DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first/second heat transfer enhancement parts
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Holz (EP0918199A2).
Regarding claim 1, Holz discloses a heat exchanger (see Fig. 9-10 & annotated Fig. 9 below, hereinafter Fig. A) comprising: a heat transfer tube (53) that extends in a second direction (see horizontal direction of Fig. 9) that crosses a first direction (see direction of arrow in Fig. 9) in which gas flows; and a fin (51) that is provided to the heat transfer tube and has a surface (see surface thereof) that extends in the first direction and the second direction, the fin having a first extension part (Fig. A) and a second extension part (Fig. A), the first extension part having a first heat-transfer-enhancement area (one of areas with tabs 55) that is located further upstream in a flow of the gas than the heat transfer tube in the first direction and improves a heat transfer coefficient, the second extension part having a second heat-transfer-enhancement area (one of areas with tabs 55) that is located further downstream in the flow of the gas than the heat transfer tube in the first direction and improves a heat transfer coefficient, the first heat-transfer-enhancement area having a plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts (tabs 55) that are arranged in the second direction and each improve a heat transfer coefficient, and a first flat part (see flat parts between tabs 55) provided between adjacent ones of the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts in the second direction, the second heat-transfer-enhancement area having a plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts (tabs 55) that are arranged in the second direction and each improve a heat transfer coefficient, and a second flat part (see flat parts between tabs 55) provided between adjacent ones of the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts in the second direction, the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts, the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts, the first flat part, and the second flat part each having an equal length in the second direction (as permissibly gleaned from Fig. 9), the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts being each arranged in the second direction at a same position as the corresponding second flat part in the second heat-transfer-enhancement area in the second direction, the first flat part being provided in the second direction at a same position as a corresponding one of the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts in the second heat-transfer-enhancement area in the second direction (Fig. A).
Fig. A – Annotated Fig. 9 of Holz
Regarding claim 3, Holz discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Holz further discloses
the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts and the first flat part are alternately arranged in the second direction, the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts and the second flat part are alternately arranged in the second direction, the second flat part is provided in the second heat-transfer-enhancement area side by side with the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts in the first direction, and the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts are arranged in the second heat-transfer-enhancement area side by side with the first flat part in the first direction (Fig. A).
Regarding claim 4, Holz discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Holz further discloses the heat transfer tube has a plurality of heat transfer tubes (see plurality of tubes 53 connected by 54) spaced apart from each other at a predetermined interval in a third direction that crosses the first direction and the second direction.
Regarding claim 6, Holz discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Holz further discloses in the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts, any of a cut and bent-up part, a slit, a louver, and an uneven part is formed, in the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts, any of a cut and bent-up part, a slit, a louver, and an uneven part is formed, and a sum of a count of any of one or more of the cut and bent-up parts, slits, louvers, and uneven parts formed in the first direction in each of the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts, and a count of any of one or more of the cut and bent-up parts, slits, louvers, and uneven parts formed in the first direction in each of the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts is constant (tabs 55 & associated opening).
Regarding claim 7, Holz discloses the limitations of claim 1, and Holz further discloses
at least one of the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts are any of a cut and bent-up part, a slit, a louver, and an uneven part, and at least one of the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts are any of a cut and bent-up part, a slit, a louver, and an uneven part (tabs 55 & associated opening).
Regarding claim 8, Holz discloses the limitations of claim 6, and Holz further discloses wherein any one of the slit, the louver, and the uneven part is formed in the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts in a first pattern, any one of the slit, the louver, and the uneven part is formed in the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts in a second pattern, and the first pattern and the second pattern are displaced from each other in the second direction (Fig. A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (JP09159386A).
Regarding claim 9, Morita teaches a heat exchanger (Fig. 1/6) comprising: a heat transfer tube (5) that extends in a second direction that crosses a first direction in which gas flows; and a fin (6/16) that is provided to the heat transfer tube and has a surface that extends in the first direction and the second direction, the fin having a first extension part and a second extension part (see upstream and downstream parts of 6/16), the first extension part having a first heat-transfer-enhancement area (area with respective louvers 7/17) that is located further upstream in a flow of the gas than the heat transfer tube in the first direction and improves a heat transfer coefficient, the second extension part having a second heat-transfer-enhancement area (area with respective louvers 7/17) that is located further downstream in the flow of the gas than the heat transfer tube in the first direction and improves a heat transfer coefficient, the first heat-transfer-enhancement area having a plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts that are arranged in the second direction and each improve a heat transfer coefficient, and a first flat part (flat parts between respective louvers 7/17) provided between adjacent ones of the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts in the second direction, the second heat-transfer-enhancement area having a plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts that are arranged in the second direction and each improve a heat transfer coefficient, and a second flat part (flat parts between respective louvers 7/17) provided between adjacent ones of the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts in the second direction, the exchanger further comprising a first set including the heat transfer tube and the fin and a second set including the heat transfer tube and the fin, the heat transfer tube in the second set being spaced apart from the heat transfer tube in the first set in the first direction.
Morita does not teach, in a single embodiment, the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts being formed in the fin in the first set at positions different in the second direction from positions of the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts formed in the fin in the second set, however, Morita does teach the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts being formed in the fin in a first set at positions different in the second direction from positions of the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts formed in the fin in a second set (see vertical louvered fins of 1/3/6 and oblique louvered fins of Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Morita to include the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts being formed in the fin in the first set at positions different in the second direction from positions of the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts formed in the fin in the second set, as it has been held obvious to try when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP 2143). In the instant case, the two fin configurations of Morita are identified to be suitable fins for such a heat exchanger, and using two different fins selected from the disclosed variations would predictably result in a heat exchanger with louvered fins to improve heat transfer efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, Morita teaches the limitations of claim 9, and Morita further teaches the heat transfer tube has a plurality of heat transfer tubes spaced apart from each other at a predetermined interval in a third direction that crosses the first direction and the second direction (see pipes 5 in third direction.
Regarding claim 12, Morita teaches the limitations of claim 9, and Morita further teaches in the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts, any of a cut and bent-up part, a slit, a louver, and an uneven part is formed, in the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts, any of a cut and bent-up part, a slit, a louver, and an uneven part is formed, and a sum of a count of any of one or more of the cut and bent-up parts, slits, louvers, and uneven parts formed in the first direction in each of the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts, and a count of any of one or more of the cut and bent-up parts, slits, louvers, and uneven parts formed in the first direction in each of the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts is constant (see louvers 7/17/37).
Regarding claim 13, Morita teaches the limitations of claim 9, and Morita further teaches at least one of the plurality of first heat-transfer-enhancement parts are any of a cut and bent-up part, a slit, a louver, and an uneven part, and at least one of the plurality of second heat-transfer-enhancement parts are any of a cut and bent-up part, a slit, a louver, and an uneven part (see louvers 7/17/37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763