DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and claim 7 recites “in particular a direct current-to-direct current (DC to DC) converter function“; claim 8 recites “in particular a redistribution structure”, claim 9 recites “in particular cooperating”; claim 11 recites “in particular a semiconductor element”; claim 12 recites “in particular a printed circuit board or an interposer”; claim 16 recites “in particular provided by a plurality of embedded capacitor components.”. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation, and the claim also recites “in particular a direct current-to-direct current (DC to DC) converter function “ which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over.
Regarding claim 1, Guzek (US 20110101516) (refer to Figures 1-2, and markup of Figure 2 below) teaches an integrated circuit substrate (120 and 130, see para 17) for surface mounting (para 20; also see Figure 2) an integrated circuit component (110, see para 17) thereon, wherein the integrated circuit substrate (120 and 130) comprises:
a central section (CS in markup of Figure 2); and
at least two vertically stacked functional volume sections (VSFV-1 and VSFV-2; or alternately VSFV-2 and VSFV-3 in markup of Figure 2) in the central section (CS);
wherein a pitch (227 – see Figure 2; see para 18) at an integrated circuit component mounting side (i.e. upper horizontal side in orientation of Figure 2) of the integrated circuit substrate (120 and 130) has a pitch value.
Guzek does not teach that the pitch value is “not more than 150 μm”. However, Guzek teaches that pitch may be determined by surface area of a device (para 17), giving an examples that as “surface area 125” (of 120) is smaller than “surface area 135” (of 130), their corresponding pitch is such that “pitch 229” (of 120) is smaller than “pitch 237” (of 130) – see para 18 and refer to Figures 1-2. Guzek also explains that interconnect scaling within microelectronic packages depends on type of interconnects and that for a typical pitch of 150 microns is known for high density interconnects (para 3). Given that interconnect sacling is a known results effective variable and its dependence on interconnect type is also known (as explained above), varying the would not be cause for undue experimentation. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) see MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify Guzek so that that the pitch (either center to center, or edge to edge) is a specific value such as “not more than 150 μm”. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Guzek for at least the purpose of selecting a pitch that is suitable for interconnection scaling (para 3 of Guzek) and surface area of the component (para 17 of Guzek) to be mounted on the integrated circuit component mounting side with a suitable interconnect type, such as high density interconnects (para 3 of Guzek).
Regarding claim 2, Guzek (refer to Figures 1-2, and markup of Figure 2) teaches the integrated circuit substrate (120 and 130) according to claim 1, comprising a laminated layer stackformed (para 22 describes “all layers” of 120; i.e. a laminated layer stackformed, best seen in Figure 2) on one main surface of the central section.
Regarding claim 3, Guzek (refer to Figures 1-2, and markup of Figure 2) teaches the integrated circuit substrate according to claim 2, comprising a further laminated layer stack formed on an opposing other main surface of the central section
4. The integrated circuit substrate according to claim 3, wherein the laminated layer stack and/or the further laminated layer stack has a different integration density than the central section.
5. The integrated circuit substrate according to claim 4, wherein a pitch of the laminated layer stack facing the integrated circuit component mounting side is smaller than a pitch of the further laminated layer stack being remote from the integrated circuit component mounting side.
6. The integrated circuit substrate according to claim 3, wherein the central section comprises an interface layer in an interface region between the central section and the laminated layer stack that decouples geometrically a position of through holes of the central section with respect to laser vias of the laminated layer stack.
Regarding claim 7, Guzek (refer to Figures 1-2, and markup of Figure 2) teaches the integrated circuit substrate according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the functional volume section comprises a power converter function, (para 23 describes VSFV-2 of CS – see markup of Figure 2 - may comprise 245, which may be a “voltage regulator”, which is a power converter function), in particular a direct current-to-direct current (DC to DC) converter function (see 35 USC, 112, 2nd paragraph rejection above).
Regarding claim 8, Guzek (refer to Figures 1-2, and markup of Figure 2) teaches the integrated circuit substrate according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the functional volume sections comprises a power distribution function (para 23 describes that VSFV-2 of CS – see markup of Figure 2 - may comprise 245, which may be a “voltage regulator”, which is a power distribution function; also “microvia 240” described in para 17 which provides conduction of signal/power function, which is also a power distribution function), in particular a redistribution structure (see 35 USC, 112, 2nd paragraph rejection above).
Regarding claim 9, Guzek (refer to Figures 1-2, and markup of Figure 2) teaches the integrated circuit substrate according to claim 1, wherein different functional volume sections provide different (such VSFV-2 having 245 which may function as a voltage regulator, as described in para 23; and further VSFV-1 having “microvia 240” described in para 17 which provides conduction of signal/power function) in particular cooperating, functions (see 35 USC, 112, 2nd paragraph rejection above)
Regarding claim 10, Guzek (refer to Figures 1-2, and markup of Figure 2) teaches an electronic device (100 of Figure 1-2 and markup of Figure 2, see para 17) comprising an integrated circuit substrate according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Guzek (refer to Figures 1-2, and markup of Figure 2) teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, comprising an integrated circuit component (110, see para 17), in particular a semiconductor element (see 35 USC, 112, 2nd paragraph rejection above), being surface mounted (para 20; also see Figure 2) on the integrated circuit component mounting side (i.e. upper horizontal side in orientation of Figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Guzek (refer to Figures 1-2, and markup of Figure 2) teaches the electronic device according to claim 10, comprising a mounting base (not shown in Figure but described as " motherboard" to which "interconnects 236" connect - see para 21; also see para 20), in particular a printed circuit board or an interposer (see 35 USC, 112, 2nd paragraph rejection above), on which the integrated circuit substrate (120 and 130) is mounted (by "interconnects 236" – see Figure 2).
Claim 13. The electronic device according to claim 11, wherein:
the integrated circuit substrate (120 and 130) has an exposed substrate pad and has an exposed substrate dielectric;
the integrated circuit component (110) has an exposed component pad and has an exposed component dielectric; and
the integrated circuit substrate is connected with the integrated circuit component so that there is a direct physical contact between the substrate pad and the component pad and so that there is a direct physical contact between the substrate dielectric and the component dielectric.
However, Guzek teaches that 110 may be connected 120 by “interconnects 226” (see Figure 2 and para 20), and 120 connected to 130 by “interconnects 228” (see Figure 2 and para 20) by surface mount interconnection technologies like ball grid array (para 20); and it is known that ball grid arrays typically use the claimed “an exposed component pad and has an exposed component dielectric” and “an exposed component pad and has an exposed component dielectric”
Regarding claim 14, Guzek (refer to Figures 1-2, and markup of Figure 2) teaches an method of manufacturing an integrated circuit substrate (120 and 130, see para 17) for surface mounting (para 20; also see Figure 2) an integrated circuit component (110, see para 17) thereon, wherein the method comprises:
providing a central section (CS in markup of Figure 2);
vertically stacking at least two functional volume sections (VSFV-1 and VSFV-2; or alternately VSFV-2 and VSFV-3 in markup of Figure 2) in the central section (CS); and forming a pitch (227 – see Figure 2; see para 18) at an integrated circuit component mounting side (i.e. upper horizontal side in orientation of Figure 2) of the integrated circuit substrate (120 and 130) has a pitch value.
Guzek does not teach that the pitch value is “not more than 150 μm”. However, Guzek teaches that pitch may be determined by surface area of a device (para 17), giving an examples that as “surface area 125” (of 120) is smaller than “surface area 135” (of 130), their corresponding pitch is such that “pitch 229” (of 120) is smaller than “pitch 237” (of 130) – see para 18 and refer to Figures 1-2. Guzek also explains that interconnect scaling within microelectronic packages depends on type of interconnects and that for a typical pitch of 150 microns is known for high density interconnects (para 3). Optimizatoin.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify Guzek so that that the pitch (either center to center, or edge to edge) is a specific value such as “not more than 150 μm”. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Guzek for at least the purpose of selecting a pitch that is suitable for interconnection scaling (para 3 of Guzek) and surface area of the component (para 17 of Guzek) to be mounted on the integrated circuit component mounting side with a suitable interconnect type, such as high density interconnects (para 3 of Guzek).
Regarding claim 15, Guzek (refer to Figures 1-2, and markup of Figure 2) teaches the method according to claim 14, wherein: the method comprises monolithically forming (see markup of Figure 2) the functional volume sections (VSFV-1 and VSFV-2; or alternately VSFV-2 and VSFV-3 in markup of Figure 2) with the central section (CS); or the method comprises inserting pre-fabricated inlay-type functional volume sections (such as by inserting prefabricated passive device 25 in VSFV-2, see para 23) in at least one hole of the central section (see markup of Figure 2)
Regarding claim 16, Guzek (refer to Figures 1-2, and markup of Figure 2) teaches the integrated circuit substrate according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the functional volume sections comprises a power delivery function (para 23 describes that VSFV-2 of CS – see markup of Figure 2 - may comprise 245, which may be a “voltage regulator”, which is a power distribution function; also “microvia 240” described in para 17 which provides conduction of signal/power function, which is also a power distribution function), in particular provided by a plurality of embedded capacitor components (see 35 USC, 112, 2nd paragraph rejection above).
Conclusion
/AJAY ARORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892