DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20170165633A1, hereinafter ‘Harada’, in view of Dos Reis et al. (Coupling of attrition and accelerated carbonation for CO2 sequestration in recycled concrete aggregates, Cleaner Engineering and Technology, 2021), hereinafter ‘Dos Reis’.
Regarding Claim 1, Harada discloses a process for fixation of carbon dioxide, comprising:
reacting a gaseous carbon dioxide (CO2(g)) feedstock with a solid particulate reactant comprising magnesium oxide (MgO) and/or magnesium hydroxide (Mg(OH)2), to form composite MgO/Mg(OH)2 particles laminated with a surface layer of magnesium carbonate (MgCO3) ([0008]: According to one or more embodiments, methods of removing CO2 from a gas stream are generally described. The method may comprise introducing the gas stream comprising CO2 to a plurality of coated nanoclusters, each of which comprises a core comprising MgO and a shell surrounding the core, the shell comprising alkali metal salt in a molten state, wherein the alkali metal salt comprises alkali metal cations and at least one of nitrate anions and nitrite anions. The method may further comprise adsorbing a portion of CO2 from the gas stream onto the plurality of coated nanoclusters to produce a CO2-reduced gas stream; [0045]: this process yields MgCO3).
Further regarding Claim 1, Harada does not disclose attriting the composite MgO/Mg(OH)2/MgCO3 particles to delaminate surface MgCO3 from the composite MgO/Mg(OH)2/MgCO3 particles, to yield delaminated MgO/Mg(OH)2 particles and a MgCO3 product; or reacting the CO2 (g) feedstock with the delaminated MgO/Mg(OH)2 particles to form an additional MgCO3 product.
Dos Reis discloses a process for improving the carbon dioxide sequestration of recycled concrete aggregates (title). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized Dos Reis as analogous to Harada, as both references are drawn to the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, mineralization to sequester said CO2 - a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, In re Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212.
Further, Dos Reis discloses carbonation tests carried out in a laboratory-scale air-proof rotating drums equipped with a CO2 feeding system. Performing carbonation in a rotating drum promotes selective attrition of concrete aggregates. The process accelerates carbonation by removing the carbonated zones on the surface of coarse aggregates and then facilitating the access of CO2 to un-carbonated zones. The most efficient rotating carbonation condition was reached at 100 rpm, aggregate moisture around 8%, and 500 g of aggregates in a 5 L reactor at any partial pressure. The dynamic process highly increased the carbonation kinetics compared with static carbonation of the same duration. The CO2 sequestered was up 80 mg/g of aggregate, estimated to be around 60% of the potential of CO2 capture of the tested recycled concrete aggregate. (Abstract). By this process in the rotating drum, surface carbonate is delaminated from the composite, allowing the carbonization of un-carbonized zones beneath these surfaces, thereby improving the sequestration potential of the aggregates.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to perform the carbonization process of Harada within a rotating drum in order to achieve selective attrition of the coated nanoclusters. Such a process would provide increased access of CO2 to un-carbonized zones in the nanoclusters, thereby improving the capacity for CO2 sequestration of the nanoclusters. Performing the process of Harada in this way would attrition the composite MgO/Mg(OH)2/MgCO3 particles to delaminate surface MgCO3 from the composite MgO/Mg(OH)2/MgCO3 particles, to yield delaminated MgO/Mg(OH)2 particles and a MgCO3 product; and react the CO2 (g) feedstock with the delaminated MgO/Mg(OH)2 particles to form an additional MgCO3 product.
Regarding Claim 2, Harada discloses that MgO is a valid candidate for future advanced solid CO2 adsorbents in part because of its lower energy cost for regeneration (MgCO3 (s)→MgO (s)+CO2 (g); αH0 r (MgO)=97.2 kJ mol−1 at 450° C). This exposure of the MgCO3 product to temperatures of 450°C is considered calcination. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to calcine the MgCO3 product and the additional MgCO3 product in order to regenerate MgO sorbent that is ready to sorbate more CO2, thereby reducing process costs by reuse of the same materials.
Regarding Claim 3, the process of Harada as modified above is considered continuous, as CO2 is fed to the rotating drum during rotation without pausing the feed.
Regarding Claim 4, the process of Harada as modified above performs the reacting and attriting steps simultaneously, as the CO2 is fed into the rotating drum in which attrition takes place, and is considered an attriting carbon capture reactor.
Conclusion
LOGAN LACLAIR
Examiner
Art Unit 1736
/L.E.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736