Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9,12,13,18, and 28, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9,12,13 and 28, the phrases " such as, in particular, including, for example...etc." render the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Specifically, claim 9, recites “such as”; claim 12, recites “in particular”, “or example”, “including’, “such as”; claim 13, recites “such as”; claim 28, recites “such as”, “all types”, and “including” Moreover, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP §2173.05(c).
With regard to claim 18, the phrase “molecularly solved in the plastic article” renders the claim indefinite since the meaning is unclear. Paragraph [0082] of the specification only repeats the phrase without properly defining applicant’s intended meaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2021013842 in view of WO199209413A1 (WO-9209413-A1) see page 3 lines 12-22, 29-34, and page 4 lines 21-25; further in view of EP0262897 see pages 2-4.
Claim 1 is directed to a decontamination bath for decontaminating
plastic articles comprising a contaminant, wherein the decontamination bath comprises:
water, a non-polar organic solvent component, optionally an anionic and/or non-ionic surfactant, a resoiling inhibitor, and an alkaline agent or an acidic agent for adjusting the pH of the decontamination bath, wherein the amount of the non-polar organic solvent component in the decontamination bath is 0-1 wt% to 25 wt% based on the total weight of the decontamination bath, and wherein the decontamination bath comprises the alkaline agent and the pH of the decontamination bath is ≥ 8, or wherein the decontamination bath comprises the acidic agent and the pH of the decontamination bath is ≤ 6.
The reference WO2021013842 is directed to a bath for removing a coloring contaminant from a plastic article. For example, in Example 34, the reference uses a bath containing 800ml of water, 200ml of ethanol, and a polymeric material that serves as a resoiling inhibitor. The pH of the bath is adjusted to 8 by adding NaOH.
WO2021013842 does not disclose using a nonpolar organic solvent in the bath.
WO199209413A1 discloses removing an organic contaminant from shredded plastic by using nonpolar hydrocarbon solvents. The reference discloses gasoline fractions, pentane, hexane, and mixtures of pentane and hexane as suitable solvents. See page 3 lines 12-22 and page 4 lines 21-25. The reference also states that waster does not interfere with the process. See page 3 lines 29-34.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the polar solvent used in WO2021013842 with one of the nonpolar solvents taught by nonpolar organic solvent
WO199209413A1 since both references use a solvent bath to remove organic material from plastic. A person skilled in the art would have selected the solvent based on the type of contaminant being removed since using a nonpolar solvent to remove a nonpolar or hydrophobic contaminant would have produced an expected result. Lastly, WO2021013842 uses 200mol of organic solvent with 800ml of water. Using pentane or hexane in the same proportion would resulting in approximately 13-14wt% nonpolar solvent and falls within the claimed range of 0.1wt% to 25wt%.
Claim 2 is directed to the decontamination bath according to the previous claim 1, wherein the non-polar organic solvent component is selected from aromatic non-polar solvents, aliphatic non-polar solvents, and mixtures thereof.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses using nonpolar aliphatic solvents, including gasoline, pentane, and hexane , to clean shredded plastic. See Example 34 and WO199209413A1 page 3 lines 12-22.
Claim 3 is directed to the decontamination bath according to claim 2,wherein the aliphatic non-polar solvent is selected from straight, branched, saturated,
unsaturated, and/or cyclic C₅ to C₁₆ aliphatic hydrocarbons.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO199209413A1 discloses using straight chain and branched saturated hydrocarbons including pentane and hexane. See page 3 lines 12-22.
Claim 4 is directed to the decontamination bath according to claim 2,
wherein the aromatic non-polar solvent is selected from C1 to C₅ - alkyl substituted benzene, C2 -alkyl substituted benzene, Xylol, C₃ - alkyl substituted benzene, 1,3,5-trimethylbenzene, 1-ethyl-4-methylbenzene, prop-1-en-2-ylbenzene, propan-2-ylbenzene, propyl benzene, and C₃ -alkyl substituted benzene.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO199209413A1 discloses using a nonpolar solvent based on the material that is to be removed. See page 3 lines 12-20.
Claim 5 is directed to the decontamination bath according to claim 1,
wherein the non-polar organic solvent component comprises straight, branched, saturated, unsaturated, and/or cyclic C₅ to C₁₆ aliphatic hydrocarbons.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO199209413A1 discloses using straight chain and branched saturated hydrocarbons including ethane and hexane. See page 3 lines 12-22.
Claim 6 is directed to the decontamination bath according to claim 1,
wherein the non-polar organic solvent component comprises of straight, branched, saturated, unsaturated and/or cyclic C₇ to C9 aliphatic hydrocarbons or mixture thereof, or wherein the non-polar organic solvent component is a petroleum fraction having a boiling range of 100 °C to 140 °C.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO199209413A1 discloses gasoline and teaches selecting the solvent according to the contamination being removed. See page 3 lines 12-22 With regard to the use of the claimed range, one would have been motivated to employ particular parameters as known in the art, since the primary reference discusses the generally use of such and generally, it is prima facie obvious to determine workable or optimal values within a prior art disclosure through the application of routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); and In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (CA Fed 2003).
Claim 7 is directed to the decontamination bath according to claim 1. wherein the decontamination bath comprises the anionic and/or non-ionic surfactant in an amount of 0,01 wt% to 10 wt% based on the total weight of the decontamination bath.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since, in addition to the discussion for WO2021013842 and WO199209413A1 above, EP0262897 discloses detergent compositions containing anionic and nonionic surfactants in amounts that overlap the claimed range. See pages 2-4.
Claim 8 is directed to the decontamination bath according to claim 1, wherein the non-ionic surfactant is selected from the group comprising aromatic esters, aromatic and non-aromatic carboxylic acid esters, ethyl acrylate, fatty acid esters, alkoxylated, preferably ethoxylated or ethoxylated and propoxylated fatty acid esters, alkoxylated, preferably ethoxylated or ethoxylated and propoxylated fatty acids, poly oxyethylated compounds derived from sorbitol and oleic acid, polysorbate 20, polysorbate 40, polysorbate 60, polysorbate 65, polysorbate 80,polymers that are fatty acid-based with a non-ionic group per molecule, acrylate-copolymers, acrylate/styrene copolymers, fatty acid derivatives, polyalkoxylate, and- -2-(2-butoxy-ethoxy)ethanol and isotridecanol ethoxylate;
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since, in addition to the discussion for WO2021013842 and WO199209413A1 above, EP0262897 discloses detergent compositions containing anionic and nonionic surfactants made from fatty acids, fatty acid esters and ethoxylated compounds to improve wetting and dispersion. See pages 1-3 and claims 4-7.
Claim 9 is directed to the decontamination bath according to claim 8, wherein the aromatic ester is selected from benzoic acid benzyl esters, naphthalic acid benzyl esters, phthalic acid benzyl esters and/or isophthalic acid benzyl esters, mixed aromatic aliphatic esters comprising benzyl butyl phthalates, and aliphatic esters comprising benzoic acid butyl esters, phthalic acid dibutyl esters, and/or isophthalic acid dibutyl esters; and preferably benzoic acid benzyl ester, benzoic acid esters such as benzyl benzoate, alkyl benzoates such as methyl or ethyl benzoate, naphthalic acid esters, phthalic acid esters.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses adding benzyl benzoate to the decontamination bath. See Example 34.
Claim 10 is directed to the decontamination bath according to
claim 1, wherein the anionic surfactant is selected from the group comprising alkaline salts of a sulfonic acid, wherein the sulfonic acid is selected from the group comprising alkyl benzenesulfonic acid, alkyl naphthalene sulfonic acid, alkyl phthalic
sulfonic acid, isophthalic sulfonic acid benzyl, and a C9-C13-alkyl benzenesulfonic acid.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since , in addition to the discussion for WO2021013842 and WO199209413A1 above, EP0262897 discloses the use of sodium or potassium alkylbenzene sulfonates including the claimed C10-C15 alkylbenzene sulfanates which are also alkaline salts. See page 2, and claims 1 and 5 of EP0262897.
Claim 11 is directed to the decontamination bath according to
claim 1, wherein the decontamination bath comprises the resoiling inhibitor in an
amount of 0-001 wt% to 10 wt% based on the total weight of the decontamination bath.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses in Example 34 the use of 2g of a plyacrylamide-c0-sodium methacrylate hydrogel in about 1kg of bath which falls withing or overlaps the claimed range and it is prima facie obvious to determine workable or optimal values within a prior art disclosure through the application of routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); and In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (CA Fed 2003).
Claim 12 is directed to the decontamination bath according to
claim 1 wherein the resoiling inhibitor is selected from the group comprising; polymeric resoiling inhibitors, in particular polyvinylpyrrolidone, derivatives of
polyvinylpyrrolidone, such as poly(4-vinylpyridine-N-oxide) and/or polyvinylpyrrolidone-
Betaine, copolymers formed of vinylpyrrolidone and vinyl imidazole, copolymers formed of vinylpyrrolidone and Poly-4-vinylpyridine-N-oxide, sulfonates comprising an aromatic group, salts of polydiallyl dimethylammonium, for example PolyDADMAC, copolymers of
polydiallyl dimethylammonium formed with acrylic and/or methacrylic acid, copolymers of
polydiallyl dimethylammonium formed with acrylamide and/or vinylpyrrolidone, saccharide /acrylate copolymers, polycarboxylic acids and copolymers, acrylate copolymers, polymeric carboxylic acid containing polyphosphates, amphiphilic block-copolymers, polyquatermiums; polyvinyl imidazole and copolymers of polyvinyl imidazole for example with polyvinyl pyrrolidone; ionic compounds comprising polymeric metasilicate anions such as waterglass; phosphonates, dye transfer inhibitors comprising a combination of a) hydrocarbyl substituted pyridine or a polymer or oligomer including vinylpyridine monomer units and b) a hydrocarbyl sulfonic acid such as 2-acrylamido-2-methylpropane sulfonic acid monomer or a polymer formed from said-the monomer, surfactant-free colloid systems based on inorganic salts, such as disodium metasilicate pentahydrate or colloid systems based on phosphates.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses using a polymer containing sodium methacrylate in Example 34. EP0262897 discloses using polyvinylpyrrolidone as a dye transfer and soil suspending polymer in claims 1-3 and pages 1-2.
Claim 13 is directed to the decontamination bath according to of
previous-claims claim 1, wherein the decontamination bath further comprises an oxidizing agent, selected from the group comprising a peroxide, peroxyacetic acid, hydrogen peroxide, peroxodisulfate, ozone, sodium percarbonate, sodium perborate, sodium percarbonate, m-nitrobenzol sulfonate, H2SO4, HNO₃, oxygen-containing anions (oxo anions) of transition metals in high oxidation states such as permanganate MnO₄⁻, KMnO₄, phosphate, oxygen difluoride, fluorine, cryptone difluoride, dichromate Cr₂O₇²⁻, metal ions such as Ce4⁺, noble metal ions such as those of silver and copper, anions of halo-oxygen acids such bromate BrO₃", halogens, such as fluorine, chlorine, bromine and iodine, hypochlorite, sodium hy hypochlorite, sodium peroxodisulfate and/or potassium hypochlorite.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses that the bath may contain oxidizing agents such as hydrogen peroxide, phenoxyacids, persulfates , sodium percarbonate, sodium perborate, permanganate and hypochlorite. See page 87.
Claim 14 is directed to the decontamination bath according to
claim 1, wherein the decontamination bath further comprises a reducing agent,
selected from the group comprising hydrogen in combination with precious metal catalyst; complex hydrides; base metals; phosphorus and sulphur compounds, ,
sulfinic acid and sulfinic acid derivates and glucose mixtures with dispersants.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses that the bath may contain reducing agents, including hydrogen with a catalyst, hydrides, base metals, sulfur compounds, sulfinic acid derivatives and glucose mixtures. See pages 87-88.
Claim 15 is directed to the decontamination bath according to claim 1, wherein the decontamination bath is free of multivalent metal ions.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses …….[or]
WO199209413A1 discloses in Example 34 the use of water, ethanol, sodium hydroxide, a sodium containing polymer and benzyl benzoate which do not require a multivalent ion.
Claim 16 is directed to a method for decontaminating a plastic article, wherein the plastic article comprises a contaminant, wherein the contaminant is an organic molecule having a molecular weight Mw ≤ 800 g/mol, comprising: the step
a) exposing the plastic article to a decontamination bath for ≥ 1 minute, wherein the
decontamination bath has a temperature above a glass transition temperature Tg and below a melting temperature Tₘ and/or decomposition temperature of the plastic article and/or wherein the decontamination bath has a temperature ≥ 60 °C to ≤ 130 °C, and wherein the decontamination bath is realized according to claim 1.
WO2021013842 discloses a method for removing an organic coloring contaminant from a plastic article. See claim 33 and Examples 28-54. The reference further teaches that the coloring contaminant is an organic molecule having a molecular weight between 250g/mol and 550g/mol which falls withing the claimed molecular weight of no more than 800g/mol. The reference also shows exposing the plastic article to the bath for at least one minute. For example in Example 33, the plastic is treated for 15 minutes and in Example 34 the plastic is treated for 30 minutes. The treatment temperature falls within the claimed range of 6-C to 130C. see Example 33 and 34. WO2021013842 does not disclose using a nonpolar organic solvent in the bath.
WO199209413A1 discloses removing an organic contaminant from shredded plastic by using nonpolar hydrocarbon solvents. The reference discloses gasoline fractions, pentane, hexane, and mixtures of pentane and hexane as suitable solvents. See page 3 lines 12-22 and page 4 lines 21-25. The reference also states that waster does not interfere with the process. See page 3 lines 29-34.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the polar solvent used in WO2021013842 with one of the nonpolar solvents taught by nonpolar organic solvent
WO199209413A1 since both references use a solvent bath to remove organic material from plastic. A person skilled in the art would have selected the solvent based on the type of contaminant being removed since using a nonpolar solvent to remove a nonpolar or hydrophobic contaminant would have produced an expected result. Lastly, WO2021013842 uses 200mol of organic solvent with 800ml of water. Using pentane or hexane in the same proportion would resulting in approximately 13-14wt% nonpolar solvent and falls within the claimed range of 0.1wt% to 25wt%.
Claim 17 is directed to the method according to claim16, wherein the exposed plastic article does not entirely dissolve in the decontamination bath and/or wherein the plastic article is solid during exposure to the decontamination bath.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses shredded plastic and then removes the plastic after treatment. See Examples 28-54. Also WO199209413A1 discloses plastic pieces in a solvent bath and separates them afterward. The plastic therefore remains present as a solid and does not dissolve. See pages 1-2.
Claim 18 is directed to the method according to claim 16, wherein the contaminant is embedded in the plastic article and/or molecularly solved in the plastic article and/or wherein the contaminant is not covalently bound to a polymer of the plastic article.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since, WO2021013842 discloses removing a coloring agent that is present in the plastic and is not bound to the polymer.
Claim 19 is directed to the method according to claim 16, wherein the contaminant is a non-intentionally added substance and present in the plastic article in a range of 00001 wt% to 10 wt% based on the weight of the plastic article.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since,. WO2021013842 discloses removable organic material in the same broad concentration range. See pages 87-88. WO199209413A1 discloses removing adhesive contamination from recycled plastic. See pages 1-2.
Claim 20 is directed to the method according to claim 16, wherein the contaminant is a coloring agent and present in the plastic article in a range of 0, 0001 wt% to 10 wt% based on the weight of the plastic article.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses a coloring agent present from 0.00001wt% to less than 10wt% based on the plastic and overlaps the claimed range.
Claim 21 is directed to the method according to claim 16, wherein for the step of exposing the plastic article to the decontamination bath a weight ratio of the contaminant in the plastic article to the resoiling inhibitor is from 1 : 0-001 to 1 :100.000.000 (contaminant : resoiling agent).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses both the contaminant concnetration and the amount of polymeric cleaning material used in Example 34. The resulting ratio falls within the claimed range.
Claim 22 is directed to the method according to claim 16, wherein a weight ratio of the plastic article to the decontamination bath is from 1:1 to 1:100 (plastic article : decontamination bath).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses in Example 34 using 10g of plastic in a bath weighing about 1kg. the plastic -bath ratio is about 1:97 which falls withing the claimed ratio. See example 34.
Claim 23 is directed to the method according to claim 16, wherein the plastic article is an intact plastic article, a plastic granulate and/or plastic powder, or wherein the method comprises the step of shredding the plastic article to a granulate and/or powder and wherein the step of exposing the plastic article to the decontamination bath comprises exposing the shredded plastic article to the decontamination bath.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses treating shredded plastic particles and granulates. See Examples 28-5 and page 88. WO199209413A1 discloses cutting plastic film into pieces before placing it in the cleaning bath. See page 1.
Claim 24 is directed to the method according to claim 16, wherein the granulate and/or powder comprises a mean particle size of 0% 1 mm to 50mm.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses the use of plastic pieces about 3-5mm. WO199209413A1 discloses plastic pieces about 1-10mm. See page 1.
Claim 25 is directed to the method according to claim 16, wherein the method comprises the step of drying the decontaminated plastic article in air.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO199209413A1 discloses drying cleaned plastic with hot gas. Using air as the drying gas would have been obvious to the skilled artisan. See page 1.
Claim 26 is directed to the method according to claim 16, wherein the step of exposing the plastic article to the decontamination bath comprises exposing the plastic article to the decontamination bath at a temperature ≥ 60 °C to ≤ 100 °C, for ≥ 1 minute to ≤ 120 min.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses treatment at 90degrees C for 30 minutes and at 100 degrees C for 45 minutes. See Examples 43-44.
Claim 27 is directed to the method according to claim 16, wherein the step of exposing the plastic article to the decontamination bath comprises exposing the plastic article to the decontamination bath at a temperature ≥ 60 °C to ≤ 100 °C, for ≥ 1 minute to ≤ 120 min and subsequently exposing the plastic article to the decontamination bath at a temperature ≥ 80 °C to ≤ 130 °C, for ≥ 1 minute to ≤ 120 min.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO199209413A1 discloses treatment conditions at 90,100 and 120 degrees C for times within 1-120 minutes. See Examples 34, and 43-44.
Claim 28 is directed to the method according to claim 16, wherein the plastic article is selected from the group comprising a sheet, a foil, a container, a part, a tube, a profile, a rigid packaging such as bottles, jars, caps and closures, color coded packaging and containers of all types, including ones for industrial components, computer face-plates, keyboards, bezels and cellular phones, residential and commercial lighting fixtures and components therefor, such as sheets, used in building and in construction, tableware, including plates, cups and eating utensils, small appliances and their components, optical and sun-wear lenses, and/or wherein the plastic article is a granulate and/or powder from plastic recycling and/or wherein the plastic article is not a textile.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since WO2021013842 discloses plastic articles, flakes, particles and granulates. See page 88. WO199209413A1 discloses recycling plastic film. See page 1.
In conclusion, in view of the above, there appears to be no significant difference between the reference(s) and that which is claimed by applicant(s). Any differences not specifically mentioned appear to be conventional. Consequently, the claimed invention cannot be deemed as unobvious and accordingly is unpatentable.
Information Disclosure Statement
Note that any future and/or present information disclosure statements must comply with 37 CFR § 1.98(b), which requires a list of the publications to include: the author (if any), title, relevant pages of the publication, date and place of publication to be submitted for consideration by the Office.
Improper Claim Dependency
Prior to allowance, any dependent claims should be rechecked for proper dependency if independent claims are cancelled.
Correspondence
/Terressa Boykin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765