DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krahnstover et al. and further in view of Altmann et al. (Altmann et al., Water Research, Volume 94, 1 May 2016, Pages 240-245).
Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, and 8: Krahnstover et al. teach a method comprising dosing PAC (powdered activated carbon) having particle sizes of 1-50um (Table 1) and/or less than 1um (page 5746, col. 2, 1. 2. 2). Particle size populations are typically expressed as an average size, a d50 size (the median), or a range which describes simply the sizes of particles which may exist in the population. Krahnstover et al. disclose a particle size range of 1-50um (Table 1) or less than 1um (page 5746, col. 2, 1. 2. 2). Krahnstover et al. clearly teach that the size(s) of the particle is a routinely optimized result effective variable that is selected based on the properties of the particle associated with particular sizes (page 5746, col. 2, 1.2.2). Given Krahnstover et al.’s disclosure, one of ordinary still in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use a population of particles having a size range of 0.1um-50um in any desired population distribution as choosing such is considered routine optimization. It is also noted that there does not appear to be any criticality associated with the specific distribution of the particle size in the particle size population. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
The PAC is dosed in the form of a feed slurry (page 5747, 1.3.2). The PAC is separated using a cloth filter (page 5747, 1.3.2; Fig. 1, D). The contact time includes 5-15 minutes (page 5747, 1.3.2) which significantly overlaps with the claimed range. They teach measuring the
Krahnstover et al. do not teach dosing the PAC based on concentration of dissolved organic substances at the inlet.
Altmann et al. teach measuring relative organic micropollutant concentration via UV absorbance (abstract) and using those measurements to adapt PAC dosing strategies (abstract). The relative concentration is monitored/measured at the outlet to determine break through (Image). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to measure the amount of organic material in the influent and adjust the PAC concentration in order to use only the necessary amount of PAC. Monitoring the relative concentration at the outlet would be beneficial for ensuring that there is not significant break through of the PAC into the effluent which would cause contamination.
Claim 2: There is no specific active step required in Claim 2. However, to advance prosecution, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to return the effluent from the outlet to the inlet if a set value is exceeded in order to treat the water again for proper removal and to meet necessary standards of treatment.
Claim 3: a preferred concentration is 15-30 mg/L (page 5746, 1.3.1).
Claim 10: the method is a multi-stage method (Fig. 1).
Claims 7 and 16: the process includes adding a flocculant (additive) including iron sulfate (page 5748, 2.1.1). The flocculant does is a well-recognized result effective variable that is adjusted based on the PAC does or the plan influent (page 5749, col. 2). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been “discouraged” from using Krahnstover et al.’s particles having a size in the range of 1-5um because Krahnstover et al. teach that there is no “standard production method” and “only few products are commercially available”.
Krahnstover et al. is the primary reference, and they clearly teach using particles in the range of 1-5um (see rejection above). A discussion of the difficulties of making or producing a material does not negate the teaching that this is the preferred range. This does not constitute a teaching away. Even if Krahnstover et al. could be considered to be a ‘skeptical’ view of SPAC (which the Examiner does not agree with), they still disclose the method as claimed. See MPEP, 2123, II., “Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).”
Further, there is no nexus in Krahnstover at al. that the specific challenge is with the d50 particle size distribution. In fact, Krahnstover et al. indicate to one of ordinary skill in the art that any size of particle from 0-50um can be used. There does not appear to be any significance or unexpected results associated with this claimed d50 particle distribution.
Applicant’s argument that Krahnstover et al. do not disclose the short contact times in combination with PAC and cloth filtration is unclear as Krahnstover et al. very clearly teach the short contact times as is acknowledged in this very argument by Applicant. See Krahnstover al. [1.3.2]. Page 5747, 1.3.2 very clearly teaches that the contact time with adsorbent and fluid can be 5-15 minutes.
Altmann et al. is not provided to teach cloth filtration. Altmann et al. is applied to demonstrate dosing of the PAC based on the contaminants. This is relevant to the water filtration treatment process of Krahnstover et al. because they are both analogous water treatment processes involving powdered activated carbon.
Conclusion
ALLISON FITZSIMMONS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/ALLISON G FITZSIMMONS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773