DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/29/2024 was filed and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 10-12, 14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ljung (WO2020163672A1; “Ljung”) in view of Lee (WO2019059729A1; “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Ljung discloses broadcasting control information (including SIB1) that is received by a wireless device, where the control information includes information on each of multiple initial bandwidth parts configured/provided by the network node for random access transmission. (Ljung, pg. 16, lines 1-7; Ljung, pg. 16, lines 15-22): receiving, from a base station (BS), configuration information indicating a plurality of initial bandwidth parts (BWPs) that comprise a first initial BWP and a second initial BWP,
Ljung discloses segmenting a total system bandwidth into multiple bandwidth parts (i.e., separated frequency portions), and improving initial access performance over unlicensed RF bands using multiple initial bandwidth parts for spectrum diversity in view of interference (including selecting/using a bandwidth part with less interference). (Ljung, pg. 13, lines 20-23; Ljung, pg. 13, lines 25-30; Ljung, pg. 14, lines 16-23; Ljung, pg. 15, lines 20-24; Ljung, pg. 20, lines 20-27): wherein the first initial BWP and the second initial BWP are separated in a frequency domain to avoid interference on at least one of the plurality of initial BWPs;
With respect to claim 1, Ljung does not explicitly disclose sending an uplink transmission on a second initial bandwidth part based on failure to decode a transmission received in a first initial bandwidth part: and sending, based on failure to decode a first transmission received in the first initial BWP, to the BS, an uplink transmission using the second initial BWP.
However, Lee teaches detecting a “problem” (Lee in Fig. 10 step S1020) for an activated bandwidth part including a case where the UE does not receive a PDCCH or a DCI during a duration, and based on detecting a problem for the first bandwidth part, activating a second bandwidth part (Lee in Fig. 10 step S1030) and performing uplink transmission via the second bandwidth part (including transmitting a random access preamble via the second bandwidth part when a problem of the first bandwidth part is detected). (Lee, para [130]-[135]; Lee, para [151]-[153]; Lee, para [152].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ljung’s multi-initial-bandwidth-part initial access arrangement (used to improve initial access performance and mitigate interference in unlicensed spectrum) to incorporate Lee’s problem-detection and bandwidth-part switching such that, upon failure to decode a transmission (e.g., failure to receive/decode PDCCH/DCI) on a first initial bandwidth part, the UE sends an uplink transmission using a second initial bandwidth part, because Lee provides an analogous recovery mechanism for maintaining/repairing communications when decoding failures or lost control information occur on a currently-used bandwidth part. (Ljung, pg. 13, lines 20-23; Ljung, pg. 15, lines 20-24; Lee, para [130]-[135]; Lee, para [156].)
Doing so would have predictably improved initial access robustness by enabling the UE to continue uplink transmission via an alternative initial bandwidth part when interference/channel conditions prevent successful decoding on the first initial bandwidth part, thereby increasing the likelihood of successful access and communication. (Ljung, pg. 15, lines 20-24; Ljung, pg. 20, lines 20-27; Lee, para [152]-[153].)
Regarding claim 2, Ljung discloses that a bandwidth part consists of a group of contiguous physical resource blocks, and that multiple initial bandwidth parts (e.g., BWPs configured as initial BWPs) are provided, each corresponding to its own frequency-domain PRB/RB set (i.e., a location in the frequency domain). (Ljung, pg. 9, lines 1-4; Ljung, pg. 15, lines 5-7): wherein the first initial BWP indicates a location of a first set of resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain and the second initial BWP indicates a location of a second set of resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain.
Regarding claim 3, Ljung discloses multiple initial bandwidth parts that are distinct bandwidth parts (different frequency portions), and further explains that a bandwidth part is a contiguous PRB group; thus, different initial bandwidth parts correspond to different PRB/RB sets. (Ljung, pg. 9, lines 1-4; Ljung, pg. 15, lines 5-7): wherein the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs are different.
Regarding claim 5, Ljung does not explicitly disclose receiving a downlink transmission using the second initial bandwidth part based on failure to decode a second transmission received using the first initial bandwidth part: further comprising: receiving, based on failure to decode a second transmission received using the first initial BWP, from the BS, a downlink transmission using the second initial BWP.
However, Lee teaches that if a UE fails to receive/detect PDCCH (and/or experiences DCI loss) on an active downlink bandwidth part, the UE switches the active downlink bandwidth part to a particular (second) bandwidth part, and the UE monitors the second bandwidth part (including where the second bandwidth part may be used for monitoring paging/system information). (Lee, para [145]; Lee, para [151]; Lee, para [156].)
Accordingly, the rationale to modify Ljung with Lee is the same as described above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Ljung discloses broadcasting control information including SIB1 that is received by the wireless device, where SIB1/control information is used to convey information on initial bandwidth parts and associated random access resources. (Ljung, pg. 16, lines 1-7; Ljung, pg. 16, lines 15-22; Ljung, pg. 9, lines 20-23; Ljung, pg. 10, lines 1-4): wherein the configuration information is a system information block 1 (SIB1).
Regarding claim 8, Ljung discloses that an initial bandwidth part is also known as an initial uplink bandwidth part and refers to a bandwidth part used for random access by a wireless device, including transmitting a random-access preamble to initiate uplink communication on an initial bandwidth part. (Ljung, pg. 9, lines 5-9; Ljung, pg. 15, lines 14-18): wherein the first initial BWP comprises at least one of a first initial uplink BWP or a first initial downlink BWP.
Regarding claim 9, Ljung discloses multiple initial bandwidth parts over which random access transmission may be performed, including transmitting a random-access preamble on either of multiple initial bandwidth parts to initiate uplink communication. (Ljung, pg. 16, lines 1-7; Ljung, pg. 15, lines 14-18): wherein the second initial BWP comprises at least one of a second initial uplink BWP or a second initial downlink BWP.
Regarding claim 10, Ljung discloses a wireless device/electronic device including a control circuit with a processor and a wireless interface including radio-frequency transceivers (enabling transmit and receive communications with a base station). (Ljung, pg. 12, lines 4-9; Ljung, pg. 13, lines 4-12): A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor; a transmitter; and a receiver,
Regarding claim 10, Ljung discloses broadcasting control information (including SIB1) that is received by a wireless device, where the control information includes information on each of multiple initial bandwidth parts configured/provided by the network node for random access transmission. (Ljung, FIG. 2 element 32; “processor”, pg. 16, lines 1-7; “multiple initial bandwidth parts”; Ljung, pg. 13 lines 8-10: “transceiver”, Ljung, pg. 16, lines 15-22; “initial BWPs”): the processor and the receiver configured to receive, from a base station (BS), configuration information indicating a plurality of initial bandwidth parts (BWPs) that comprise a first initial BWP and a second initial BWP,
Ljung discloses segmenting a total system bandwidth into multiple bandwidth parts (i.e., separated frequency portions), and improving initial access performance over unlicensed RF bands using multiple initial bandwidth parts for spectrum diversity in view of interference (including selecting/using a bandwidth part with less interference). (Ljung, pg. 13, lines 20-23; Ljung, pg. 13, lines 25-30; Ljung, pg. 14, lines 16-23; Ljung, pg. 15, lines 20-24; Ljung, pg. 20, lines 20-27): wherein the first initial BWP and the second initial BWP are separated in a frequency domain to avoid interference on at least one of the plurality of initial BWPs;
With respect to claim 10, Ljung does not explicitly disclose the processor/transmitter sending an uplink transmission on a second initial bandwidth part based on failure to decode a transmission received in a first initial bandwidth part: and the processor and the transmitter configured to send, based on failure to decode a first transmission received in the first initial BWP, to the BS, an uplink transmission using the second initial BWP.
However, Lee teaches detecting a “problem” for an activated bandwidth part including a case where the UE does not receive a PDCCH or a DCI during a duration, and based on detecting a problem for the first bandwidth part, activating a second bandwidth part and performing uplink transmission via the second bandwidth part (including transmitting a random access preamble via the second bandwidth part when a problem of the first bandwidth part is detected). (Lee, para [130]-[135]; Lee, para [151]-[153]; Lee, para [152].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ljung’s WTRU arrangement (using multiple initial bandwidth parts to improve initial access performance and mitigate interference in unlicensed spectrum) to incorporate Lee’s problem-detection and bandwidth-part switching such that, upon failure to decode a transmission (e.g., failure to receive/decode PDCCH/DCI) on a first initial bandwidth part, the WTRU sends an uplink transmission using a second initial bandwidth part, because Lee provides an analogous recovery mechanism for maintaining/repairing communications when decoding failures or lost control information occur on a currently-used bandwidth part. (Ljung, pg. 13, lines 20-23; Ljung, pg. 15, lines 20-24; Lee, para [130]-[135]; Lee, para [156].)
Doing so would have predictably improved initial access robustness by enabling the WTRU to continue uplink transmission via an alternative initial bandwidth part when interference/channel conditions prevent successful decoding on the first initial bandwidth part, thereby increasing the likelihood of successful access and communication. (Ljung, pg. 15, lines 20-24; Ljung, pg. 20, lines 20-27; Lee, para [152]-[153].)
Regarding claim 11, Ljung discloses that a bandwidth part consists of a group of contiguous physical resource blocks, and that multiple initial bandwidth parts are provided, each corresponding to its own frequency-domain PRB/RB set (i.e., a location in the frequency domain). (Ljung, pg. 9, lines 1-4; Ljung, pg. 15, lines 5-7): wherein the first initial BWP indicates a location of a first set of resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain and the second initial BWP indicates a location of a second set of resource blocks (RBs) in the frequency domain.
Regarding claim 12, Ljung discloses multiple initial bandwidth parts that are distinct bandwidth parts (different frequency portions), and further explains that a bandwidth part is a contiguous PRB group; thus, different initial bandwidth parts correspond to different PRB/RB sets. (Ljung, pg. 9, lines 1-4; Ljung, pg. 15, lines 5-7): wherein the first set of RBs and the second set of RBs are different.
Regarding claim 14, Ljung does not explicitly disclose receiving a downlink transmission using the second initial bandwidth part based on failure to decode a second transmission received using the first initial bandwidth part: wherein the processor and the receiver are further configured to receive, based on failure to decode a second transmission received using the first initial BWP, from the BS, a downlink transmission using the second initial BWP.
However, Lee teaches that if a UE fails to receive/detect PDCCH (and/or experiences DCI loss) on an active downlink bandwidth part, the UE switches the active downlink bandwidth part to a particular (second) bandwidth part, and the UE monitors the second bandwidth part (including where the second bandwidth part may be used for monitoring paging/system information). (Lee, para [145]; Lee, para [151]; Lee, para [156].)
Accordingly, the rationale to modify Ljung with Lee is the same as described above for claim 10.
Regarding claim 16, Ljung discloses broadcasting control information including SIB1 that is received by the wireless device, where SIB1/control information is used to convey information on initial bandwidth parts and associated random access resources. (Ljung, pg. 16, lines 1-7; Ljung, pg. 16, lines 15-22; Ljung, pg. 9, lines 20-23; Ljung, pg. 10, lines 1-4): wherein the configuration information is a system information block 1 (SIB1).
Regarding claim 17, Ljung discloses that an initial bandwidth part is also known as an initial uplink bandwidth part and refers to a bandwidth part used for random access by a wireless device, including transmitting a random access preamble to initiate uplink communication on an initial bandwidth part. (Ljung, pg. 9, lines 5-9; Ljung, pg. 15, lines 14-18): wherein the first initial BWP comprises at least one of a first initial uplink BWP or a first initial downlink BWP.
Regarding claim 18, Ljung discloses multiple initial bandwidth parts over which random access transmission may be performed, including transmitting a random access preamble on either of multiple initial bandwidth parts to initiate uplink communication. (Ljung, pg. 16, lines 1-7; Ljung, pg. 15, lines 14-18): wherein the second initial BW comprises at least one of a second initial uplink BWP or a second initial downlink BWP.
Claims 4, 6, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ljung (WO2020163672A1; “Ljung”) in view of Lee (WO2019059729A1; “Lee”) and further in view of Shih (US10701734B2; “Shih”).
Regarding claim 4, Ljung in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose that the uplink transmission comprises one or more preambles that are sent using a physical random access channel (PRACH). Lee also does not explicitly disclose that the uplink transmission comprises one or more preambles that are sent using a physical random access channel (PRACH): wherein the uplink transmission comprises one or more preambles that are sent using a physical random access channel (PRACH).
However, Shih teaches transmitting a random access preamble using PRACH, including instructing the physical layer to transmit the preamble using the selected PRACH, and allocating PRACH resources for Msg1 transmission when a random access procedure is initiated. (Shih, col. 14, lines 39-43; Shih, col. 25, lines 12-16; Shih, col. 25, lines 17-18.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to further modify Ljung in view of Lee to implement the random access preamble transmission using PRACH as taught by Shih, because Shih provides an explicit PRACH-based mechanism for transmitting the random access preamble on a selected bandwidth part, yielding a predictable implementation detail for the uplink preamble transmission contemplated by Ljung and Lee. (Shih, col. 14, lines 39-43; Shih, col. 25, lines 12-18.)
Regarding claim 6, Ljung in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose that the downlink transmission is a random access response (RAR).Lee also does not explicitly disclose that the downlink transmission is a random access response (RAR): wherein the downlink transmission is a random access response (RAR).However, Shih teaches that Msg2 is a Random Access Response (RAR) of the random access procedure (including referring to “Msg2 (RAR)” and stating that Msg2 could be a Random Access Response of the random access procedure). (Shih, col. 21, lines 49-52; Shih, col. 25, lines 17-19.)
Accordingly, the rationale to further modify Ljung in view of Lee with Shih is the same as described in claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 13, Ljung in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose that the uplink transmission comprises one or more preambles that are sent using a physical random access channel (PRACH). Lee also does not explicitly disclose that the uplink transmission comprises one or more preambles that are sent using a physical random access channel (PRACH): wherein the uplink transmission comprises one or more preambles that are sent using a physical random access channel (PRACH).
However, Shih teaches transmitting a random access preamble using PRACH, including instructing the physical layer to transmit the preamble using the selected PRACH, and allocating PRACH resources for Msg1 transmission when a random access procedure is initiated. (Shih, col. 14, lines 39-43; Shih, col. 25, lines 12-16; Shih, col. 25, lines 17-18.)
Accordingly, the rationale to further modify Ljung in view of Lee with Shih is the same as described in claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 15, Ljung in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose that the downlink transmission is a random access response (RAR).Lee also does not explicitly disclose that the downlink transmission is a random access response (RAR): wherein the downlink transmission is a random access response (RAR).However, Shih teaches that Msg2 is a Random Access Response (RAR) of the random access procedure (including referring to “Msg2 (RAR)” and stating that Msg2 could be a Random Access Response of the random access procedure). (Shih, col. 21, lines 49-52; Shih, col. 25, lines 17-19.)
Accordingly, the rationale to further modify Ljung in view of Lee with Shih is the same as described in claim 6 above.
Conclusion
/CHONGSUH PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478