DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 17 and 25 is/are objected because of the following informalities (or vagueness): Said claims recite in part "exceed the buffer threshold". Their depending claims 15 and 23 do not recite "a buffer threshold", thus the underlined limitation causes an antecedent basis issue. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 19-20, 22-23, 27-28 and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stauffer et al. (US 2020/0351791, “Stauffer”) in view of Chai et al. (US 2021/0135730, “Chai”) and Krogstad et al. (US 2022/0179059, “Krogstad”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Stauffer unless otherwise mentioned.
Stauffer comprises the following features:
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 15, a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) associated with energy harvesting, comprising:
a processor ([0028] “The UE 110 also includes processor(s) 212 and computer-readable storage media 214 (CRM 214).”) configured to:
send a request, wherein the request indicates a requested off time ([0046] “At 304, the user equipment transmits, based on the thermal state or the battery state-of-charge, a request message to a base station for the user equipment to enter into a low-power connected mode.”);
receive a response, wherein the response comprises information ([0051] “At 306, the user equipment receives a configuration message from the base station to activate the a low-power connected mode.”) indicating an off length of time ([0057] “the configuration message includes a recommended end-time for the user equipment 110 to exit the low-power connected mode and resume normal operation of the RRC connected mode.”), a configured grant (CG), a resource associated with the CG, and a CG validity time (This will be discussed in view of Chai.);
start a first time period corresponding to the off length of time ([0052] “At 308, the user equipment activates the low-power connected mode.”);
start a second time period corresponding to the CG validity time (This will be discussed in view of Chai.);
receive an energy harvesting signal during the first time period (This will be discussed in view of Krogstad.); and
based on the first time period and the second time period not ending and one or more conditions being satisfied ([0057] “the configuration message includes a recommended end-time for the user equipment 110 to exit the low-power connected mode and resume normal operation of the RRC connected mode. The recommended end-time may or may not coincide with the time indicated in the request message. Rather, the base station 120 may recommend a different time or duration of time based on scheduling conflicts. The recommended time indicates to the user equipment 110 a time when the base station 120 can synchronize with the user equipment 110.”), transmit a power recovery indication in an uplink (UL) transmission using the resource associated with the CG, wherein the UL transmission includes an amount of UL data ([0059] “At 408, the base station receives, via a PUCCH or RACH specific to the user equipment, a cancel message from the user equipment indicating that the user equipment is exiting the low-power connected mode and resuming normal operation of the RRC connected mode.”).
It is noted that while disclosing a low-power connected mode, Stauffer does not specifically teach about CG and its time, and an EH signal. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Chai and Krogstad as follows;
a configured grant (CG), a resource associated with the CG, and a CG validity time ([Chai, 0107] “The grant-free time-frequency resource is a time-frequency resource that is configured by the access network device for the terminal device and that can be used for uplink grant-free transmission.” See below [Chai, 0105] for “CG validity time”.);
start a second time period corresponding to the CG validity time ([Chai, 0105] “the terminal device starts the timer based on a received start indication of the timer. For example, the access network device sends the start indication of the timer and the at least one precoding configuration together to the terminal device, and the terminal device starts the timer based on the received start indication of the timer.”);
receive an energy harvesting signal during the first time period ([Krogstad, 0087] “a transponder may harvest energy from one or more transmitted RF signals and may harvest energy when the transponder is inactive.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Stauffer by using the features of Chai and Krogstad in order to increase system performance such as low-latency and high reliability, and in order to effectively manage batter life such that “a precoding configuration used for transmitting the uplink information on the grant-free time-frequency resource is flexible and variable, so that inadaptation of a precoding configuration caused by a channel change is effectively avoided, thereby improving system performance” [Chai, 0010], and “The energy requirements of the transponder may be reduced by reducing the proportion of the time that the transponder is active, that may be termed the interrogation time duty cycle.” [Krogstad, 0084].
Regarding claim 23, it is a method claim corresponding to the method claim 15, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 15.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claims 19 and 27, the WTRU of claim 15 and the method of claim 23, respectively, wherein the one or more conditions are satisfied based on a power condition of the WTRU being above a threshold ([0049] “the user equipment is scheduled to exit the low-power connected mode and resume normal operation of the RRC connected mode. In aspects, the end-time can be represented by a set time, such as 3:03 pm, 10:00 am, or any other set time that provides a sufficient amount of time to cool down or to provide the user with time to locate and connect the user equipment 110 to an alternative power source.”).
Regarding claims 20 and 28, the WTRU of claim 19 and the method of claim 27, respectively, wherein the power condition of the WTRU being above the threshold is a battery level of the WTRU being above the threshold ([0045] “the user equipment 110 can compare the battery state-of-charge to a threshold value, such as a predefined value representing a charge level of the battery”. From this citation, ending the low-power mode is obvious to be in a reversal way.).
Regarding claims 22 and 30, the WTRU of claim 15 and the method of claim 23, respectively, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine that a battery level of the WTRU is below a threshold, wherein the request of the requested off time is sent based on the battery level of the WTRU being below the threshold ([0045] “the user equipment 110 can compare the battery state-of-charge to a threshold value, such as a predefined value representing a charge level of the battery, to determine whether to trigger a request to activate the low-power connected mode. Some example threshold values include 50%, 30%, 15%, 10%, 5%, 2%, and so on. Any suitable threshold value can be used to represent a charge level of the battery usable to trigger a request to activate the low-power connected mode.”).
Claim(s) 16 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stauffer et al. (US 2020/0351791, “Stauffer”) in view of Chai et al. (US 2021/0135730, “Chai”) and Krogstad et al. (US 2022/0179059, “Krogstad”) and further in view of Hong (US 2021/0127293).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Stauffer unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 16 and 24, it is noted that while disclosing a low-power connected mode, Stauffer does not specifically teach about a buffer threshold. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Hong as follows;
the WTRU of claim 15 and the method of claim 23, respectively, wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive an indication of a buffer threshold ([Hong, 0149] “the IAB node configuration information may include at least one of trigger condition information for triggering the transmission of downlink buffer status information or uplink buffer status information, information for indicating a trigger, and signaling information used to transmit buffer status information. For example, the trigger condition information may include buffer threshold value information”), wherein the one or more conditions are satisfied based on UL data available for transmission exceeding the buffer threshold ([Hong, 0152] “the IAB node monitors whether data buffered in the downlink buffer exceed a threshold value set for buffer status information transmission, whether the data buffered in the downlink buffer satisfy a trigger condition for the buffer status information transmission”, and [Hong, 0155] “when the result of the monitoring for the buffer status satisfies a buffer status information transmission trigger condition, the IAB node transmits buffer status information.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Stauffer by using the features of Hong in order to increase system performance such as low-latency and high reliability such that “monitoring an uplink buffer status or a downlink buffer status in the IAB node, and transmitting uplink buffer status information or downlink buffer status information to the donor base station or an associated parent IAB node based on the result of the monitoring for the uplink buffer status or the downlink buffer status.” [Hong, 0009].
Claim(s) 17 and 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stauffer et al. (US 2020/0351791, “Stauffer”) in view of Chai et al. (US 2021/0135730, “Chai”) and Krogstad et al. (US 2022/0179059, “Krogstad”) and further in view of Shukair et al. (US 2019/0320491, “Shukair”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Stauffer unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 17 and 25, it is noted that while disclosing a low-power connected mode, Stauffer does not specifically teach about transmitting data amount exceeding a buffer threshold. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Shukair as follows;
the WTRU of claim 16 and the method of claim 23, respectively, wherein the amount of the UL data included in the UL transmission is an amount of the UL data available for transmission that exceeds the buffer threshold ([Shukair, 0071] “when the amount of UL traffic in the transmission buffer meets or exceeds a threshold, the scheduled entity may no longer continue to skip SPS UL transmission grants and may need to transmit the UL traffic accumulated in the transmission buffer during the next SPS UL transmission grant.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Stauffer by using the features of Shukair in order to provide transmission flexibility and enhance user experience such that “Various aspects relate to dynamic prioritization of uplink (UL) traffic at a scheduled entity (e.g., UE).” [Shukair, 0008].
Claim(s) 18 and 26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stauffer et al. (US 2020/0351791, “Stauffer”) in view of Chai et al. (US 2021/0135730, “Chai”), Krogstad et al. (US 2022/0179059, “Krogstad”) and Shukair et al. (US 2019/0320491, “Shukair”), and further in view of Chakravarthy et al. (US 2014/0254505, “Chakravarthy”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Stauffer unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 18 and 26, it is noted that while disclosing a low-power connected mode, Stauffer does not specifically teach about data transmission on a sufficient power. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Chakravarthy as follows;
the WTRU of claim 17 and the method of claim 25, respectively, wherein the one or more conditions are satisfied further based on the WTRU having sufficient energy to send the amount of the UL data available for transmission that exceeds the buffer threshold ([Chakravarthy, 0025] “be used by the UE to transmit the non-scheduled, time critical data using whatever (very small amount of) power headroom is still available at the UE.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Stauffer by using the features of Chakravarthy in order to improve time critical data transmissions in a power-limited state such that “a method for prioritizing time critical data for transmission by a user equipment (UE) is described.” [Chakravarthy, 0009].
Claim(s) 21 and 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stauffer et al. (US 2020/0351791, “Stauffer”) in view of Chai et al. (US 2021/0135730, “Chai”) and Krogstad et al. (US 2022/0179059, “Krogstad”), and further in view of Tseng (US 2016/0157256).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Stauffer unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claims 21 and 29, it is noted that while disclosing a low-power connected mode, Stauffer does not specifically teach about comparing lengths of two duration periods. It, however, had been known in the art before the effective date of the instant application as shown by Tseng as follows;
the WTRU of claim 15 and the method of claim 23, respectively, wherein the first time period is longer than the second time period ([Tseng, 0160] “the length of the SR Prohibit Timer is longer than the periodicity of VoIP data arrival.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Stauffer by using the features of Tseng in order to effectively utilize resources such that “the method includes triggering a BSR (Buffer Status Report) due to a first UL data becoming available in the UE (User Equipment). The method also includes starting a timer associated with the BSR.” [Tseng, 0005].
Conclusion
/HARRY H KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411