DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The examiner notes the lined through NPL reference did not appear provided. However, in the interest of compact prosecution, it is cited on the accompanying PTO-892 and a copy provided herewith.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a secondary sensing mechanism” in claim 5; and
“separate sensing componentry” in claim 14.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: there appears to be a missing “,” in line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 6-7 should apparently read “including the at least one sensor for sensing the respective at least one sweat electrolyte” for antecedent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Javey et al. (WO 2017/058806 A1, hereinafter Javey).
For claim 1, Javey discloses a measuring device configured to provide an indication of at least one sweat property (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) the measuring device including inter alia:
a sensing device (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H), the sensing device comprising:
an inlet (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H), the inlet being configured to allow sweat to enter the sensing device (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H); and
at least one sensor (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) disposed at least one of or at and adjacent to the inlet (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H), the at least one sensor being configured to sense a respective at least one sweat property (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]); and
a wearable device (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Fig 3A) connected to the sensing device , the wearable device being configured to sense skin temperature (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]); and
wherein the sensing device is disposable and interchangeable with another sensing device (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]).
For claim 2, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least two sensors (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H) disposed at least one of at and adjacent to or near the inlet, the at least two sensors being configured to sense two sweat electrolytes respectively (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]).
For claim 3, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises at least five sensors (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H) disposed at least one of at and adjacent to the inlet, the sensors being configured to sense five respective sweat electrolytes (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]).
For claim 4, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 3, wherein the sweat electrolytes include Sodium ion (Na+), potassium ion (K+), Chloride ion (CI-), Calcium ions (Ca++), and magnesium ions (Mg++) (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]).
For claim 5, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 1, wherein the sensing device includes a secondary sensing mechanism (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) for sensing at least one of sweat volume and sweat rate (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]).
For claim 6, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 5, wherein the secondary sensing mechanism is disposed adjacent to the inlet (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]).
For claim 7, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 5, wherein the secondary sensing mechanism includes a microfluidic channel (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]).
For claim 8, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 7, wherein the microfluidic channel is disposed in a serpentine formation from the inlet to an outlet port (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]).
For claim 9, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 8, wherein the secondary sensing mechanism further includes an electrical impedance sensor (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]).
For claim 10, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 9, wherein the electrical impedance sensor has a body aligned with the microfluidic channel (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H), and two conductors connected to the body at an inlet end and to respective electric pads on the sensing device (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H).
For claim 11, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 10, wherein the two conductors are formed such that they are at least one of spaced-apart and electrically isolated from conductors joining the at least one sensor to the electric pads (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H).
For claim 12, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 11, wherein the two conductors are spaced-apart such that they are substantially parallel at the electric pads (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H).
For claim 13. (Currently Amended) The measuring device of claim 12, wherein the electric pads are positioned at least one of at and adjacent to an edge of the sensing device (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H).
For claim 14, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 1, wherein the sensing device is formed from at least one of a laver and mask that has separate sensing componentry disposed thereon (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H).
For claim 15, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 14, wherein the at least one of a layer and mask include at least one of:
a first layer having the inlet (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H);
a second layer having at least one opening in fluid communication with the inlet and including at least one sensor for sensing a respective at least one sweat electrolyte (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H);
a third layer having at least one secondary electrode for sensing sweat volume and/or sweat rate (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H); and
a fourth layer having a microfluidic channel (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H).
For claim 16, Javey discloses the measuring device of claim 8, wherein the outlet port is a waste chamber and/or hydrophobic vent (Figs 1A-1D,3A-3F,5A-5G,15A-15D,16B,23A-24H) ([0043-0085,0109-0115]) (especially Figs 5A-5G, 23A-24H).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for measuring sweat properties with a wearable device.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791