DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The term, “reference” in claims 4 and 9 is being interpreted as a “reference value” from the specification. If the applicant believes that this interpretation is in error, they may respond to this interpretation in response to this action. This would be different from newly added claims 14 and 17 as they require a “predetermined reference value”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12, 14-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite a mental process with generic computer elements. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generic computer elements do not constitute significantly more. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the recited memory and processor are generic computer components performing basic tasks, the processor executes instructions and the memory stores data.
In regards to claim 1, an image analysis system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising: acquiring identification results of a plurality of products captured in an image (A person of ordinary skill in the art can store instructions, process instructions, and execute those instructions in an analogous way to a generically recited processor and memory and further a person of ordinary skill in the art can identify a plurality of products in an image); determining, based on the acquired identification results, a pair of adjacent products having different identification results as a processing target (A person of ordinary skill in the art can identify two adjacent but different products as a target); extracting, in response to determining the processing target, first feature information from an image region of a first product of the pair and second feature information from an image region of a second product of the pair (A person of ordinary skill in the art can identify certain features and their information of a product such as shape, color, brand, and etc.); computing a first matching degree based on a comparison of the first feature information and the second feature information (A person of ordinary skill in the art can further identify if two features are matching between the two object); and assessing correction necessity of the identification result of the first product or the identification result of the second product, based on the first matching degree (A person of ordinary skill in the art may further correct their identification based upon the matching degree).
In regards to claim 2, wherein the operations further comprise correcting one of the identification result of the first product and the identification result of the second product in response to assessment indicating necessity of correction of the identification result of the first product or the identification result of the second product, the assessment being made based on the first matching degree (A person of ordinary skill in the art can correct their identification of a product based on any number of factors including the first matching degree).
In regards to claim 3, wherein the operations further comprise acquiring a second matching degree indicating a matching degree, for each of the first product and the second product, with master information relating to each product (A person of ordinary skill could create a second degree based on a different feature in a binary manner, and the claimed master information is just features of the product that are to be compared which a person would possess via their senses or prior knowledge), deciding, from the identification results of the first product and the second product, the identification result with the higher second matching degree as an identification result of the first product and the second product (A person of ordinary skill in the art could assign a identification result to both products based on the second degree).
In regards to claim 4, wherein he operations further comprise computing a second matching degree indicating a matching degree between the image region of the first product and an image region of a third product when the third product is present adjacent to the first product at a position different from the second product and has the identification result identical to that of the second product (A person of ordinary skill in the art can combine three different products using binary degrees or find a third product on the same shelf that can be compared to one of the other two products), correcting the identification result of the first product when the second matching degree is equal to or greater than a reference (A person can correct the identification of this first result based on the degree if it is greater or equal to some value, in a binary case, if it is greater than 0 or equal to 1).
In regards to claim 5, wherein the operations further comprise acquiring information indicating an image region of a placement member that places a product (A person of ordinary skill in the art can see what a product is upon in an image), and determining, as the first product and the second product, two products adjacent to each other in a direction orthogonal to the placement member without the placement member being interposed therebetween (A person of ordinary skill in the art can see products next to each other that are adjacent to each other and upon the same placement member or shelf).
In regards to claims 6 and 11, they are similar to claim 1, and they are similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 7, it is similar to claim 2, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 8, it is similar to claim 3, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 9, it is similar to claim 4, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 10, it is similar to claim 5, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 12, further comprising correcting one of the identification result of the first product and the identification result of the second product in response to assessing that correction is necessary based on the first matching degree, wherein the correcting comprises: acquiring, for each of the first product and the second product, a second matching degree indicating a matching degree with master information relating to each product (A person of ordinary skill in the art can observe how much two products match based off two degrees based around the similarity between the features of the products); and deciding, from the identification results of the first product and the second product, the identification result with the higher second matching degree as an identification result of the first product and the second product (A person of ordinary skill in the art could further identify which one is more matching and decide to go with the identification that matches the most).
In regards to claim 14, wherein the assessing comprises assessing that correction is required for the identification result of the first product or the identification result of the second product based on the first matching degree being equal to or greater than a predetermined reference value (A person of ordinary skill in the art can .determine if a degree is greater than a predetermined threshold and choose to go with the associated identification result over another).
In regards to claim 15, it is similar to claim 12, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 17, it is similar to claim 14, and it is similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akatsuka et al. (US 20200394599 A1).
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Akatsuka et al. (US 20200394599 A1), hereinafter referred to as Akatsuka.
In regards to claim 1, Akatsuka discloses an image analysis system comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising: acquiring identification results of a plurality of products captured in an image (Paragraphs 7 and 34, Paragraph 34 discloses the use of a memory and processor to store and execute instructions. Paragraph 7 discloses that multiple products are recognized or identified as a particular product); determining, based on the acquired identification results, a pair of adjacent products having different identification results as a processing target (Paragraphs 117-120 and paragraph 8, Paragraph 8 discloses that the product areas include adjacently placed product and paragraphs 117-120 disclose that the determination unit determines if further processing is needed for that product area); extracting, in response to determining the processing target, first feature information from an image region of a first product of the pair and second feature information from an image region of a second product of the pair (Paragraphs 61-63, The relevancy information for each object or target is enough to read upon the feature information requirements as disclosed); computing a first matching degree based on a comparison of the first feature information and the second feature information (Paragraphs 63-64 with Figure 8, Discloses the use of degrees that reflect the differences and matching elements between two products with the products in the figure being adjacent to each other); and assessing correction necessity of the identification result of the first product or the identification result of the second product, based on the first matching degree (Paragraphs 99-101, Discloses that the correction unit corrects products based on information from the determination unit such as the previously disclosed degree as illustrated, and paragraph 99 corroborates this assessment).
In regards to claim 2 Akatsuka discloses wherein the operations further comprise correcting one of the identification result of the first product and the identification result of the second product in response to assessment indicating necessity of correction of the identification result of the first product or the identification result of the second product, the assessment being made based on the first matching degree (Paragraphs 99-101, Discloses that the correction unit corrects products based on information from the determination unit such as the previously disclosed degree as illustrated, and paragraph 99 corroborates this assessment).
In regards to claim 3, Akatsuka discloses wherein the operations further comprise acquiring a second matching degree indicating a matching degree, for each of the first product and the second product, with master information relating to each product (Paragraphs 63-64 and Figure 8, Paragraphs 63-64 assign values to a number of aspects to the product which corresponds with the master information as paragraph 31 defines the “master information” as “(feature information to be compared at a time of identifying each of the products)”), deciding, from the identification results of the first product and the second product, the identification result with the higher second matching degree as an identification result of the first product and the second product (Paragraphs 99-101, Paragraphs 99-101 disclose correction the identification result based on which product has the higher validity based on factors from the determination unit based on degree, so this would be implicitly covered).
In regards to claim 4, Akatsuka discloses wherein he operations further comprise computing a second matching degree indicating a matching degree between the image region of the first product and an image region of a third product when the third product is present adjacent to the first product at a position different from the second product and has the identification result identical to that of the second product (Paragraphs 7, 63-64, and with Figure 8, Paragraph 7 discloses that there can be multiple second products which would read upon the third product limitation, paragraphs 63-64 disclose the calculation of a degree of matching figures), correcting the identification result of the first product when the second matching degree is equal to or greater than a reference (Paragraphs 99-101, Paragraphs 99-101 disclose the correcting of identification results due to differences in value when compared to a threshold or other form of numerical reference).
In regards to claim 5, Akatsuka discloses wherein the operations further comprise acquiring information indicating an image region of a placement member that places a product (Paragraphs 57-58, Discloses that the analyzing unit can figure out where the shelf boards are positioned in the picture as the specification uses the term shelf to refer to a placement member), and determining, as the first product and the second product, two products adjacent to each other in a direction orthogonal to the placement member without the placement member being interposed therebetween (Paragraph 47 and Figures 3-4, 5, 8-9, and 11-15, As the products can be located adjacent to each other on the same shelf, this covers this limitation. The figures presented here all display objects or some objects on each shelf that comply with this limitation).
In regards to claims 6 and 11, they are similar to claim 1, and they are similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 7, it is similar to claim 2, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 8, it is similar to claim 3, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 9, it is similar to claim 4, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 10, it is similar to claim 5, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 12, Akatsuka discloses further comprising correcting one of the identification result of the first product and the identification result of the second product in response to assessing that correction is necessary based on the first matching degree, wherein the correcting comprises: acquiring, for each of the first product and the second product, a second matching degree indicating a matching degree with master information relating to each product (Paragraphs 63-64 and Figure 8, Paragraphs 63-64 assign values to a number of aspects to the product which corresponds with the master information as paragraph 31 defines the “master information” as “(feature information to be compared at a time of identifying each of the products)”); and deciding, from the identification results of the first product and the second product, the identification result with the higher second matching degree as an identification result of the first product and the second product (Paragraphs 99-101, Paragraphs 99-101 disclose correction the identification result based on which product has the higher validity based on factors from the determination unit based on degree, so this would be implicitly covered).
In regards to claim 13, Akatsuka discloses wherein the acquiring comprises: extracting an image region associated with each product from the image (Abstract and Figure 4, Discloses that the product area images contain regions for the products); and identifying a product associated with each extracted image region based on position coordinates of the image region in an image coordinate system (Paragraphs 56-58, Discloses the use of coordinate values and coordinates to identify certain labels and positions associated with products).
In regards to claim 14, Akatsuka discloses wherein the assessing comprises assessing that correction is required for the identification result of the first product or the identification result of the second product based on the first matching degree being equal to or greater than a predetermined reference value (Paragraphs 99-101, Paragraphs 99-101 disclose the correcting of identification results due to differences in value when compared to a threshold or other form of numerical reference).
In regards to claim 15, it is similar to claim 12, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 16, it is similar to claim 13, and it is similarly rejected.
In regards to claim 17, it is similar to claim 14, and it is similarly rejected.
Response to Amendment
The amendment entered 6/22/2026 has been considered in full. The amendment to the specification has overcome all specification objections. Further, the claim interpretation from the original non-final rejection is maintained and further elaborated on. The newly added claims do not introduce any 35 U.S.C. 112 issues. Newly recited claim 13 is not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, but all of the other claims are rejected under it. The newly recited claims did not overcome the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to the arguments against the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 101, they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges that the human mind does not extract feature information from regions of an image. In paragraph 34 of applicant’s specification, applicant gives an example of feature information, “For example, the correction necessity assessment unit 120 extract various pieces of image feature information that may indicate an exterior feature of a product, from each of the image regions by using a known method.” This feature information, by applicant’s own specification, can be something that indicates an exterior feature of a product such as the color of the product, the shape of the product, the brand of the product, and etc. However, even if this line was absent from applicant’s specification, the argument is not persuasive. The term, “feature information” is a very broad term that has a broadest reasonable interpretation of any information of a feature of an object. A person can clearly use observation to identify exterior features of various objects or products. Applicant further alleges that a human being does not compute a matching degree based on a comparison of such information. However, this is not persuasive. A “matching degree” has a broadest reasonable interpretation of to what degree do two objects match. This is not intrinsically a numerical degree, so it can simply be that two features appear similar or appear differently. However, even if limited to a numerical degree, a person can clearly ascertain whether two products are completely different like a car tire and a box of cereal where the numerical degree of similarity is zero or in situations where the two products match perfectly such as two identical tires or two identical boxes of cereal. Applicant further alleges that the newly added claim language where a processing target is determined makes it solve a specific technical problem is also not persuasive. MPEP 2106.05(a)(I) notes that improvements to computer functionality cannot be able to be performed entirely mentally in a person’s head. As to current claims, this argument is unpersuasive. Applicant further alleges that the claim introduces something significantly more because of MPEP 2106.05(1)(A)(v) because the claim adds something unconventional and not well understood or routine. Applicant’s argument does not mention what is actually not well-understood, conventional, or routine. So, this argument is not persuasive.
In regards to the arguments made against the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102, they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Akatsuka’s relevancy information is not image feature information extracted from the image regions. The relevancy information of Akatsuka is taken from images taken of the products. As such, this argument is not persuasive. Applicant alleges that Akatsuka processes all areas equally which is in contrast with the claimed invention which processes dynamically. Akatsuka’s determination unit would cover the processing dynamically. However, the claim language as currently written does not require any dynamic processing, and it merely requires a determination of a target. This would not preclude the claimed invention from processing an entire area. As such, this argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CONOR AIDAN. O'MALLEY
Examiner
Art Unit 2675
/CONOR A O'MALLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2675
/GREGORY A MORSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2698