DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 are currently amended.
Claims 3-4 are cancelled.
Claims 1-2 are being examined in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita (JP 2020081835 A) in view of Funatsu et al. (US 20170087255 A1, herein, Funatsu).
Regarding claim 1, Yamashita discloses a syringe sealing body in a pre-filled (prefilled syringe 1 – Fig.1) having a surface portion in contact with a hydrogen peroxide solution in the syringe (“portion where the syringe and the hydrogen peroxide solution are in direct contact is a resin”, see para [0013]), wherein:
the syringe sealing body (cap 40 and gasket 60 – Fig.1) is capable of suppressing generation of foreign solid matter derived from the surface portion of the syringe sealing body caused by contacting the hydrogen peroxide solution at 60°C for a period of at least 1 month.
Yamashita does not appear to expressly disclose a material of the surface portion in contact with the hydrogen peroxide solution is selected from the group consisting of fluoro rubber, fluororesin, silicone rubber, and a styrenic elastomer.
However, Yamashita does disclose that “the syringe…may be composed of a plurality of materials.” (see para [0015]).
Funatsu teaches a material of the surface portion in contact with the hydrogen peroxide solution is selected from the group consisting of fluoro rubber, fluororesin, silicone rubber, and a styrenic elastomer (“as materials for forming the seal member 53, it is preferable to use natural rubber, synthetic rubber such as isoprene rubber, butadiene rubber, fluororubber, and silicone rubber; and thermoplastic elastomers such as olefin-based elastomers and styrene-based elastomers”, see para [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portion in contact with the hydrogen peroxide solution disclosed by Yamashita so that the material is selected from the group consisting of fluoro rubber, fluororesin, silicone rubber, and a styrenic elastomer in order to “to seal “a front end portion of the outer cylinder 12, and the intravascular blood replacing liquid 1 filled inside the outer cylinder” (Funatsu, para [0036]).
Examiner interprets the syringe sealing body to be capable of “suppressing generation of foreign solid matter derived from the surface portion of the syringe sealing body caused by contacting the hydrogen peroxide solution at 60°C for a period of at least 1 month” since the combination of Yamashita and Funatsu has the same structure as the claimed invention.
Furthermore, examiner interprets the limitation “capable of suppressing generation of foreign solid matter…” to be intended use. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114.II.
Regarding claim 2, Yamashita in view of Funatsu discloses the syringe sealing body (Yamashita, Fig.1) according to claim 1, wherein the syringe sealing body comprises a gasket and a cap (Yamashita, cap 40 and gasket 60 – Fig.1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to Applicants argument:
“Replacement Sheet 2 of the drawings is enclosed herewith in which the "sealing portion 45" referenced in paragraph [0019] has been inserted into Fig. 1B. Withdrawal of the grounds of objection is respectfully requested.”
This argument is persuasive and the objection has been withdrawn.
In regards to Applicants argument:
“Claim 1 has been amended to remove "the syringe"…Claim 3 has been canceled herewith without prejudice or disclaimer. Withdrawal of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), fourth paragraph, is respectfully requested.”
This argument is persuasive and the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) and 112(d) rejections has been withdrawn.
In regards to Applicants argument:
“Further, because neither Yamashita nor Funatsu teach suppressing generation of foreign matter caused by hydrogen peroxide, one skilled in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation of successfully nor predictably obtaining a syringe sealing body having the capability of suppressing generation of foreign solid matter derived from the surface portion of the syringe sealing body caused by contacting the hydrogen peroxide solution at 60"C for a period of at least 1 month as recited in amended Claim 1.”
This is not persuasive because the combination Yamashita in view Funatsu teaches the claimed structure of the instant application. The combination of Yamashita in view of Funatsu teaches the structure of the claimed invention and it is the opinion of the examiner that, as such, any purported advantages that result from the claimed structure would also flow naturally from the prior art combination.
Therefore, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Hence, the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783