Initial Examination
Applicant's submission filed on 03/28/24 has been entered.
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 14’s “CRM”, it is being interpreted as memory per the specification [par. 0448, 456, 465, fig. 21 no. 104, 204].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, the claims recitation of “… used for configuration a spatial relation …” is unclear whether the claim intends for the info to configure something (i.e., used for configuring) or is used for identifying a configuration (i.e., configuration) between the signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 7-8, 10-12, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yerramalli (US 20200413268 A1, cited by Applicant of Record).
Regarding claim 1, Yerramalli discloses a method of transmitting an uplink signal by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system [par. 0053, 66, 83], the method comprising:
receiving information about a downlink reference signal related to the uplink signal (Receives packets, data, control info associated with various info channels (e.g., control, data, channel access procedures such as LBT) (i.e., info about DL RS related to UL signal) [par. 0153]);
determining a transmission beam and a sensing beam for the uplink signal based on the information (The comm manager identifies an energy detection threshold for a sensing beam and transmit power parameters for a transmit beam and adjusts both (i.e., determines trans and sensing beams for UL based on the info) [par. 0154, 0005]);
performing sensing on the sensing beam (The UE utilizes directional beam sensing (i.e., performs sensing) [par. 0157, 0005]); and
based on a channel, corresponding to the sensing beam, being idle, transmitting the uplink signal via the transmission beam (The UE performs an LBT procedure before transmitting (i.e., channel, corresponding to sensing beam, being idle) [par. 0153-154, 157, 005, Abstract].
Regarding claim 7, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Yerramalli further discloses a user equipment (UE) for transmitting an uplink signal in a wireless communication system [fig. 10 no. 1005], the UE comprising: at least one transceiver [fig. 10 no. 1020]; at least one processor [fig. 10 no. 1040]; and at least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions [fig. 10 no. 1035].
Regarding claim 13, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Yerramalli further discloses an apparatus for transmitting an uplink signal in a wireless communication system [fig. 10 no. 1005], the apparatus comprising: at least one processor [fig. 10 no. 1040]; and at least one computer memory operatively connected to the at least one processor and configured to store instructions [fig. 10 no. 1035].
Regarding claim 14, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Yerramalli further discloses a computer-readable storage medium [fig. 10 no. 1030] including at least one computer program [fig. 10 no. 1035].
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Yerramalli discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Yerramalli further discloses:
wherein the information is used for configuration a spatial relation between the downlink reference signal and the uplink signal (Adjust Tx power parameters and/or energy detection threshold based on overlap between beams (i.e., configuring spatial relationship) [par. 0153]).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Yerramalli discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Yerramalli further discloses wherein the determining of the sensing beam includes:
determining an uplink reference signal used for listen-before-talk (LBT) based on the information [par. 0153]; and
determining the sensing beam based on the uplink reference signal [par. 0154, 157].
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Yerramalli discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Yerramalli further discloses:
wherein the UE has no beam correspondence (UE determination made from Tx and sensing beams (i.e., no beam correspondence/reciprocity) [par. 0153-154, 157]).
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Yerramalli discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Yerramalli further discloses:
wherein the sensing beam covers the transmission beam (Degree of overlap [par. 0154, 157]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yerramalli as applied to claims 1 and 7 respectively, and further in view of Ganesan (WO 2021181282 A1, cited by Applicant of Record).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Yerramalli discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Yerramalli discloses wherein the information includes, as discussed above, Yerramalli does not explicitly disclose a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) framework. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Ganesan.
In the same field of endeavor, Ganesan discloses:
a unified transmission configuration indicator (TCI) framework [par. 0097].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yerramalli with Ganesan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of configuring the relationship between two signals [Ganesan par. 0099].
Conclusion
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465