DETAILED ACTION
This office action response to the communication filed on 03/29/2024.
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (lDSs) submitted on March 29, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Domestic Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of allows for the claim benefit submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or 120, and 37 CFR 1.78, or indicate National stage entry from PCT application, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim*** rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Licardie et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0117952), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of ABEDINI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0036762 A1), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses an apparatus ([see, [0006], apparatuses provided relate to a wireless repeater]), comprising:
a processor ([see,[0067], and Fig. 7, processor 702]); and
a memory coupled to the processor ([see,[0067], and Fig. 7, processor 702 with a memory system 704]),
the processor configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network, an indication of repeater-assisted communication ("RAC") for the apparatus ([see, [0040, 0051-0052], and Fig. 1, 4, the wireless network signal repeater 102-1 receiving a radio frequency (RF) signal through the antenna 104-1 that directed at an antenna of a transmitting, a receiving, or a transceiver wireless network station (from the network)]);
receive, from the network, configuration information (current configuration) comprising at least one of frequency resources and time resources that the apparatus uses for RAC ([see, [0064], and Fig. 1, 4, obtain a receive (RX) signal quality indicator (SQI) margin from threshold for the current configuration of the wireless network signal repeater 102-1]);
receive, from the network, that are transmitted from the network to the apparatus ([see, [0040], one or more antennas of one of the wireless network signal repeaters 102 may be directed at an antenna of a transmitting, a receiving, or a transceiver wireless network station (from the network)]); and
determine an indication of one or more user equipment ("UE") devices whose transmissions are repeated by the apparatus ([see, [0028, 0053-0054], and Fig. 4, wherein apparatuses can increase availability of a wireless link repeated through as the wireless repeater, the wireless network signal repeater control module 106-1 may analyze the determined signal quality, and the wireless network signal repeater 102-1 relaying the RF signal through the wireless network signal repeater 102-1]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: repeater-assisted communication ("RAC") mode and configuration information for reference signals.
However, D2 discloses repeater-assisted communication ("RAC") mode ([see, [0031, 0093], repeater-assisted access procedure disclosed]) and configuration information for reference signals ([see, [0110-0112], a repeater to generate these reference signals and channels]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide repeater-assisted results improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, and services (D2, [0005]).
As per Claim 2, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the indication of RAC is based on configuring
a UE with two control resource set ("CORESET") pool indices (i.e., first RAC of the wireless network signal repeater and the second RAC of the wireless network signal repeater]),
configuring the UE with two transmission configuration indicator ("TCI") states,
configuring the UE with a downlink control information ("DCI") with a special format that indicates communication between a network node and the apparatus, or some combination thereof ([see, [0031, m0042], and Fig. 2, the wireless network signal repeater system 200 comprises the antenna 104-1, the wireless network signal repeater 102-1, the wireless network signal repeater control module 106-1, and the antenna 104-2]).
As per Claim 3, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 2, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein fields of the configuration information comprising frequency and time resources ([see, [0050-0053], allocates resources for communication among some or all devices and equipment within its service area or cell that that utilize OFDM with a CP on the uplink and downlink]) the apparatus uses for RAC comprises
a DCI format comprising a carrier indicator,
a bandwidth part ("BWP") indicator,
a frequency domain resource assignment ([see, [0050], single-carrier frequency division multiplexing (SC-FDM) on the uplink (UL). OFDM and SC-FDM partition the system bandwidth into multiple (K) orthogonal subcarriers]),
a time domain resource assignment ([see, [0050], sent in the frequency domain with OFDM and in the time domain with SC-FDM]),
a set of one or more beam indicators ([see, [0082], and Fig. 7, repeater 730 may receive an RF signal in one panel (corresponding to a receive or Rx Beam)]), or
some combination thereof.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide repeater-assisted results improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, and services (D2, [0005]).
As per Claim 8, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein a first subset of beams is transmitted from the network ([see, [0007], a first RF signal is received at a wireless repeater]), and
a second subset of beams is transmitted from the apparatus ([see, [0007], second RF signal may generate at the wireless repeater based on the operation mode selected and the first RF signal]). D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein beams in synchronization signal ("SS")/physical broadcast channel ("PBCH") block resources are decomposed into two subsets of beam groups ([see, [0065, 0073], control information may be for the physical broadcast channel (PBCH), and a synchronization signal (SS) block is transmitted in the same frequency region]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide repeater-assisted results improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, and services (D2, [0005]).
As per Claim 9, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein two synchronization signal ("SS")/physical broadcast channel ("PBCH") block transmission occasions occur ([see, [0073], a synchronization signal (SS) block is transmitted]),
wherein a first SS/PBCH block transmission is transmitted from the network node ([see, [0064-0065, 0073],and Fig. 3, PBCH carries some basic system information for downlink system bandwidth, timing information within radio frame from the network]), and
wherein a second SS/PBCH block transmission is transmitted from the apparatus ([see, [0087], the repeaters transmit access procedure related transmissions (SSBs, PBCH, and RMSI), as well as monitor for RACH-related transmissions from UEs and re-transmit or report on detected RACH transmissions]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide repeater-assisted results improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, and services (D2, [0005]).
As per Claim 10, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein a UE reports indices of a subset of two beams from a set of beams ([see, [0007], a first RF signal is received at a wireless repeater and second RF signal may generate at the wireless repeater based on the operation mode selected and the first RF signal]). D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses a synchronization signal ("SS")/physical broadcast channel ("PBCH") block ([see, [0073], a synchronization signal (SS) block is disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide repeater-assisted results improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, and services (D2, [0005]).
As per Claim 11, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the RAC is associated with new radio ("NR") frame structures ([see, [0041-0042], and Fig. 1, the repeater 110r is associated with new radio ("NR"), wherein In NR systems, the term “cell” and next generation NodeB (gNB or gNodeB), NR AP, 5G NB, or transmission reception point (TRP) may be interchangeable]), with extended cyclic prefix ([see, [0051], the NR may utilize OFDM with a CP on the uplink and downlink]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide repeater-assisted results improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, and services (D2, [0005]).
As per Claim 12, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive information related to a set of one or more sounding reference signal ("SRS") configurations intended for a set of UE nodes ([see, [0067], the UE 120 receive, from a data source 362, control information including a reference signal (e.g., for the sounding reference signal (SRS)).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide repeater-assisted results improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, and services (D2, [0005]).
As per Claim 13, D1 discloses a method ([see, [0006], apparatuses provided relate to a wireless repeater]), comprising:
receiving, from a network, an indication of repeater-assisted communication ("RAC") for a repeater apparatus ([see, [0040, 0051-0052], and Fig. 1, 4, the wireless network signal repeater 102-1 receiving a radio frequency (RF) signal through the antenna 104-1 that directed at an antenna of a transmitting, a receiving, or a transceiver wireless network station (from the network)]);
receiving, from the network, configuration information comprising at least one of frequency resources and time resources that the apparatus uses for RAC ([see, [0064], and Fig. 1, 4, obtain a receive (RX) signal quality indicator (SQI) margin from threshold for the current configuration of the wireless network signal repeater 102-1]);
receiving, from the network, configuration information for reference signals that are transmitted from the network to the apparatus ([see, [0040], one or more antennas of one of the wireless network signal repeaters 102 may be directed at an antenna of a transmitting, a receiving, or a transceiver wireless network station (from the network)]); and
determining an indication of one or more user equipment ("UE") devices whose transmissions are repeated by the apparatus ([see, [0028, 0053-0054], and Fig. 4, wherein apparatuses can increase availability of a wireless link repeated through as the wireless repeater, the wireless network signal repeater control module 106-1 may analyze the determined signal quality, and the wireless network signal repeater 102-1 relaying the RF signal through the wireless network signal repeater 102-1]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: repeater-assisted communication ("RAC") mode and configuration information for reference signals.
However, D2 discloses repeater-assisted communication ("RAC") mode ([see, [0031, 0093], repeater-assisted access procedure disclosed]) and configuration information for reference signals ([see, [0110-0112], a repeater to generate these reference signals and channels]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide repeater-assisted results improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, and services (D2, [0005]).
As per Claim 14, D1 discloses an apparatus ([see, [0067], and Fig. 7, digital device]), comprising:
a processor ([see,[0067], and Fig. 7, processor 702]); and
a memory coupled to the processor ([see,[0067], and Fig. 7, processor 702 with a memory system 704]),
the processor configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit, to a repeater, an indication of repeater-assisted communication ("RAC") for the apparatus ([see, [0040, 0051-0052], and Fig. 1, 4, the wireless network signal repeater 102-1 receiving a radio frequency (RF) signal through the antenna 104-1 that directed at an antenna of a transmitting, a receiving, or a transceiver wireless network station (from the network)]);
transmit, to the repeater, configuration information (current configuration) comprising at least one of frequency resources and time resources that the apparatus uses for RAC [see, [0064], and Fig. 1, 4, obtain a receive (RX) signal quality indicator (SQI) margin from threshold for the current configuration of the wireless network signal repeater 102-1]);
transmit, to the repeater, an indication of one or more user equipment ("UE") devices whose transmissions are repeated by the repeater ([see, [0028, 0053-0054], and Fig. 4, wherein apparatuses can increase availability of a wireless link repeated through as the wireless repeater, the wireless network signal repeater control module 106-1 may analyze the determined signal quality, and the wireless network signal repeater 102-1 relaying the RF signal through the wireless network signal repeater 102-1]).
D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: repeater-assisted communication ("RAC") mode and transmit, to the repeater, configuration information for reference signals that are transmitted from the repeater to the network.
However, D2 discloses repeater-assisted communication ("RAC") mode ([see, [0031, 0093], repeater-assisted access procedure disclosed]) and transmit, to the repeater, configuration information for reference signals that are transmitted from the repeater to the network ([see, [0110-0112], a repeater to generate these reference signals and channels]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide repeater-assisted results improving spectral efficiency, lowering costs, and services (D2, [0005]).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of ABEDINI et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0053433A1), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 4, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 3, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the processor is configured to receive a channel state information-reference signal ("CSI-RS") resource configuration as part of a side control information transmission, the side control information sent on a channel dedicated to a control signaling exchange between a transmit/receive point ("TRP") and the apparatus.
However, D3 discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive a channel state information-reference signal ("CSI-RS") resource configuration as part of a side control information transmission ([see, [0114], network access node may further allocate one or more REs 306 (e.g., in the control region 312 to carry other DL signals, such as a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS)]),
the side control information sent on a channel dedicated to a control signaling exchange between a transmit/receive point ("TRP") and the apparatus ([see, [0114], network access node may further allocate one or more REs 306 (e.g., in the control region 312 to carry other DL signals, such as demodulation reference signal (DMRS)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide smart repeater devices results cost-effective way to improve network coverage (D3, [0071]).
As per Claim 5, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 3, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein a control information signal is selected from a sequence set corresponding to a pre-defined number of bits,
wherein possible sequences that are selected are
orthogonal, quasi-orthogonal,
pseudo-orthogonal, or
some combination of the foregoing.
However, D3 discloses wherein a control information signal is selected from a sequence set corresponding to a pre-defined number of bits, wherein possible sequences that are selected are orthogonal, quasi-orthogonal, pseudo-orthogonal, or some combination of the foregoing ([see, [0095], Control information are coded using Polar coding, based on nested sequences based on using quasi-cyclic low-density parity check (LDPC)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide smart repeater devices results cost-effective way to improve network coverage (D3, [0071]).
As per Claim 6, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein a first signal synchronization block ("SSB") reference signal ("RS") group is transmitted to the apparatus, and wherein a second SSB RS group is transmitted to one or more UEs.
However, D3 discloses wherein a first signal synchronization block ("SSB") reference signal ("RS") group is transmitted to the apparatus ([see, [0007], a first quantity of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) to be transmitted by the repeater device]), and wherein a second SSB RS group is transmitted to one or more UEs ([see, [0008, 0114], wherein the second quantity of beams to transmit SSBs broadcast at regular intervals based on a periodicity to the UE]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide smart repeater devices results cost-effective way to improve network coverage (D3, [0071]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of YEH et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0201932), (“D4”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 7, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the processor is configured to receive control information from the network, the control information comprises a bitmap, the bitmap comprising a sequence of bits that indicate active resources for the apparatus to transmit, receive, or some combination of both.
However, D4 discloses wherein the processor is configured to receive control information from the network ([see, [0011], transmitting first downlink control information (DCI) including the response bit map to the plurality of terminals through a first downlink control channel]), the control information comprises a bitmap, the bitmap comprising a sequence of bits that indicate active resources for the apparatus to transmit, receive, or some combination of both ([see, [0053], wherein the downlink control information (DCI) transmitted through the NB-PDCCH may include the bit map and a specific bit of the bit map may transmit (indicate) the response (whether the reception succeeds]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide bit map representing whether the reception succeeds to active the resources results cost-effective way to improve the resource efficiency and the transmitting efficiency and improve the signaling overhead (D4, [0146]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of NOH et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0359014 A1), (“D5”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 15, D1 and D2 disclose the apparatus of claim 14, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the processor is configured to configure a UE with a channel state information-reference signal ("CSI-RS") resource configuration corresponding to a non-zero power ("NZP") CSI-RS resource for interference measurement, or
a CSI- interference measurement ("IM") resource for interference measurement, or a combination thereof,
wherein the CSI-RS configuration includes two or more adjacent orthogonal frequency division multiplexing ("OFDM') symbols in time within a same sub-carrier being pre-empted to enable interference measurement,
two or more adjacent sub-carriers within a same OFDM symbol time being prevented to enable interference measurement, or
some combination thereof.
However, D5 discloses wherein the processor is configured to configure a UE with a channel state information-reference signal ("CSI-RS") resource configuration ([see, [0091], and Fig. 5, the eNB 500 transmits the CSI-RS configuration information to a UE 502]) corresponding to a non-zero power ("NZP") CSI-RS resource for interference measurement ([see, [0090],and Fig. 5, the CSI-RS may further include ZP CSI-RS configuration information that is configured in association with NZP CSI-RS configuration]) or
a CSI- interference measurement ("IM") resource for interference measurement ([see, [0070], a UE may be assigned with a CSI-Interference Measurement (CSI-IM) or CSI-Interference Measurement Resources (CSI-IMR)]), or a combination thereof,
wherein the CSI-RS configuration includes two or more adjacent orthogonal frequency division multiplexing ("OFDM') symbols in time within a same sub-carrier ([see, [0068], and Fig. 3, the CSI-RS REs configuration are assigned with the same OFDM may use transmission power, which is to be used for subcarriers to which APs are allocated]), being pre-empted to enable interference measurement ([see, [0064], prevent a CSI-RS transmitted from another eNB from being received as interference by UEs in the corresponding cell]);
two or more adjacent sub-carriers within a same OFDM symbol time being prevented to enable interference measurement ([see, [0068], subcarriers to which APs are assigned with the same OFDM symbol]), or
some combination thereof.
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide using various types of Channel Status Indications (CSIs) results improved the transmission efficiency and the system throughput may be increased (D5, [0012]).
Conclusion
/BERHANU D BELETE/
Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418