DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-12, filed August 18, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-12 and 14-19 under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wu et al (US 2021/0143115 A1) in view of Fang et al (US 2022/0199559 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-12, filed August 18, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wu et al (US 2021/0143115 A1) in view of Fang et al (US 2022/0199559 A1) and Di Ciocccio et al (US 2015/0097022 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1, filed August 18, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wu et al (US 2021/0143115 A1) in view of Fang et al (US 2022/0199559 A1), Gao et al (US 2020/0075534 A1), and Di Ciocccio et al (US 2015/0097022 A1).
3. Regarding the specification objections, Applicant has amended the term “comprising” to “including” in the abstract and include the reference numeral 138 in Figure 3 in the specification. Examiner withdraws the specification objections due to Applicant’s amendments.
4. Regarding the rejections of claims 10-11 under 35 U.S.C. § 1, Applicant has amended the claims to list functional components. Examiner withdraws the rejections due to Applicant’s amendments.
Priority
5. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-12, 14-18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US 2021/0143115 A1, hereafter Wu) in view of Fang (US 2022/0199559 A1, hereafter Fang).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a package (Fig. 8 700+900) comprising:
an integrated circuit (Fig. 8 900) having an exposed substrate pad (Fig. 8 988) and having an exposed substrate dielectric (Fig. 8 990);
an electronic component (Fig. 8 700) having an integrated circuit (annotated Fig. 8 700_IC), having an exposed component pad (Fig. 8 788) and having an exposed component dielectric (Fig. 8 790);
wherein the integrated circuit substrate (900) is connected with the electronic component (700) so that there is a direct physical contact (Fig. 8 888; [0058], [0062]) between the substrate pad (988) and the component pad (788) and so that there is a direct physical contact (annotated Fig. 8 890; [0058]) between the substrate dielectric (990) and the component dielectric (790).
Wu fails to disclose the exposed substrate dielectric comprises an organic compound comprising carbon-hydrogen bonds.
Fang discloses an exposed substrate dielectric (Fig. 1 300A; [0031]) and an exposed component dielectric (Fig. 1 300B; [0031]) comprising of an organic compound ([0026]) comprising carbon-hydrogen bonds ([0032]-[0036] discloses several examples of organic compounds containing carbon-hydrogen bonds).
[AltContent: textbox (For the record, the inserted figure (annotated Fig. 8 of Wu) depicts the package (700+900) with the integrated circuit substrate (900) and the electronic component (700), which comprises of an integrated circuit (700_IC). After bonding, substrate pads (988) and component pads (788) form a direct contact connection area (888), and the exposed substrate dielectric (990) and exposed component dielectric (790) form direct contact connection area (890).)]Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the material of the exposed dielectrics in the device of Wu with the organic material disclosed by Fang to prevent dielectric delamination, as discussed by Fang ([0029]) and improve bonding strength between the substrates, as discussed by Fang ([0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 1, wherein a connection area (annotated Fig. 8 890) between the substrate dielectric (990) and the component dielectric (790) is coplanar ([0059], [0060]) with a further connection area (Fig. 8 888) between the substrate pad (988) and the component pad (788).
Regarding claim 3, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 1, wherein the package (700+900) at least one of:
of any material (Fig. 8; [0058], [0062])) between the integrated circuit substrate (900) and the electronic component (700); or
is free of any gap (Fig. 8; [0058], [0062]) between the integrated circuit substrate (900) and the electronic component (700).
Regarding claim 4, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 1, wherein at least one of:
a lateral extension of the substrate pad (988) is less than 50 μm ([0033]); or
a lateral extension of the component pad (788) is less than 50 μm ([0046]).
Regarding claim 5, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit substrate (900) comprises a core (Fig. 8 290+920) and a buildup (Fig. 8 960+980) on the core (290+920), wherein the buildup (960+980) faces the electronic component (700) ([0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 5, wherein the buildup (960+980) has a higher integration density than the core (290+920) (Fig. 8).
Applicant has defined integration density to refer to number of electrically conductive elements, including layers of interconnect metal lines and interconnect metal via structures (Fig. 8 980), per area or volume. Number of such structures found in the buildup (960+980) is greater than the number found in the core (290+920) in the device of Wu. Wu also discloses elements (10) found in the core (290+920) are optional ([0028]).
Regarding claim 7, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 1, wherein the component dielectric (Fig. 6 760+770+790) is formed by a passivation layer (Fig. 6 760+770) of the electronic component (700).
Regarding claim 8, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit substrate (900) is connected with the electronic component (700) with continuous physical contact (Fig. 8; [0058], [0060], [0062]) over an entire main surface of the electronic component (700).
Regarding claim 9, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit substrate (900) has a plurality of exposed substrate pads (988);
wherein the electronic component (700) has a plurality of exposed component pads (788); and
wherein the integrated circuit substrate (900) is connected with the electronic component (700) so that there is a direct physical contact (Fig. 8; [0062]) between each of the substrate pads (988) and each respective one of the component pads (788).
Regarding claim 10, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit substrate (900) comprises:
a support structure (Fig. 8 920+65) having at least one hole (Fig. 8 10; [0027], [0028]; hole occupied by device 10); and
placed inside said at least one hole in a side-by-side arrangement (58 is next to 46 in direction going into page), are at least two of:
a signal routing component (Fig. 8 58; [0028]),
a power delivery component (Fig. 8 46; [0027]),
a heat-removing component,
an electro-optical transducing component,
an organic or silicon bridge component,
an antenna component, or
an anti-tamper component.
Examiner notes that the claim as written requires only two of the components listed to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 11, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 1, wherein the integrated circuit substrate (900) comprises:
a central section (Fig. 8 10); and
in the central section (10) are at least two of:
a signal routing component (Fig. 8 58; [0028]),
a power delivery component (Fig. 8 46; [0027]),
a heat-removing component,
an electro-optical transducing component,
an organic or silicon bridge component,
an antenna component, or
an anti-tamper component.
Examiner notes that the claim as written requires only two of the components listed to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses an integrated circuit substrate (Fig. 3 900), comprising:
a stack (Fig. 3 970+980+990) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (Fig. 3 980) having an exposed substrate pad (Fig. 3 988) and at least one electrically insulating layer structure (Fig. 3 970+990) having an exposed substrate dielectric (Fig. 3 990);
and a recess (Fig. 3 992) at a main surface of the stack (970+980+990) in which the exposed substrate pad (988) is retracted with respect to the exposed substrate dielectric (988) by a dimension of less than 1 μm ([0037]).
Wu fails to disclose the exposed substrate dielectric comprises an organic compound comprising carbon-hydrogen bonds.
Fang discloses an exposed substrate dielectric (Fig. 1 300A; [0031]) and an exposed component dielectric (Fig. 1 300B; [0031]) comprising of an organic compound ([0026]) comprising carbon-hydrogen bonds ([0032]-[0036] discloses several examples of organic compounds containing carbon-hydrogen bonds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the material of the exposed dielectrics in the device of Wu with the organic material disclosed by Fang to prevent dielectric delamination, as discussed by Fang ([0029]) and improve bonding strength between the substrates, as discussed by Fang ([0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses a method of manufacturing a package (Fig. 7 700+900), wherein the method comprises:
providing an integrated circuit substrate (Fig. 7 900; [0055]) having an exposed substrate pad (Fig. 7 988; [0055]) and having an exposed substrate dielectric (Fig. 7 990; [0055]);
providing an electronic component (Fig. 7 700; [0055]) having an integrated circuit (Fig. 7 708+720+740), having an exposed component pad (Fig. 7 788; [0055]) and having an exposed component dielectric (Fig. 7 790; [0055]);
and connecting (Fig. 8) the integrated circuit substrate (900) with the electronic component (700) so that there is a direct physical contact (Fig. 8 888; [0058], [0062]) between the substrate pad (988) and the component pad (788) and so that there is a direct physical contact (annotated Fig. 8 890; [0058]) between the substrate dielectric (990) and the component dielectric (790).
Wu fails to disclose the exposed substrate dielectric comprises an organic compound comprising carbon-hydrogen bonds.
Fang discloses an exposed substrate dielectric (Fig. 1 300A; [0031]) and an exposed component dielectric (Fig. 1 300B; [0031]) comprising of an organic compound ([0026]) comprising carbon-hydrogen bonds ([0032]-[0036] discloses several examples of organic compounds containing carbon-hydrogen bonds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the material of the exposed dielectrics in the device of Wu with the organic material disclosed by Fang to prevent dielectric delamination, as discussed by Fang ([0029]) and improve bonding strength between the substrates, as discussed by Fang ([0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the method comprises: providing the substrate pad (988) in a recess (Fig. 7 992) retracted with respect to the substrate dielectric (990);
providing the component pad (788) in a further recess (Fig. 7 792) retracted with respect to the component dielectric (790);
and connecting the integrated circuit substrate (900) with the electronic component (700) so that at least one of:
a material of the substrate pad (988) is heated to expand ([0062]) so as to fill the recesses (992; [0062]); or
a material of the component pad (788) is heated to expand ([0062]) so as to fill the recesses (792; [0062]).
Regarding claim 16, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 1, wherein at least one of:
a lateral extension of the substrate pad (988) is less than 50 μm ([0033]); or
a lateral extension of the component pad (788) is less than 50 μm ([0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 1, wherein the component dielectric (Fig. 6 760+770+790) is formed by a processed dielectric film (Fig. 6 790) on a passivation layer (Fig. 6 760+770) of the electronic component (700).
Regarding claim 18, Wu and Fang disclose the integrated circuit substrate of claim 12, wherein the dimension is in a range from 1 nm to 20 nm ([0037]).
Regarding claim 21, Wu and Fang disclose the package of claim 1, wherein the organic compound ([0026], [0031]-[0036]) comprises at least one of a resin material ([0026], [0032]) or epoxy compound.
8. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu and Fang as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Di Cioccio et al (US 2015/0097022 A1, hereafter Di Cioccio).
Regarding claim 13, Wu and Fang disclose the integrated circuit substrate of claim 12, wherein there is an exposed surface area of the substrate dielectric (990) on said main surface of said stack (970+980+990).
Wu and Fang fail to disclose an exposed surface area of the substrate dielectric (990) having a roughness Ra of less than 10 nm.
Di Cioccio discloses an exposed surface area (Fig. 1 108; [0057]) of the substrate dielectric (Fig. 1 104; [0057]) having a roughness Ra of less than 10 nm ([0066], [0067]). Di Cioccio is analogous to Wu and Fang in the field of direct bonding of semiconductor elements.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the roughness disclosed by Di Cioccio on the surface of the substrate dielectric of Wu to achieve a predictable result of having a surface roughness less than 10 nm, which is important for direct bonding, as discussed by Di Cioccio ([0066]-[0067]).
9. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu and Fang as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Gao et al (US 2020/0075534 A1, hereafter Gao) and Di Cioccio.
Regarding claim 20, Wu and Fang disclose the integrated circuit substrate of claim 12.
Wu and Fang fail to disclose the exposed substrate dielectric on said main surface of said stack has a coplanarity of less than 500 nm.
Gao discloses that the planarization process ([0003]) of the exposed substrate dielectric (Fig. 2 108; [0035]) is critical for bonding surfaces, and states planarization as part of the method in forming the integrated circuit substrate of Gao (Fig. 11 1114; [0086]). Furthermore, Gao discloses (in [0022], [0026] and Fig. 1) direct bonding of dielectric interface planes (i.e., surfaces 102/102’ of dielectric layers 108). Di Cioccio is analogous to Wu and Fang in the field of direct bonding of semiconductor elements.
Di Cioccio discloses (in [0066-0067]) direct bonding requires planar surfaces, wherein surface roughness is less than 0.7 nm and preferably less than or equal to 0.3 nm. In other words, Di Cioccio teaches surfaces to be direct bonded should have coplanarity at least less than 500 nm.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure the surface of the exposed substrate dielectric of Wu has a coplanarity of less than 500 nm because Di Cioccio teaches surfaces for direct bonding should be planar with roughness less than 500 nm.
Conclusion
10. The following art made of record and not relied upon is pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Said et al (US 2021/0028135 A1) discloses using an exposed substrate dielectric comprising of an organic compound
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL B SUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/LEX H MALSAWMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892