DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The following limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
“means to remove chemicals“ in claim 12. The term “means” is modified by purely functional language “to remove chemicals” [0090]. The term “means” specifies a clear function completely unaccompanied by any structural language, material or act within the claim body that would be capable of performing the chemical removal function [0090]. Therefore, “means to remove chemicals” will be interpreted as solid additive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "one or more bodies" in line 2. Claim 1 already establishes the presence of “one or more bodies that are sized to prevent ….” It is unclear whether the phrase “one or more bodies” in dependent claim 8 refers back to the original “one or more bodies” introduced in Claim 1 (thereby further limiting their shape or structure), or if it is intended to introduce a new, separate, and distinct set of bodies apart from those already recited in Claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as ‘the one or more bodies’.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "one or more bodies" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 already establishes the presence of “one or more bodies that are sized to prevent ….” It is unclear whether the phrase “one or more bodies” in dependent claim 9 refers back to the original “one or more bodies” introduced in Claim 1 (thereby further limiting their shape or structure), or if it is intended to introduce a new, separate, and distinct set of bodies apart from those already recited in Claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as ‘the one or more bodies’.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "one or more bodies" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 already establishes the presence of “one or more bodies that are sized to prevent ….” It is unclear whether the phrase “one or more bodies” in dependent claim 10 refers back to the original “one or more bodies” introduced in Claim 1 (thereby further limiting their shape or structure), or if it is intended to introduce a new, separate, and distinct set of bodies apart from those already recited in Claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as ‘the one or more bodies’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-9, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ricketts et al. (US 20180297048 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Ricketts et al. discloses a cartridge (Figure 1, element 100) which contains a liquid aerosol-forming substrate (Figure 1, element 110), wherein the liquid aerosol-forming substrate comprises a solid additive (Figure 1, element 112), characterized in that the solid additive is provided in the form of one or more bodies ([0014]) that are sized to prevent the solid additive blocking the flow of liquid through the consumable ([0126]).
Regarding Claim 7, Ricketts et al. teaches the elements of Claim 1. Ricketts further teaches that when the capsules are spherical, the diameter of each capsule may be between about 0.5 mm and about 4 mm ([0038]) thus meeting the limitation of the bodies having a height in the range of 0.5 to 5mm.
Regarding Claim 8, Ricketts et al. teaches the elements of Claim 1. Ricketts further teaches a capsule comprising solid composition having elongate, spherical, spheroid, or ellipsoid shape ([0029]).
Regarding Claim 9, Ricketts et al. teaches the elements of Claim 1. Ricketts further teaches a capsule with solid composition that can be elongate since an ellipsoid would be elongate ([0029]).
Regarding Claim 12, Ricketts et al. teaches the elements of Claim 1. Ricketts further teaches a capsule encapsulating a second liquid aerosol-forming substrate comprising, for example, nicotine ([0121] and [0044]).
Regarding Claim 13, Ricketts et al. teaches the elements of Claim 1. Ricketts further teaches that at least one of the liquid aerosol-forming substrates preferably comprises a tobacco-containing material containing volatile tobacco flavor compounds ([0046]).
Regarding Claim 14, Ricketts et al. teaches a cartridge (Figure 1, element 100) which contains a liquid aerosol-forming substrate (Figure 1, element 110), wherein the liquid aerosol-forming substrate comprises a solid additive (Figure 1, element 112), characterized in that the solid additive is provided in the form of one or more bodies ([0014]) that are sized to prevent the solid additive blocking the flow of liquid through the consumable ([0126]).
Regarding Claim 15, Ricketts et al. teaches the elements of Claim 1. Ricketts further teaches a use of a capsule having solid composition ([0014]) placed in a canister (Figure 1, element 102, [0121]) of a cartridge (Figure 1, element 100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricketts et al. (US 20180297048 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Ricketts et al. teaches the elements of Claim 1. Ricketts further teaches that the capsule has diameter which is 0.5mm to 4mm when configured in a spherical shape ([0038]). The diameter being 0.5-4mm would overlap with the instant claim requirement that the width, length and height are greater than 2mm. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 6, Ricketts et al. teaches the elements of Claim 1. Ricketts further teaches that when the capsules are spherical, the diameter of each capsule may be between about 0.5mm and about 4 mm ([0038]), which overlaps with the instantly claimed range of the bodies having a width in the range of 2 to 25mm. Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricketts et al. (US 20180297048 A1) in view of Murray et al. (WO 2020161336 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Ricketts et al. teaches the consumable of Claim 1. Ricketts fails to exclusively disclose that the one or more solid additive bodies comprise a width, a length and a height which are each greater than 2 mm. Murray et al. teaches a consumable (Figure 1A, element 103) featuring a spherical flavor delivery article (Figure 3A, element 340) with a size ranging from 1 mm to 20 mm. The size being 1-20 mm would overlap with the instant claim requirement that the width, length and height are greater than 2mm (overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness, See MPEP 2144.05). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the time invention was made to modify the dimensions of the solid additive bodies of Ricketts with the dimensions disclosed by Murray. It is well established that varying the dimensions or sizing parameters of a solid matrix constitute a routine optimization of design variables yielding a predictable result.
Regarding Claim 4, Ricketts et al. teaches the consumable of Claim 1. Ricketts fails to exclusively disclose that the one or more bodies comprise at least one dimension greater than 5 mm. Murray et al. teaches a consumable (Figure 1A, element 103) featuring a spherical flavor delivery article (Figure 3A, element 340) with a size ranging from 1 mm to 20 mm. The size being 1-20 mm would overlap with the instant claim requirement that at least one dimension greater than 5 mm (overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness, See MPEP 2144.05). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the time invention was made to modify the dimensions of the solid additive bodies of Ricketts with the dimensions disclosed by Murray. It is well established that varying the dimensions or sizing parameters of a solid matrix constitute a routine optimization of design variables yielding a predictable result.
Regarding Claim 5, Ricketts et al teaches the consumable of Claim 1. Ricketts fails to exclusively disclose that the one or more bodies comprise a length in the range 5 to 40 mm. Murray et al. teaches a consumable (Figure 1A, element 103) featuring a spherical flavor delivery article (Figure 3A, element 340) with a size ranging from 1 mm to 20 mm. The size being 1-20 mm would overlap with the instant claim requirement that one or more bodies comprise a length in the range 5 to 40 mm (overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness, See MPEP 2144.05). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the time invention was made to modify the dimensions of the solid additive bodies of Ricketts with the dimensions disclosed by Murray. It is well established that varying the dimensions or sizing parameters of a solid matrix constitute a routine optimization of design variables yielding a predictable result.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricketts et al. (US 20180297048 A1) in view of Hejazi (US 20210169140 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Ricketts et al. discloses a consumable comprising a solid additive, teaching substantially all elements of Claim 1, including the solid additive configured in capsule form. Ricketts fails to explicitly disclose that the solid additive comprising one or more cavities through which the liquid aerosol-forming substrate may flow. However, Hejazi discloses aerosol-delivery device (Figure 7, element 400) comprising a flat sheet of flavor substrate (Figure 2A, element 100) that can be embossed and or include a plurality of perforations therethrough, which may be substantially round or may be elongated (Figure 2A, elements 104a &b, [0054]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time invention was made to modify the solid additive of Ricketts to incorporate a perforated structures containing a plurality of cavities as taught by Hejazi. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to implement this structural modification in order to increase effective contact surface area of the flavor substrate and to facilitate liquid aerosol-forming substrate passage to the wick material, thereby optimizing aerosolization efficacy and flavor delivery.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ricketts et al. (US 20180297048 A1) in view of Karles et al. (US 20060174901 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Ricketts et al. discloses substantially all elements of Claim 1. Ricketts does not teach that the one or more bodies comprise at least one ribbed surface. Karles et al. teaches a capsule surface with annular indentions (Figure 4B, element 210, [0069]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time invention was made to modify the solid additive of Ricketts to include annular indentions as taught by Karles. One of ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to implement this structural modification because annular indention creates tiny micro channels which maintain continuous liquid flow to the wick preventing it from compressing and blocking effect.
Conclusion
/PRADEEP PAUDEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749