DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to the Non-Final Office Action dated 01/27/2026, filed with the office on 04/27/2026, has been entered and made of record.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are pending. Claim 5 is cancelled. Claims 9-13 are new.
Response to Amendments
In light of Applicant’s amendments, the objections of record with respect to the drawings is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments of independent claims 1, 7, and 8, which has altered the scope of the claims of the instant application, has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action with respect to claims of the instant application. Accordingly, in response to Applicant’s arguments that are merely directed to the amended portion of the claims, new analyses have been presented below, which make Applicant’s arguments moot.
Consequently, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
Under MPEP 2143.03, "All words in a claim must be considered in judging the patentability of that claim against the prior art." In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 1385, 165 USPQ 494, 496 (CCPA 1970). As a general matter, the grammar and ordinary meaning of terms as understood by one having ordinary skill in the art used in a claim will dictate whether, and to what extent, the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art. See, e.g., Fresenius USA, Inc. v. Baxter Int’l, Inc., 582 F.3d 1288, 1298, 92 USPQ2d 1163, 1171 (Fed. Cir. 2009).
Claim 5 recites “at least any one of” then lists “a cap portion of a product,” “a sealing portion of a product package,” “a logo of a company or a product brand,” “a product display mark,” and “an indication of special notes.” Since “at least any one of” is disjunctive, any one of the elements found in the prior art is sufficient to reject the claim. While citations have been provided for completeness and rapid prosecution, only one element is required. Because, on balance, it appears the disjunctive interpretation enjoys the most specification support and for that reason the disjunctive interpretation (one of A, B OR C) is being adopted for the purposes of this Office Action. Applicant’s comments and/or amendments relating to this issue are invited to clarify the claim language and the prosecution history.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, based on abstract idea. The claims recite a system and method of determining which size a product is when a product contains multiple variants in sizes. With respect to independent system claim 1:
STEP 1: Do the claims fall within one of the statutory categories?
YES. Claim 1 is directed to a system i.e., a device or a machine.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea?
YES, the claims are directed toward a mental process (i.e., abstract idea).
The limitation “extracting, by processing an image of a product, an image area associated with the product from the image; detecting a reference area associated with the product within the image are
As such, a person could determine an image area containing a product and locate a reference location within the product and identify/organize the size of the product or an object with a degree of error or lack thereof either mentally or using a pen and paper. The mere nominal recitation that the various steps are being executed by a processor (e.g., processing unit) does not take the limitations out of the mental process grouping.
The limitation “calculating a ratio of a size of the reference area with respect to a size of the image area, thereby offsetting an influence of distortion occurring in the image” as drafted, recites an abstract idea, such as a process that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of a mathematical concept, such as mathematical formulas or equations.
The mere nominal recitation that the various steps are being executed by a process does not take the limitations out of the Mathematical Concept grouping Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea process.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
NO, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The additional element “thereby offsetting an influence of distortion occurring in the image” do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because the additional limitations provides only a result-orientated solution and does not provide details as to how calculating a ratio would “offset an influence of distortion”.
The only additional elements “a memory” and “a process” are recited at a high level of generality and merely equate to “apply it” or otherwise merely uses a generic computer as a tool to perform an abstract which are not indicative of integration into a practical application as per MPEP 2106.05(f). See also MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) with respect to Mental Processes: “Nor do the courts distinguish between claims that recite mental processes performed by humans and claims that recite mental processes performed on a computer”. See also MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)(3) Using a computer as tool to perform a mental process and MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(D) as well as the case law cited therein.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
NO,
The claims herein do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, because as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into practical application, the additional step/element/limitation amounts to no more than an abstract idea performed on a computer. The additional elements are simply appending well-understood routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception (WURC) per MPEP 2106.05(d) and 2106.07(a)(III). Therefore, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
In addition, the elements of claims 7 and 8 are analyzed in the same manner as claim 1. Therefore independent claims 1, 11 and 16 are not patent eligible, either.
Similar analysis is made for the dependent claims 2-13, under their broadest reasonable interpretation are identified as: being either directed towards mere data gathering or an abstract idea, mental process and mathematical calculation, and not reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and not reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
For all of the above reasons, claims 1-8 are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, claims 1-13 are not eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanii et al. (JP 6209717 B1 – Translation from Espacenet), in view of Liu et al. (JP2018022484A - translation from Espacenet), in further view of Kambara et al. (JP 2021117849 A – From IDS, translation from Espacenet).
Regarding claim 1, Tanii teaches “An image analysis system (Tanii paragraph [0025] "The narrowing down processing system 1 uses a management terminal 2 and an input terminal 3")comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations (Tanii paragraph [0027] "The management terminal 2 and the input terminal 3 in the narrowing down processing system 1 are realized using a computer […] The computer has an arithmetic unit 70 such as a CPU that executes the arithmetic processing of a program, a storage device 71") comprising:
extracting, by processing an image of a product, an image area associated with the product from the image (Tanii paragraph [0016] "The acquisition function is a function for acquiring a captured image obtained as a result of capturing an image of an object placed in a predetermined area {product recognition area)");
detecting a reference area associated with the product within the image area within a product from an image by processing the image of the product(Tanii paragraph [0035] "The image information processing unit 22 performs a correction process for the captured image information received by the image information input reception processing unit 20, which places the captured image information in a correct orientation, and a face process for identifying an area (face area) from the captured image information where a comparison process (matching process) with the specimen information is to be performed") ;
(Tanii paragraph [0045] "In the face processing, it is preferable to perform a process of identifying attribute information of the product in the face area […] identifying the shape and aspect ratio of the product shown in the face area, it is also possible to identify the character string in the face area by performing OCR recognition processing on the image information of the face area, and to identify the color information (color information including hue, brightness, and saturation) of the image information in the face area and the proportion of its area").”
However, Tanii is not relied on to teach “calculating a ratio of a size of the reference area with respect to a size of the image area, thereby offsetting an influence of distortion occurring in the image; and determining a management unit”.
In an analogous field of endeavor Liu teaches “calculating a ratio of a size of the reference area with respect to a size of the image area, thereby offsetting an influence of distortion occurring in the image (Liu paragraph [0018] "the ratio of the area of the object image to the total area of the image" - where the object image is the reference area)”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine a system of identifying products displayed on shelved as taught by Tanii to include determining size of a product as taught by Liu.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “The goal of object detection is to detect all instances of a predefined object class in the form
of a bounding box with a confidence value for a given input image, and to identify their
locations. Object detection problems can be transformed into object classification problems
using the scan window technique. However, the scan window technique is inefficient because
the classification step is performed on all possible image regions of various locations, scales,
and aspect ratios” as disclosed by Liu disclosure paragraph 2.
However, the combination of Tanii and Liu is not relied on to teach “determining a management unit”.
In an analogous field of endeavor Kambara teaches “determining a management unit (Kambara paragraph [0061] "The size comparison unit 254 compares the size of the object with the size of the missized product, and determines which range of sizes of the missized product the size of the object belongs to")”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before
effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine a system of identifying products displayed on shelf and determining size of a object as taught by Tanii and Liu to include size comparison of products with similar features as taught by Kambara.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “there is a demand for a system that can automate the payment process for products and reduce the time required to pay for products when a customer purchases products displayed in a store. Therefore, the applicant has already filed a patent application (Patent Application No. 2016-080624) for a next-generation cash register system that, when a product is placed in a designated area such as a cash register, captures an image of the designated area with a camera, recognizes the candidate product object from the resulting captured image, identifies what kind of product the object (candidate product) is, and executes a series of processes up to making payment for the identified product" as noted by the Kambara disclosure is paragraph 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Tanii and Liu with the Kambara disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1 as there is a
reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art
elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 7 recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements of system
recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps of this claim are mapped to the
proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of system
claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Tanii, Liu, and Kambara references, presented in rejection of claim 1 apply to this claim.
Claim 8 recites a computer readable medium including computer executable instructions corresponding to the elements of the system recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited instructions of the computer readable medium of claim 8 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements of the system claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Tanii, Liu, and Kambara presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tanii, Liu, and Kambara teaches “The image analysis system according to claim 1,wherein the operations further comprise: determining, by comparing image feature information acquired from the image with product external appearance information indicating an external appearance feature of each product, a product having the external appearance feature having a matching degree, which is equal to or more than a reference, to the image feature information (Kambara paragraph [0057] "Regarding the comparison of feature points, the similar feature point number identification unit 251 determines similar feature points for the feature points and respective local feature amounts of the read product information with respect to the feature points and respective local feature amounts of the object […] The similar feature point number specifying unit 251 provisionally determines the product candidate with the largest number of similar feature points, which is equal to or greater than a predetermined number, as the product candidate most similar to the product"), when a plurality of products being a same except for a management unit are determined as a result of comparison of the image feature information with the product external appearance information (Kambara paragraph [0060] "The missized product identification unit 253 identifies missized products that are different in size from the list of similar products sent to the similar feature point number identification unit 251"), detecting the reference area from the image (Tanii paragraph [0035] "The image information processing unit 22 performs a correction process for the captured image information received by the image information input reception processing unit 20, which places the captured image information in a correct orientation, and a face process for identifying an area (face area) from the captured image information where a comparison process (matching process) with the specimen information is to be performed"), and determining the management unit of the product (Kambara paragraph [0061] "The size comparison unit 254 compares the size of the object with the size of the missized product, and determines which range of sizes of the missized product the size of the object belongs to").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Tanii, Liu, and Kambara references presented in the rejection of claim 1, applies to claim 2. Finally the system recited in claim 2 is met by Tanii, Liu, and Kambara .
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tanii, Liu, and Kambara teaches “The image analysis system according to claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise determining, by comparing image feature information acquired from the image with product external appearance information indicating an external appearance feature of each product, a product having the external appearance feature having a matching degree, which is equal to or more than a reference, to the image feature information (Kambara paragraph [0057] "Regarding the comparison of feature points, the similar feature point number identification unit 251 determines similar feature points for the feature points and respective local feature amounts of the read product information with respect to the feature points and respective local feature amounts of the object […] The similar feature point number specifying unit 251 provisionally determines the product candidate with the largest number of similar feature points, which is equal to or greater than a predetermined number, as the product candidate most similar to the product"), and selecting the product external appearance information that should be compared with the image feature information from among the product external appearance information of each product, based on the determined management unit (Kambara paragraph [0060] "The missized product identification unit 253 identifies missized products that are different in size from the list of similar products sent to the similar feature point number identification unit 251").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Tanii, Liu, and Kambara references presented in the rejection of claim 1, applies to claim 3. Finally the system recited in claim 3 is met by Tanii, Liu, and Kambara .
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tanii, Liu, and Kambara teaches “The image analysis system according to claim 1,wherein the reference area is defined for each product (Tanii paragraph [0045] "In the face processing, it is preferable to perform a process of identifying attribute information of the product in the face area").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Tanii, Liu, and Kambara references presented in the rejection of claim 1, applies to claim 4. Finally the system recited in claim 4 is met by Tanii, Liu, and Kambara .
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tanii, Liu, and Kambara teaches “The image analysis system according to claim 1,wherein the operations further comprise determining the management unit (Kambara paragraph [0061] "The size comparison unit 254 compares the size of the object with the size of the missized product, and determines which range of sizes of the missized product the size of the object belongs to") by using a ratio of a size of the reference area with respect to the image area of the product (Tanii paragraph [0045] "In the face processing, it is preferable to perform a process of identifying attribute information of the product in the face area […] identifying the shape and aspect ratio of the product shown in the face area, it is also possible to identify the character string in the face area by performing OCR recognition processing on the image information of the face area, and to identify the color information (color information including hue, brightness, and saturation) of the image information in the face area and the proportion of its area") in a height direction (Tanii paragraph [0055] "Package shape includes the product shape (an attribute related to the product's external shape (shape), such as bottle, can, box, bag, bottle, etc.), actual dimensions (product height and width), and aspect ratio (the ratio of product height to width)").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Tanii, Liu, and Kambara references presented in the rejection of claim 1, applies to claim 6. Finally the system recited in claim 6 is met by Tanii, Liu, and Kambara .
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Tanii, Liu, and Kambara teaches “The image analysis system according to claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise detecting, as the reference area, an area associated with a logo of a company or a product brand (Tanii paragraph [0046] "in face processing, a logo (such as a manufacturer logo or brand logo) in the face area may be identified").”
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Tanii, Liu, and Kambara teaches “The image analysis system according to claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise detecting, as the reference area, an area associated with a product display mark (Tanii paragraph [0045] "identifying the shape and aspect ratio of the product shown in the face area, it is also possible to identify the character string in the face area by performing OCR recognition processing on the image information of the face area and to identify the color information (color information including hue, brightness, and saturation) of the image information in the face area and the proportion of its area").”
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Tanii, Liu, and Kambara teaches “The image analysis system according to claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise detecting, as the reference area, an area associated with an indication of special notes (Tanii paragraph [0045] "identifying the shape and aspect ratio of the product shown in the face area, it is also possible to identify the character string in the face area by performing OCR recognition processing on the image information of the face area and to identify the color information (color information including hue, brightness, and saturation) of the image information in the face area and the proportion of its area").”
Claims 9 and 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanii, Liu, and Kambara , in view Yalniz et al. (US 2016/0379080 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tanii, Liu, and Kambara teaches the system of claim 11. However, the combination of Tanii, Liu, and Kambara is not relied on to teach “the operations further comprise detecting, as the reference area, an area associated with a cap portion of a product”.
In an analogous field of endeavor Yalniz teaches “the operations further comprise detecting, as the reference area, an area associated with a cap portion of a product (Yalniz paragraph [0030] "the bottle shape might vary sufficiently such that the feature point extraction might be able to accurately determine the type of object, while in other instances it may be necessary to look at ratios such as bottle height, cap height, label width, and other such measurements with respect to a dimension of the logo or other such scalar element")”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before
effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine a system of identifying products displayed on shelf as taught by the combination of Tanii, Liu, and Kambara to include extracting a cap/sealing portion from an object as taught by Yalniz.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “An image analysis and matching process typically looks for features of an object represented in an image and performs a matching process whereby an attempt is made to locate an object with features that are determined to sufficiently match those of the captured image. It can be difficult to obtain accurate results, however, for objects that have a relatively low number of features that enable those objects to be accurately identified. Further, there can be various objects that are relatively similar such that even if the type of object can be identified, it can be difficult to determine the correct version, size, or model" as noted by the Yalniz disclosure is paragraph 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Tanii, Liu, and Kambara with the Yalniz disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 9 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tanii, Liu, Kambara, and Yalniz teaches “The image analysis system according to claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise detecting, as the reference area, an area associated with a sealing portion of a product package (Yalniz paragraph [0030] "the bottle shape might vary sufficiently such that the feature point extraction might be able to accurately determine the type of object, while in other instances it may be necessary to look at ratios such as bottle height, cap height, label width, and other such measurements with respect to a dimension of the logo or other such scalar element").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Tanii, Liu, Kambara, and Yalniz references presented in the rejection of claim 9, applies to claim 10. Finally the system recited in claim 10 is met by Tanii, Liu, Kambara, and Yalniz.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASPREET KAUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662