DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-14, 16-17, and 20-24 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 12, 16, and 20 are amended.
Claims 4, 8, 15, and 18-19 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 24, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the rejection of claims 12 and 20, claims 12 and 20 recite the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claims 12 and 20, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-3, 5-7, 9-11, 13-14, 16-17 and 21-24, Applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims, other than their dependency to claim 1, 12 or 20. Therefor for at least the reasons presented above for claim 1, the dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 12-14 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu (US 20230276491 A1) in view of Chisci (US 20250097976 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Niu teaches a method for accessing an unlicensed channel, performed by a User Equipment (UE) (Fig. 5, UE 106/107, [0004] Embodiments are presented herein of, inter alia, systems, apparatuses, and methods for performing channel access and related communications in a wireless communication system, e.g., New Radio (NR), e.g., in frequencies above 52.6 GHz. [0005] One usage expectation may include communication in unlicensed spectrum, e.g., in frequencies above 52.6 GHz. Channel access techniques such as listen before talk (LBT) and others may be used in unlicensed spectrum to reduce and/or avoid collisions and interference.), comprising:
receiving access type indication information and Downlink Control Information (DCI) from a network device ([0007] In some embodiments, a user equipment (UE) may establish communication with a base station (BS) and receive, from the base station, configuration information. [0106] The configuration information may further include one or more timing values. For example, the configuration information may specify a maximum gap, e.g., Y, between transmissions such that the second transmission may be performed without a channel access procedure (access type indication information). Y may be set directly by the configuration information (e.g., the BS may indicate a value of Y). [0114] In some embodiments, the configuration information may indicate whether or not (e.g., or under what circumstances) the UE should perform channel access prior to transmitting to the BS (e.g., on an unlicensed channel). (Examiner is mapping indication of whether or not to perform channel access as first access type or second access type. First access type is not performing channel access prior to transmitting to BS and second access type is performing channel access prior to transmitting to the BS). In some embodiments, the configuration information may specify types of channel access procedures (access type indication information) to be performed in various circumstances. [0007] The BS may transmit and the UE may receive, one or more downlink control information (DCI) messages, comprising: a downlink grant; and an uplink grant.),
accessing the unlicensed channel using the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel (Fig. 5, [0157] To perform any UL transmission(s), the UE may apply the results of any channel access procedure performed (e.g., by the UE in 510 and/or by the BS in 504 with results indicated in 508). For example, the UE may transmit the UL transmission on frequency resources and/or beams determined to be clear. The UE may further include one or more indications of the channel access procedure performed, results, and/or parameters used.);
wherein the DCI comprises or does not comprise a channel access and cyclic prefix extension (ChannelAccess-CPext) information field comprising information related to the access type ([0086] In some embodiments, in fallback DCI (e.g., format 1-0 and 0-0), 2 bits may be included for a field indicating channel access type and cyclic prefix (CP) extension, according to some embodiments. For example, a field such as ChannelAccess-CPext may be 2 bits indicating combinations of channel access type and CP extension as in Table 7.3.1.1.1-4 for operation in a cell with shared spectrum channel access; 0 bit otherwise. In non-fallback DCI (e.g., format 1-1), ChannelAccess-CPext may include 0, 1, 2, 3 or 4 bits, among various possibilities.).
Niu does not explicitly teach wherein the access type indication information indicates a first access type, and the first access type does not require to perform a Listen Before Talk (LBT) before occupying a channel;
determining an access type of accessing the unlicensed channel based on the access type indication information and the DCI, wherein the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel is the first access type or a second access type, and the second access type requires to perform the LBT before occupying the channel.
Chisci in the same field of endeavor of signaling for LBT type teaches wherein the access type indication information indicates a first access type, and the first access type does not require to perform a Listen Before Talk (LBT) before occupying a channel ([0054] 3GPP has specified multiple LBT types, for example, for use in NR. Category 1 (Cat1) LBT allows for immediate transmission without a CCA procedure or other LBT procedure. Category 2 (Cat2) LBT uses a fixed window (e.g., 25 μs) in which a CCA procedure or other LBT procedure is performed before transmission. Category 3 (Cat3) LBT uses a dynamic window (e.g., based on a random number generated by the UE) in which a CCA procedure or other LBT procedure is performed before transmission. (Examiner is mapping CAT1 as first access type and CAT2/CAT3 as second access type). [0058] Accordingly, a first codepoint of the RRC parameter (access type indication information) may indicate that the UE 120 may upgrade to Cat1 LBT (first access type). For example, the UE 120 may use a Cat1 LBT for an uplink communication (e.g., as described in connection with reference number 320) based on the RRC parameter and receiving an indication of a COT (e.g., a COT-SI) from the base station 110.);
determining an access type of accessing the unlicensed channel based on the access type indication information and the DCI, wherein the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel is the first access type or a second access type, and the second access type requires to perform the LBT before occupying the channel ([0062] As shown by reference number 315, the UE 120 may perform an LBT procedure based at least in part on the indication described in connection with reference number 305 (e.g., the RRC parameter). Additionally, the LBT procedure may be based at least in part on the DCI described in connection with reference number 310 (e.g., the DCI parameter). For example, the LBT procedure may be a Cat3 LBT procedure, a Cat2 LBT procedure, or a Cat1 LBT procedure. In one example, the UE 120 may select the LBT procedure according to example Table 1 or example Table 2 below: [0071] Accordingly, the UE 120 may upgrade to a Cat1 LBT procedure (first access type) based at least in part on the gap (e.g., when the gap satisfies a threshold). This is the same gap, “Y”, as mentioned in the access type indication information of Niu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration information of Niu to include the RRC parameter of Chisci. The motivation to do so would have been to indicate to a UE (e.g., UE 120) whether to upgrade an LBT procedure (e.g., from a Cat3 LBT procedure to a Cat2 or a Cat1 LBT procedure or from a Cat2 LBT procedure to a Cat1 LBT procedure) when the base station 110 indicates a COT (e.g., via a COT system information (COT-SI) message). As a result, the UE 120 conserves power and processing resources when the UE 120 upgrades the LBT procedure (Chisci [0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Niu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the access type indication information from the network device comprises:
receiving broadcast information from the network device, wherein the broadcast information comprises the access type indication information ([0096] The BS may broadcast the configuration information (comprises the access type indication information), e.g., as system information.); or
receiving UE-specific Radio Resource Control (RRC) information from the network device, wherein the UE-specific RRC information comprises the access type indication information ([0098] Alternatively, or additionally, the BS may provide the configuration information using dedicated signaling such as RRC, e.g., while the UE is in a connected mode.).
Regarding claim 3, Niu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the DCI is fallback DCI and the fallback DCI at least comprises DCI 0-0 and DCI 1-0 ([0136] In some embodiments, the message(s) may include one or more fallback DCI message. A fallback DCI message may be a DCI format that may be used for a UE that is not (e.g., yet or currently) in an RRC connected state. [0086] In some embodiments, in fallback DCI (e.g., format 1-0 and 0-0), 2 bits may be included for a field indicating channel access type and cyclic prefix (CP) extension); or
the DCI is non-fallback DCI and the non- fallback DCI at least comprises DCI 0-1 and DCI 1-1 ([0136] In some embodiments, the message(s) may include one or more non-fallback DCI message, e.g., for a connected UE. [0086] In non-fallback DCI (e.g., format 0-1), ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC may be 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 bits.)
Regarding claim 5, Niu teaches the method of claim 1 and teaches that both fallback and non-fallback DCI can contain or not contain a ChannelAccess-CPext field ([0086] In some embodiments, in fallback DCI (e.g., format 1-0 and 0-0), 2 bits may be included for a field indicating channel access type and cyclic prefix (CP) extension, according to some embodiments. For example, a field such as ChannelAccess-CPext may be 2 bits indicating combinations of channel access type and CP extension as in Table 7.3.1.1.1-4 for operation in a cell with shared spectrum channel access; 0 bit otherwise. In non-fallback DCI (e.g., format 1-1), ChannelAccess-CPext may include 0, 1, 2, 3 or 4 bits, among various possibilities.).
Niu does not explicitly teach wherein determining the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel based on the access type indication information and the DCI comprises: in response to the DCI being non-fallback DCI and the DCI not containing the ChannelAccess-CPext information field, determining that the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel is the first access type.
Chisci in the same field of endeavor of control information signaling for LBT teaches wherein determining the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel based on the access type indication information and the DCI comprises: in response to the DCI being non-fallback DCI and the DCI not containing the ChannelAccess-CPext information field, determining that the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel is the first access type ([0061] In some aspects, the absence of the DCI parameter (ChannelAccess-CPext) may indicate that the UE 120 should perform a Cat1 LBT procedure (first access type), while the presence of the DCI parameter indicates that the UE 120 should perform a Cat2 LBT procedure or a Cat3 LBT procedure (second access type).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration information of Niu to include the RRC parameter of Chisci. The motivation to do so would have been to indicate to a UE (e.g., UE 120) whether to upgrade an LBT procedure (e.g., from a Cat3 LBT procedure to a Cat2 or a Cat1 LBT procedure or from a Cat2 LBT procedure to a Cat1 LBT procedure) when the base station 110 indicates a COT (e.g., via a COT system information (COT-SI) message). As a result, the UE 120 conserves power and processing resources when the UE 120 upgrades the LBT procedure (Chisci [0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Niu teaches a method for accessing an unlicensed channel, performed by a network device (Fig. 5; Base station 102, [0004] Embodiments are presented herein of, inter alia, systems, apparatuses, and methods for performing channel access and related communications in a wireless communication system, e.g., New Radio (NR), e.g., in frequencies above 52.6 GHz. [0005] One usage expectation may include communication in unlicensed spectrum, e.g., in frequencies above 52.6 GHz. Channel access techniques such as listen before talk (LBT) and others may be used in unlicensed spectrum to reduce and/or avoid collisions and interference), comprising:
sending access type indication information and downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) to enable the UE to determine an access type of accessing the unlicensed channel based on the access type indication information and the DCI ([0007] In some embodiments, a user equipment (UE) may establish communication with a base station (BS) and receive, from the base station, configuration information. [0106] The configuration information may further include one or more timing values. For example, the configuration information may specify a maximum gap, e.g., Y, between transmissions such that the second transmission may be performed without a channel access procedure (access type indication information). Y may be set directly by the configuration information (e.g., the BS may indicate a value of Y). [0114] In some embodiments, the configuration information may indicate whether or not (e.g., or under what circumstances) the UE should perform channel access prior to transmitting to the BS (e.g., on an unlicensed channel). (Examiner is mapping indication of whether or not to perform channel access as first access type or second access type. First access type is not performing channel access prior to transmitting to BS and second access type is performing channel access prior to transmitting to the BS). In some embodiments, the configuration information may specify types of channel access procedures (access type indication information) to be performed in various circumstances. [0007] The BS may transmit and the UE may receive, one or more downlink control information (DCI) messages, comprising: a downlink grant; and an uplink grant.);
wherein the DCI comprises or does not comprise a channel access and cyclic prefix extension (ChannelAccess-CPext) information field comprising information related to the access type ([0086] In some embodiments, in fallback DCI (e.g., format 1-0 and 0-0), 2 bits may be included for a field indicating channel access type and cyclic prefix (CP) extension, according to some embodiments. For example, a field such as ChannelAccess-CPext may be 2 bits indicating combinations of channel access type and CP extension as in Table 7.3.1.1.1-4 for operation in a cell with shared spectrum channel access; 0 bit otherwise. In non-fallback DCI (e.g., format 1-1), ChannelAccess-CPext may include 0, 1, 2, 3 or 4 bits, among various possibilities.).
Niu does not explicitly teach wherein the access type indication information indicates a first access type, and the first access type does not require to perform a Listen Before Talk (LBT) before occupying a channel;
Chisci in the same field of endeavor of signaling for LBT type teaches wherein the access type indication information indicates a first access type, and the first access type does not require to perform a Listen Before Talk (LBT) before occupying a channel ([0054] 3GPP has specified multiple LBT types, for example, for use in NR. Category 1 (Cat1) LBT allows for immediate transmission without a CCA procedure or other LBT procedure. Category 2 (Cat2) LBT uses a fixed window (e.g., 25 μs) in which a CCA procedure or other LBT procedure is performed before transmission. Category 3 (Cat3) LBT uses a dynamic window (e.g., based on a random number generated by the UE) in which a CCA procedure or other LBT procedure is performed before transmission. (Examiner is mapping CAT1 as first access type and CAT2/CAT3 as second access type). [0058] Accordingly, a first codepoint of the RRC parameter (access type indication information) may indicate that the UE 120 may upgrade to Cat1 LBT (first access type). For example, the UE 120 may use a Cat1 LBT for an uplink communication (e.g., as described in connection with reference number 320) based on the RRC parameter and receiving an indication of a COT (e.g., a COT-SI) from the base station 110.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration information of Niu to include the RRC parameter of Chisci. The motivation to do so would have been to indicate to a UE (e.g., UE 120) whether to upgrade an LBT procedure (e.g., from a Cat3 LBT procedure to a Cat2 or a Cat1 LBT procedure or from a Cat2 LBT procedure to a Cat1 LBT procedure) when the base station 110 indicates a COT (e.g., via a COT system information (COT-SI) message). As a result, the UE 120 conserves power and processing resources when the UE 120 upgrades the LBT procedure (Chisci [0055]).
Regarding claim 13, Niu teaches the method of claim 12, wherein sending the access type indication information to the UE comprises:
sending broadcast information to the UE, wherein the broadcast information comprises the access type indication information ([0096] The BS may broadcast the configuration information (comprises the access type indication information), e.g., as system information.); or,
sending UE-specific RRC information to the UE, wherein the UE-specific RRC information comprises the access type indication information ([0098] Alternatively, or additionally, the BS may provide the configuration information using dedicated signaling such as RRC, e.g., while the UE is in a connected mode.).
Regarding claim 14, Niu teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the DCI is fallback DCI and the fallback at least comprises DCI 0-0 and DCI 1-0 ([0136] In some embodiments, the message(s) may include one or more fallback DCI message. A fallback DCI message may be a DCI format that may be used for a UE that is not (e.g., yet or currently) in an RRC connected state. [0086] In some embodiments, in fallback DCI (e.g., format 1-0 and 0-0), 2 bits may be included for a field indicating channel access type and cyclic prefix (CP) extension); or
the DCI is non-fallback DCI and the non- fallback DCI at least comprises DCI 0-1 and DCI 1-1 ([0136] In some embodiments, the message(s) may include one or more non-fallback DCI message, e.g., for a connected UE. [0086] In non-fallback DCI (e.g., format 0-1), ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC may be 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 bits.)
Regarding claim 20, Niu teaches a communication device, comprising:
a memory (Fig. 3; memory 306), configured to store a computer program; and
a processor (Fig. 3; processor 302), configured to execute the computer program to:
receive access type indication information and Downlink Control Information (DCI) from a network device ([0007] In some embodiments, a user equipment (UE) may establish communication with a base station (BS) and receive, from the base station, configuration information. [0106] The configuration information may further include one or more timing values. For example, the configuration information may specify a maximum gap, e.g., Y, between transmissions such that the second transmission may be performed without a channel access procedure (access type indication information). Y may be set directly by the configuration information (e.g., the BS may indicate a value of Y). [0114] In some embodiments, the configuration information may indicate whether or not (e.g., or under what circumstances) the UE should perform channel access prior to transmitting to the BS (e.g., on an unlicensed channel). (Examiner is mapping indication of whether or not to perform channel access as first access type or second access type. First access type is not performing channel access prior to transmitting to BS and second access type is performing channel access prior to transmitting to the BS). In some embodiments, the configuration information may specify types of channel access procedures (access type indication information) to be performed in various circumstances. [0007] The BS may transmit and the UE may receive, one or more downlink control information (DCI) messages, comprising: a downlink grant; and an uplink grant.);
access the unlicensed channel using the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel (Fig. 5, [0157] To perform any UL transmission(s), the UE may apply the results of any channel access procedure performed (e.g., by the UE in 510 and/or by the BS in 504 with results indicated in 508). For example, the UE may transmit the UL transmission on frequency resources and/or beams determined to be clear. The UE may further include one or more indications of the channel access procedure performed, results, and/or parameters used.);
wherein the DCI comprises or does not comprise a channel access and cyclic prefix extension (ChannelAccess-CPext) information field comprising information related to the access type ([0086] In some embodiments, in fallback DCI (e.g., format 1-0 and 0-0), 2 bits may be included for a field indicating channel access type and cyclic prefix (CP) extension, according to some embodiments. For example, a field such as ChannelAccess-CPext may be 2 bits indicating combinations of channel access type and CP extension as in Table 7.3.1.1.1-4 for operation in a cell with shared spectrum channel access; 0 bit otherwise. In non-fallback DCI (e.g., format 1-1), ChannelAccess-CPext may include 0, 1, 2, 3 or 4 bits, among various possibilities.).
Niu does not explicitly teach wherein the access type indication information indicates a first access type, and the first access type does not require to perform a Listen Before Talk (LBT) before occupying a channel;
determine an access type of accessing the unlicensed channel based on the access type indication information and the DCI, wherein the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel is the first access type or a second access type, and the second access type requires to perform the LBT before occupying the channel.
Chisci in the same field of endeavor of signaling for LBT type teaches wherein the access type indication information indicates a first access type, and the first access type does not require to perform a Listen Before Talk (LBT) before occupying a channel ([0054] 3GPP has specified multiple LBT types, for example, for use in NR. Category 1 (Cat1) LBT allows for immediate transmission without a CCA procedure or other LBT procedure. Category 2 (Cat2) LBT uses a fixed window (e.g., 25 μs) in which a CCA procedure or other LBT procedure is performed before transmission. Category 3 (Cat3) LBT uses a dynamic window (e.g., based on a random number generated by the UE) in which a CCA procedure or other LBT procedure is performed before transmission. (Examiner is mapping CAT1 as first access type and CAT2/CAT3 as second access type). [0058] Accordingly, a first codepoint of the RRC parameter (access type indication information) may indicate that the UE 120 may upgrade to Cat1 LBT (first access type). For example, the UE 120 may use a Cat1 LBT for an uplink communication (e.g., as described in connection with reference number 320) based on the RRC parameter and receiving an indication of a COT (e.g., a COT-SI) from the base station 110.);
determine an access type of accessing the unlicensed channel based on the access type indication information and the DCI, wherein the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel is the first access type or a second access type, and the second access type requires to perform the LBT before occupying the channel ([0062] As shown by reference number 315, the UE 120 may perform an LBT procedure based at least in part on the indication described in connection with reference number 305 (e.g., the RRC parameter). Additionally, the LBT procedure may be based at least in part on the DCI described in connection with reference number 310 (e.g., the DCI parameter). For example, the LBT procedure may be a Cat3 LBT procedure, a Cat2 LBT procedure, or a Cat1 LBT procedure. In one example, the UE 120 may select the LBT procedure according to example Table 1 or example Table 2 below: [0071] Accordingly, the UE 120 may upgrade to a Cat1 LBT procedure (first access type) based at least in part on the gap (e.g., when the gap satisfies a threshold). This is the same gap, “Y”, as mentioned in the access type indication information of Niu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration information of Niu to include the RRC parameter of Chisci. The motivation to do so would have been to indicate to a UE (e.g., UE 120) whether to upgrade an LBT procedure (e.g., from a Cat3 LBT procedure to a Cat2 or a Cat1 LBT procedure or from a Cat2 LBT procedure to a Cat1 LBT procedure) when the base station 110 indicates a COT (e.g., via a COT system information (COT-SI) message). As a result, the UE 120 conserves power and processing resources when the UE 120 upgrades the LBT procedure (Chisci [0055]).
Regarding claim 21, Niu teaches a communication device, comprising:
a memory (Fig. 3; memory 306), configured to store a computer program; and
a processor (Fig. 3; processor 302), configured to execute the computer program to perform the method of claim 12.
Regarding claim 22, Niu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having instructions stored thereon, wherein when the instructions are called and executed by a computer, the computer is caused to perform the method of claim 1 ([0068] As described herein, UE 106/107 may include hardware and software components for implementing embodiments of this disclosure. The processor(s) 302 of the UE device 106/107 may be configured to implement part or all of the methods described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium).).
Regarding claim 23, Niu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having instructions stored thereon, wherein when the instructions are called and executed by a computer, the computer is caused to perform the method of claim 12 ([0068] As described herein, UE 106/107 may include hardware and software components for implementing embodiments of this disclosure. The processor(s) 302 of the UE device 106/107 may be configured to implement part or all of the methods described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu and Chisci in view of Wu (US 20230224933 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Niu and Chisci teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein determining the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel based on the access type indication information and the DCI comprises one of:
in response to the DCI being non-fallback DCI, the DCI containing the ChannelAccess- CPext information field, and the information field indicating the first access type, determining that the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel is the first access type; or
in response to the DCI being non-fallback DCI, the DCI containing the ChannelAccess- CPext information field, and the information field indicating the first access type or the second access type, determining that the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel is an access type corresponding to information indicated by the information field.
Wu in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein determining the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel based on the access type indication information and the DCI comprises one of:
in response to the DCI being non-fallback DCI, the DCI containing the ChannelAccess- CPext information field, and the information field indicating the first access type, determining that the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel is the first access type; or
in response to the DCI being non-fallback DCI, the DCI containing the ChannelAccess- CPext information field, and the information field indicating the first access type or the second access type, determining that the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel is an access type corresponding to information indicated by the information field ([0230] Optionally, the processing unit 320 being configured to determine the channel access parameter corresponding to the first uplink channel according to the first indication information (ChannelAccess-CPext information field in the DCI) and/or the predetermined rule (access type indication information) may include at least one of: [0231] the predetermined rule (access type indication information) predefining that the first uplink channel corresponds to a first channel access type, and when the first indication information (ChannelAccess-CPext information field in the DCI) indicates that the first uplink channel corresponds to a second channel access type, the processing unit 320 being configured to determine that the first uplink channel corresponds to the second channel access type; [0232] the processing unit 320 being configured to determine a channel access type corresponding to the first uplink channel according to the first indication information (ChannelAccess-CPext information field in the DCI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for determining a channel access process of Wu with the signaling of channel access parameters of Niu and Chisci. The motivation to do so would have been to propose a method for determining a channel access process. The terminal device can determine a corresponding channel access parameter when transmitting feedback information on a shared spectrum, thereby improving the channel access efficiency on the shared spectrum and ensuring fair usage of the shared spectrum (Wu; [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu and Chisci in view of Wu (US 20230224933 A1) and Karaki (Karaki).
Regarding claim 9, Niu and Chisci teaches the method of claim 7, but do not explicitly teach receiving a RRC signaling from the network device, wherein the RRC signaling comprises an uplink access configuration list parameter contained in the non-fallback DCI, the uplink access configuration list parameter comprises at least one entry contained in a ChannelAccess-CPext table, the at least one entry comprises an entry corresponding to the first access type, and the ChannelAccess-CPext information field indicates the entry corresponding to the first access type.
Wu in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches the ChannelAccess-CPext information field indicates the entry corresponding to the first access type ([0257] Optionally, the first indication information may be carried in the first DCI. [0250] Optionally, the first indication information may be channel access indication information indicating a channel access type and a CPE length that are jointly coded from a channel access parameter set. [0289] first indication information indicates that the first uplink channel corresponds to a second channel access process. [0294] the second channel access process including a channel access process without channel sensing (first access type)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for determining a channel access process of Wu with the signaling of channel access parameters of Niu and Chisci. The motivation to do so would have been to propose a method for determining a channel access process. The terminal device can determine a corresponding channel access parameter when transmitting feedback information on a shared spectrum, thereby improving the channel access efficiency on the shared spectrum and ensuring fair usage of the shared spectrum (Wu; [0071]).
Wu does not teach receiving a RRC signaling from the network device, wherein the RRC signaling comprises an uplink access configuration list parameter contained in the non-fallback DCI, the uplink access configuration list parameter comprises at least one entry contained in a ChannelAccess-CPext table, the at least one entry comprises an entry corresponding to the first access type.
Karaki in the same field of endeavor of signaling channel access parameters teaches receiving a RRC signaling from the network device, wherein the RRC signaling comprises an uplink access configuration list parameter contained in the non-fallback DCI, the uplink access configuration list parameter comprises at least one entry contained in a ChannelAccess-CPext table, the ChannelAccess-CPext table comprises at least one entry corresponding to the first access type ([0063] In some embodiments, a mapping 40 (ChannelAccess-CPext table) maps different indices to different combinations of values for the two or more channel access parameters. In this case, the control information 28 (non-fallback DCI) comprises an index (uplink access configuration list parameter) mapped by said mapping 40 (ChannelAccess-CPext table) to one of the different combinations of values for the two or more channel access parameters. In one or more embodiments, then, the method may also comprise receiving signaling indicating the mapping 40 (ChannelAccess-CPext table) (Block 200). This signaling may for instance be RRC signaling or system information signaling. [0150] In some embodiments, the parameters included or indicated by a channel access profile ((ChannelAccess-CPext table) comprise at least one of the following: [0151] LBT category preceding the transmission (CAT4, CAT2, or no LBT) no LBT corresponds to the first access type [0152] Cyclic Prefix (CP) extension. [0149] In some embodiments, channel access profiles are configured by RRC (via the system information or dedicated signaling). [0155] Each channel access profile may have an associated index.
[0156] In some embodiments, Downlink Control Information (DCI) signals to the UE an index that maps to one of the possible combinations, i.e., channel access profiles. Since at least one of these profiles corresponds to the first access type (no LBT of Table 5), the ChannelAccess-CPext information field of the DCI can indicate the entry corresponding to the first access type.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling of channel access parameters of Niu, Chisci and Wu to include the ChannelAccess-CPext table of Karaki. The motivation to do so would have been to provide adaptability of an LBT setting, e.g., a type of LBT procedure to perform and advantageously facilitate COT sharing between gNB and UE by signaling the LBT parameters that should be used by the UE to perform the channel sensing prior to the UL transmission. (Karaki; [0146]).
Regarding claim 10, Niu, Chisci and Wu teaches the method of claim 9, but do not explicitly teach wherein the ChannelAccess-CPext table comprises at least one entry corresponding to the first access type.
Karaki in the same field of endeavor of signaling channel access parameters teaches wherein the ChannelAccess-CPext table comprises at least one entry corresponding to the first access type (Table 5 shows four entries that do not require LBT (first access type)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling of channel access parameters of Niu, Chisci and Wu to include the ChannelAccess-CPext table of Karaki. The motivation to do so would have been to provide adaptability of an LBT setting, e.g., a type of LBT procedure to perform and advantageously facilitate COT sharing between gNB and UE by signaling the LBT parameters that should be used by the UE to perform the channel sensing prior to the UL transmission. (Karaki; [0146]).
Regarding claim 11, Niu, Chisci, Karaki and Wu teach the method of claim 9, and Niu teaches wherein the uplink access configuration list parameter contained in DCI 0-1 is ul-AccessConfigListDCI-0-1 (In non-fallback DCI (e.g., format 0-1), ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC may be 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 bits. The bitwidth for this field may be determined as log 2 (I) bits, where I is the number of entries in the higher layer parameter ul-AccessConfigListDCI-0-1 for operation in a cell with shared spectrum channel access; otherwise 0 bit.); or the uplink access configuration list parameter contained in DCI 1-1 is ul- AccessConfigListDCI-1-1 (In non-fallback DCI (e.g., format 0-1), ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC may be 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 bits. The bitwidth for this field may be determined as log 2 (I) bits, where I is the number of entries in the higher layer parameter ul-AccessConfigListDCI-0-1 for operation in a cell with shared spectrum channel access; otherwise 0 bit.).
Regarding claim 16, Niu and Chisci teaches the method of claim 12, but do not explicitly teach sending a radio resource control (RRC) signaling to the UE, wherein the RRC signaling comprises an uplink access configuration list parameter contained in the non-fallback DCI, the uplink access configuration list parameter comprises at least one entry contained in a ChannelAccess-CPext table, the at least one entry comprises an entry corresponding to the first access type, and the ChannelAccess-CPext information field indicates the entry corresponding to the first access type.
Wu in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches the ChannelAccess-CPext information field indicates the entry corresponding to the first access type ([0257] Optionally, the first indication information may be carried in the first DCI. [0250] Optionally, the first indication information may be channel access indication information indicating a channel access type and a CPE length that are jointly coded from a channel access parameter set. [0289] first indication information indicates that the first uplink channel corresponds to a second channel access process. [0294] the second channel access process including a channel access process without channel sensing (first access type)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method for determining a channel access process of Wu with the signaling of channel access parameters of Niu and Chisci. The motivation to do so would have been to propose a method for determining a channel access process. The terminal device can determine a corresponding channel access parameter when transmitting feedback information on a shared spectrum, thereby improving the channel access efficiency on the shared spectrum and ensuring fair usage of the shared spectrum (Wu; [0071]).
Wu does not teach sending a radio resource control (RRC) signaling to the UE, wherein the RRC signaling comprises an uplink access configuration list parameter contained in the non-fallback DCI, the uplink access configuration list parameter comprises at least one entry contained in a ChannelAccess-CPext table, the at least one entry comprises an entry corresponding to the first access type.
Karaki in the same field of endeavor of signaling channel access parameters teaches sending a radio resource control (RRC) signaling to the UE, wherein the RRC signaling comprises an uplink access configuration list parameter contained in the non-fallback DCI, the uplink access configuration list parameter comprises at least one entry contained in a ChannelAccess-CPext table, the ChannelAccess-CPext table comprises at least one entry corresponding to the first access type ([0063] In some embodiments, a mapping 40 (ChannelAccess-CPext table) maps different indices to different combinations of values for the two or more channel access parameters. In this case, the control information 28 (non-fallback DCI) comprises an index (uplink access configuration list parameter) mapped by said mapping 40 (ChannelAccess-CPext table) to one of the different combinations of values for the two or more channel access parameters. In one or more embodiments, then, the method may also comprise receiving signaling indicating the mapping 40 (ChannelAccess-CPext table) (Block 200). This signaling may for instance be RRC signaling or system information signaling. [0150] In some embodiments, the parameters included or indicated by a channel access profile ((ChannelAccess-CPext table) comprise at least one of the following: [0151] LBT category preceding the transmission (CAT4, CAT2, or no LBT) no LBT corresponds to the first access type [0152] Cyclic Prefix (CP) extension. [0149] In some embodiments, channel access profiles are configured by RRC (via the system information or dedicated signaling). [0155] Each channel access profile may have an associated index.
[0156] In some embodiments, Downlink Control Information (DCI) signals to the UE an index that maps to one of the possible combinations, i.e., channel access profiles. Since at least one of these profiles corresponds to the first access type (no LBT of Table 5), the ChannelAccess-CPext information field of the DCI can indicate the entry corresponding to the first access type.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the signaling of channel access parameters of Niu, Chisci and Wu to include the ChannelAccess-CPext table of Karaki. The motivation to do so would have been to provide adaptability of an LBT setting, e.g., a type of LBT procedure to perform and advantageously facilitate COT sharing between gNB and UE by signaling the LBT parameters that should be used by the UE to perform the channel sensing prior to the UL transmission. (Karaki; [0146]).
Regarding claim 17, Niu, Chisci, Karaki and Wu teach the method of claim 16, and Niu teaches wherein the uplink access configuration list parameter contained in DCI 0-1 is ul-AccessConfigListDCI-0-1 (In non-fallback DCI (e.g., format 0-1), ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC may be 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 bits. The bitwidth for this field may be determined as log 2 (I) bits, where I is the number of entries in the higher layer parameter ul-AccessConfigListDCI-0-1 for operation in a cell with shared spectrum channel access; otherwise 0 bit.); or the uplink access configuration list parameter contained in DCI 1-1 is ul- AccessConfigListDCI-1-1 (In non-fallback DCI (e.g., format 0-1), ChannelAccess-CPext-CAPC may be 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 or 6 bits. The bitwidth for this field may be determined as log 2 (I) bits, where I is the number of entries in the higher layer parameter ul-AccessConfigListDCI-0-1 for operation in a cell with shared spectrum channel access; otherwise 0 bit.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu and Chicsi in view of Lin (US 20230044448 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Niu and Chisci teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein determining the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel based on the access type indication information and the DCI comprises: in response to the DCI containing the ChannelAccess-CPext information field and the information field indicating the second access type, determining that the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel is the first access type.
Lin in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein determining the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel based on the access type indication information and the DCI comprises: in response to the DCI containing the ChannelAccess-CPext information field and the information field indicating the second access type, determining that the access type of accessing the unlicensed channel is the first access type (Fig. 10; [0297] Referring to FIG. 10…a method 1030 for a UE in a wireless communication system comprises receiving a RAR wherein the RAR comprises a channel access type indication (step 1032), (The RAR is contained in the DCI format 1_0 of paragraph [0216]). [0222] for operation with shared spectrum channel access, a channel access type and CP extension [15, TS 37.213] for a PUCCH transmission is indicated by a ChannelAccess-CPext field in the successRAR as defined in Table 7.3.1.1.1-4 in TS 38.212 as defined in Table 7.3.1.1.1-4 in TS 38.212 or Table 7.3.1.1.1-4A in TS 38.212 if ChannelAccessMode-r16=“semistatic” is provided.) and determining whether to perform LBT for a Msg3 based on its LBT mode irrespective of the channel access type indication in the RAR (step 1036) (LBT mode is configured by the network. [0241] For regions where LBT is not mandated, gNB should indicate to the UE this gNB-UE connection is operating in LBT mode or no-LBT mode [0242] Support both cell specific (common for all UEs in a cell as part of system information or dedicated RRC signalling or both) and UE specific (can be different for different UEs in a cell as part of UE-specific RRC configuration) gNB indication) [0298] In various embodiments, the UE determines whether to perform LBT for a Msg3 based on its LBT mode irrespective of the channel access type indication in the RAR when the UE is in No-LBT mode and/or when the UE is configured not to perform LBT.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the LBT mode for Random Access Response of Lin with the signaling of channel access parameters of Niu and Chisci. The motivation to do so would have been so that RAR indication of channel access type and cyclic prefix (CP) extension can be more efficient. (Lin; [0005]).
Conclusion
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465