RF arrangement further comprises a spacer structure (5412, fig. 4) arranged between the RF module and the further module to thereby establish a space between the antenna structure and the further module main surface”.
Regarding independent claim 13, Chen’068 teaches, “A method of manufacturing a radio frequency, RF, module (fig. 1-62; ¶ [0001] - ¶ [0178]), the method comprising:
forming a stack (fig. 61-62; ¶ [0156]) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure (¶ [0071] - ¶ [0078]);
at least partially embedding a fully functional RF front-end functionality (¶ [0128], ¶ [0151]) into the stack;
forming a cavity (fig. 62, ¶ [0159]) in the stack; and
providing a thermal device (6003) in the cavity”.
Regarding claim 15, Chen’068 further teaches, “The RF module according to claim 1, wherein the RF front- end functionality comprises a fully functional RF front-end functionality (fig. 62)”.
Regarding claim 22, Chen’068 further teaches, “The RF module according to claim 1, wherein the cavity (150, fig. 1, ¶ [0074]) is at least partially filled with air”.
Regarding claim 23, Chen’068 further teaches, “The RF module according to claim 7, wherein the cavity (fig. 62) is offset from the antenna structure along the main surface of the stack”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen’068 as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Baek et al. (US 20070205503 A1, hereinafter Baek’503).
Regarding claim 16, Chen’068 teaches all the limitations described in claim 13.
Chen’068 further teaches, wherein the thermal device (6003, fig. 62) comprises a plated (metal) structure.
But Chen’068 is silent upon the provision of wherein the plated structure is made of metal.
However, Baek’503 teaches a similar structure (60, fig. 1; ¶ [0008]) made of metal.
Chen’068 and Baek’503 are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor devices and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chen’068 with the features of Baek’503 because they are from the same field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention was made to pick metal to form the plated metal thermal device, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (See MPEP2144.07).
Claims 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen’068 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Proschwitz et al. (US 20230317544 A1, hereinafter Proschwitz’544).
Regarding claim 18, Chen’068 teach all the limitations described in claim 6.
But Chen’068 is silent upon the provision of wherein the thermal device comprises a thermal path defined by a plurality of vias.
However, Proschwitz’544 teaches a similar RF module (fig. 2), wherein the thermal device (155-2) comprises a thermal path defined by a plurality of vias (115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen’068 and Proschwitz’544 to include thermal vias according to the teachings of Proschwitz’544 to establish a direct path of heat dissipation. See Proschwitz’544, ¶ [0036].
Regarding claim 21, Chen’068 modified with Proschwitz’544 further teaches, “The RF module according to claim 6, wherein: the power module part of the RF front-end functionality, the cavity (108-6, fig. 2, Proschwitz’544) and the thermal device are aligned along a vertical direction of the stack; and one or more conductive vias (115) extend in the vertical direction between the power module part of the RF front-end functionality and the thermal device”.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen’068 as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Dalmia et al. (US 20230238365 A1, hereinafter Dalmia’365) of record.
Regarding claim 19, Chen’068 teaches all the limitations described in claim 11.
But Chen’068 is silent upon the provision of wherein the further module comprises a baseband processor.
However, Dalmia’365 teaches a similar RF arrangement (fig. 8) comprising baseband processor (54) as a module.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen’068 and Dalmia’365 to include baseband processor as a module according to the teachings of Dalmia’365 as this is a conventional and essential component of a RF arrangement.
Regarding claim 20, Chen’068 modified with Dalmia’365 further teaches, “The RF arrangement according to claim 12, wherein the spacer structure comprises a solder ball (63, fig. 8, Dalmia’365)”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the newly amended claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being as used in the current rejection.
Examiner’s Note
Below prior arts cited in PTO-892 but not used in the current rejection are related to the claimed novelty and can also be used to reject the claims:
LI; Lu et al. US 20220068817 A1 and
Huang; Hsiang-Hung US 9883579 B1
Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817