DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments, on pages 9-11 of applicant's response, it is noted that the amended language includes three limitations listed in the alternative, “wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes.”
While the disclosure of channel quality indicator (CQI) in Manolakos does not appear to meet the limitations of used to indicate “an environment where the terminal is located” or “whether the channel changes”, it is clearly a form of “status of the terminal” as it is a status of the channel quality measured at the terminal (see paragraph 100 of Manolakos). The report, including the CQI, is used to make changes to the RF transmission channel (Fig. 8, paragraph 100-103).
As per applicant’s own description of CQI, on page 10 of applicant’s response,
“The channel quality indicator (CQI) of Manolakos is associated with the measurement of the channel quality of the first set of RS. According to the conventional technical means in the art, CQI is a value or index measured by the UE and reported to the base station (gNB in 5G, eNB in 4G). This value directly indicates the quality of the downlink channel (from base station to mobile phone). A low CQI value (such as 1-6) indicates poor channel quality (for example, the mobile phone is far from the base station and has serious interference). A high CQI value (such as 10-15) indicates that the channel quality is very good (for example, the mobile phone is close to the base station and the signal is strong).”
This indication of the channel quality at the terminal as being “poor” or “very good” clearly meets the broad limitation of an indication of a “status of the terminal”.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, as the remaining limitations of “indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal” or “indicate whether the channel changes” are not currently required by the claim.
Applicant indicates, on page 10 of applicant’s response, “Therefore, the channel quality indicator (CQI) of Manolakos directly indicates the current quality of wireless channels, but it cannot indicate the changes in channel quality.”
The current claim language merely requires “status of the terminal”, and as “the channel quality indicator (CQI) of Manolakos directly indicates the current quality of wireless channels” this clearly meets the current broad limitation of “status of the terminal”, as it is again noted that both “an environment where the terminal is located” and “whether the channel changes” is not currently required within the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 9, 11, 14, 16, 18-19, 24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (Huang) (US 2021/0376940) (of record) in view of Manolakos et al. (Manolakos) (US 2020/0007288) (of record).
As to claim 1, Huang discloses an information transmission method, applied to a measuring end (Fig. 5, terminal device), comprising:
determining power parameters for multiple first paths, wherein the multiple first paths are paths other than a first detected path obtained by detecting a reference signal by the measuring end (paragraph 149-154, 162);
selecting at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on a multipath parameter threshold (maximum number of paths to report; paragraph 41, 163-164, 176) and the power parameters for the multiple first paths (measured signal power levels; paragraph 162-169); and
transmitting measurement information of the at least one second path (transmitting measurement results; paragraph 161),
wherein selecting the at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on the multipath parameter threshold and the power parameters for the multiple first paths comprises:
selecting the at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on the multipath parameter threshold (number of signals to report; paragraph 41, 163-164, 176), the power parameters for the multiple first paths (measured power levels of the signals; paragraph 162-169), a multipath time interval (paragraph 41, 145, 168, 174, 177) and delays of the multiple first paths (measured delays of each signal; paragraph 145, 168, 174, 177),
wherein the multipath time interval is determined based on a length of the multipath time interval and a delay of the first detected path (setting the first path reference signal as the reference delay and all other delays measured relative to the reference; paragraph 41, 145, 168, 174, 177),
While Huang discloses wherein in case that the measuring end is a terminal, the method further comprises:
determining at least one of a parameter type of the power parameter (paragraph 149-154, 162), the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 149-154, 162) or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information (paragraph 145, 168, 174, 177), or
wherein in case that the measuring end is a base station (measurements first performed at network device; paragraph 171, 187, 201), the method further comprises:
determining at least one of a parameter type of the power parameter (paragraph 149-154, 162), the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 149-154, 162) or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information (paragraph 145, 168, 174, 177),
Huang fails to specifically disclose determining the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold, or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information and channel change information, wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes.
In an analogous art, Manolakos discloses transmission system where a user terminal will receive a first set of multi-path signals (Fig. 9, paragraph 8, 92-93, 105-112), generate channel change information (report including channel quality information (paragraph 108-112), and determine a power parameter (second set of reference signals with modified power parameter; paragraph 94-95, 99-102) based on historical information and channel change information (modified based upon report indicating SNR of prior set and channel quality indicator (CQI); paragraph 94-95, 99-102), wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal (report including CQI indicating current channel status of the terminal and what changes should be made; see paragraph 100-103) so as to more accurately determine the limiting factor in signals and prevent unnecessary increases in the power of the reference signal and bandwidth (paragraph 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s system to include determining the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold, or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information and channel change information, wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes, as taught in combination with Manolakos, for the typical benefit of more accurately determining the limiting factor in signals and preventing unnecessary increases in the power of the reference signal and bandwidth (paragraph 90).
As to claim 3, Huang discloses wherein selecting the at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on the multipath parameter threshold, the power parameters for the multiple first paths, the multipath time interval and the delays of the multiple first paths comprises:
selecting at least one first candidate path from the multiple first paths, wherein the first candidate path is the first path of which the power parameter is greater than or equal to the multipath parameter threshold (highest powers relative to the reference first path power; paragraph 38, 165-165) and the delay is within the multipath time interval (delay relative to the shortest delay of the reference signal; paragraph 41, 145, 168); and
selecting the at least one second path from the at least one first candidate path based on a delay and/or a power parameter of the at least one first candidate path (paragraph 161-169).
As to claim 4, Huang discloses wherein selecting the at least one second path from the at least one first candidate path based on the delay and/or the power parameter of the at least one first candidate path comprises:
determining a front first number of the first candidate paths in ascending order of the delays as the second paths; or,
determining a front second number of the first candidate paths in descending order of the power parameters as the second paths (descending order of all paths based on received power to only report top powers signals; paragraph 164).
As to claim 9, Huang discloses wherein the parameter type of the power parameter is absolute power or relative power (paragraph 38, 165);
wherein in case that the measuring end is a terminal (terminal device, see Fig. 5-7; paragraph 150), the measurement information of the second path comprises at least one of a power parameter (measured signal power; paragraph 162-169), arrival time, a time difference between transmission and reception (transmission delays; paragraph 168), or a phase of the second path; or,
in case that the measuring end is a base station, the measurement information of the second path comprises at least one of a power parameter, arrival time, a time difference between transmission and reception, an angle of arrival, or a phase of the second path.
As to claim 11, Huang discloses an information transmission method, applied to a position calculating end (Fig. 5, positioning device), comprising:
receiving measurement information of at least one second path transmitted from a measuring end (transmitted measurement results; paragraph 161), wherein the at least one second path is selected from multiple first paths by the measuring end based on a multipath parameter threshold (only reporting paths with greater received power; paragraph 163-164, 176) and the power parameters for the multiple first paths (measured signal power levels; paragraph 162-169); and
positioning a terminal based on the measurement information of the at least one second path (more accurately locating the terminal based upon the measurements; paragraph 29, 33, 170-174),
wherein the method further comprises:
determining at least one of a parameter type of the power parameter (paragraph 62-70, 138-144), the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 41, 62-70, 138-145) or a length of a multipath time interval based on historical information (paragraph 145, 168, 174, 177), and
transmitting at least one of the parameter type of the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold or the length of the multipath time interval to the measuring end (paragraph 138-144).
Huang fails to specifically disclose receiving channel change information transmitted from the terminal and/or a base station, and reconfiguring at least one of the parameter type of the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold or the length of the multipath time interval based on the historical information and the channel change information, wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes.
In an analogous art, Manolakos discloses transmission system where a user terminal will receive a first set of multi-path signals (Fig. 9, paragraph 8, 92-93, 105-112), generate channel change information (report including channel quality information (paragraph 108-112), wherein the channel change information and historical information (modified based upon report indicating SNR of prior set and channel quality indicator (CQI); paragraph 94-95, 99-102) is used to trigger the LMF and/or the base station to reconfigure at least one parameter type of power parameter, multipath parameter threshold or length of the multipath time interval (receiving second set of reference signals modified, with modified power or bandwidth based on the channel quality information; paragraph 94-95, 99-102), wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal (report including CQI indicating current channel status of the terminal and what changes should be made; see paragraph 100-103) so as to more accurately determine the limiting factor in signals and prevent unnecessary increases in the power of the reference signal and bandwidth (paragraph 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s system to include receiving channel change information transmitted from the terminal and/or a base station, and reconfiguring at least one of the parameter type of the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold or the length of the multipath time interval based on the historical information and the channel change information, wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes, as taught in combination with Manolakos, for the typical benefit of more accurately determining the limiting factor in signals and preventing unnecessary increases in the power of the reference signal and bandwidth (paragraph 90).
As to claim 14, Huang discloses wherein the parameter type of the power parameter is absolute power or relative power (paragraph 38, 165);
wherein in case that the measuring end is a terminal (terminal device, see Fig. 5-7; paragraph 150), the measurement information of the second path comprises at least one of a power parameter (measured signal power; paragraph 162-169), arrival time, a time difference between transmission and reception (transmission delays; paragraph 168), or a phase of the second path; or,
in case that the measuring end is a base station, the measurement information of the second path comprises at least one of a power parameter, arrival time, a time difference between transmission and reception, an angle of arrival, or a phase of the second path.
As to claim 16, Huang discloses a measuring end (terminal device, Fig. 5, 9-10; paragraph 219-224), comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor (see Fig. 9, paragraph 219-224), wherein the memory is used to store a computer program (paragraph 219-224), the transceiver is used to transmit and receive data under control of the processor (paragraph 219-224), and the processor is used to read the computer program in the memory (paragraph 219-224) and perform the following operations of:
determining power parameters for multiple first paths, wherein the multiple first paths are paths other than a first detected path obtained by detecting a reference signal by the measuring end (paragraph 149-154, 162);
selecting at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on a multipath parameter threshold (maximum number of paths to report; paragraph 41, 163-164, 176) and the power parameters for the multiple first paths (measured signal power levels; paragraph 162-169); and
transmitting measurement information of the at least one second path (transmitting measurement results; paragraph 161),
wherein selecting the at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on the multipath parameter threshold and the power parameters for the multiple first paths comprises:
selecting the at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on the multipath parameter threshold (number of signals to report; paragraph 41, 163-164, 176), the power parameters for the multiple first paths (measured power levels of the signals; paragraph 162-169), a multipath time interval (paragraph 41, 145, 168, 174, 177) and delays of the multiple first paths (measured delays of each signal; paragraph 145, 168, 174, 177),
wherein the multipath time interval is determined based on a length of the multipath time interval and a delay of the first detected path (setting the first path reference signal as the reference delay and all other delays measured relative to the reference; paragraph 41, 145, 168, 174, 177),
While Huang discloses wherein in case that the measuring end is a terminal, the method further comprises:
determining at least one of a parameter type of the power parameter (paragraph 149-154, 162), the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 149-154, 162) or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information (paragraph 145, 168, 174, 177), or
wherein in case that the measuring end is a base station (measurements first performed at network device; paragraph 171, 187, 201), the method further comprises:
determining at least one of a parameter type of the power parameter (paragraph 149-154, 162), the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 149-154, 162) or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information (paragraph 145, 168, 174, 177),
Huang fails to specifically disclose determining the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold, or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information and channel change information, wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes
In an analogous art, Manolakos discloses transmission system where a user terminal will receive a first set of multi-path signals (Fig. 9, paragraph 8, 92-93, 105-112), generate channel change information (report including channel quality information (paragraph 108-112), and determine a power parameter (second set of reference signals with modified power parameter; paragraph 94-95, 99-102) based on historical information and channel change information (modified based upon report indicating SNR of prior set and channel quality indicator (CQI); paragraph 94-95, 99-102) wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal (report including CQI indicating current channel status of the terminal and what changes should be made; see paragraph 100-103) so as to more accurately determine the limiting factor in signals and prevent unnecessary increases in the power of the reference signal and bandwidth (paragraph 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s system to include determining the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold, or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information and channel change information, wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes, as taught in combination with Manolakos, for the typical benefit of more accurately determining the limiting factor in signals and preventing unnecessary increases in the power of the reference signal and bandwidth (paragraph 90).
As to claim 18, Huang discloses wherein selecting the at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on the multipath parameter threshold, the power parameters for the multiple first paths, the multipath time interval and the delays of the multiple first paths comprises:
selecting at least one first candidate path from the multiple first paths, wherein the first candidate path is the first path of which the power parameter is greater than or equal to the multipath parameter threshold (highest powers relative to the reference first path power; paragraph 38, 41, 165-165) and the delay is within the multipath time interval (delay relative to the shortest delay of the reference signal; paragraph 41, 145, 168); and
selecting the at least one second path from the at least one first candidate path based on a delay and/or a power parameter of the at least one first candidate path (paragraph 161-169).
As to claim 19, Huang discloses wherein selecting the at least one second path from the at least one first candidate path based on the delay and/or the power parameter of the at least one first candidate path comprises:
determining a front first number of the first candidate paths in ascending order of the delays as the second paths; or,
determining a front second number of the first candidate paths in descending order of the power parameters as the second paths (descending order of all paths based on received power to only report top powers signals; paragraph 164).
As to claim 24, Huang discloses wherein the parameter type of the power parameter is absolute power or relative power (paragraph 38, 165);
wherein in case that the measuring end is a terminal (terminal device, see Fig. 5-7; paragraph 150), the measurement information of the second path comprises at least one of a power parameter (measured signal power; paragraph 162-169), arrival time, a time difference between transmission and reception (transmission delays; paragraph 168), or a phase of the second path; or,
in case that the measuring end is a base station, the measurement information of the second path comprises at least one of a power parameter, arrival time, a time difference between transmission and reception, an angle of arrival, or a phase of the second path.
As to claim 26, Huang discloses a position calculating end (positioning device, Fig. 5, 9; paragraph 219-220), comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor (see Fig. 9, paragraph 219-220), wherein the memory is used to store a computer program (paragraph 219-224), the transceiver is used to transmit and receive data under control of the processor (paragraph 219-220), and the processor is used to read the computer program in the memory (paragraph 219-220) and perform the method of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above).
Claims 1, 3-4, 9, 11, 14, 16, 18-19, 24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sosnin et al. (Sosnin) (US 2022/0113365) (of record) in view of Manolakos et al. (Manolakos) (US 2020/0007288) (of record).
As to claim 1, Sosnin discloses an information transmission method, applied to a measuring end (Fig. 2), comprising:
determining power parameters for multiple first paths, wherein the multiple first paths are paths other than a first detected path obtained by detecting a reference signal by the measuring end (paragraph 77-80, 181-188);
selecting at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on a multipath parameter threshold (paths with power above threshold; paragraph 77, 80, 183, 192, 199, 205) and the power parameters for the multiple first paths (measured signal power levels; paragraph 79, 178, 183, 187, 190, 192); and
transmitting measurement information of the at least one second path (reporting measurement results; paragraph 77-80, 178),
wherein selecting the at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on the multipath parameter threshold and the power parameters for the multiple first paths comprises:
selecting the at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 77, 80, 183, 192, 199, 205), the power parameters for the multiple first paths (measured signal power levels; paragraph 79, 178, 183, 187, 190, 192), a multipath time interval (paragraph 37, 83, 178, 187, 190) and delays of the multiple first paths (measured delays of each signal; paragraph 37, 68, 99),
wherein the multipath time interval is determined based on a length of the multipath time interval and a delay of the first detected path (paragraph 26, 37, 83, 178, 187, 190).
While Sosnin discloses wherein in case that the measuring end is a terminal, the method further comprises:
determining at least one of a parameter type of the power parameter (paragraph 199), the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 199) or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information (paragraph 199), or
wherein in case that the measuring end is a base station (see Fig. 6, paragraph 81, 145-168), the method further comprises:
receiving at least one of a parameter type of the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold or the length of the multipath time interval transmitted from a location management function (LMF) and/or a terminal (paragraph 177, 179, 199); or,
determining at least one of a parameter type of the power parameter (paragraph 199), the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 199) or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information (paragraph 199),
Sosnin fails to specifically disclose determining the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold, or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information and channel change information, wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes.
In an analogous art, Manolakos discloses transmission system where a user terminal will receive a first set of multi-path signals (Fig. 9, paragraph 8, 92-93, 105-112), generate channel change information (report including channel quality information (paragraph 108-112), and determine a power parameter (second set of reference signals with modified power parameter; paragraph 94-95, 99-102) based on historical information and channel change information (modified based upon report indicating SNR of prior set and channel quality indicator (CQI); paragraph 94-95, 99-102), wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal (report including CQI indicating current channel status of the terminal and what changes should be made; see paragraph 100-103) so as to more accurately determine the limiting factor in signals and prevent unnecessary increases in the power of the reference signal and bandwidth (paragraph 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sosnin’s system to include determining the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold, or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information and channel change information, wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes, as taught in combination with Manolakos, for the typical benefit of more accurately determining the limiting factor in signals and preventing unnecessary increases in the power of the reference signal and bandwidth (paragraph 90).
As to claim 3, Sosnin discloses wherein selecting the at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on the multipath parameter threshold, the power parameters for the multiple first paths, the multipath time interval and the delays of the multiple first paths comprises:
selecting at least one first candidate path from the multiple first paths, wherein the first candidate path is the first path of which the power parameter is greater than or equal to the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 77, 80, 183, 192, 199, 205) and the delay is within the multipath time interval (paragraph 37, 83, 178, 187, 190); and
selecting the at least one second path from the at least one first candidate path based on a delay and/or a power parameter of the at least one first candidate path (paragraph 78-80, 161-169).
As to claim 4, Sosnin discloses wherein selecting the at least one second path from the at least one first candidate path based on the delay and/or the power parameter of the at least one first candidate path comprises:
determining a front first number of the first candidate paths in ascending order of the delays as the second paths (paragraph 78); or,
determining a front second number of the first candidate paths in descending order of the power parameters as the second paths (paragraph 79, 190).
As to claim 9, Sosnin discloses wherein the parameter type of the power parameter is absolute power or relative power (paragraph 79, 190);
wherein in case that the measuring end is a terminal (UE, paragraph 178), the measurement information of the second path comprises at least one of a power parameter (paragraph 79, 190), arrival time (paragraph 77-80, 178, 187), a time difference between transmission and reception (paragraph 37, 77-80, 178, 187), or a phase of the second path (paragraph 194); or,
in case that the measuring end is a base station, the measurement information of the second path comprises at least one of a power parameter, arrival time, a time difference between transmission and reception, an angle of arrival, or a phase of the second path.
As to claim 11, Sosnin discloses an information transmission method, applied to a position calculating end (Fig. 1, paragraph 177), comprising:
receiving measurement information of at least one second path transmitted from a measuring end (transmitted measurement results from UE; paragraph 77-80, 177-179), wherein the at least one second path is selected from multiple first paths by the measuring end based on a multipath parameter threshold (paths with power above threshold; paragraph 77, 80, 183, 192, 199, 205) and the power parameters for the multiple first paths (measured signal power levels; paragraph 79, 178, 183, 187, 190, 192); and
positioning a terminal based on the measurement information of the at least one second path (determining position based upon the measurements; paragraph 177, 179),
wherein the method further comprises:
determining at least one of a parameter type of the power parameter (paragraph 199), the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 199) or a length of a multipath time interval based on historical information (paragraph 199); and
transmitting at least one of the parameter type of the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold or the length of the multipath time interval to the measuring end (transmitted configuration information; paragraph 177, 179).
Sosnin fails to specifically disclose receiving channel change information transmitted from the terminal and/or a base station, and reconfiguring at least one of the parameter type of the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold or the length of the multipath time interval based on the historical information and the channel change information, wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes.
In an analogous art, Manolakos discloses transmission system where a user terminal will receive a first set of multi-path signals (Fig. 9, paragraph 8, 92-93, 105-112), generate channel change information (report including channel quality information (paragraph 108-112), wherein the channel change information and historical information (modified based upon report indicating SNR of prior set and channel quality indicator (CQI); paragraph 94-95, 99-102) is used to trigger the LMF and/or the base station to reconfigure at least one parameter type of power parameter, multipath parameter threshold or length of the multipath time interval (receiving second set of reference signals modified, with modified power or bandwidth based on the channel quality information; paragraph 94-95, 99-102), wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal (report including CQI indicating current channel status of the terminal and what changes should be made; see paragraph 100-103) so as to more accurately determine the limiting factor in signals and prevent unnecessary increases in the power of the reference signal and bandwidth (paragraph 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang’s system to include receiving channel change information transmitted from the terminal and/or a base station, and reconfiguring at least one of the parameter type of the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold or the length of the multipath time interval based on the historical information and the channel change information, wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes, as taught in combination with Manolakos, for the typical benefit of more accurately determining the limiting factor in signals and preventing unnecessary increases in the power of the reference signal and bandwidth (paragraph 90).
As to claim 14, Sosnin discloses wherein the parameter type of the power parameter is absolute power or relative power (paragraph 79, 190);
wherein in case that the measuring end is a terminal (UE, paragraph 178), the measurement information of the second path comprises at least one of a power parameter (paragraph 79, 190), arrival time (paragraph 77-80, 178, 187), a time difference between transmission and reception (paragraph 37, 77-80, 178, 187), or a phase of the second path (paragraph 194); or,
in case that the measuring end is a base station, the measurement information of the second path comprises at least one of a power parameter, arrival time, a time difference between transmission and reception, an angle of arrival, or a phase of the second path.
As to claim 16, Sosnin discloses a measuring end (Fig. 2, 6; UE), comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor (see Fig. 6, paragraph 145-168), wherein the memory is used to store a computer program (paragraph 145-168), the transceiver is used to transmit and receive data under control of the processor (paragraph 145-168), and the processor is used to read the computer program in the memory (paragraph 145-168) and perform the following operations of:
determining power parameters for multiple first paths, wherein the multiple first paths are paths other than a first detected path obtained by detecting a reference signal by the measuring end (paragraph 77-80, 181-188);
selecting at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on a multipath parameter threshold (paths with power above threshold; paragraph 77, 80, 183, 192, 199, 205) and the power parameters for the multiple first paths (measured signal power levels; paragraph 79, 178, 183, 187, 190, 192); and
transmitting measurement information of the at least one second path (reporting measurement results; paragraph 77-80, 178),
wherein selecting the at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on the multipath parameter threshold and the power parameters for the multiple first paths comprises:
selecting the at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 77, 80, 183, 192, 199, 205), the power parameters for the multiple first paths (measured signal power levels; paragraph 79, 178, 183, 187, 190, 192), a multipath time interval (paragraph 37, 83, 178, 187, 190) and delays of the multiple first paths (measured delays of each signal; paragraph 37, 68, 99),
wherein the multipath time interval is determined based on a length of the multipath time interval and a delay of the first detected path (paragraph 26, 37, 83, 178, 187, 190).
While Sosnin discloses wherein in case that the measuring end is a terminal, the method further comprises:
determining at least one of a parameter type of the power parameter (paragraph 199), the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 199) or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information (paragraph 199), or
wherein in case that the measuring end is a base station (see Fig. 6, paragraph 81, 145-168), the method further comprises:
receiving at least one of a parameter type of the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold or the length of the multipath time interval transmitted from a location management function (LMF) and/or a terminal (paragraph 177, 179, 199); or,
determining at least one of a parameter type of the power parameter (paragraph 199), the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 199) or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information (paragraph 199),
Sosnin fails to specifically disclose determining the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold, or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information and channel change information, wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes.
In an analogous art, Manolakos discloses transmission system where a user terminal will receive a first set of multi-path signals (Fig. 9, paragraph 8, 92-93, 105-112), generate channel change information (report including channel quality information (paragraph 108-112), and determine a power parameter (second set of reference signals with modified power parameter; paragraph 94-95, 99-102) based on historical information and channel change information (modified based upon report indicating SNR of prior set and channel quality indicator (CQI); paragraph 94-95, 99-102), wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal (report including CQI indicating current channel status of the terminal and what changes should be made; see paragraph 100-103) so as to more accurately determine the limiting factor in signals and prevent unnecessary increases in the power of the reference signal and bandwidth (paragraph 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sosnin’s system to include determining the power parameter, the multipath parameter threshold, or the length of the multipath time interval based on historical information and channel change information, wherein the channel change information is used to indicate an environment where the terminal is located, status of the terminal, or whether the channel changes, as taught in combination with Manolakos, for the typical benefit of more accurately determining the limiting factor in signals and preventing unnecessary increases in the power of the reference signal and bandwidth (paragraph 90).
As to claim 18, Sosnin discloses wherein selecting the at least one second path from the multiple first paths based on the multipath parameter threshold, the power parameters for the multiple first paths, the multipath time interval and the delays of the multiple first paths comprises:
selecting at least one first candidate path from the multiple first paths, wherein the first candidate path is the first path of which the power parameter is greater than or equal to the multipath parameter threshold (paragraph 77, 80, 183, 192, 199, 205) and the delay is within the multipath time interval (paragraph 37, 83, 178, 187, 190); and
selecting the at least one second path from the at least one first candidate path based on a delay and/or a power parameter of the at least one first candidate path (paragraph 78-80, 161-169).
As to claim 19, Sosnin discloses wherein selecting the at least one second path from the at least one first candidate path based on the delay and/or the power parameter of the at least one first candidate path comprises:
determining a front first number of the first candidate paths in ascending order of the delays as the second paths (paragraph 78); or,
determining a front second number of the first candidate paths in descending order of the power parameters as the second paths (paragraph 79, 190).
As to claim 24, Sosnin discloses wherein the parameter type of the power parameter is absolute power or relative power (paragraph 79, 190);
wherein in case that the measuring end is a terminal (UE, paragraph 178), the measurement information of the second path comprises at least one of a power parameter (paragraph 79, 190), arrival time (paragraph 77-80, 178, 187), a time difference between transmission and reception (paragraph 37, 77-80, 178, 187), or a phase of the second path (paragraph 194); or,
in case that the measuring end is a base station, the measurement information of the second path comprises at least one of a power parameter, arrival time, a time difference between transmission and reception, an angle of arrival, or a phase of the second path.
As to claim 26, Sosnin discloses a position calculating end (position calculating node, see Fig. 6, paragraph 145-168, 177), comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor (see Fig. 6, paragraph 145-168), wherein the memory is used to store a computer program (see Fig. 6, paragraph 145-168), the transceiver is used to transmit and receive data under control of the processor (see Fig. 6, paragraph 145-168), and the processor is used to read the computer program in the memory (see Fig. 6, paragraph 145-168), and perform the method of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James R Sheleheda/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424