Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 18, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 17, the limitation “a heat source and/or heat hotspot occurring or located on the carrier element” lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear if the claim is indicating a claimed structural element within the device or acknowledging an exterior characteristic. If the “heat source” is to be part of the claimed device, it needs to be positively recited as a claimed element. Otherwise, any potential “heat source and/or heat hotspot” is an intended use limitation and cannot structurally define the first portion of the row.
With respect to claim 18, the limitation “panel-shaped” lacks a clear definition. There is well understood definition for “panel-shaped” in this art and generally speaking “panel-shaped” has many different definitions based upon the area of interest. For example, a panel-shaped door may be rectangular with different level insets or a “panel-shaped” skirt is made out of several triangular pieces. In its broadest sense, panel usually refers to a flat surface. It is unclear what is meant by the phrase and the specification provides no additional definition. Clarification is required.
With respect to claims 22 and 23, the limitation “one or more devices for processing including separating, transporting, testing, sorting, dispending, and/or destroying” is unclear. It is unclear if the “separating, transporting, testing, sorting, dispensing, and/or destroying” are further defining “processing” or if they are in addition to any processing. In addition, the limitation “in particular banknotes” is unclear if the valuable document is optionally or required to be banknotes. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-16, 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Albines U.S. Patent #12,106,592.
With respect to claim 12, Albines discloses a document reader comprising:
A carrier element (Figure 2, 3, carrier element = light chamber 200)
A plurality of radiation sources arranged on the carrier element in a row configured to emit electromagnetic radiation for illuminating a valuable document (Figure 3, plurality of radiation sources = 50, Col.6, l 53-62)
Wherein a cutout is provided in the carrier element in a manner spaced apart from the radiation sources arranged in the row and extending over a first portion of the row (Figure 2, cutout = transparent platform 10c in top cover)
Wherein the carrier element has a heat transfer capability in a region of the carrier element located in the first portion of the row which is reduced in relation to that in a region of the carrier element located in another portion of the row (Col.7, l 37-38, inherent that any structure placed in an open travel path of radiation will reduce the heat transfer of that radiation)
With respect to claim 13, 14, 15, 16, 19, 20, 21, 22, and 23, Albines discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 12 above. In addition, Albines discloses:
13- The row in which the radiation sources are arranged runs in a substantially straight line (Figure 3, array of LEDs 50)
14- the cutout extends substantially parallel to the row (Figure 3, the plane of the cut out is parallel to the plane of the LED array)
15- the first portion of the row, over which the cutout extends, is located at one end of the row (Figure 3, the cut out seems to extend over the entire row of LEDs which includes at least one end of the row)
16- the cutout is located at an edge of the carrier element (Figure 2, wherein the cutout = transparent platform 10c is at the top edge of the carrier element= light chamber 200)
19- the cutout is in the form of a depression, in particular a contiguous depression, in the carrier element (Col.11, l 35-46, wherein the cutout is the area without the “sticker” or coating such that it is a depression/sunken area within the surface 10d)
20- the cutout is in the form of a perforation, in particular a contiguous perforation (Figure 3, cutout is a perforation/hole in the frame filled by a transparent platform)
21- a device for detecting the radiation emanating from a valuable document irradiated with electromagnetic radiation by the illumination device (Figure 3, device for detecting = camera 40, Col.2, l 14-23)
22/23- device for processing valuable documents (Col.1, l 52-54, Col.2, l 60-61, device = kiosk)
Claim(s) 12-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takenouchi et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0036891.
With respect to claim 12, Takenouchi discloses an object verification device comprising:
A carrier element (Figure 4, 5, carrier element = support element 6)
A plurality of radiation sources arranged on the carrier element in a row configured to emit electromagnetic radiation for illuminating a valuable document (Figure 4, 5, plurality of radiation sources = LED array 7)
Wherein a cutout is provided in the carrier element in a manner spaced apart from the radiation sources arranged in the row and extending over a first portion of the row (Figure 4, 5, cutout = unlabeled rectangular notch in the side of the support 6, wherein first portion of the row = UV1-WL1 alongside the notch)
Wherein the carrier element has a heat transfer capability in a region of the carrier element located in the first portion of the row which is reduced in relation to that in a region of the carrier element located in another portion of the row (inherent that having a cutout will reduce the heat transfer of the carrier element by not having structure for the heat to transfer through, more so than the side areas that have a contiguous support surface)
With respect to claim 13-23, Takenouchi discloses all of the limitations as applied to claim 12 above. In addition, Takenouchi discloses:
13- The row in which the radiation sources are arranged runs in a substantially straight line (Figure 5, LED array 7)
14- the cutout extends substantially parallel to the row (Figure 5, cutout extends alongside end of one row = portion of row with UV1-WL2)
15- the first portion of the row, over which the cutout extends, is located at one end of the row (Figure 5, cutout extends alongside end of one row = portion of row with UV1-WL2)
16- the cutout is located at an edge of the carrier element (Figure 5, cutout is along edge of 6)
17- the first portion of the row has a greater distance from a heat source on the carrier element during the operation of the device than the other portion of the row (Figure 5, wherein a heat source = any light sources at the opposite end of the carrier 6 from the cutout)
18- the carrier element has a panel shaped carrier on which the radiation sources are arranged and in which the cutout is provided (Figure 5, panel is not a defined shape, could be any form, support 6 could be interpreted as a panel shape, see 112 above)
19- the cutout is in the form of a depression, in particular a contiguous depression, in the carrier element (Figure 5, the cutout is a bump in along edge of 6 = depression)
20- the cutout is in the form of a perforation, in particular a contiguous perforation (Figure 5, the cutout is an area perforated from the surface 6)
21- a device for detecting the radiation emanating from a valuable document irradiated with electromagnetic radiation by the illumination device (Figure 4, device for detecting radiation = camera 13)
22/23- device for processing valuable documents (P.0008, P.0085)
Citation
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sato et al. U.S. Publication 2024/0312280 discloses an optical sensor for bill validation
Conclusion
/REBECCA C BRYANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877