DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendments filed on May 04, 2026, has been entered and made of record.
Currently pending Claim(s) 1-12
Independent Claim(s) 1 and 12
Amended Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 9, and 12
Response to Arguments
This office action is responsive to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment received on May 04, 2026.
In view of amendments filed on May 04, 2026, to the claims, the Applicant has amended the abstract by removing all instances of legal phraseology; thus, the objections to the abstract are overcome. Regarding the claims, the Applicant has amended claims 6 and 9 to address the Examiner’s previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b); thus, all rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are overcome (the Examiner withdraws the 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejection to claim 2). Additionally, the Applicant has made amendments to the preambles of independent claims 1 and 12, and the Applicant traverses the Examiner’s previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102(b).
In view of Applicant Arguments/Remarks filed May 04, 2026, the Applicant first traversed (Remarks pp. 6-7) the previous objections to the drawings. Upon review of the Applicant’s arguments, the Examiner finds them to be persuasive and withdraws the objections to the drawings. The labels of Figs. 8-9 and their corresponding descriptions in the specification are sufficient enough to provide an understanding of the drawings.
The Applicant then traversed (Remarks pp. 8-9) the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102(b) to claim 1. The Applicant argued that Ghesu (Quantifying and leveraging predictive uncertainty for medical image assessment. arXiv:2007.04258v1.) fails to teach wherein the analysis is based on a deployment experience set, and wherein the deployment experience set comprises all images processed by the model since the last training. Specifically, the Applicant argued that Ghesu performs uncertainty bootstrapping on existing public datasets and does not teach maintaining training sets of new images collected since the last training. Upon further review of Ghesu, the Examiner finds this argument to be persuasive. Ghesu teaches examples utilizing the ChestX-Ray8 and PLCO datasets, and the bootstrapping is used to eliminate a percentage of the samples with the most uncertainty. Therefore, future training will exhibit better performance since only higher quality samples remain. Although Ghestu’s method could be performed on any medical imaging dataset, Ghestsu does not mention maintaining the deployment training set.
Next, the Applicant argued (Remarks pp. 9-10) that the other cited references—Kim (US 2020/0034661 A1), Erenrich (US 10,325,224 B1), and Porikli (US 8,140,450 B2)—used in the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 all fail to cure the deficiencies of Ghesu regarding claim 1. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the previous 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection to claim 2, Kim teaches analogous art to Ghesu, and Kim teaches collecting new data, evaluating the uncertainty of the new data, and storing new data which is useful for retraining (based on the uncertainty value) as new training data [Fig. 5]. Therefore, the Examiner argues in the body of rejection below that Ghesu and Kim, in combination, teach the entirety of the independent claims, and the Examiner maintains similar rejections to the dependent claims as presented in the previous office action (Non-Final Rejection dated February 05, 2026). Since new rejections are presented for the independent claims, this office action is made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghesu et al. (Quantifying and leveraging predictive uncertainty for medical image assessment. arXiv:2007.04258v1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0034661 A1), hereafter Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Ghesu teaches a system for providing training data in medical imaging ([Section 3] “We propose a model for joint sample classification and predictive uncertainty estimation, following the Dempster-Shafer theory of evidence.”) comprising:
a memory that stores a plurality of instructions; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the plurality of instructions (Ghesu teaches a system which runs machine learning classifiers. This system would require at least a generic computer with a processor and memory to perform operations.) to:
receive at least one classification result for a class from plural pre-defined classes wherein the classification result has been produced by a trained machine learning model in response to processing an input image (Throughout all of Section 3, Ghesu denotes the classification of an image as yk, where k denotes the image index in an image dataset of size N, and y denotes the classification of the image. [Section 3.2] “Let us assume a labeled training dataset is given as
{
I
k
,
y
k
}
k
=
1
N
, consisting of N pairs of images Ik with a binary class assignment yk ∈ {0, 1}. We propose to use a parametric model – a deep convolutional neural network to estimate the per-class evidence values from the image data.” Additionally, probabilistic predictions output from the model are used in Section 3.2.);
analyze input data comprising a received classification result score and an uncertainty value associated with the classification result score (Fig. 6 shows the values
u
^
and
p
^
determined using the experiments explained in Section 4.
u
^
is an uncertainty value, and
p
^
is an estimated probability of belonging to a class output by a classification model.), and
output, per the received classification result, an associated indication whether the input image is or is not useful for re-training the model with respect to the class, wherein the usefulness is based on the uncertainty value associated with the classification result score of the input image (Ghesu teaches Uncertainty-driven bootstrapping for determining whether or not input images are useful for training. [Section 4.1.5] “Using uncertainty driven bootstrapping one can filter the training data, i.e., remove a fraction of training cases with highest uncertainty, with the goal to reduce label noise. On the example of pleural effusion, based on the ChestX-Ray8 dataset, we show that one can retrain the system on the remaining data and achieve better performance on an unseen dataset. Performance is reported as a triple of values [AUC; F1-score (for the positive class); F1-score (for the negative class)].”).
Ghesu operates on a medical image data set, such as the ChestX-Ray8 dataset. In Section 3.3, uncertainty driven bootstrapping is taught generally and could be applied to any data set. However, Ghesu doesn’t specifically teach that new data is processed and added to the training dataset. Thus, Ghesu fails to teach wherein the input data for the images that have been processed by the model since the last training is addable to the deployment experience set.
However, Kim teaches wherein the analysis is based on a deployment experience set, and wherein the deployment experience set comprises all images processed by the model since the last training (Fig. 5 shows a flowchart of Kim’s methods. New sensor data is read in, evaluated for uncertainty, and added to the training data if the data is usable for retraining (the uncertainty is not too high). Thus, new training data is separated into usable and unusable data for retraining and stored.).
Ghesu and Kim are analogous in the art to the claimed invention, because both teach methods of evaluating training data for uncertainty and determining if training samples are useful or not for training machine learning models. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ghesu’s method by incorporating new training data into the experience training set. This modification would allow for Ghesu’s method to be applied to systems that are continuing to learn from data over time (For example, Kim teaches applying a similar method [0099-0108] where machine learning models are constantly being improved by recording sensor data, determining if the sensor data is useful for training, and adding useful data to the new training set [Fig. 5].).
Regarding claim 2, Ghesu and Kim teach the system of claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the input data that have been processed by the model since the last training is addable to the deployment experience set (Fig. 5 shows a flowchart of Kim’s methods. New sensor data is read in, evaluated for uncertainty, and added to the training data if the data is usable for retraining (the uncertainty is not too high). Thus, new training data is separated into usable and unusable data for retraining and stored.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ghesu’s method by adding new training data into the experience training set. This modification would allow for Ghesu’s method to be applied to systems that are continuing to learn from data over time (For example, Kim teaches applying a similar method [0099-0108] where machine learning models are constantly being improved by recording sensor data, determining if the sensor data is useful for training, and adding useful data to the training set [Fig. 5].).
Regarding claim 6, Ghesu and Kim teach the system of claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the analysis by the system includes the system performing an outlier analysis in respect of the uncertainty value relative to uncertainty values of previous input data for the class (Fig. 7 shows identifying data that is most near class boundaries, such as the data in 725 and 724. Kim teaches identifying data samples closest to class boundaries, which has higher uncertainty [Fig. 7, 0210-0222], and determining the uncertainty of data to compare to criterion (first and second reference values) for determining if data is useful for retraining [Fig. 9, 0224-0238]. Additionally, Kim teaches an example of determining the model confidence on a prediction for a sample based on the prediction’s distance from a class [Fig. 12]; thus, outliers in the data are identified as having higher uncertainty. Kim also compares confidence values to predetermined reference values to determine outliers which are outside of class domains [Fig. 12, 0254].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ghesu’s invention by performing an outlier analysis to identify outliers with high uncertainty that may be not useful for retraining. This modification would further expand upon Ghesu’s teachings (Ghesu shows how uncertainty is represented graphically by data outliers in Fig. 1.) and apply them to open-set recognition models with more than one class (See Kim [Fig. 7] and [0214-0216]). Kim teaches that models trained on specific domains cannot grasp data outside of those domains, such as outliers. Open set-recognition models can be improved by indicating when data with high-uncertainty is outside of the known domains since models cannot provide high prediction confidence on data outside of the known domains.).
Regarding claim 9, Ghesu and Kim teach the system of claim 1. Ghesu further teaches wherein the processor is configured to trigger retraining by the model, based on a training data set including one or more such input images indicated as useful for retraining (Ghesu teaches retraining a classification model after removing the images that are not useful for training. A fraction
D
ϵ
is the dataset reduced in size for training after a portion of the least useful images are removed. [Section 3.3] “The hypothesis is that by retraining the model on dataset
D
ϵ
one can increase the robustness during training and improve its performance on unseen data.”).
Regarding claim 10, Ghesu and Kim teach the system of claim 1. Ghesu further teaches wherein the trained machine learning model is a classifier of any one of: artificial neural network model, support vector machine, decision tree, random forest, k-nearest neighbor, naive Bayes, linear discriminate analysis, and ensemble and boosting techniques (The background of Section 2 teaches known classifier models for classification of medical images. Examples taught in Section 2.1 include convolution neural networks, ensembles, dense neural networks, etc. [Section 3.2] “We propose to use a parametric model – a deep convolutional neural network to estimate the per-class evidence values from the image data.”).
Regarding claim 11, Ghesu and Kim teach the system of claim 1. Ghesu further teaches wherein the input image is of any one of: X-ray, magnetic resonance, ultrasound, nuclear (Ghesu teaches experiments for training classifiers on x-rays [Fig. 6], ultrasound images [Fig. 8], MRI images [Fig. 11], and determining the uncertainty for each image. The use of nuclear images would be performed similarly and not provide a meaningful change or inventive concept to overcome the art of Ghesu.).
Regarding claim 12, Ghesu teaches a computer-implemented method for providing training data in medical imaging ([Section 3] “We propose a model for joint sample classification and predictive uncertainty estimation, following the Dempster-Shafer theory of evidence.”), the method comprising:
receiving at least one classification result for a class from plural pre-defined classes, the classification result produced by a trained machine learning model in response to processing an input image (Throughout all of Section 3, Ghesu denotes the classification of an image as yk, where k denotes the image index in an image dataset of size N, and y denotes the classification of the image. [Section 3.2] “Let us assume a labeled training dataset is given as
{
I
k
,
y
k
}
k
=
1
N
, consisting of N pairs of images Ik with a binary class assignment yk ∈ {0, 1}. We propose to use a parametric model – a deep convolutional neural network to estimate the per-class evidence values from the image data.” Additionally, probabilistic predictions output from the model are used in Section 3.2.);
analyzing input data comprising the received classification result score and an uncertainty value associated with the classification result score (Fig. 6 shows the values
u
^
and
p
^
determined using the experiments explained in Section 4.
u
^
is an uncertainty value, and
p
^
is an estimated probability of belonging to a class output by a classification model.), and
outputting per the received classification result, an associated indication whether the input image is or is not useful for re-training the model with respect to the class, wherein the usefulness is based on the uncertainty value associated with the classification result score of the input image (Ghesu teaches Uncertainty-driven bootstrapping for determining whether or not input images are useful for training. [Section 4.1.5] “Using uncertainty driven bootstrapping one can filter the training data, i.e., remove a fraction of training cases with highest uncertainty, with the goal to reduce label noise. On the example of pleural effusion, based on the ChestX-Ray8 dataset, we show that one can retrain the system on the remaining data and achieve better performance on an unseen dataset. Performance is reported as a triple of values [AUC; F1-score (for the positive class); F1-score (for the negative class)].”).
Ghesu operates on a medical image data set, such as the ChestX-Ray8 dataset. In Section 3.3, uncertainty driven bootstrapping is taught generally and could be applied to any data set. However, Ghesu doesn’t specifically teach that new data is processed and added to the training dataset. Thus, Ghesu fails to teach wherein the input data for the images that have been processed by the model since the last training is addable to the deployment experience set.
However, Kim teaches wherein the analysis is based on a deployment experience set, and wherein the deployment experience set comprises all images processed by the model since the last training (Fig. 5 shows a flowchart of Kim’s methods. New sensor data is read in, evaluated for uncertainty, and added to the training data if the data is usable for retraining (the uncertainty is not too high). Thus, new training data is separated into usable and unusable data for retraining and stored.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ghesu’s method by incorporating new training data into the experience training set. This modification would allow for Ghesu’s method to be applied to systems that are continuing to learn from data over time (For example, Kim teaches applying a similar method [0099-0108] where machine learning models are constantly being improved by recording sensor data, determining if the sensor data is useful for training, and adding useful data to the new training set [Fig. 5].).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghesu (Quantifying and leveraging predictive uncertainty for medical image assessment. arXiv:2007.04258v1) and Kim (US 2020/0034661 A1), and further in view of Erenrich et al. (US 10,325,224 B1), hereafter Erenrich.
Regarding claim 3, Ghesu and Kim teach the system of claim 1. Ghesu further teaches wherein the analysis by the system is based on at least one criterion (Ghesu teaches determining usable and unusable images by a criterion. Ghesu teaches a threshold ut, which is the maximum uncertainty an image label prediction can have to be considered useful. [4.1.3] “…set a threshold ut and configure the system to not output its prediction on any cases with an expected uncertainty larger than ut.” [4.3.1] “To evaluate the efficacy of uncertainty-driven sampling rejection with high predictive uncertainty, we measured the classification performance of the trained model in different coverage settings.” Additionally, Ghesu teaches that a criterion could be a fraction of the data set, where the fraction of samples with the highest uncertainty are considered to be not useful. [4.1.3] “Formally, we refer to the degree of sample rejection using the term coverage, as an expected percentile of cases to be rejected.” [4.1.5] “Using uncertainty driven bootstrapping one can filter the training data, i.e., remove a fraction of training cases with highest uncertainty, with the goal to reduce label noise.”), and
wherein the criterion is adaptable (Table 2 shows examples of changing the coverage value. Section 4.1.5 teaches changing the criterion using uncertainty-driven bootstrapping to retrain on only useful samples. Not useful samples were a fraction (criterion) of the total samples with the highest uncertainty.).
Ghesu teaches using adaptable criterion for determining what fraction of the samples are useful, and this would change the number of useful samples based on the size of the training set. However, Ghesu and Kim do not teach changing the criterion itself based on the size of the training set. Thus, Ghesu and Kim fail to teach wherein the criterion is adaptable based on the size of the deployment experience set.
However, Erenrich teaches wherein the criterion is adaptable based on the size of the deployment experience set (See Fig. 8 and Col. 22, line 12 – Col. 23, line 25. Erenrich teaches selecting batches of training data with the most uncertainty (i.e. the least useful data for retraining) for manual labeling by a human. The amount of uncertain data samples manually labeled is dependent upon the size of the training set. [Col. 23, lines 5-9] “The threshold number may be determined according to at least one of batch size, estimated time for a user to label an example, system processing speed, training dataset size, and other factors.”).
Ghesu, Kim, and Erenrich are all analogous in the art to the claimed invention, because all teach methods of determining the uncertainty of predictions and determining which data samples are useful for training a machine learning model. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Ghesu and Kim by changing the criterion based on the size of the training data set. This modification would allow for manual labeling of uncertain samples without large amounts of downtime during labeling since the number of uncertain samples to be labeled is based on the dataset size (Erenrich [Col. 23, lines 17-25] “Process 800 may provide an efficient and streamlined method of selecting training examples for labeling in a supervised active machine learning training process. The process 800 may be used to select training examples to accelerate the machine learning process by selecting examples for which the model is least certain. The process 800 may further be used to select optimal sizes of training example batches so as to avoid user downtime.” [Col. 23, lines 5-9] “The threshold number may be determined according to at least one of batch size, estimated time for a user to label an example, system processing speed, training dataset size, and other factors.”).
Regarding claim 4, Ghesu, Kim, and Erenrich teach the system of claim 3. Ghesu further teaches comprising a counter configured to track, per class, the size of a subset of the deployment experience set ([Section 4.1.5] “Performance is reported as a triple of values [AUC; F1-score (for the positive class); F1-score (for the negative class)].” In Figs. 4 and 7, Ghesu shows results of retraining the network (performance on the y-axis) with different criterion (coverage on the x-axis). This would require that the amount of samples per each subclass can be counted. In Section 3.3, Ghesu also teaches indexing training samples using the variable k.).
Regarding claim 5, Ghesu, Kim, and Erenrich teach the system of claim 3. Ghesu further teaches wherein the criterion is relaxed so as to increase the number of future input images indicatable as useful for retraining (In Section 4.1.5, Ghesu discusses how changing the criterion to change the amount of images considered useful affects the robustness of the model. Table 2 shows changes in ROC-AUC as the criterion is changed. Fig. 3 shows an increase in F1-scores as the criterion is relaxed.).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghesu (Quantifying and leveraging predictive uncertainty for medical image assessment. arXiv:2007.04258v1) and Kim (US 2020/0034661 A1), and further in view of Porikli et al. (US 8,140,450 B2), hereafter Porikli.
Regarding claim 7, Ghesu and Kim teach the system of claim 1, but neither Ghesu or Kim teach wherein the system is configured to identify from a plurality of not useful images with similar classification result score and uncertainty value a new class, not among the pre-defined classes.
However, Porikli teaches wherein the system is configured to identify from a plurality of not useful images with similar classification result score and uncertainty value a new class ([Col. 5, lines 15-22] “FIG. 1 shows our method. At each iteration 162 of active learning, we estimate 110 class membership probabilities 111 for all data (vectors) in the active pool 100. Data 132 with a largest estimated value of discrete entropy or uncertainty 111, i.e., lowest probability, are selected 130 to be labeled 140 by the user 141. After user labels 132 are obtained, the corresponding labeled training data are used to update and train 145 the classifier 160.”), not among the pre-defined classes ([Col. 2, lines 27-31] “The method can be extremely important in real-world problems, where the number of classes might not be known beforehand. Therefore, the number of classes can increase with time, because the method does not rely on the number of classes.”).
Ghesu, Kim, and Porikli are analogous in the art to the claimed invention, because all teach methods of determining the amount of uncertainty associated with a classifier prediction for a sample and using the uncertainty to determine if a sample is useful for training the classifier. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention taught by Ghesu and Kim by re-labeling the samples which are not useful for training the classifier. This modification would allow for data with high uncertainty to be manually checked to ensure that the ground-truth labels are actually correct (Porikli [Col. 2, lines 19-23] “The method uses uncertainty sampling, wherein only unlabeled data that are hardest to classify are selected. Unlike most conventional methods, the present method is computationally efficient and can easily handle a large number of classes.”).
Regarding claim 8, Ghesu, Kim, and Porikli teach the system of claim 7, and Kim further teaches where the identifying is based on an n- dimensional, outlier analysis of the of the uncertainty value, where n is greater or equal than 2, wherein the uncertainty value is based on a latent space of the machine learning model associated with the different classes of the model (Fig. 7 shows identifying data that is most near class boundaries, such as the data in 725 and 724. Kim teaches identifying data samples closest to class boundaries, which has higher uncertainty [Fig. 7, 0210-0222], and determining the uncertainty of data to compare to criterion (first and second reference values) for determining if data is useful for retraining [Fig. 9, 0224-0238]. Additionally, Kim teaches an example of determining the model confidence on a prediction for a sample based on the prediction’s distance from a class domain [Fig. 12]; thus, outliers in the data are identified as having higher uncertainty. Kim also compares confidence values to predetermined reference values to determine outliers which are outside of class domains [Fig. 12, 0254].),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ghesu’s invention by performing an outlier analysis to identify outliers with high uncertainty that may be not useful for retraining. This modification would further expand upon Ghesu’s teachings (Ghesu shows how uncertainty is represented graphically by data outliers in Fig. 1.) and apply them to open-set recognition models with more than one class (See Kim Fig. 7 and 0214-0216. Kim teaches that models trained on specific domains cannot grasp data outside of those domains, such as outliers. Open set-recognition models can be improved by indicating when data with high-uncertainty is outside of the known domains since models cannot provide high prediction confidence on data outside of the known domains.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. (Active learning using uncertainty information. 2016 23rd International Conference on Pattern Recognition. pp 2646-2651.) teaches systems and methods for analyzing the uncertainty of training samples to determine which samples are useful for the retraining of neural networks.
/Eric Shoemaker/
Patent Examiner
/JENNIFER MEHMOOD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2664