DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
1. This is in response to application filed on 3/28/2024 in which claims 17-37 are presented for examination.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 recites the claimed limitations of "...the iterative method...", however, there are insufficient prior antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims.
All claims that depend on the above rejected claims are also rejected for fully incorporating the deficiencies of the above rejected claims from which they depend.
For complete examination purposes, the Examiner will broadly address all of the above rejected claims in light of the overall concept of Applicant’s invention. Appropriate corrections are therefore required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 35 recites “…Computer program product...", however claim 35 specifically fails to define the Computer program product” in the claim.
Appropriate corrections/rewording are required.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112()
The Claim limitations “means for…” recited in claim 32 have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a non-structural term “means for” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the non-structural term is not preceded by a structural modifier.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the claim limitations, applicant must identify any corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18, 22 and 30-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dotsch et al., (US 2020/0275324), (hereinafter, Dotsch) in view of Yeh et al., (US 2019/0182730), (hereinafter, Yeh).
Regarding claims 17 and 35-36, Dotsch discloses a Method/ Computer program product/transceiver equipment for handover of a transceiver equipment from a serving cell (S) to a target cell (T) in a cellular communications network, said serving cell (S) belonging to a first base station and said target cell (T) belonging to a second base station, and said target cell (T) being selected from a group of neighbor cells (Ni, N2, ...,Nx, ..., Nm) whose Reference Signal Received Power and/or Reference Signal Received Quality and/or Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio is higher than the Reference Signal Received Power and/or Reference Signal Received Quality and/or Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio of the serving cell (S) by an offset, wherein the transceiver equipment is a user equipment (UE) or on-board equipment (OBE) and is configured to select a neighbor cell (Nx) from the group of neighbor cells (= method is performed by a network node such as a base station; and comparing RSRP of the cells, see [0070]), the method comprising the steps of:
I. transmitting a measurement report to the first base station, said measurement report comprising information on a neighbor cell (Nx) selected from the group of neighbor cells (Ni, N2, ..., Nx, ..., Nm), based on i. a distance criterion by selecting the neighbor cell (Nx) as having a lower propagation delay compared to the remaining neighbor cells (Ni, N2,Nm) and/or to the serving cell (S) (= receiving a measurement report from a terminal/OBE; measurement report may include distance from the terminal of cells the A2G network as measured by the OBE; and measurement report includes only the information for cells that are located less than a maximum distance from the OBE, see [0070]), and/or
ii. a trajectory criterion by selecting the neighbor cell (Nx) as having a higher changing rate of propagation delay compared to the remaining neighbor cells (Ni, N2, ..., Nm) and/or to the serving cell (S),
Dotsch explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“II. receiving a handover command from the first base station, said handover command comprising instruction for handover to the selected neighbor cell (Nx) becoming the target cell (T), and
III. completing handover with the second base station.”
However, Yeh which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“II. receiving a handover command from the first base station, said handover command comprising instruction for handover to the selected neighbor cell (Nx) becoming the target cell (T) (= source eNB 302 communicates a handover command 328 to the drone UE 101, see [0084]) and
III. completing handover with the second base station” (= at operation 330, handover completion 332 can take place, include multiple operations in order to complete their handover to target eNB 304, see [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yeh with Dotsch for the benefit of achieving a communication system that collected geographical and base station information from higher layers for handover enhancements.
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned in claim 17, Dotsch further discloses the method wherein the measurement report is based on Reference Signal Received Power measurement, Reference Signal Received Quality measurement and/or Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio measurement, in particular filtered at Layer 3 (see, [0050]).
Regarding claim 22, as mentioned in claim 17, Dotsch further discloses the method wherein at least one of the distance criterion or the trajectory criterion is applied even if one of the remaining neighbor cells (Ni, N2, ..., Nm) has a higher Reference Signal Received Power and/or Reference Signal Received Quality and/or Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio, than the selected neighbor cell (Nx) and the serving cell (S) (see, [0070]).
Regarding claim 30, as mentioned in claim 17, Dotsch further discloses the method wherein the iterative method is adapted to be used for air-to-ground communications (see, [0028]).
Regarding claim 31, as mentioned in claim 17, Dotsch further discloses the method wherein the transceiver equipment comprises an on-board equipment of an aircraft and the first base station and/or the second base station comprises a ground unit (see, [0024]).
Regarding claim 32, Dotsch discloses a Transceiver equipment, wherein the transceiver equipment is a user equipment (UE) or on-board equipment (OBE), configured for handover from a serving cell (S) to a target cell (T) in a cellular communications network (= OBE performs handover, see [0024]), said transceiver equipment comprising:
means for selecting a neighbor cell (Nx) from a group of neighbor cells (Ni, N2, ...,Nx,..., Nm) being better than the serving cell (S) by an offset, in particular whose Reference Signal Received Power and/or Reference Signal Received Quality and/or Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio is higher than the Reference Signal Received Power and/or Reference Signal Received Quality and/or Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio of the serving cell (S) by an offset, in particular means for determining and comparing propagation delay for the neighbor cells (Ni, N2, ..., Nx, ..., Nm) and/or for the serving cell (S) (= OBE may measure the RSRP of two cells, see [0030-32 and 0050]),
means for transmitting a measurement report to a first base station to which the serving cell (S) belongs (= receiving a measurement report from a terminal/OBE, see [0070 and 0050]).
Dotsch explicitly fails to disclose the claimed limitations of:
“means for receiving a handover command from the first base station,
means for completing handover with a second base station to which the target cell (T) belongs”.
However, Yeh which is an analogous art equivalently discloses the claimed limitations of:
“means for receiving a handover command from the first base station (= source eNB 302 communicates a handover command 328 to the drone UE 101, see [0084]),
means for completing handover with a second base station to which the target cell (T) belongs” (= at operation 330, handover completion 332 can take place, include multiple operations in order to complete their handover to target eNB 304, see [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Yeh with Dotsch for the benefit of achieving a communication system that collected geographical and base station information from higher layers for handover enhancements.
Regarding claim 33, as mentioned in claim 32, Dotsch further discloses the Transceiver equipment, wherein the transceiver equipment comprises an on-board equipment of an aircraft (see, [0024]).
Regarding claim 34, as mentioned in claim 32, Dotsch further discloses the transceiver equipment wherein the transceiver equipment is an on-board equipment in an aircraft, said on-board equipment configured to act as a gateway for further traffic distribution to user equipments on board of the aircraft (see, [0024]).
Regarding claim 37, as mentioned in claim 36, Dotsch further discloses the transceiver equipment wherein the transceiver equipment is a user equipment (UE) or on-board equipment (OBE) (see, [0024]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 19-21 and 23-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
CONCLUSION
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Shrestha et al., (US 2023/0121634) teaches techniques for communicating satellite revisit time in a non-terrestrial network.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.