DETAILED ACTION
Applicant canceled claims 1-6 and added claims 7-10 in the preliminary amendment filed on 08/14/2025.
The claims 7-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan et al (US Patent application No. 2023/0422180 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Yuan teaches a terminal comprising: a receiver that receives a single frequency network (SFN) physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for triggering a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) to be repetitively transmitted (paragraph 0082 disclose the base station may transmit the multiple PDCCH repetitions according to a single frequency network (SFN) configuration. For example, when the PDCCH is associated with an SFN repetition configuration, the base station transmits the DCI message in one CORESET using multiple TCI states (e.g., using different downlink beams that are associated with different antenna panels and/or different TRPs, among other examples; a PDCCH scheduling the uplink transmission is associated with a repetition configuration with multiple CORESETs and/or a CORESET associated with multiple TCI states); and a processor that determines a spatial relation or a pathloss reference signal used for the PUCCH, by using a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state out of two TCI states corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest CORESET identifier (ID) (paragraph 0095; 0099-0105 disclose the CORESET used to determine the default path loss reference signal may be the CORESET with the lowest index, and in cases where the CORESET is associated with two downlink TCI states or two joint TCI states, the UE may select one of the two downlink or joint TCI states (e.g., the first or the second downlink or joint TCI state, the downlink or joint TCI state with a lower or higher identifier, and/or the downlink or joint TCI state with a lower or higher pool identifier).
The limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 7 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of claim 7 above, and the claim
is rejected on that basis.
With respect to claim 10, Yuan teaches a system comprising a base station and a terminal ((base station 110 and terminal 120, Figs.3 and 7A), wherein the base station comprises: a transmitter that transmits a single frequency network (SFN) physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for triggering a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) to be repetitively transmitted (paragraph 0082 disclose the base station transmitting the multiple PDCCH repetitions according to a single frequency network (SFN) configuration. For example, when the PDCCH is associated with an SFN repetition configuration, the base station transmits the DCI message in one CORESET using multiple TCI states (e.g., using different downlink beams that are associated with different antenna panels and/or different TRPs, among other examples; a PDCCH scheduling the uplink transmission is associated with a repetition configuration with multiple CORESETs and/or a CORESET associated with multiple TCI states);
and the terminal (UE 120) comprises: a receiver that receives the PDCCH (paragraph 0081-0083 disclose a UE receiving multiple repetitions of a PDCCH from a base station); and
a processor that determines a spatial relation or a pathloss reference signal used for the PUCCH, by using a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state out of two TCI states corresponding to a control resource set (CORESET) with a lowest CORESET identifier (ID) (paragraph 0095; 0099-0105 disclose the CORESET used to determine the default path loss reference signal may be the CORESET with the lowest index, and in cases where the CORESET is associated with two downlink TCI states or two joint TCI states, the UE may select one of the two downlink or joint TCI states (e.g., the first or the second downlink or joint TCI state, the downlink or joint TCI state with a lower or higher identifier, and/or the downlink or joint TCI state with a lower or higher pool identifier).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHEIKH T NDIAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447
3/24/2026