Claim Objections
Claims 1-30 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite the abbreviations DCI and HARQ without providing the definition of the abbreviations. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second receiving UE " in lines 9-10 and 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the second receiving UE " in lines 13-14 and 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the second receiving UE " in lines 11-12 and 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the second receiving UE " in lines 11 and 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As for claims 2-18 and 20-28 which claim dependency from claims 1 and 19, these claims are rejected under 112(b) per the rationale of claims 1 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 19, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US PGPUB US20210050953) in view of Ye et al (US PGPUB US20210250136).
Claim 1 discloses a method of wireless communication by a receiving user equipment (UE) in a network, comprising: receiving first DCI scheduling a transmission of first sidelink information; transmitting the first sidelink information via a first sidelink channel to a first receiving UE based on the first DCI; receiving first feedback information associated with the first sidelink information from the first receiving UE; receiving second DCI scheduling a transmission of second sidelink information; transmitting the second sidelink information via a second sidelink channel to the second receiving UE based on the second DCI; receiving second feedback information associated with the second sidelink information from the second receiving UE; generating HARQ information associated with at least one of the first feedback information or the second feedback information based on the first DCI and the second DCI; and transmitting the HARQ information. Park teaches receiving first DCI scheduling a transmission of first sidelink information (paragraph 149, figure 10), transmitting the first sidelink information via a first sidelink channel to a first receiving UE based on the first DCI (paragraph 149, multiple UEs), receiving first feedback information associated with the first sidelink information from the first receiving UE (paragraph 149 Rx UE), receiving second DCI scheduling a transmission of second sidelink information (paragraph 149, figure 10 multiple transmissions), transmitting the second sidelink information via a second sidelink channel to the second receiving UE based on the second DCI (paragraph 149, multiple UEs); receiving second feedback information associated with the second sidelink information from the second receiving UE (paragraph 149,multiple RX UEs), and transmitting the HARQ information (paragraph 151, HARQ information transmitted). It fails to teach generating HARQ information associated with at least one of the first feedback information or the second feedback information based on the first DCI and the second DCI. Ye et al teaches generating a HARQ codebook based on multiple timing indications (feedback).
Park and Ye et al are analogous art because they are both related to HARQ feedback transmissions.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the HARQ codebook in Ye et al with the system in Park because the system facilitates feedback to be provided to the network via the cell (Ye et al paragraph 2).
Claim 19 discloses a receiving user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory comprising instructions; a transceiver; and one or more processors operatively coupled with the memory and the transceiver, the one or more processors configured to execute instructions in the memory to: receive first DCI scheduling a transmission of first sidelink information; transmit the first sidelink information via a first sidelink channel to a first receiving UE based on the first DCI; receive first feedback information associated with the first sidelink information from the first receiving UE; receive second DCI scheduling a transmission of second sidelink information; transmit second sidelink information via a second sidelink channel to the second receiving UE based on the second DCI; receive the second feedback information associated with the second sidelink information from the second receiving UE; generate HARQ information associated with at least one of the first feedback information or the second feedback information based on the first DCI and the second DCI; and transmit the HARQ information. Park teaches receiving first DCI scheduling a transmission of first sidelink information (paragraph 149, figure 10), transmitting the first sidelink information via a first sidelink channel to a first receiving UE based on the first DCI (paragraph 149, multiple UEs), receiving first feedback information associated with the first sidelink information from the first receiving UE (paragraph 149 Rx UE), receiving second DCI scheduling a transmission of second sidelink information (paragraph 149, figure 10 multiple transmissions), transmitting the second sidelink information via a second sidelink channel to the second receiving UE based on the second DCI (paragraph 149, multiple UEs); receiving second feedback information associated with the second sidelink information from the second receiving UE (paragraph 149,multiple RX UEs), and transmitting the HARQ information (paragraph 151, HARQ information transmitted). It fails to teach generating HARQ information associated with at least one of the first feedback information or the second feedback information based on the first DCI and the second DCI. Ye et al teaches generating a HARQ codebook based on multiple timing indications (feedback).
Park and Ye et al are analogous art because they are both related to HARQ feedback transmissions.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the HARQ codebook in Ye et al with the system in Park because the system facilitates feedback to be provided to the network via the cell (Ye et al paragraph 2).
Claim 29 discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored therein that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the one or more processors to: receive first DCI scheduling a transmission of first sidelink information; transmit the first sidelink information via a first sidelink channel to a first receiving UE based on the first DCI; receive first feedback information associated with the first sidelink information from the first receiving UE; receive second DCI second DCI scheduling a transmission of second sidelink information; transmit the second sidelink information via a second sidelink channel to the second receiving UE based on the second DCI; receive second feedback information associated with the second sidelink information from the second receiving UE; generate HARQ information associated with at least one of the first feedback information or the second feedback information based on the first DCI and the second DCI; and transmit the HARQ information. Park teaches receiving first DCI scheduling a transmission of first sidelink information (paragraph 149, figure 10), transmitting the first sidelink information via a first sidelink channel to a first receiving UE based on the first DCI (paragraph 149, multiple UEs), receiving first feedback information associated with the first sidelink information from the first receiving UE (paragraph 149 Rx UE), receiving second DCI scheduling a transmission of second sidelink information (paragraph 149, figure 10 multiple transmissions), transmitting the second sidelink information via a second sidelink channel to the second receiving UE based on the second DCI (paragraph 149, multiple UEs); receiving second feedback information associated with the second sidelink information from the second receiving UE (paragraph 149,multiple RX UEs), and transmitting the HARQ information (paragraph 151, HARQ information transmitted). It fails to teach generating HARQ information associated with at least one of the first feedback information or the second feedback information based on the first DCI and the second DCI. Ye et al teaches generating a HARQ codebook based on multiple timing indications (feedback).
Park and Ye et al are analogous art because they are both related to HARQ feedback transmissions.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the HARQ codebook in Ye et al with the system in Park because the system facilitates feedback to be provided to the network via the cell (Ye et al paragraph 2).
Claim 30 discloses A user equipment (UE), comprising: means for receiving first DCI scheduling a transmission of first sidelink information; means for transmitting the first sidelink information via a first sidelink channel to a first receiving UE based on the first DCI; means for receiving first feedback information associated with the first sidelink information from the first receiving UE; means for receiving second DCI scheduling a transmission of second sidelink information; means for transmitting the second sidelink information via a second sidelink channel to the second receiving UE based on the second DCI; means for receiving second feedback information associated with the second sidelink information from the second receiving UE; means for generating HARQ information associated with at least one of the first feedback information or the second feedback information based on the first DCI and the second DCI; and means for transmitting the HARQ information. Park teaches receiving first DCI scheduling a transmission of first sidelink information (paragraph 149, figure 10), transmitting the first sidelink information via a first sidelink channel to a first receiving UE based on the first DCI (paragraph 149, multiple UEs), receiving first feedback information associated with the first sidelink information from the first receiving UE (paragraph 149 Rx UE), receiving second DCI scheduling a transmission of second sidelink information (paragraph 149, figure 10 multiple transmissions), transmitting the second sidelink information via a second sidelink channel to the second receiving UE based on the second DCI (paragraph 149, multiple UEs); receiving second feedback information associated with the second sidelink information from the second receiving UE (paragraph 149,multiple RX UEs), and transmitting the HARQ information (paragraph 151, HARQ information transmitted). It fails to teach generating HARQ information associated with at least one of the first feedback information or the second feedback information based on the first DCI and the second DCI. Ye et al teaches generating a HARQ codebook based on multiple timing indications (feedback).
Park and Ye et al are analogous art because they are both related to HARQ feedback transmissions.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the HARQ codebook in Ye et al with the system in Park because the system facilitates feedback to be provided to the network via the cell (Ye et al paragraph 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-18 and 20-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al (US PGPUB US20210006318 teaches of sidelink communication. Zhou (US PGPUB US20220140958) teaches of feedback information transmissions.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446