DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-15, 17-18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lang (US20210106386A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lang discloses a method for determining an actual depth of a reamer within a bone (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. “ [1566]), the method comprising:
while the reamer is rotating during drilling of the bone(“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. “ [1566]),
reading, by a surgical controller through an arthroscope (“The position of the patient specific marker can optionally be captured optically through the arthroscope, for example using an image and/or video capture system integrated into or attached to the arthroscope system and associated display system. The arthroscope or any related instruments or pointers can be registered in relationship to an OHMD or a navigation system and/or the patient and/or the patient's knee, for example with use of one or more IMUS or one or more optical or navigation markers including infrared markers, retroreflective markers, RF markers, or an image and/or video capture system integrated into, attached to or separate from the OHMD so that the position of the arthroscope, instrument and/or pointer and the location, position, orientation and direction of the tip of the arthroscope, instrument and/or pointer is captured in a 3D object coordinate system that can be cross-referenced and registered in relationship to the patient's knee, for example by registering it in relationship to the patient specific marker and/or in relationship to the OHMD or any other reference coordinate system used in the operating room.” [1649]),
a portion of a machine- readable pattern on the reamer visible within a surgical site as the reamer translates into the bone (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. The OHMD can indicate when the desired reaming depth has been achieved, for example with a visual or acoustic signal. One or more optical markers can also be attached to the shaft of the acetabular reamer. By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion. “ [1566]);
wherein the machine-readable pattern comprises a plurality of radial markings along a central axis of the reamer (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. “ [1566])
determining, by the surgical controller, an actual depth of the reamer within the bone based on the portion of the machine-readable pattern visible during the drilling (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. “ [1566]);
and displaying, by the surgical controller on a display device, a value indicative of the actual depth of the reamer within the bone (“the OHMD can indicate when the desired reaming depth has been achieved, for example with a visual or acoustic signal. One or more optical markers can also be attached to the shaft of the acetabular reamer. By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.” [1566]).
Regarding Claim 2, Lang discloses determining the actual depth of the reamer further comprises: extracting, by the surgical controller, a plurality of depth values from the portion of the machine-readable pattern; and selecting only one of the plurality of depth values to be the actual depth (“The surgeon can now align the physical acetabular reamer with the virtual acetabular reamer or its 2D or 3D outline or placement indicator or predetermined or virtual reaming axis displayed by the OHMD so that the physical acetabular reamer is substantially superimposed or aligned with or oriented along the virtual acetabular reamer or its 2D or 3D outline or placement indicator or virtual reaming axis. The OHMD can also indicate the desired reaming depth as optionally defined in a virtual surgical plan. The desired reaming depth can be displayed by the OHMD, e.g. as a virtual red border to which the physical reamer can be advanced. If the reaming surface of the physical reamer is not visible since it is hidden by tissue, e.g. soft-tissue or bone, it can be estimated based on the visible portions of the physical reamer and it can be optionally displayed by the OHMD, e.g. using a different color than the display of the virtual reamer or the virtual “red border” for the reaming depth. The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan… By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.” [1566]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lang discloses all limitations noted above except that reading the portion of the machine- readable pattern further comprises reading the portion of the machine-readable pattern selected from the group comprising at least one annular stripe that circumscribes the reamer and at least one marking that only partially circumscribes the reamer (“Any colors, combination of colors, stripes, patterns can be used for identifying different sizes, dimensions, shapes, diameters, widths or lengths. Any instrument or implant can be color coded.” [1732], “The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan.” [1566]).
Regarding Claim 4, Lang discloses reading the portion of the machine- readable pattern further comprises: reading the portion of the machine-readable pattern at a first set of coordinates within a coordinate space(“The surgeon can now align the physical acetabular reamer with the virtual acetabular reamer or its 2D or 3D outline or placement indicator or predetermined or virtual reaming axis displayed by the OHMD so that the physical acetabular reamer is substantially superimposed or aligned with or oriented along the virtual acetabular reamer or its 2D or 3D outline or placement indicator or virtual reaming axis. The OHMD can also indicate the desired reaming depth as optionally defined in a virtual surgical plan. The desired reaming depth can be displayed by the OHMD, e.g. as a virtual red border to which the physical reamer can be advanced. If the reaming surface of the physical reamer is not visible since it is hidden by tissue, e.g. soft-tissue or bone, it can be estimated based on the visible portions of the physical reamer and it can be optionally displayed by the OHMD, e.g. using a different color than the display of the virtual reamer or the virtual “red border” for the reaming depth. The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan… By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.” [1566]);
receiving bone geometry information mapped within the coordinate space (“Optionally 2D data can be used 192. Bone contours can be derived automatically, semi-automatically or manually 189 from the radiographs 189 or CT or MRI 193. Optionally, sensitive structures such as nerve roots and vessels can be determined 194 and superimposed on the display of the 2D or 3D bone data 198. Bone contours from radiographs and other imaging studies such as CT or MRI can optionally be cross-registered, e.g. using coordinate transfer or using registration in a common coordinate system 190.” [1555] “In FIG. 17B, intra-operative virtual surgical plan, imaging, landmarks, registration, cross-reference of virtual and live patient data 215, the data from FIG. 17A, e.g. 189, 193, 194, 195, 199, 200, can be imported into a workstation 202.” [1556]);
and determining, based on comparing the first set of coordinates and the bone geometry information, at least one of the actual depth of the reamer and the trajectory of the reamer (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan… By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.” [1566]).
Regarding Claim 5, Lang discloses reading the portion of the machine- readable pattern further comprises: reading the portion of the machine-readable pattern selected from the group comprising one or more tick marks that are counted to determine the actual depth of the reamer within the bone and at least one marking including a barcode encoding the value of the actual depth of the reamer within the bone (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan.” [1566], “The optical marker can include a geometric pattern, a QR code, a barcode or combinations thereof. The QR code or barcode can be included in or integrated into or attached to the geometric pattern.” [1481]);
Regarding Claim 6, Lang discloses all limitations noted above except that reading the portion of the machine- readable pattern further comprises: identifying a gradient produced by the machine-readable pattern as the reamer rotates; and determining, based on the gradient and a data source, the actual depth of the reamer within the bone (“Optionally, when two or more optical markers are used included in, integrated into or attached to a surgical instrument, the optical markers, can be arranged at the same angles, e.g. parallel or on the same axis, or at different angles, e.g. orthogonal angles or non-orthogonal angles. This can be particularly useful, when the optical markers include one or more of a geometric shape, geometric pattern, alphabetic, numeric, alphanumeric, and other codes or patterns including bar codes and QR codes or combinations thereof. By arranging the optical markers and any associated geometric shapes, geometric patterns, alphabetic, numeric, alphanumeric, and other codes or patterns including bar codes and QR codes or combinations thereof in this manner, the angular orientation of the surgical instrument can be determined in a more accurate manner. For example, at certain view angles from an image and/or video capture system integrated into or attached to an OHMD select geometric shapes, geometric patterns, alphabetic, numeric, alphanumeric, and other codes or patterns including bar codes and QR codes or combinations thereof of a first optical marker on a surgical instrument may be only partially visualized or not visualized at all due to the angular orientation; when a second optical marker is oriented at a different angle, location and/or orientation on the same surgical instrument, the view angle from the image and/or video capture system integrated into or attached to the OHMD to the second optical marker can allow for a complete or a more complete visualization of the one or more geometric shapes, geometric patterns, alphabetic, numeric, alphanumeric, and other codes or patterns including bar codes and QR codes or combinations thereof, thereby allowing a more accurate determination of the angular orientation of the second optical marker and, with that, the surgical instrument.” [0430], “One or more optical markers can also be attached to the shaft of the acetabular reamer. By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.” [1566]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lang discloses the plurality of radial markings are spaced apart by a distance representative of a value of the actual depth (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan.” [1566]).
Regarding Claim 9, Lang discloses determining the actual depth of the reamer within the bone further comprises using a temporal sequence guide associated with a plurality of markings comprising the machine-readable pattern (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. “ [1566]).
Regarding Claim 11, Lang discloses further comprising: controlling, based on the actual depth of the reamer within the bone, operation of the reamer (“The surgeon can now align the physical acetabular reamer with the virtual acetabular reamer or its 2D or 3D outline or placement indicator or predetermined or virtual reaming axis displayed by the OHMD so that the physical acetabular reamer is substantially superimposed or aligned with or oriented along the virtual acetabular reamer or its 2D or 3D outline or placement indicator or virtual reaming axis. The OHMD can also indicate the desired reaming depth as optionally defined in a virtual surgical plan. The desired reaming depth can be displayed by the OHMD, e.g. as a virtual red border to which the physical reamer can be advanced... The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan.” [1566]).
Regarding Claim 12, Lang discloses the machine-readable pattern is also human-readable (“The optical marker can include a geometric pattern, a QR code, a barcode or combinations thereof. The QR code or barcode can be included in or integrated into or attached to the geometric pattern.” [1481]).
Regarding Claim 13, Lang discloses further comprising: determining, by the surgical controller, a diameter of the reamer based on the portion of the machine-readable pattern. (“the OHMD can recognize if there is a discrepancy in diameter, width, length, dimension, shape, or size of an physical surgical instrument or device and a virtual device chosen in a surgical plan.” [1461], “The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan.” [1566])
Regarding Claim 14, Lang discloses all limitations noted above except that a first portion of a shaft of the reamer including the machine-readable pattern has a smaller diameter than a second portion of the shaft of the reamer including cutting flutes (“In FIG. 18F, the second surgeon can see how the physical acetabular reamer shaft 284 is aligned by the first surgeon so that its central axis is aligned or superimposed with the virtual acetabular reaming axis thereby placing the reamer head 285 in the acetabulum in a predetermined position and orientation for a predetermined acetabular cup angle, offset, medial or lateral position and/or anteversion and/or inclination.” [1564], See Fig, 18F for differing shaft diameters).
Regarding Claim 15, Lang discloses further comprising: displaying, by the surgical controller on the display device, a notification based on whether the value indicative of the actual depth of the reamer within the bone is within a threshold amount from a planned depth or has exceeded a planned depth (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. The OHMD can indicate when the desired reaming depth has been achieved, for example with a visual or acoustic signal.” [1566]).
Regarding Claim 17, Lang discloses a surgical controller for determining an actual depth of a reamer within a bone (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. “ [1566])
the surgical controller comprising: a processor configured to couple to a display device; a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to (“The position of the patient specific marker can optionally be captured optically through the arthroscope, for example using an image and/or video capture system integrated into or attached to the arthroscope system and associated display system. The arthroscope or any related instruments or pointers can be registered in relationship to an OHMD or a navigation system and/or the patient and/or the patient's knee, for example with use of one or more IMUS or one or more optical or navigation markers including infrared markers, retroreflective markers, RF markers, or an image and/or video capture system integrated into, attached to or separate from the OHMD so that the position of the arthroscope, instrument and/or pointer and the location, position, orientation and direction of the tip of the arthroscope, instrument and/or pointer is captured in a 3D object coordinate system that can be cross-referenced and registered in relationship to the patient's knee, for example by registering it in relationship to the patient specific marker and/or in relationship to the OHMD or any other reference coordinate system used in the operating room.” [1649]):
while the reamer is rotating during drilling of the bone, read a portion of a machine- readable pattern on the reamer visible within a surgical site as the reamer translates into the bone, wherein the machine-readable pattern comprises a plurality of radial markings along a central axis of the reamer (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. The OHMD can indicate when the desired reaming depth has been achieved, for example with a visual or acoustic signal. One or more optical markers can also be attached to the shaft of the acetabular reamer. By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.“ [1566]);
receive one or more images of a visible portion of a reamer wherein the one or more images comprise a portion of a machine-readable pattern included on the reamer as the reamer rotates (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. “ [1566]);
determine, based on the portion of the machine-readable pattern included on the reamer, with the actual depth of the reamer within the bone (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. “ [1566]);
and display, on the display device, a value indicative of the actual depth of the reamer within the bone (“The OHMD can also indicate the desired reaming depth as optionally defined in a virtual surgical plan. The desired reaming depth can be displayed by the OHMD, e.g. as a virtual red border to which the physical reamer can be advanced. If the reaming surface of the physical reamer is not visible since it is hidden by tissue, e.g. soft-tissue or bone, it can be estimated based on the visible portions of the physical reamer and it can be optionally displayed by the OHMD.. the OHMD can indicate when the desired reaming depth has been achieved, for example with a visual or acoustic signal. One or more optical markers can also be attached to the shaft of the acetabular reamer. By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.” [1566]).
Regarding Claim 20, Lang discloses the one or more images are received from a camera associated with an arthroscope (“The position of the patient specific marker can optionally be captured optically through the arthroscope, for example using an image and/or video capture system integrated into or attached to the arthroscope system and associated display system. The arthroscope or any related instruments or pointers can be registered in relationship to an OHMD or a navigation system and/or the patient and/or the patient's knee, for example with use of one or more IMUS or one or more optical or navigation markers including infrared markers, retroreflective markers, RF markers, or an image and/or video capture system integrated into, attached to or separate from the OHMD so that the position of the arthroscope, instrument and/or pointer and the location, position, orientation and direction of the tip of the arthroscope, instrument and/or pointer is captured in a 3D object coordinate system that can be cross-referenced and registered in relationship to the patient's knee, for example by registering it in relationship to the patient specific marker and/or in relationship to the OHMD or any other reference coordinate system used in the operating room.” [1649]).
Regarding Claim 21, Lang discloses all limitations noted above except that the processor determines the value , the instructions further cause the processor to: identify a gradient produced by the machine-readable pattern as the reamer rotates; and determine, based on the gradient and a data source, the value indicative of the depth of the reamer within the bone (“Optionally, when two or more optical markers are used included in, integrated into or attached to a surgical instrument, the optical markers, can be arranged at the same angles, e.g. parallel or on the same axis, or at different angles, e.g. orthogonal angles or non-orthogonal angles. This can be particularly useful, when the optical markers include one or more of a geometric shape, geometric pattern, alphabetic, numeric, alphanumeric, and other codes or patterns including bar codes and QR codes or combinations thereof. By arranging the optical markers and any associated geometric shapes, geometric patterns, alphabetic, numeric, alphanumeric, and other codes or patterns including bar codes and QR codes or combinations thereof in this manner, the angular orientation of the surgical instrument can be determined in a more accurate manner. For example, at certain view angles from an image and/or video capture system integrated into or attached to an OHMD select geometric shapes, geometric patterns, alphabetic, numeric, alphanumeric, and other codes or patterns including bar codes and QR codes or combinations thereof of a first optical marker on a surgical instrument may be only partially visualized or not visualized at all due to the angular orientation; when a second optical marker is oriented at a different angle, location and/or orientation on the same surgical instrument, the view angle from the image and/or video capture system integrated into or attached to the OHMD to the second optical marker can allow for a complete or a more complete visualization of the one or more geometric shapes, geometric patterns, alphabetic, numeric, alphanumeric, and other codes or patterns including bar codes and QR codes or combinations thereof, thereby allowing a more accurate determination of the angular orientation of the second optical marker and, with that, the surgical instrument.” [0430], “One or more optical markers can also be attached to the shaft of the acetabular reamer. By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.” [1566]).
Regarding Claim 22, Lang discloses the processor determines the value , the instructions further cause the processor to read the portion of the machine-readable pattern at a first set of coordinates within a coordinate space (“The surgeon can now align the physical acetabular reamer with the virtual acetabular reamer or its 2D or 3D outline or placement indicator or predetermined or virtual reaming axis displayed by the OHMD so that the physical acetabular reamer is substantially superimposed or aligned with or oriented along the virtual acetabular reamer or its 2D or 3D outline or placement indicator or virtual reaming axis. The OHMD can also indicate the desired reaming depth as optionally defined in a virtual surgical plan. The desired reaming depth can be displayed by the OHMD, e.g. as a virtual red border to which the physical reamer can be advanced. If the reaming surface of the physical reamer is not visible since it is hidden by tissue, e.g. soft-tissue or bone, it can be estimated based on the visible portions of the physical reamer and it can be optionally displayed by the OHMD, e.g. using a different color than the display of the virtual reamer or the virtual “red border” for the reaming depth. The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan… By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.” [1566]);
receiving bone geometry information mapped within the coordinate space (“Optionally 2D data can be used 192. Bone contours can be derived automatically, semi-automatically or manually 189 from the radiographs 189 or CT or MRI 193. Optionally, sensitive structures such as nerve roots and vessels can be determined 194 and superimposed on the display of the 2D or 3D bone data 198. Bone contours from radiographs and other imaging studies such as CT or MRI can optionally be cross-registered, e.g. using coordinate transfer or using registration in a common coordinate system 190.” [1555] “In FIG. 17B, intra-operative virtual surgical plan, imaging, landmarks, registration, cross-reference of virtual and live patient data 215, the data from FIG. 17A, e.g. 189, 193, 194, 195, 199, 200, can be imported into a workstation 202.” [1556]);
and determining, based on comparing the first set of coordinates and the bone geometry information, at least one of the actual depth of the reamer and the trajectory of the reamer (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan… By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.” [1566]).
Regarding Claim 23, Lang discloses the processor determines the value , the instructions further cause the processor to read the portion of the machine-readable pattern selected from the group comprising one or more tick marks that are counted to determine the actual depth of the reamer within the bone and at least one marking including a barcode encoding the value of the actual depth of the reamer within the bone (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan.” [1566], “The optical marker can include a geometric pattern, a QR code, a barcode or combinations thereof. The QR code or barcode can be included in or integrated into or attached to the geometric pattern.” [1481]);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang in view of Steines et al (US 11553969 B1; hereinafter referred to as Steines).
Regarding Claim 10, Lang discloses reducing a revolutions per minute of the reamer from a first value to a second value (“physical surgical instruments can be, for example, reamers” [0065], “Exemplary list of commands that can be executed by tracking eye movement, lid movement, facial movement and head movement (this list is only an example and by no way meant to be exhaustive; any number or combination of commands is possible… Increase intensity, speed, energy deposed of surgical instrument; Reduce intensity, speed, energy deposed of surgical instrument” [0150])
Lang does not specifically disclose reducing the revolutions prior to reading the portion of the machine-readable pattern on the reamer.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Steines teaches aspects of the present disclosure relate to systems, devices and methods for performing a surgical step or surgical procedure for example with visual guidance using a head mounted display [Abstract].
Steines also teaches reducing the revolutions prior to reading the portion of the machine-readable pattern on the reamer (“By attaching or integrating one or more optical markers, navigation markers, infrared markers, RF markers, patient specific markers, LEDs with image capture and IMUs to a reamer... the instruments or tools can be tracked in regards to their position, location, orientation, direction of movement, speed of movement and/or coordinates in the coordinate system… The position, location, orientation, direction of movement, speed of movement and/or coordinates in the coordinate system of the tracked instruments or tools can be compared to the predetermined or intended position, location, orientation, direction of movement, speed of movement and/or coordinates in the coordinate system of the instruments or tools in a virtual surgical plan. If an instrument or tool deviates from the predetermined or intended position, location, orientation, direction of movement, speed of movement and/or coordinates in the coordinate system this can be indicated or displayed in the HMD. For example, if the instrument or tool deviates from the predetermined or intended position, location, orientation, direction of movement, speed of movement and/or coordinates in the coordinate system the HMD can display an optical warning, optionally color coded, e.g. red, or optionally blinking or flashing. The HMD can also emit an acoustic or any other signal, e.g. a vibration. The tracked instrument or tool can optionally be displayed with a color highlighting the deviation from the predetermined or intended position, location, orientation, direction of movement, speed of movement in the coordinate system, e.g. a red color. The optical, acoustic, or other warning signals can stop when the instrument or tool is in or returns to the predetermined or intended position, location, orientation, direction of movement, speed of movement and/or coordinates in the coordinate system, or is within a certain range of the predetermined or intended position, location, orientation, direction of movement, speed of movement and/or coordinates in the coordinate system, e.g. 1%, 2%, 3%, 5%, 10%, 15%, 20%, 30% etc., or 1 degree, 2 degrees, 3 degrees, 5 degrees, 10 degrees, 15 degrees, 20 degrees etc., or 0.5 mm, 1.0 mm, 2.0 mm, 3.0 mm, 5.0 mm, 10.0 mm, 15.0 mm, 20.0 mm etc. Any value can be used.” [0737])
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lang as outlined above with reducing the revolutions prior to reading the portion of the machine-readable pattern on the reamer as taught by Steines, because the accuracy of subsequent surgical steps can be improved thereby ultimately improving the overall accuracy of the surgical procedure. [0394].
Claim 16, 19 & 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang in view of Slone et al (US 20130204254 A1; hereinafter referred to as Slone).
Regarding Claim 16, Lang discloses further comprising: determining, based on the value of the actual depth, whether a planned depth of the reamer within the bone has been satisfied (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. The OHMD can indicate when the desired reaming depth has been achieved, for example with a visual or acoustic signal.” [1566]).;
Lang does not specifically disclose responsive to determining the planned depth has been satisfied, controlling a drill operating the reamer by at least one of electronically stopping a drill operating the reamer and slowing down a speed of the drill.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Slone teaches a limited use acetabular reamer can be used to perform selected procedures [Abstract].
Slone also teaches responsive to determining the planned depth has been satisfied, controlling a drill operating the reamer by at least one of electronically stopping a drill operating the reamer and slowing down a speed of the drill (“As illustrated in FIG. 7, and described herein briefly, the acetabular reamer 30, illustrated above, is interconnected with the drill assembly 10…The reamer 30 can be used according to a conventional known manner to ream the acetabulum 288 of the patient 294 for a selected procedure. Subsequent to or after a selected amount of reaming the acetabular reamer 30 can be discarded in a substantially appropriate manner.” [0043]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lang as outlined above with responsive to determining the planned depth has been satisfied, controlling a drill operating the reamer by at least one of electronically stopping a drill operating the reamer and slowing down a speed of the drill as taught by Slone, because it can assist in minimizing cross-contamination from subject to subject [0006].
Regarding Claim 19, Lang discloses the instructions further cause the processor to: determine, based on the value , whether a planned value associated with the reamer has been satisfied (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan.” [1566]);
Lang does not specifically disclose responsive to determining the planned value has been satisfied, electronically controlling operation of a drill associated with the reamer.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Slone teaches responsive to determining the planned value has been satisfied, electronically controlling operation of a drill associated with the reamer (“As illustrated in FIG. 7, and described herein briefly, the acetabular reamer 30, illustrated above, is interconnected with the drill assembly 10…The reamer 30 can be used according to a conventional known manner to ream the acetabulum 288 of the patient 294 for a selected procedure. Subsequent to or after a selected amount of reaming the acetabular reamer 30 can be discarded in a substantially appropriate manner.” [0043]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lang as outlined above with responsive to determining the planned value has been satisfied, electronically controlling operation of a drill associated with the reamer as taught by Slone, because it can assist in minimizing cross-contamination from subject to subject [0006].
Regarding Claim 24, Lang discloses that the processor: receives, based on the value , an input; and controls, based on the input, operation of a the reamer (“The surgeon can now align the physical acetabular reamer with the virtual acetabular reamer or its 2D or 3D outline or placement indicator or predetermined or virtual reaming axis displayed by the OHMD so that the physical acetabular reamer is substantially superimposed or aligned with or oriented along the virtual acetabular reamer or its 2D or 3D outline or placement indicator or virtual reaming axis. The OHMD can also indicate the desired reaming depth as optionally defined in a virtual surgical plan. The desired reaming depth can be displayed by the OHMD, e.g. as a virtual red border to which the physical reamer can be advanced. If the reaming surface of the physical reamer is not visible since it is hidden by tissue, e.g. soft-tissue or bone, it can be estimated based on the visible portions of the physical reamer and it can be optionally displayed by the OHMD, e.g. using a different color than the display of the virtual reamer or the virtual “red border” for the reaming depth. The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan… By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.” [1566], “Any of the registration techniques or techniques described herein including implantable and attachable markers, calibration and registration phantoms including optical markers, navigation markers, infrared markers, RF markers, patient specific markers, LEDs with image capture and IMUs can be applied for registering the patient's proximal femur in relationship to, for example, one or more OHMDs worn by the surgeon and/or is assistants, and/or in relationship to one or more surgical instruments, pins, drills, saws, reamers,” [1570]).
Lang does not specifically disclose operation of a drill associated with the reamer.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Slone teaches operation of a drill associated with the reamer (“As illustrated in FIG. 7, and described herein briefly, the acetabular reamer 30, illustrated above, is interconnected with the drill assembly 10…The reamer 30 can be used according to a conventional known manner to ream the acetabulum 288 of the patient 294 for a selected procedure. Subsequent to or after a selected amount of reaming the acetabular reamer 30 can be discarded in a substantially appropriate manner.” [0043]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lang as outlined above with operation of a drill associated with the reamer as taught by Slone, because it can assist in minimizing cross-contamination from subject to subject [0006].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the U.S.C. 102 rejection of Claim 1 the Applicant argues the following:
Lang does not teach or suggest performing the reading, as recited, while the reamer is rotating.
For example, the Examiner relies on Paragraph [1566] of Lang to disclose measuring the physical reaming depth via image capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer. However, the cited portion of Lang is completely silent as to whether the image capture is performed while the reamer is rotating. Indeed, Applicant respectfully submits that a numeric scale (and various other types of markings) would not even be readable while the reamer is rotating and actually drilling/translating into the bone.
However, it is noted that the applicants interpretation of Lang is incorrect and adds details that are not mentioned anywhere in Lang including “applicant respectfully submits that a numeric scale (and various other types of markings) would not even be readable while the reamer is rotating and actually drilling/translating into the bon”
Lang does teach the following: an Optical Head Mounted Display (OHMD) system which has a view of a surgical space and presents a virtual surgical plan to a user while conducting a surgical operation using a bone reamer. The bone reamer comprises a plurality of markings and identifiable features to allow the OHMD to properly track the reamer and conduct the surgical operation according to the virtual surgical plan. It is inherent in this situation that the tracking is done while the reamer rotates since that is a reamer’s function in a surgical setting (“The surgeon can now align the physical acetabular reamer with the virtual acetabular reamer or its 2D or 3D outline or placement indicator or predetermined or virtual reaming axis displayed by the OHMD so that the physical acetabular reamer is substantially superimposed or aligned with or oriented along the virtual acetabular reamer or its 2D or 3D outline or placement indicator or virtual reaming axis. The OHMD can also indicate the desired reaming depth as optionally defined in a virtual surgical plan. The desired reaming depth can be displayed by the OHMD, e.g. as a virtual red border to which the physical reamer can be advanced. If the reaming surface of the physical reamer is not visible since it is hidden by tissue, e.g. soft-tissue or bone, it can be estimated based on the visible portions of the physical reamer and it can be optionally displayed by the OHMD, e.g. using a different color than the display of the virtual reamer or the virtual “red border” for the reaming depth. The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. The OHMD can indicate when the desired reaming depth has been achieved, for example with a visual or acoustic signal. One or more optical markers can also be attached to the shaft of the acetabular reamer. By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.” [1566]) .
Applicant also argues:
Nonetheless, to facilitate prosecution, claim 1 is further amended to clarify that the machine-readable pattern comprises a plurality of radial markings along a central axis of the reamer. Here again, the relied upon Paragraph [1566] of Lang discloses a numerical scale and, generally, "one or more optical markers, RF tags, or retro-reflective markers." Applicant respectfully submits that Lang does not disclose that the optical markers, RF tags, or retro- reflective markers are radial markings along a central axis of the reamer. Rather, Lang is absent of any teaching or suggestion of any actual dimensions, geometry, or arrangement of these additional markings. Accordingly, Lang also cannot be relied upon to disclose that the machine- readable pattern comprises a plurality of radial markings.
However, it is noted that “radial markings along a central axis of the reamer” is recited highly broadly and merely encompasses markings on an axis of the reamer.
Lang teaches positioning the plurality of markings and identifiable features of the reamer along its shaft which contains a central axis. Features such as a numerical scale inherently have a plurality of markings (“The physical reaming depth of the physical reamer can also be measured, for example via image capture or mechanical data capture of a numeric scale on the physical reamer which indicates reaming depth, or by attaching IMUs or one or more optical markers, RF tags or retro-reflective markers for navigation to the reamer and by comparing physical measured reaming depth to the virtual surgical plan. The OHMD can indicate when the desired reaming depth has been achieved, for example with a visual or acoustic signal. One or more optical markers can also be attached to the shaft of the acetabular reamer. By measuring the position of the one or more optical markers, e.g. two optical markers in two different locations along the shaft of the reamer, the long axis of the physical acetabular reamer can be determined using image or video capture and can be compared to the predetermined virtual reaming axis to achieve a desired cup placement, including a desired offset and/or cup angle and/or anteversion.” [1566], also see [0429] for its description of multiple (more than 2) optical markings being placed on the long axis of a reamer)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure (US 20170354424 A1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEVEN MALDONADO whose telephone number is 703-756-1421. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 am-4:00 pm PST M-Th Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher Koharski can be reached on (571) 272-7230. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Steven Maldonado/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797