Not DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) are: “fixing member is configured to close”, and “venting hole is configured to discharge” in claim 2, “fixing member is configured to close” in claim 3, “fixing member is configured to be opened” in claim 5, “a jig insertion portion configured to receive” in claim 7, “fixing member is configured to contact” in claim 9, “cell cover is configured to support” in claim 10, “an inner space configured to accommodate” in claim 11, and “a control module configured to control charging” in claim 13.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, 11, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lei (CN113794011 A for prior art discussion refer to cited machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Lei discloses a battery cell block (figure 3 ,4, and 5, examiner figure A) comprising: a plurality of cell units (single battery, ref. 100, figure 2, 3) including at least one pouch-type battery cell (ref. 110, figure 2, para. 0051) and a cell cover (casing assembly, ref. 120) at least partially surrounding the at least one pouch-type battery cell (para. 0048, figure 2), wherein the plurality of cell units is stacked in a stacking direction (figure 3-4, para. 0056) ; and a fixing member (fastening belt, ref. 400, figure 5) fixing the plurality of cell units in a fixed state by surrounding a stack of the plurality of cell units (para. 0022, figure 4).
Examiner figure A
Regarding claim 10, Lei discloses the cell cover (ref. 120) is configured to support at least one pouch-type battery cell (ref.110, figure 2, para. 0048) in an erected state (figure 2-6).
Regarding claim 11, Lei discloses a battery pack (figure 3 and 5, para. 0074), comprising the battery cell block (figure 5, examiner figure A) and a pack case (box body, ref. 210) having inner space to accommodate the battery cell block (ref. 201, figure 5).
Regarding claim 12 the cell cover (ref. 120) has an open portion (ref. 121) through which at least one side of the at least one pouch -type battery cell faces the pack case , (figure 2, para. 0053). Lei further discloses through figure 6, the open portion faces the pack case (ref. 210).
Regarding claim 13, Lei discloses a control module configured to control charging and discharging of the battery by disclosing a BDU and BMS integrated structure (para. 0084).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (CN113794011 A, for prior art discussion refer to attached machine translation) in view of Hashimoto (US PG Pub. 2018/0190954).
Lei is relied upon as described above.
Regarding claim 2, Lei discloses the venting hole (ref. 122) is positioned on the cell cover (figure 2, para. 0051) and the venting hole is capable of discharging gas (para. 0052).
Lei fails to disclose the fixing member is configured to close the venting hole. The limitation “the fixing member is configured to close the venting hole” is a functional limitation. This limitation is given its broadest reasonable interpretation as requiring only the fixing member be capable of covering, or otherwise closing the venting hole.
Hashimoto discloses a cell stacked body (ref. 5, figure 3) stacking a plurality of secondary battery cells with a fixing member (fastening member, ref. 4, para. 0010) fastening the cell stack body disposed on the upper surface of the cell stack (ref. 4, figure 2, para. 0010) Hashimoto further discloses in an embodiment the fastening member (ref. 4F, figure 14, 15 para. 0082-0083) disposed to overlap the gas exhaust valves (ref. 14, figure 14, 15, para. 0015, 0083) there by covering the venting hole and it meets the limitation “configured to close the venting hole” by being capable of closing the vent hole. Hashimoto further discloses the fastening member (ref. 4F) has grooves (ref. 4b, para. 0083) to communicate with the gas exhaust valve (ref. 14) and outside. Therefore, gas can be exhausted to the outside via grooves (ref. 4b) when gas exhaust valves are opened (para. 0083). Thus, fastening member can be used not only as the function of fastening cell stacked body but also as a gas exhaust route.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixing member of Lei as taught by Hashimoto. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the fixing member as taught by Hashimoto so the fixing member can be used not only as the function of fastening cell stacked body but also as a gas exhaust route.
Regarding claim 3, Lei discloses plurality of venting holes (ref. 122) on the cell cover (figure 2, para. 0051).
Regarding claim 4, Lei discloses the fixing member extends along the stacking direction (ref. 400, figure 5), so as to surround the stack (para. 0022 - 0023).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Lei fails to disclose the fixing member is configured to opened by an ejection pressure from the venting hole and the fixing member includes a cut portion or a notch portion which is aligned with the venting valve.
The limitation “the fixing member is configured to be opened by an ejection pressure or a temperature of a material ejected from the venting hole” in claim 5 is a functional limitation reciting a capability of fixing member. Hashimoto discloses the fixing member (ref. 4F) has grooves (ref. 4b, figure 15, para. 0082-0083) on the lower surface and at the positions corresponding to the venting hole (ref. 14, para. 0083). Hashimoto further discloses the gas can be exhausted to the outside via grooves (ref. 4b) when the exhaust valve (ref. 14) is opened. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation Hashimoto’s grooves (ref. 4 b) on the fixing member (ref. 4F) are open thereby meeting the limitation, fixing member configured to be opened by an ejection pressure during venting. Hashimoto further discloses such a fixing member does not disturb the gas exhaust operation of the venting hole during venting.(para. 0082-0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the modify the fixing member of Lei as taught by Hashimoto for the fixing member not to disturb the gas exhaust operation of the venting hole preventing the increase in the internal pressure of secondary battery cells.
Regarding claim 9, Lei discloses the cell cover (casing/housing assembly, ref. 120) comprises a first cover portion , a second cover portion and a third cover portion connecting the first and second cover portion and covering the upper end portion of atleast one pouch -type battery cell (figure 2, examiner figure B, para. 0053-0055). Lei further discloses the venting hole (ref. 122, figure 2, para. 0051) in the third cover portion (top portion, para. 0029) so that gas is discharged upwards and fixing member (ref. 400), wraps the periphery of the stacked battery cells thereby contacting the third cover portion (para. 0022-0023, 0080-0082, 0087) as disclosed in figure 5.
Examiner figure B
Regarding claim 14 and 15, Lei fails to discloses a vehicle comprising the battery cell block and a battery pack.
Hashimoto discloses a vehicle equipped with a battery cell block and a battery pack (power supply device) mounted in a vehicle (figure 18, para. 0088-0090). Hasimoto further discloses the power supply device is mounted mainly in an electric vehicle such as a hybrid car or an electric car, and is used as a power source that supplies power to a travel motor of the vehicle and makes the vehicle travel.
It would have been obvious to add a cell block and battery pack as taught by the combination of Lei and Hashimoto to be used in vehicle as taught by Hashimoto so as to supply power to the vehicle motor.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei (CN113794011 A for prior art discussion refer to attached machine translation) in view of (CN210723151U, for prior art discussion refer to attached machine translation).
Lei is relied upon as described above.
Regarding claims 7 and 8 Lei fails to disclose the fixing member includes a jig insertion portion and the jig insertion portion is disposed at an upper corner of the fixing member.
Mao discloses a battery module (ref. 4, figure 2) with a fixing member (bundling strap, ref. 1, figure 2) surrounding the battery stack (figure 2, para. 0009). Mao further discloses the fixing member (ref. 4 ) has a jig insertion portion (bolt sleeves, ref. 2) configured to receive a jig (fixing bold, ref. 3) and the jig insertion portion is disposed at an upper corner of the fixing member as disclosed by figure 2. Mao discloses such a battery module ties up simple structure and reliably make battery module material cost and manufacturing cost cheaper, reduces weight, and thus increases energy density (para. 0008).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixing member of Lei as taught by Mao. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the fixing member as taught by Mao so that a jig insertion portion can be added to the upper corner portion of the fixing member for low economical cost and lighter weight.
Conclusion
/I.M./
Iswarya MathewExaminer, Art Unit 1788 06/23/2025
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788