DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application 18/696,946 filed on 28 March 2024, 371 of PCT/US22/26623 filed on 28 April 2022, with PRO 63/277,309 filed on 09 November 2021 and PRO 63/181,625 filed on 29 April 2021. Claims 6-8, 11, 14, 20, 22, 24, 27, 29, 33, 35-37, 39 and 50 are amended. Claims 16-19, 21, 28, 34, 40-46 and 54 are canceled. Currently, claims 1-15, 20, 22-27, 29-33, 35-39, 47 and 50-53 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 04 April 2025, 12 September 2025, 03 October 2025, 01 April 2026, 07 April 2026, and 23 July 2026 were filed after the mailing date of the application on 28 March 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I without traverse in the response filed on 23 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election of the compound 4-(4-((1R, 5S)-3,8-diazabicyclo[3.2.1]octan-3-yl)-2-(((2R,7aS)-2-fluorotetrahydro-1H,pyrrolizin-7a(5H)-yl)methoxy)quinazolin-7-yl)-5-ethyl-6-fluoronaphthalen-2-ol, illustrated below, in the response filed on 23 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election of non-small cell lung cancer in the response filed on 23 July 2026 is acknowledged.
The elected species, per Applicant’s remarks, reads upon claims 1-2, 5-10, 20, 22-27, 29-30, 32-33 and 35-39. As such, claims 3-4, 11-15, 31, 47 and 50-53 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made in the reply filed on 23 July 2026.
The elected species was found to be free of the prior art.
The closest matches are Tian et al. (Heterocyclic compounds as Kras inhibitor, and preparation therefor and use thereof in treatment, US 2024/0300980 A1, 2024) who discloses the elected compound as compound 92 for the purpose of treating HRas, KRas and NRas, illustrated below (pg. 71):
However, the prior art is after the claimed priority date of the instant application.
Wang et al. (KRAS G12D Inhibitors, WO 2021/041671 A1, 2021; entered into the IDS on 04 April 2025) discloses the compound below for the purpose of treating KRas, which nearly reads on the elected species except for the inclusion of an additional nitrogen in the heterocyclic core, illustrated below (pg. 37):
Malhotra et al. (Fused ring compounds, WO 2020/097537 A2, 2020) discloses compounds with similar structures for the treatment of Ras proteins including KRas, HRas, and NRas, including a heterocyclic core that reads upon the instant application, an example being compound 67a, illustrated below (pg. 61):
The search was expanded to the elected scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 20, 22-27, 29-30, 32-33, 35-37, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (KRAS G12D Inhibitors, WO 2021/041671 A1, 2021; entered into the IDS on 04 April 2025) in view of Malhotra et al. (Fused ring compounds, WO 2020/097537 A2, 2020).
Wang discloses several compounds for the purpose of inhibiting KRas, including the structure illustrated below, that nearly reads upon the elected species except for the inclusion of an additional nitrogen in the heterocyclic core (pg. 37):
They do not, however, teach where the core heterocyclic structure does not have the inclusion of a nitrogen on the pyridyl ring.
Malhotra rectifies this deficiency by teaching compounds also purposed for inhibiting Ras proteins including compounds such as compound 67a, illustrated below (pg. 61):
As such, it would be prima facie obvious, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to consider incorporating the heterocyclic core structure of Malhotra into the structures of Wang as both maintain the planar sp2 aromatic geometry of the core structure while being demonstratively applicable toward Ras inhibition.
Regarding the limitations of claim 2, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang does not include R3 = benzo[d]thiazole.
Concerning the limitations of claim 5, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has Z = N.
Pertaining to the limitations of claim 6, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has W = N.
With respect to the limitations of claim 7, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has n = 1.
With regards to the limitations of claim 8, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has m = 2.
With concern to the limitations of claim 9, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has the two Rx form a C2-alkylene bridged ring.
Regarding the limitations of claim 10, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has the two Rx form an ethylene bridged ring.
Concerning the limitations of claim 20, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has the structural limitations being
.
Pertaining to the limitations of claim 22, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has L = -O-C1 alkylene.
With respect to the limitations of claim 23, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has L = -O-methylene-.
With regards to the limitations of claim 24, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has R1 = a heterocycloalkyl with one occurrence of R5.
With concern to the limitations of claim 25, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has R1 = 7-(hexahydro-1H-pyrrolizine).
Regarding the limitations of claim 26, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has R5 = halogen.
Concerning the limitations of claim 27, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has -L-R1 =
.
Pertaining to the limitations of claim 29, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has R3 = naphthyl substituted with 3 occurrences of R6.
With respect to the limitations of claim 30, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has R3 = naphthyl substituted with 3 occurrences of R6.
With regards to the limitations of claim 32, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has R6 = fluorine, ethyl and hydroxyl.
With concern to the limitations of claim 33, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has R3 =
.
Regarding the limitations of claim 35, these are met as the exemplary compound from Malhotra has R2 = chlorine.
Concerning the limitations of claim 36, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has R4 = fluorine.
Pertaining to the limitations of claim 37, these are met as the exemplary compound from Wang has R7 = hydrogen.
With respect to the limitations of claim 39, these are met as Wang teaches pharmaceutical compositions for KRas G12D inhibitors including administration, salts, and carriers (para. 0169-0175).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 38 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons For Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the elected species was not found in the prior art in a 100% embodiment. The prior art does not read upon the species listed in the claim. The closest prior are Tian et al. (Heterocyclic compounds as Kras inhibitor, and preparation therefor and use thereof in treatment, US 2024/0300980 A1, 2024) who discloses the elected compound as compound 92 for the purpose of treating HRas, KRas and NRas, illustrated below (pg. 71):
However, the prior art is after the claimed priority date of the instant application.
Wang et al. (KRAS G12D Inhibitors, WO 2021/041671 A1, 2021; entered into the IDS on 04 April 2025) discloses the compound below for the purpose of treating KRas, which nearly reads on the elected species except for the inclusion of an additional nitrogen in the heterocyclic core, illustrated below (pg. 37):
Malhotra et al. (Fused ring compounds, WO 2020/097537 A2, 2020) discloses compounds with similar structures for the treatment of Ras proteins including KRas, HRas, and NRas, including a heterocyclic core that reads upon the instant application, an example being compound 67a, illustrated below (pg. 61):
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of co-pending Application No. 18/695,688 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the general structure as described by formula (I) in the ‘688 application broadly reads into formula (I) of the instant application.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of co-pending Application No. 18/696,948 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the general structure as described by formula (I) in the ‘948 application reads into formula (I) of the instant application where R3 is heteroaryl.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of co-pending Application No. 18/695,693 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the general structure of formula (I) of the ‘693 application largely reads upon formula (I) of the instant application, contrasting with the inclusion of a nitrogen in the bicyclic core. However, this inclusion maintains the sp2 geometry of the structure and therefore does not readily make apparent the significance of such an inclusion.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Summary
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 20, 22-27, 29-30, 32-33, 35-37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Claim 38 is objected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim. Claim 1 is rejected under non-statutory double patenting. Claims 3-4, 11-15, 31, 47 and 50-53 are withdrawn.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 5-10, 20, 22-27, 29-30, 32-33, 35-37 and 39 are rejected. Claim 38 is objected to. Claims 3-4, 11-15, 31, 47 and 50-53 are withdrawn.
/ALLEN CHAO/Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622