DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II (Claims 9-12) in the reply filed on 07/28/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 1-8 are withdrawn. Claims 9-12 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “profile data” in line 2. The meaning of “profile data” is unclear. Besides distance data and image data, it’s unclear what other data are included in the scope of “profile data”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites “distance data to the deposited material”. When measuring a distance, there is a start point and an end point. The starting point in the distance measurement is unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites “deposited material”. It’s unclear how the deposited material relates to the blast furnace. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 recites "detecting each of the plurality of particles based on the profile data". The claim fails to disclose how such detecting is realized. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 9 recites “calculating an index” in line 5. Claims 10 and claim 11 recite “the index”. The meaning of "index" is unclear and one of ordinary skill in the art would not understand the technical meaning of “index” and how the calculating is done based on the profile data. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites “an envelope or envelope surface”. The meaning of envelope and envelope surface is not clear. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’931 (JP 2019-174931, IDS dated 03/29/2024).
Regarding claims 9 and 12, JP’931 discloses a method of measuring particle diameter of particulate material such as iron ore used for blast furnace operation, comprising: collecting images and positions of the particles, detecting each of the plurality of particles based on the images; performing contour extraction by performing valley detection filter process to determine the boundary between particles, removing the particles at the lower positions in the contour extraction image (i.e. extracting particles in a surface layer among the deposited material based on results of the detecting for each of the plurality of particles and the index calculated based on the profile data), calculating the number of particles, the area of each particle, the perimeter, the roundness and diameter of the particles (Page 1, last two paragraphs; Page 2 to Page 11). Since JP’931 discloses that the method can be used to measure the particle size of iron ore used for blast furnace operation (Page 1, last two paragraphs), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust smelting time based on particle size of the iron ore in order to use iron ore to produce iron. Thus, claim 9 is obvious over JP’931.
Regarding claim 10, JP’931 discloses that by performing image processing, a contour of each particle is extracted (Page 2 to Page 9), which meets the limitation recited in claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, JP’931 discloses particles at low positions often look smaller than their true size and in order to accurately measure particle size, the contours of particles at low positions are removed (Page 9, 2nd and 3rd paragraph), which meets the limitation recited in claim 11.
Conclusion
/XIAOWEI SU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733