DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10-16, 23-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2019/0354196) in view of Chen et al. (CN206931515, provided by applicant in IDS, English translation used for reference), further in view of Goldberg et al. (US 2019/0056794).
As to Claim 8, Wang et al. discloses An input device comprising: at least one standard base sized input key (fig.1-2, as depicted keyboard 102, keys 110); and a plurality of half base sized input keys (fig.1-2, as depicted half sized keys 110; para.0044- keyboard 102 may include keys 110 of varying sizes and positioned at various locations),
wherein each half base sized input keys (fig.1-2, each key 110 of difference sizes may have a structure of fig.3; para.0046) comprises: an input key assembly comprising a keycap (fig.3-4, keycap 300; para.0046), a substrate (fig.3-4; support structure 302; para.0046)
wherein the substrate of the input key assembly comprises: a first surface, a second surface, wherein the first surface and the second surface are opposite surfaces of the substrate (fig.3-4; upper and lower surface of support structure 302, respectively), and a through-hole extending between the first surface and the second surface,
an elastic deformable shell-like structure disposed between the substrate and the keycap (fig.3, dome 304 disposed between keycap 300 and support structure 302, and is configured to deform and/or compress responsive to a compressive force to the keycap; para.0046-0047,0054,0061),
wherein the elastic deformable shell-like structure comprises a peripheral base portion in abutment with the substrate (fig.3, leg portion 364 extending from foot portion 360; para.0048), an apex portion in abutment with the keycap (fig.3, top portion 368 and transition area 366),
wherein the peripheral base portion tapers towards the apex portion (fig.3, leg portion 364 extends toward the top portion 368) and a plunger-like element extending from underneath the apex portion and away from the apex portion (fig.3, 24-26; dome 304 may include nub 370, extending from underneath top portion 368 and away from top portion 368), wherein a free-end of the plunger-like element is opaque (fig.3, 24-28; nub 370 portion is opaque; para.0092-0095), and
an optical sensing arrangement disposed on the second surface of the substrate (fig.3, light source 306 and light sensor 308) to transmit a light beam and sense an interruption to the light beam (fig.3, responsive to force applied to keycap, light sensor 308 receives some light 324 emitted from light source 306 and used to determine that keycap 300 has been fully actuated; para.0050-0053,0055-0056,0065-0067),
wherein the elastic deformable shell-like structure (fig.3, dome 304) and the optical sensing arrangement are arranged (fig.3, light sensor 308, light source 306) in a manner so as to interrupt the light beam with the free-end of the plunger-like element when the keycap is depressed to deform the elastic deformable shell-like structure for collapsing the apex portion relative to the peripheral base portion to move the plunger-like element along a longitudinal axis of the plunger-like element (fig.4, 24-26, when a force is applied to keycap 300, dome 304 (including top portion 368) is in compressed configuration, in which some light 324 emitted from light source 306 is partially blocked by the nub 370 of dome 304 (fig.24-26), and some light 324 passes through the nub; para.0050,0052-0053, 0061, 0064-0066, 0092-0095)
wherein the peripheral base portion of the elastic deformable shell-like structure is in abutment with the first surface of the substrate (fig.3, dome 304 includes foot portion360 in abutment with the substrate; para.0048) and the plunger-like element of the elastic deformable shell-like structure is aligned with the through-hole such that the free-end of the plunger-like element is retractably insertable through the through-hole along the longitudinal axis of the plunger-like element when the keycap is depressed,
wherein the at least one standard base sized input key comprises a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch,
Wang et al. does not expressly disclose and a through-hole extending between the first surface and the second surface; wherein the optical sensing arrangement disposed on the second surface of the substrate; the plunger-like element of the elastic deformable shell-like structure is aligned with the through-hole such that the free-end of the plunger-like element is retractably insertable through the through-hole along the longitudinal axis of the plunger-like element when the keycap is depressed; wherein the at least one standard base sized input key comprises a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch.
Chen et al. discloses a key assembly comprising a substrate having a first and second surface where a through-hole extending between the first surface and the second surface (fig.1A-1B, through hole 111,121; para.0050), an optical sensing arrangement disposed on the second surface of the substrate (fig.1A-1B- para.0051, light receiver 131 and light emitter 132 disposed on the lower surface of substrate 120; fig.4A-B); the plunger-like element (fig.1A-1B- protruding post 151; fig.4A-B) of the elastic deformable shell-like structure (fig.1A-1B, para.0049-0050 reset member 150; fig.4A) is aligned with the through-hole (fig.1A-1B, through-hole 111, 121; fig.4A-4B) such that the free-end of the plunger-like element is retractably insertable through the through-hole along the longitudinal axis of the plunger-like element when the keycap is depressed (fig.1A-B- para.0050-when the keycap is pressed, the protruding post 151 is inserted into the through hole 111, 121; fig..4A-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang et al. with the teachings of Chen et al., such that optical arrangement ( 306/308 of Wang) may be disposed on second surface of substrate (302 of Wang) and a through hole (111 as disclosed by Chen) may extend between first and second surface of substrate (substrate 302), such that the free-end of plunger like element (nub 370) may be retractable insertable through the through-hole when the keycap is depressed. The motivation being to generate an input signal using a light trigger mechanism that effectively avoids mechanical wear (para.0019-Chen).
Wang et al. in view of Chen et al. disclose where the key can include a keycap that actuates in response to pressure from a user, to compress a dome disposed under the keycap (para.0035; para.0046- dome 304), and where the key may provide on/off switch-type signals when pressed (Wang-para.0039).
However, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al. do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one standard base sized input key comprises a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch.
Goldberg et al. expressly discloses a keyboard comprising at least one standard based sized input key (fig.1, key assembly 108), wherein the at least one standard base sized input key comprises a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch (fig.6A-B- tactile dome 132 and sensing membrane form a tactile switch; para. 0096-0099).
In the combination of Wang et al. in view of Chen, as modified by Goldberg et al., each element
each element merely would have performed the same function as did separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would
yield a predictable result, specifically a keyboard comprising half base sized input keys (smaller sized as disclosed by Wang and Chen) and at least one standard input key comprising a switch (as disclosed by Wang, Goldberg).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Wang et al. in view of Chen et al., with the teachings of Goldberg et al., such that at least one key (110 of Wang) may comprise a tactile switch as disclosed by Goldberg et al. The motivation being to trigger a switch event that may be used to control a function of a computing device (para.0055).
As to Claim 10, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al., as modified by Goldberg et al., disclose wherein the optical sensing arrangement of the input key assembly is disposed on the second surface of the substrate in a manner so as to transmit the light beam in a direction parallel to the second surface and across the through-hole (Wang-fig.3; Chen-fig.1A-1B- para.0051, light receiver 131 and light emitter 132 disposed on the lower surface of 120; fig.4A-B; para.0051, 0057).
As to Claim 11, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al., as modified by Goldberg et al., disclose wherein the optical sensing arrangement of the input key assembly comprises a transmitter and a receiver, or a transceiver and a reflector (Wang-fig.3-4, para.0053,0083-light sensor 308, light source 306; Chen-fig.1A-B, light emitter 131 and light receiver 132).
As to Claim 12, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al., as modified by Goldberg et al., disclose wherein the input key assembly further comprises a scissor mechanism to guide the relative movement between the keycap and the substrate in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the plunger-like element (Wang- fig.3, 16; para.0064,0081; Chen-para.0048).
As to Claim 13, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al., as modified by Goldberg et al., disclose wherein the elastic deformable shell-like structure of the input key assembly comprises an inverted-bowl-like shape, a dome-like shape, a cone-like shape, a frustoconical-like shape, or a bell-like shape (Wang- para.0065-dome 304; Chen-fig.1,4-reset member 150; Goldberg-tactile dome 132).
As to Claim 14, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al., as modified by Goldberg et al., disclose wherein the peripheral base portion and the apex portion of the elastic deformable shell-like structure of the input key assembly are transparent or translucent (Wang- fig.3-4, 24-28; para.0049, 0055,0092-0093,0095; foot portion 360, leg portion 364, top portion 368 may be transparent; Goldberg-para.0050).
As to Claim 15, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al., as modified by Goldberg et al. disclose where the plurality of half base sized keys comprises up and down arrow keys (Wang-as depicted in fig.1-2, half sized keys disposed on top row and low right corner; para.0044- keyboard 102 may include an array of keys 110 corresponding to a QWERTY keyboard as shown and one or more additional arrays of keys 110 such as an array of number keys and/or one or more arrays of dedicated function keys such as arrow keys, volume keys, display brightness keys, or other function keys such as “F” keys, or the like. Some or all of keys 110 may include a glyph 130 that that indicates the function of that key. As illustrated in FIG. 2, keyboard 102 may include keys 110 of varying sizes and positioned at various locations; para.0051). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Wang et al. in view of Chen et al., as modified by Goldberg et al., by providing the function keys such as arrow keys, such as up/down arrow keys, and of half sized keys (as depicted in fig.1), since in doing so would not have modified the operation of the device yielding predictable results.
As to Claim 16, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al. as modified by Goldberg et al. disclose wherein the input device is a keyboard or keypad (Wang-fig.1-2-keyboard 102; Goldberg-fig.1 -para.0052).
As to Claims 23-28 have limitations similar to those of Claims 8-15 and are met by the references as set forth above.
Claim(s) 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2019/0354196) in view of Chen et al. (CN206931515, English translation used for reference),
As to Claim 17, Wang et al. discloses A half base sized input key for an input device comprising:
an input key assembly comprising a keycap (figs.1-3, key 100 include keycap 300), wherein the keycap is a half based sized key cap (fig.1-2, as depicted half sized keys 110; para.0044- key 110 may keyboard 102 may include keys 110 of varying sizes and positioned at various locations; key assembly 110 as depicted in fig.3 may correspond to any key 110 of keyboard 102);
a substrate (fig.3-4; support structure 302; para.0046), wherein the substrate of the input key assembly comprises: a first surface, a second surface, wherein the first surface and the second surface are opposite surfaces of the substrate, and a through-hole extending between the first surface and the second surface (fig.3-4; upper and lower surface of support structure 302, respectively), and
an elastic deformable shell-like structure disposed between the substrate and the keycap (fig.3, dome 304 disposed between keycap 300 and support structure 302, and is configured to deform and/or compress responsive to a compressive force to the keycap; para.0046-0047,0054,0061),
wherein the elastic deformable shell-like structure comprises a peripheral base portion in abutment with the substrate (fig.3, leg portion 364 extending from foot portion 360; para.0048), an apex portion in abutment with the keycap (fig.3, top portion 368 and transition area 366),
wherein the peripheral base portion tapers towards the apex portion (fig.3, leg portion 364 extends toward the top portion 368) and a plunger-like element extending from underneath the apex portion and away from the apex portion (fig.3, 24-26; dome 304 may include nub 370, extending from underneath top portion 368 and away from top portion 368), wherein a free-end of the plunger-like element is opaque (fig.3, 24-28; nub 370 portion is opaque; para.0092-0095), and
and an optical sensing arrangement disposed on the second surface of the substrate (fig.3, light source 306 and light sensor 308) to transmit a light beam and sense an interruption to the light beam (fig.3, responsive to force applied to keycap, light sensor 308 receives some light 324 emitted from light source 306 and used to determine that keycap 300 has been fully actuated; para.0050-0053,0055-0056,0065-0067),
wherein the elastic deformable shell-like structure (fig.3, dome 304) and the optical sensing arrangement are arranged (fig.3, light sensor 308, light source 306) in a manner so as to interrupt the light beam with the free-end of the plunger-like element when the keycap is depressed to deform the elastic deformable shell-like structure for collapsing the apex portion relative to the peripheral base portion to move the plunger-like element along a longitudinal axis of the plunger-like element (fig.4, 24-26, when a force is applied to keycap 300, dome 304 (including top portion 368) is in compressed configuration, in which some light 324 emitted from light source 306 is partially blocked by the nub 370 of dome 304 (fig.24-26), and some light 324 passes through the nub; para.0050,0052-0053, 0061, 0064-0066, 0092-0095),
wherein the half base sized input key is an up arrow key or down arrow key (as depicted in fig.1-2, half sized keys disposed on top row and low right corner; para.0044- keyboard 102 may include an array of keys 110 corresponding to a QWERTY keyboard as shown and one or more additional arrays of keys 110 such as an array of number keys and/or one or more arrays of dedicated function keys such as arrow keys, volume keys, display brightness keys, or other function keys such as “F” keys, or the like. Some or all of keys 110 may include a glyph 130 that that indicates the function of that key. As illustrated in FIG. 2, keyboard 102 may include keys 110 of varying sizes and positioned at various locations; para.0051).
Wang et al. does not expressly disclose a substrate having a through-hole extending between the first surface and the second surface ; wherein the optical sensing arrangement disposed on the second surface of the substrate.
Chen et al. discloses a key assembly comprising a substrate having a first and second surface where a through-hole extending between the first surface and the second surface (fig.1A-1B, through hole 111,121; para.0050), an optical sensing arrangement disposed on the second surface of the substrate (fig.1A-1B- para.0051, light receiver 131 and light emitter 132 disposed on the lower surface of substrate 120; fig.4A-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang et al. with the teachings of Chen et al., such that optical arrangement ( 306/308 of Wang) may be disposed on second surface of substrate (302 of Wang) and a through hole (111 as disclosed by Chen) may extend between first and second surface of substrate (substrate 302), such that the free-end of plunger like element (nub 370) may be retractable insertable through the through-hole when the keycap is depressed. The motivation being to generate an input signal using a light trigger mechanism that effectively avoids mechanical wear (para.0019-Chen).
As to Claim 18, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al. disclose wherein the optical sensing arrangement of the input key assembly is disposed on the second surface of the substrate in a manner so as to transmit the light beam in a direction parallel to the second surface and across the through-hole (Wang-fig.3; Chen-fig.1A-1B- para.0051, light receiver 131 and light emitter 132 disposed on the lower surface of 120; fig.4A-B; para.0051, 0057).
As to Claim 19, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al. disclose wherein the optical sensing arrangement of the input key assembly comprises a transmitter and a receiver, or a transceiver and a reflector (Wang-fig.3-4, para.0053,0083-light sensor 308, light source 306; Chen-fig.1A-B, light emitter 131 and light receiver 132).
As to Claim 20, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al. disclose wherein the input key assembly further comprises a scissor mechanism to guide the relative movement between the keycap and the substrate in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the plunger-like element (Wang- fig.3, 16; para.0064,0081; Chen-para.0048).
As to Claim 21, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al. disclose wherein the elastic deformable shell-like structure of the input key assembly comprises an inverted-bowl-like shape, a dome-like shape, a cone-like shape, a frustoconical-like shape, or a bell-like shape (Wang- para.0065-dome 304; Chen-fig.1,4-reset member 150).
As to Claim 22, Wang et al. in view of Chen et al. disclose wherein the peripheral base portion and the apex portion of the elastic deformable shell-like structure of the input key assembly are transparent or translucent (Wang- fig.3-4, 24-28; para.0049, 0055,0092-0093,0095; foot portion 360, leg portion 364, top portion 368 may be transparent).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re Claim 1,17,23 applicant argues “Wang et al. does not disclose, hint, or suggest anything about different sized keys having different input key switches, much less to even disclose, hint or suggest anything about an input device having half base sized input keys configured in the manner as recited in claim 8 and the same input device having at least one standard base sized input key that comprises "a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch." Wang et al. also does not disclose or suggest using different types of key switch within the same input device, and Wang et al. does not disclose or suggest specifically configuring half base sized input keys to use the key switch of Wang et al., and standard base sized input key to use another type of key switch.””
Applicant further argues “Referring to Chen et al., Chen et al. merely discloses a key device that can effectively shorten signal generation time. Chen et al. also does not disclose, hint or suggest anything about different sized keys having different types of input key switches. It is understood that all the keys in Chen et al. uses the same type of key switch. Accordingly, Chen et al. does not cure the deficiencies of Wang et al. Thus, the skilled person would not be able to find any incentive, much less any motivation from Chen et al. to modify the keys of the keyboard of Wang et al such that the different sized keys of the keyboard of Wang et al. would have different input key switches. Hence, it would be even more remote for the skilled person to modify the keyboard such that half base sized input key of the keyboard of Wang et al. would be configured in the manner as recited in claim 8 and standard base sized input key of the keyboard of Wang et al. would comprise "a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch.”
Applicant further argues “Referring to Goldberg et al., while Goldberg et al. arguably discloses using a half-support structure 220 and a modified switch-housing 228 "to support smaller keys of a keyboard", they are essentially the same type of switch which only differ in sizes. Thus, Goldberg et al. also does not disclose, hint or suggest anything about different sized keys having different types of input key switches. Accordingly, Goldberg et al. also does not cure the deficiencies of Wang et al. Therefore, like Chen et al., Goldberg et al. would also not have provided any further disclosures, hints or suggestions for the skilled person to modify the keyboard such that the half based size input key of Wang et al. would be configured in the manner as recited in current claim 8 and standard base sized input key of the keyboard of Wang et al. would comprise "a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch ". Hence, Applicant submits that it would not be obvious to the skilled person to modify Wang et al and arrive at the claimed subject matter of current claim 8 in light of Wang et al, in view of Chen et al., with the teachings of Goldberg et al as alleged by the Examiner. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that, Wang et al, Chen et al and Goldberg et al. either alone or in combination, would not provide a reasonable rationale for supporting a legal conclusion of obviousness against current claim 8. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 8 is non-obvious over Wang et al, Chen et al and Goldberg et al. either alone or in combination. “
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., different sized keys having different input key switches) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In the combination of Wang et al. in view of Chen et al. as modified by Goldberg et al.,
Wang et al. discloses keyboard comprising at least “one standard base sized input key; a plurality of half base sized input keys”
[0043] In various implementations, keyboard 102 may have a greater number of keys 110, or a fewer number of keys 110 than illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2; [0044] For example, in some implementations, keyboard 102 may have one, two, three, four, or more than four keys. For example, keyboard 102 may include a single key configured as button for a tablet or a smart phone or configured as a doorbell for a structure such as a house. In other implementations, keyboard 102 may include an array of keys 110 corresponding to a QWERTY keyboard as shown and one or more additional arrays of keys 110 such as an array of number keys and/or one or more arrays of dedicated function keys such as arrow keys, volume keys, display brightness keys, or other function keys such as “F” keys, or the like. Some or all of keys 110 may include a glyph 130 that that indicates the function of that key. As illustrated in FIG. 2, keyboard 102 may include keys 110 of varying sizes and positioned at various locations; [0046] FIG. 3 shows a cross-sectional side view, taken along line 2-2 of FIG. 2, of one of keys 110 in accordance with various aspects of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 3, key 110 may include an actuatable member such as keycap 300 disposed in an opening in housing 106 and additional components disposed below keycap 300 within housing 106.
Wang et al. discloses where a key assembly comprises a substrate having a first and a second surface (fig.3, upper and lower surface of substrate 302), and wherein the elastic deformable shell-like structure (fig.3, dome 304) and the optical sensing arrangement are arranged (fig.3, light sensor 308, light source 306) in a manner so as to interrupt the light beam with the free-end of the plunger-like element (fig.3, nub 370) when the keycap is depressed to deform the elastic deformable shell-like structure for collapsing the apex portion relative to the peripheral base portion to move the plunger-like element along a longitudinal axis of the plunger-like element (fig.4, 24-26, when a force is applied to keycap 300, dome 304 (including top portion 368) is in compressed configuration, in which some light 324 emitted from light source 306 is partially blocked by the nub 370 of dome 304 (fig.24-26), and some light 324 passes through the nub; para.0050,0052-0053, 0061, 0064-0066, 0092-0095)
Wang discloses various keys may be of varying sizes and as depicted in figs.1-3, the keyboard comprises at least one standard sized input key 110, and smaller sized input keys 110 (where half base sized keys are depicted), and where each key may have a key structure as depicted in fig.3. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized implementing various keys 110 of varying sizes, as half based sized keys, would not have modified the operation of the device yielding predictable results.
It is further noted that In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Wang does not expressly disclose wherein the substrate of the input key assembly comprises “a through-hole extending between the first surface and the second surface; wherein the optical sensing arrangement disposed on the second surface of the substrate; the plunger-like element of the elastic deformable shell-like structure is aligned with the through-hole such that the free-end of the plunger-like element is retractably insertable through the through-hole along the longitudinal axis of the plunger-like element when the keycap is depressed; wherein the at least one standard base sized input key comprises a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch.
Chen et al. was relied for expressly disclosing input key assembly comprises “a through-hole extending between the first surface and the second surface; wherein the optical sensing arrangement disposed on the second surface of the substrate; the plunger-like element of the elastic deformable shell-like structure is aligned with the through-hole such that the free-end of the plunger-like element is retractably insertable through the through-hole along the longitudinal axis of the plunger-like element when the keycap is depressed.
Chen et al. discloses a key assembly comprising a substrate having a first and second surface where a through-hole extending between the first surface and the second surface (fig.1A-1B, through hole 111,121; para.0050), an optical sensing arrangement disposed on the second surface of the substrate (fig.1A-1B- para.0051, light receiver 131 and light emitter 132 disposed on the lower surface of substrate 120; fig.4A-B); the plunger-like element (fig.1A-1B- protruding post 151; fig.4A-B) of the elastic deformable shell-like structure (fig.1A-1B, para.0049-0050 reset member 150; fig.4A) is aligned with the through-hole (fig.1A-1B, through-hole 111, 121; fig.4A-4B) such that the free-end of the plunger-like element is retractably insertable through the through-hole along the longitudinal axis of the plunger-like element when the keycap is depressed (fig.1A-B- para.0050-when the keycap is pressed, the protruding post 151 is inserted into the through hole 111, 121; fig..4A-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang et al. with the teachings of Chen et al., such that optical arrangement ( 306/308 of Wang) may be disposed on second surface of substrate (302 of Wang) and a through hole (111 as disclosed by Chen) may extend between first and second surface of substrate (substrate 302), such that the free-end of plunger like element (nub 370) may be retractable insertable through the through-hole when the keycap is depressed. The motivation being to generate an input signal using a light trigger mechanism that effectively avoids mechanical wear (para.0019-Chen).
In Wang et al. in view of Chen, Wang further discloses where the key can include a keycap that actuates in response to pressure from a user, to compress a dome disposed under the keycap (para.0035; para.0046- dome 304), and where the key may provide on/off switch-type signals when pressed (Wang-para.0039).
Although Wang et al. discloses a key (110) may comprise a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch (para.0039), since the key assembly as disclosed by Wang et al in view of Chen is being read in light of the half based sized key assembly. For purposes of completion Goldberg et al. was introduced for expressly disclosing at least one standard base sized input key comprises a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch (fig.1, 6A-B- tactile dome 132 and sensing membrane form a tactile switch; para. 0096-0099).
In the combination of Wang et al. in view of Chen, as modified by Goldberg et al., each element
each element merely would have performed the same function as did separately.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would
yield a predictable result, specifically a keyboard comprising half base sized input keys (smaller sized as disclosed by Wang and Chen) and at least one standard input key comprising a switch (as disclosed by Wang, Goldberg).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Wang et al. in view of Chen et al., with the teachings of Goldberg et al., such that at least one key (110 of Wang) may comprise a tactile switch as disclosed by Goldberg et al. The motivation being to trigger a switch event that may be used to control a function of a computing device (para.0055).
Therefore, Wang et al. in view of Chen as modified by Goldberg et al. disclose the limitations as claimed.
Re Claim 15, Applicant further argues “…By extension, it would be even more remote for the skilled person to arrive, from Wang et al., at specifically defining the up and/or down arrow keys to be the only keys being the half base sized keys configured in the manner as recited in claim 8 while the standard base sized input key of the keyboard would comprise "a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch ". Further, Wang et al. also does not specifically discuss or suggest the up and/or down arrow keys would need to be specifically configured differently from other standard base sized input key of the keyboard. Hence, Applicant submits that it would not be obvious to the skilled person to modify Wang et al and arrive at the abovementioned subject matter of current claim 15 in view of Wang et al….Regarding Chen et al… it would be even more remote for the skilled person to arrive, from Chen et al., at specifically defining the up and/or down arrow keys to be the only keys being the half base sized keys configured in the manner as recited in claim 8 while the standard base sized input key of the keyboard would comprise "a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch "….Referring to Goldberg et al…it would also be more remote for the skilled person to arrive, from Chen et al., at specifically defining the up and/or down arrow keys to be the only keys being the half base sized keys configured in the manner as recited in claim 8 while the standard base sized input key of the keyboard would comprise "a standard optical switch or a standard mechanical switch or a standard dome switch. Hence, Applicant submits that it would not be obvious to the skilled person to modify Wang et al and arrive at the abovementioned subject matter of current claim 15 in view of Wang et al., Chen et al and Goldberg at al.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Wang et al. in view of Chen as modified by Goldberg et al., do not expressly disclose the plurality of half base sized keys comprises up and down arrow keys
However, Wang et al. discloses where the keyboard may include additional arrays of keys 110 such as an array of number keys and/or one or more arrays of dedicated function keys such as arrow keys, volume keys, display brightness keys, or other function keys such as “F” keys, or the like (para.0044). Wang et al. further discloses [0051] A key function input can include a letter input from a letter key (e.g., an upper case or lowercase letter input), a number input from a number key, a symbol input from a symbol key, a volume control input, a brightness control input, a display color control input, a gaming control input, or other functional input provided by a user for controlling one or more features of an electronic device.
Goldberg et al. further discloses [0048] For example, some embodiments may use a modified-support structure, which may be useful to support and engage relatively smaller keyboard keys, such as one or more keys having an illuminable symbol that defines an arrow; [0118] The half-support structure 220 may be used to support smaller keys of a keyboard, such as key cap 210, which may correspond to an arrow key, although other keys, including larger keys, may be used.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Wang et al. in view of Chen et al., as modified by Goldberg et al., by providing implementing function keys 110 such as arrow keys (as disclosed by Wang, Goldberg) as up and down arrow keys, since in doing so would not have modified the operation of the device, yielding predictable results.
Therefore, Wang et al. in view of Chen as modified by Goldberg et al. disclose the limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DISMERY MERCEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627