Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-13, 17, 19, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over TANGUDI(US9325212B2) in view of DUEMPERT(US8159099B2).
Regarding claim 1, Tangudi teaches an electric motor(Fig. 1) comprising: a rotor(Para[0020-0028] configured to rotate on an axis to generate a mechanical output, the rotor comprising a rotor body(24) and a permanent magnet array(14); a stator(Para[0020-0028]) spaced radially relative to the rotor(by air gap 43) and disposed about the rotational axis, the stator comprising a plurality of coils(30a-30l) arrayed along the axis(Figs. 1-4).
Tangudi is silent wherein a stator bar extending along the axis and including a plurality of terminals, the stator bar electrically connecting the plurality of coils with the plurality of terminals.
However, Duempert teaches a stator bar(bus bar 1) extending along the axis and including a plurality of terminals(busbar ends)(Para[0029-0040]), the stator bar electrically connecting the plurality of coils(coil ends) with the plurality of terminals(Para[0029-0040]), Examiner interprets “stator bar” as a axially extending electrical interconnect structure that electrically connects a plurality of stator coils to a plurality of terminals, which is described in Duempert as the bus bar).
Duempert is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention of Tangudi because they are in the same field of electric machines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Tangudi wherein a stator bar extending along the axis and including a plurality of terminals, the stator bar electrically connecting the plurality of coils with the plurality of terminals, as taught by Duempert. One would be motivated to do this in order to increase current capacity, improve automation, and reduce resistance which increases overall efficiency.
Regarding claim 2/1, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 1.
Duempert further teaches wherein the stator bar(1) further comprises: a side interface(Para[0029-0037], rolled-up connection ends function as side interface) electrically interfacing with the plurality of coils(Para[0009-0029], coil wire ends).
Regarding claim 3/2, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 2.
Duempert further teaches wherein the side interface(Para[0029-0037], rolled-up connection ends function as side interface) includes a plurality of tabs(10, 11, 12) and a panel(15), wherein each tab of the plurality of tabs is electrically connected to a first wire end(Para[0029], rolled up end 3 on winding end) of a coil of the plurality of coils and the panel(15) is electrically connected to a second wire end(Para[0039, ends pass through holes 16 in panel 15) of the coil of the plurality of coils.
Regarding claim 4/3, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 3.
Duempert further teaches wherein: each tab(10,11,12) contacts a single coil of the plurality of coils(Para[0036]); and the panel(15) contacts multiple coils of the plurality of coils(Para[0039], multiple coil windings pass through same panel).
Regarding claim 5/3, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 3.
Tangudi teaches wherein the stator bar(flexible circuit board 26) further comprises: a plurality of traces(etched wiring pattern)(Para[0021]) extending from coils to terminals(Fig. 4a).
Duempert teaches plurality of tabs(10, 11, 12) and plurality of terminals(electrical connection ends of busbar and crimp connector interface).
Tangudi in view of Duempert would see wherein the stator bar(Duempert, 1) further comprises: a plurality of traces(Tangudi, etched wiring pattern)(Para[0021]) extending between and electrically connecting the plurality of tabs(Duempert, 10, 11, 12) and the plurality of terminals(Duempert, electrical connection ends of busbar and crimp connector interface).
Regarding claim 6/5, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 5.
Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches wherein the plurality of traces(Tangudi, etched wiring pattern)(Para[0021]) are disposed within a body of the stator bar(Duempert, 1).
Regarding claim 7/5, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 5.
Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches wherein each trace of the plurality of traces(Tangudi, etched wiring pattern)(Para[0021]) extends between a single tab(10,11,12) of the plurality of tabs and a single terminal of the plurality of terminals(Duempert, electrical connection ends of busbar and crimp connector interface).
Regarding claim 8/3, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 3.
Duempert teaches wherein the plurality of tabs(10,11,12) are located on a side surface(Para[0029-0037], rolled-up connection ends function as side interface) of the stator bar(1) and are arrayed axially along the side surface(Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9/3, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 3.
Duempert teaches wherein the plurality of tabs comprises: a first tab(10) projecting a first distance from the side surface; and a second tabs(11 or 12) projecting a second distance from the side surface, the second distance differing from the first distance(Figs. 6-7 show varying tab distances).
Regarding claim 12/2, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 2.
Duempert teaches wherein: the plurality of terminals(Para[0039-0042], electrical connection ends of busbar and crimp connector interface) extend from an axial end of the stator bar(1); and the side interface (Para[0029-0037], rolled-up connection ends function as side interface) is formed on a radial side of the stator bar(1).
Regarding claim 13/2, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 2.
Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches wherein the stator bar(Duempert, 1) further comprises: a base(Tangudi, 40); and a hub(Tangudi, 22,40,32) formed separately from the base and supported by the base, wherein the plurality of terminals(Tangudi, 30a-30l) extend from the hub(Fig. 1, shows terminals extending from the hub region), and wherein the side interface(Duempert, rolled-up connection ends function as side interface) is formed on the hub.
Regarding claim 17/13, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 13.
Tangudi teaches wherein the hub(22,40,32) is mounted in a hub receiving slot of the base(40), the hub receiving slot open radially and axially(Figs. 1-4, Inherent that hub needs a slot where it can be received and for that slot to be open radially and axially for the hub to be inserted).
Regarding claim 19/1, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 1.
Tangudi teaches further comprising a board assembly(32) at least partially disposed within the stator bar(elongated stator-side support in stator region), the board assembly(32) comprising :a sensor chip(Para[0026-0027, motor commutation requires sensor circuitry); and a connector(78) having a plurality of ports(82,84).
Regarding claim 28/1, Tangudi in view of Duempert teaches the electrical motor of claim 1.
Tangudi teaches further comprising an axle(22) disposed with in the stator, wherein the stator bar(elongated stator-side support in stator region) is disposed within the axle(22)(Figs. 1-4, stator bar is within axial envelope/radial boundary defined by the axle).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 29, 31, and 33 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15/13/2/1, the prior art of record does not teach the limitation, “wherein the hub is fixed axially relative to the base by a mounting tab formed on one of the hub and the base interfacing with a mounting slot formed on the other one of the hub and the base”, in combination of the limitations of the base claim and the intervening claims.
Regarding claim 29/28/1, the prior art of record does not teach the limitation, “wherein an axle body of the axle includes a plurality of ligaments extending axially and a plurality of windows disposed circumferentially between the plurality of ligaments, wherein the coils extend through a first window of the plurality of windows to electrically connect with the stator bar”, in combination of the limitations of the base claim and the intervening claims.
Regarding claim 31/1, the prior art of record does not teach the limitation, “wherein the stator bar further comprises: a stator fill channel extending axially within the stator bar between an inlet port and an outlet port, the stator fill channel configured to route liquid potting compound from the inlet port to the outlet port.”, in combination of the limitations of the base claim and the intervening claims.
Claim 33 is objected for being dependent on claim 31.
Claims 47 and 65 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 47: the limitation “…the stator bar including a stator fill channel extending through the stator bar between an inlet port and an outlet port; wherein potting compound that embeds the stator at least partially fills the stator fill channel” in the combination as claimed is not anticipated nor obvious over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 65: the limitation “…a fill port formed at the second axial end; a rotor fill channel extending axially within the rotor housing from the fill port; and a discharge port in fluid communication with the rotor fill channel and oriented radially, the discharge port open on a surface of the rotor housing supporting the permanent magnet array;” in the combination as claimed is not anticipated nor obvious over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tulsidas Patel can be reached on 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect. uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/MOHAMMED AHMED QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834