DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 7: a borehole seismic wavefield obtaining unit; a first arrival time obtaining unit; a preprocessing unit; a profile information generating unit; a calibrating unit.
Claim 8: a wavefield separating module, a first time window determining module, a wavelet obtaining module, a wavelet deconvolution module, an amplitude compensating module.
Claim 9: a depth domain amplitude value extracting module, a filtering module.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Specifically, representative Claim 1 recites:
A VSP-based depth domain seismic profile horizon calibration method, comprising:
obtaining vertical seismic profile (VSP) wavefield data of a depth domain from a borehole acquisition instrument;
determining first arrival time information on the basis of the VSP wavefield data;
processing the VSP wavefield data on the basis of a preset filtering method and the first arrival time information to obtain upgoing wave data;
generating a zero offset profile of the depth domain on the basis of the upgoing wave data; and
calibrating, on the basis of the zero offset profile, a depth-domain profile to be calibrated, so as to generate a corresponding calibration result, wherein the calibration result comprises depth accuracy evaluation information of the profile of the depth domain and corresponding correction suggestion information.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements”.
Under the Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in a statutory category (process).
Under the Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation, that covers mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion.
For example, steps of “determining first arrival time information on the basis of the VSP wavefield data (determination based on data);
processing the VSP wavefield data on the basis of a preset filtering method and the first arrival time information to obtain upgoing wave data (selecting data based on preset requirements);
generating a zero offset profile of the depth domain on the basis of the upgoing wave data (visualizing selected data); and
calibrating, on the basis of the zero offset profile, a depth-domain profile to be calibrated, so as to generate a corresponding calibration result, wherein the calibration result comprises depth accuracy evaluation information of the profile of the depth domain and corresponding correction suggestion information (adjusting data based on different data)” are treated by the Examiner as belonging to mental process grouping.
Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of Claims 7 and 14.
Next, under the Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application.
In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
The above claims comprise the following additional elements:
Claim 1: A VSP-based depth domain seismic profile horizon calibration method, comprising: obtaining vertical seismic profile (VSP) wavefield data of a depth domain from a borehole acquisition instrument;
Claim 7: A VSP-based depth domain seismic profile horizon calibration apparatus, comprising: a borehole seismic wavefield obtaining unit, configured to obtain VSP wavefield data of a depth domain from a borehole acquisition instrument; a first arrival time obtaining unit; a preprocessing unit; a profile information generating unit; a calibrating unit;
Claim 14: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the program, when executed by a processor, implements the following steps: obtaining vertical seismic profile (VSP) wavefield data of a depth domain from a borehole acquisition instrument.
The additional element in the preamble of “A VSP-based depth domain seismic profile horizon calibration method/apparatus” is not qualified for a meaningful limitation because it only generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Obtaining vertical seismic profile (VSP) wavefield data of a depth domain from a borehole acquisition instrument represents a mere data gathering step and only adds an insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium (generic memory) and a processor or processor units (generic processors) are generally recited and are not qualified as particular machines.
In conclusion, the above additional elements, considered individually and in combination with the other claim elements do not reflect an improvement to other technology or technical field, and, therefore, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the Step 2B.
However, the above claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B analysis).
The claims, therefore, are not patent eligible.
With regards to the dependent claims, claims 2-6, 8-13, and 15-19 provide additional features/steps which are part of an expanded algorithm, so these limitations should be considered part of an expanded abstract idea of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan (CN 101071175 A).
Regarding Claim 1,Yan teaches a VSP-based depth domain seismic profile horizon calibration method, comprising:
obtaining vertical seismic profile (VSP) wavefield data of a depth domain from a borehole acquisition instrument (Yan [0043] (1 )Using the characteristic that each receiving point in the VSP measurement data contains accurate depth information, it is closely combined with the depth information of the drilling layer. Also see [0014] 1 )Observe and collect seismic waves, and use the inversion algorithm to calculate the formation velocity when the observed seismic waves reach the travel time;);
determining first arrival time information on the basis of the VSP wavefield data (Yan [0052] In the processing of the depth domain of the present invention, the calculation method of formation velocity is to accurately calculate the formation using an inversion algorithm under the condition of horizontal layered uniform formation medium (when the well source distance is very small compared with the depth of the target layer). Layer speed. Its seismic rays can be curved, and the calculation process is implemented by iteration. This velocity is used for depth-domain imaging of zero-well-source-distance VSP data.);
processing the VSP wavefield data on the basis of a preset filtering method and the first arrival time information to obtain upgoing wave data (Yan [0068] The specific method is to first use the first arrival picked up in the above steps to flatten the data; then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave;);
generating a zero offset profile of the depth domain on the basis of the upgoing wave data (Yan [0070] 4)The time domain processing method is based on the data obtained in 3) processing and using the rms velocity model obtained above to deconvolve the upward wave data in the time domain (see Figure 5).); and
calibrating, on the basis of the zero offset profile, a depth-domain profile to be calibrated, so as to generate a corresponding calibration result, wherein the calibration result comprises depth accuracy evaluation information of the profile of the depth domain and corresponding correction suggestion information (Yan [0041] The subsequent seismic reflection wave group relationship identifies and calibrates the seismic response in the surface seismic, 2D or 3D VSP imaging profile. Also see [0076] The method of time domain processing is to calibrate the seismic reference plane (time) by static correction. The method of processing in the depth domain is to correct the above processing results to the core height according to the shot elevation and the known core height, so that it is convenient to compare and identify the horizon with drilling and logging data.).
Regarding Claim 2, Yan further teaches wherein the preset filtering method comprises a median filtering method and a mean filtering method (Yan [0068] then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave; also see [0070] 4)The time domain processing method is based on the data obtained in 3) processing and using the rms velocity model obtained above to deconvolve the upward wave data in the time domain (see Figure 5).); and
processing the VSP wavefield data on the basis of a preset filtering method and the first arrival time information to obtain upgoing wave data comprises:
processing the VSP wavefield data on the basis of the median filtering method or the mean filtering method to determine a corresponding upgoing wave and downgoing wave (Yan [0068] then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave;);
determining a first time window on the basis of the first arrival time information (Yan [0068] The specific method is to first use the first arrival picked up in the above steps to flatten the data;);
processing the downgoing wave on the basis of the first time window to obtain a downgoing wavelet (Yan [0068] then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave;);
executing deconvolution processing on the upgoing wave in data after wavefield separation on the basis of the downgoing wavelet to obtain deconvoluted data (Yan [0069] 3)Deconvolution is performed on the data using the deconvolution operator extracted from the descending wave or the monitoring wavelet to eliminate multiple waves and improve the resolution. The upgoing and downgoing waves are separated); and
executing amplitude compensation processing on the deconvoluted data to obtain the upgoing wave data (Yan [0069] 3)Deconvolution is performed on the data using the deconvolution operator extracted from the descending wave or the monitoring wavelet to eliminate multiple waves and improve the resolution. The upgoing and downgoing waves are separated).
Regarding Claim 3, Yan teaches determining upgoing wave amplitude information of the depth domain on the basis of the upgoing wave data (Yan [0068] Finally, the ascending wave data is restored to the original space-time position according to the first arrival. Once the waves are separated the upstream wave is restored, which naturally has its own amplitude); and
processing the upgoing wave amplitude information on the basis of a preset multichannel filtering method to obtain the zero offset profile of the depth domain (Yan [0068] The specific method is to first use the first arrival picked up in the above steps to flatten the data; then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave; Also see [0071] The method of processing in the depth domain is based on 3) the processed data seismic reflection wave (p-wave or shear wave), 1) the layer velocity model (depth domain) obtained and the actual observation system, and the ray tracing algorithm and imaging method are used to image in the depth domain . The imaging uses the well-known VSPCDP conversion algorithm. […] This completes the processing of the depth-domain imaging profile of the zero-well-source-to-VSP data (see Figure 5). Also see [0074] The time domain approach is to cut the corridor along the time domain. The method of depth domain processing is to cut the imaging data along the corridor along the depth (as shown in Figure 5). Each depth sample retains about 5 valid data sets. The basic principle is to retain high signal-to-noise ratio data of imaging channels (within 10 m) along the well side to avoid possible multiple waves. The multiple datasets and filters are used to reconstruct the upward wave to zero-well-source-to-VSP data).
Regarding Claim 4, Yan further teaches determining a plurality of preset output depth positions in the depth domain (Yan [0074] The method of depth domain processing is to cut the imaging data along the corridor along the depth (as shown in Figure 5). Each depth sample retains about 5 valid data sets. The data is divided into sets based on depth);
determining a second time window on the basis of the first arrival time information (Yan [0074] The time domain approach is to cut the corridor along the time domain.); and
processing the upgoing wave data on the plurality of preset output depth positions on the basis of the second time window to obtain the upgoing wave amplitude information (Yan [0076] The method of time domain processing is to calibrate the seismic reference plane (time) by static correction. The method of processing in the depth domain is to correct the above processing results to the core height according to the shot elevation and the known core height, so that it is convenient to compare and identify the horizon with drilling and logging data. Time and depth domain processing are both performed for calibration).
Regarding Claim 5, Yan further teaches extracting the upgoing wave amplitude information to obtain a plurality of corresponding depth-domain data, wherein the upgoing wave amplitude information is in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of preset output depth positions (Yan [0077]Since there is a depth starting reference plane consistent with the drilling and logging data (starting from the core height), it can be directly used for the comparison and identification of geological and seismic horizons.); and
processing the plurality of depth-domain data on the basis of the preset multichannel filtering method to obtain the zero offset profile of the depth domain (Yan [0074] The time domain approach is to cut the corridor along the time domain. The method of depth domain processing is to cut the imaging data along the corridor along the depth (as shown in Figure 5). Each depth sample retains about 5 valid data sets. The basic principle is to retain high signal-to-noise ratio data of imaging channels (within 10 m) along the well side to avoid possible multiple waves.).
Regarding Claim 6, Yan further teaches determining the to-be-calibrated depth-domain profile (Yan [0041] The method is to make full use of the space-time relationship between the depth information and the wave field in the VSP measurement data, and use the longitudinal and transverse wave reflected wave signals to overlay the corridor in the depth domain to directly compare it with the drilling layered data. The subsequent seismic reflection wave group relationship identifies and calibrates the seismic response in the surface seismic, 2D or 3D VSP imaging profile.);
determining a depth error between the zero offset profile and the to-be-calibrated depth- domain profile and a corresponding relationship of reflection characteristics (Yan [0044] (2)Using VSP's direct wave travel data and optimized inversion algorithm to obtain a high-accuracy speed model. This velocity model is used for imaging the reflection wave data of zero-well source distance VSP.); and
analyzing the depth error and the corresponding relationship of the reflection characteristics to generate the corresponding calibration result (Yan [0045] When the speed inversion algorithm makes the measured direct wave travel and the theoretical model calculate the travel time error is small enough, the speed model is obtained. It can ensure that the reflected waves near the first arrival of the direct wave return to the depth accurately, and the superimposed section of the corridor can be obtained accordingly. Also see [0076] The method of processing in the depth domain is to correct the above processing results to the core height according to the shot elevation and the known core height, so that it is convenient to compare and identify the horizon with drilling and logging data. The purpose of domain processing is to ensure that modeled depth is accurate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (as stated above) in view of Nasser et al. (US 20210103068 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Yan teaches a VSP-based depth domain seismic profile horizon calibration apparatus (Examiner notes that Yan is computer implemented), comprising:
obtain VSP wavefield data of a depth domain from a borehole acquisition instrument (Yan [0043] (1 )Using the characteristic that each receiving point in the VSP measurement data contains accurate depth information, it is closely combined with the depth information of the drilling layer. Also see [0014] 1 )Observe and collect seismic waves, and use the inversion algorithm to calculate the formation velocity when the observed seismic waves reach the travel time;);
determine first arrival time information on the basis of the VSP wavefield data (Yan [0052] In the processing of the depth domain of the present invention, the calculation method of formation velocity is to accurately calculate the formation using an inversion algorithm under the condition of horizontal layered uniform formation medium (when the well source distance is very small compared with the depth of the target layer). Layer speed. Its seismic rays can be curved, and the calculation process is implemented by iteration. This velocity is used for depth-domain imaging of zero-well-source-distance VSP data.);
process the VSP wavefield data on the basis of a preset filtering method and the first arrival time information to obtain upgoing wave data (Yan [0068] The specific method is to first use the first arrival picked up in the above steps to flatten the data; then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave;);
generate a zero offset profile of the depth domain on the basis of the upgoing wave data (Yan [0070] 4)The time domain processing method is based on the data obtained in 3) processing and using the rms velocity model obtained above to deconvolve the upward wave data in the time domain (see Figure 5).); and
a calibrating unit, configured to calibrate, on the basis of the zero offset profile, a depth- domain profile to be calibrated, so as to generate a corresponding calibration result, wherein the calibration result comprises depth accuracy evaluation information of the depth-domain profile and corresponding correction suggestion information (Yan [0041] The subsequent seismic reflection wave group relationship identifies and calibrates the seismic response in the surface seismic, 2D or 3D VSP imaging profile. Also see [0076] The method of time domain processing is to calibrate the seismic reference plane (time) by static correction. The method of processing in the depth domain is to correct the above processing results to the core height according to the shot elevation and the known core height, so that it is convenient to compare and identify the horizon with drilling and logging data.).
Although Yan is clearly computer implemented, Yan is not relied upon to explicitly teach a borehole seismic wavefield obtaining unit, a first arrival time obtaining unit, a preprocessing unit, a profile information generating unit, configured to perform the functions of the claimed apparatus above.
Nasser teaches a computer system that implements a VSP workflow (Nasser [0075] The computer 702 includes a processor 705. Although illustrated as a single processor 705 in FIG. 7, two or more processors 705 can be used according to particular needs, desires, or particular implementations of the computer 702 and the described functionality. Generally, the processor 705 can execute instructions and can manipulate data to perform the operations of the computer 702, including operations using algorithms, methods, functions, processes, flows, and procedures as described in the present disclosure.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Yan (as stated above) in view of Nasser to explicitly teach a borehole seismic wavefield obtaining unit, a first arrival time obtaining unit, a preprocessing unit, a profile information generating unit, configured to perform the functions of the claimed apparatus, to explicitly disclose the hardware used to perform the processing and algorithms of Yan (Nasser [0075] The computer 702 includes a processor 705. Although illustrated as a single processor 705 in FIG. 7, two or more processors 705 can be used according to particular needs, desires, or particular implementations of the computer 702 and the described functionality. Generally, the processor 705 can execute instructions and can manipulate data to perform the operations of the computer 702, including operations using algorithms, methods, functions, processes, flows, and procedures as described in the present disclosure.).
Regarding Claim 8, Yan in view of Nasser (as stated above) further teaches wherein the preset filtering method comprises a median filtering method and a mean filtering method (Yan [0068] then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave; also see [0070] 4)The time domain processing method is based on the data obtained in 3) processing and using the rms velocity model obtained above to deconvolve the upward wave data in the time domain (see Figure 5).), and the preprocessing unit comprises:
a wavefield separating module (Nasser [0075] Generally, the processor 705 can execute instructions and can manipulate data to perform the operations of the computer 702, including operations using algorithms, methods, functions, processes, flows, and procedures as described in the present disclosure.), configured to process the VSP wavefield data on the basis of the median filtering method or the mean filtering method to determine a corresponding upgoing wave and downgoing wave (Yan [0068] then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave;);
a first time window determining module (Nasser [0075] Generally, the processor 705 can execute instructions and can manipulate data to perform the operations of the computer 702, including operations using algorithms, methods, functions, processes, flows, and procedures as described in the present disclosure.), configured to determine a first time window on the basis of the first arrival time information (Yan [0068] The specific method is to first use the first arrival picked up in the above steps to flatten the data;);
a wavelet obtaining module (Nasser [0075] Generally, the processor 705 can execute instructions and can manipulate data to perform the operations of the computer 702, including operations using algorithms, methods, functions, processes, flows, and procedures as described in the present disclosure.), configured to process the downgoing wave on the basis of the first time window to obtain a downgoing wavelet (Yan [0068] then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave;);
a wavelet deconvolution module (Nasser [0075] Generally, the processor 705 can execute instructions and can manipulate data to perform the operations of the computer 702, including operations using algorithms, methods, functions, processes, flows, and procedures as described in the present disclosure.), configured to executing deconvolution processing on the upgoing wave in data after wavefield separation on the basis of the downgoing wavelet to obtain deconvoluted data (Yan [0069] 3)Deconvolution is performed on the data using the deconvolution operator extracted from the descending wave or the monitoring wavelet to eliminate multiple waves and improve the resolution. The upgoing and downgoing waves are separated); and
an amplitude compensating module (Nasser [0075] Generally, the processor 705 can execute instructions and can manipulate data to perform the operations of the computer 702, including operations using algorithms, methods, functions, processes, flows, and procedures as described in the present disclosure.), configured to execute amplitude compensation processing on the deconvoluted data to obtain the upgoing wave data (Yan [0069] 3)Deconvolution is performed on the data using the deconvolution operator extracted from the descending wave or the monitoring wavelet to eliminate multiple waves and improve the resolution. The upgoing and downgoing waves are separated).
Regarding Claim 9, Yan in view of Nasser (as stated above) further teaches a depth domain amplitude value extracting module (Nasser [0075] Generally, the processor 705 can execute instructions and can manipulate data to perform the operations of the computer 702, including operations using algorithms, methods, functions, processes, flows, and procedures as described in the present disclosure.), configured to determine upgoing wave amplitude information of the depth domain on the basis of the upgoing wave data (Yan [0068] Finally, the ascending wave data is restored to the original space-time position according to the first arrival. Once the waves are separated the upstream wave is restored, which naturally has its own amplitude); and
a filtering module (Nasser [0075] Generally, the processor 705 can execute instructions and can manipulate data to perform the operations of the computer 702, including operations using algorithms, methods, functions, processes, flows, and procedures as described in the present disclosure.), configured to process the upgoing wave amplitude information on the basis of a preset multichannel filtering method to obtain the zero offset profile of the depth domain (Yan [0068] The specific method is to first use the first arrival picked up in the above steps to flatten the data; then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave; Also see [0071] The method of processing in the depth domain is based on 3) the processed data seismic reflection wave (p-wave or shear wave), 1) the layer velocity model (depth domain) obtained and the actual observation system, and the ray tracing algorithm and imaging method are used to image in the depth domain . The imaging uses the well-known VSPCDP conversion algorithm. […] This completes the processing of the depth-domain imaging profile of the zero-well-source-to-VSP data (see Figure 5). Also see [0074] The time domain approach is to cut the corridor along the time domain. The method of depth domain processing is to cut the imaging data along the corridor along the depth (as shown in Figure 5). Each depth sample retains about 5 valid data sets. The basic principle is to retain high signal-to-noise ratio data of imaging channels (within 10 m) along the well side to avoid possible multiple waves. The multiple datasets and filters are used to reconstruct the upward wave to zero-well-source-to-VSP data).
Regarding Claim 10, Yan in view of Nasser (as stated above) further teaches determine a plurality of preset output depth positions in the depth domain (Yan [0074] The method of depth domain processing is to cut the imaging data along the corridor along the depth (as shown in Figure 5). Each depth sample retains about 5 valid data sets. The data is divided into sets based on depth);
determine a second time window on the basis of the first arrival time information(Yan [0074] The time domain approach is to cut the corridor along the time domain.); and
process the upgoing wave data on the plurality of preset output depth positions on the basis of the second time window to obtain the upgoing wave amplitude information (Yan [0076] The method of time domain processing is to calibrate the seismic reference plane (time) by static correction. The method of processing in the depth domain is to correct the above processing results to the core height according to the shot elevation and the known core height, so that it is convenient to compare and identify the horizon with drilling and logging data. Time and depth domain processing are both performed for calibration).
Regarding Claim 11, Yan in view of Nasser (as stated above) further teaches extract the upgoing wave amplitude information to obtain a plurality of corresponding depth-domain data, wherein the upgoing wave amplitude information is in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of preset output depth positions (Yan [0077]Since there is a depth starting reference plane consistent with the drilling and logging data (starting from the core height), it can be directly used for the comparison and identification of geological and seismic horizons.); and
process the plurality of depth-domain data on the basis of the preset multichannel filtering method to obtain the zero offset profile of the depth domain (Yan [0074] The time domain approach is to cut the corridor along the time domain. The method of depth domain processing is to cut the imaging data along the corridor along the depth (as shown in Figure 5). Each depth sample retains about 5 valid data sets. The basic principle is to retain high signal-to-noise ratio data of imaging channels (within 10 m) along the well side to avoid possible multiple waves.).
Regarding Claim 12, Yan in view of Nasser (as stated above) further teaches determine the to-be-calibrated depth-domain profile (Yan [0041] The method is to make full use of the space-time relationship between the depth information and the wave field in the VSP measurement data, and use the longitudinal and transverse wave reflected wave signals to overlay the corridor in the depth domain to directly compare it with the drilling layered data. The subsequent seismic reflection wave group relationship identifies and calibrates the seismic response in the surface seismic, 2D or 3D VSP imaging profile.);
determine a depth error between the zero offset profile and the to-be-calibrated depth- domain profile and a corresponding relationship of reflection characteristics (Yan [0044] (2)Using VSP's direct wave travel data and optimized inversion algorithm to obtain a high-accuracy speed model. This velocity model is used for imaging the reflection wave data of zero-well source distance VSP.); and
analyze the depth error and the corresponding relationship of the reflection characteristics to generate the corresponding calibration result (Yan [0045] When the speed inversion algorithm makes the measured direct wave travel and the theoretical model calculate the travel time error is small enough, the speed model is obtained. It can ensure that the reflected waves near the first arrival of the direct wave return to the depth accurately, and the superimposed section of the corridor can be obtained accordingly. Also see [0076] The method of processing in the depth domain is to correct the above processing results to the core height according to the shot elevation and the known core height, so that it is convenient to compare and identify the horizon with drilling and logging data. The purpose of domain processing is to ensure that modeled depth is accurate).
Regarding Claim 13, Yan in view of Nasser (as stated above) further teaches a memory and a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of operating on the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, implements the borehole seismic wavefield obtaining unit, the first arrival time obtaining unit, the preprocessing unit, the profile information generating unit and the calibrating unit (Nasser [0075] Generally, the processor 705 can execute instructions and can manipulate data to perform the operations of the computer 702, including operations using algorithms, methods, functions, processes, flows, and procedures as described in the present disclosure. Also see [0085] Computers suitable for the execution of a computer program can be based on one or more of general and special purpose microprocessors and other kinds of CPUs. The elements of a computer are a CPU for performing or executing instructions and one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data.).
Regarding Claim 14, Yan teaches obtaining vertical seismic profile (VSP) wavefield data of a depth domain from a borehole acquisition instrument (Yan [0043] (1 )Using the characteristic that each receiving point in the VSP measurement data contains accurate depth information, it is closely combined with the depth information of the drilling layer. Also see [0014] 1 )Observe and collect seismic waves, and use the inversion algorithm to calculate the formation velocity when the observed seismic waves reach the travel time;);
determining first arrival time information on the basis of the VSP wavefield data (Yan [0052] In the processing of the depth domain of the present invention, the calculation method of formation velocity is to accurately calculate the formation using an inversion algorithm under the condition of horizontal layered uniform formation medium (when the well source distance is very small compared with the depth of the target layer). Layer speed. Its seismic rays can be curved, and the calculation process is implemented by iteration. This velocity is used for depth-domain imaging of zero-well-source-distance VSP data.);
processing the VSP wavefield data on the basis of a preset filtering method and the first arrival time information to obtain upgoing wave data (Yan [0068] The specific method is to first use the first arrival picked up in the above steps to flatten the data; then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave;);
generating a zero offset profile of the depth domain on the basis of the upgoing wave data (Yan [0070] 4)The time domain processing method is based on the data obtained in 3) processing and using the rms velocity model obtained above to deconvolve the upward wave data in the time domain (see Figure 5).); and
calibrating, on the basis of the zero offset profile, a depth-domain profile to be calibrated, so as to generate a corresponding calibration result, wherein the calibration result comprises depth accuracy evaluation information of the profile of the depth domain and corresponding correction suggestion information (Yan [0041] The subsequent seismic reflection wave group relationship identifies and calibrates the seismic response in the surface seismic, 2D or 3D VSP imaging profile. Also see [0076] The method of time domain processing is to calibrate the seismic reference plane (time) by static correction. The method of processing in the depth domain is to correct the above processing results to the core height according to the shot elevation and the known core height, so that it is convenient to compare and identify the horizon with drilling and logging data.).
Although Yan is clearly computer implemented, Yan is not relied upon to explicitly teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the program, when executed by a processor, implements the steps above.
Nasser teaches computer readable media for storing instructions to perform the steps of a VSP workflow (Nasser [0086] Computer readable media (transitory or non-transitory, as appropriate) suitable for storing computer program instructions and data can include all forms of permanent/non-permanent and volatile/non-volatile memory, media, and memory devices.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Yan (as stated above) in view of Nasser to explicitly teach a borehole seismic wavefield obtaining unit, a first arrival time obtaining unit, a preprocessing unit, a profile information generating unit, configured to perform the functions of the claimed apparatus, to explicitly disclose the hardware used to perform the processing and algorithms of Yan (Nasser [0085] Computers suitable for the execution of a computer program can be based on one or more of general and special purpose microprocessors and other kinds of CPUs. The elements of a computer are a CPU for performing or executing instructions and one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data.).
Regarding Claim 15, Yan in view of Nasser (as stated above) further teaches wherein the preset filtering method comprises a median filtering method and a mean filtering method (Yan [0068] then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave; also see [0070] 4)The time domain processing method is based on the data obtained in 3) processing and using the rms velocity model obtained above to deconvolve the upward wave data in the time domain (see Figure 5).); and
processing the VSP wavefield data on the basis of a preset filtering method and the first arrival time information to obtain upgoing wave data comprises:
processing the VSP wavefield data on the basis of the median filtering method or the mean filtering method to determine a corresponding upgoing wave and downgoing wave (Yan [0068] then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave;);
determining a first time window on the basis of the first arrival time information (Yan [0068] The specific method is to first use the first arrival picked up in the above steps to flatten the data;);
processing the downgoing wave on the basis of the first time window to obtain a downgoing wavelet (Yan [0068] then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave;);
executing deconvolution processing on the upgoing wave in data after wavefield separation on the basis of the downgoing wavelet to obtain deconvoluted data (Yan [0069] 3)Deconvolution is performed on the data using the deconvolution operator extracted from the descending wave or the monitoring wavelet to eliminate multiple waves and improve the resolution. The upgoing and downgoing waves are separated); and
executing amplitude compensation processing on the deconvoluted data to obtain the upgoing wave data (Yan [0069] 3)Deconvolution is performed on the data using the deconvolution operator extracted from the descending wave or the monitoring wavelet to eliminate multiple waves and improve the resolution. The upgoing and downgoing waves are separated).
Regarding Claim 16, Yan in view of Nasser (as stated above) further teaches determining upgoing wave amplitude information of the depth domain on the basis of the upgoing wave data (Yan [0068] Finally, the ascending wave data is restored to the original space-time position according to the first arrival. Once the waves are separated the upstream wave is restored, which naturally has its own amplitude); and
processing the upgoing wave amplitude information on the basis of a preset multichannel filtering method to obtain the zero offset profile of the depth domain (Yan [0068] The specific method is to first use the first arrival picked up in the above steps to flatten the data; then use the two-dimensional denoising method in seismic data processing (the most commonly used is the median filter and FK filter module) to filter the downstream wave and retain the upstream wave; Also see [0071] The method of processing in the depth domain is based on 3) the processed data seismic reflection wave (p-wave or shear wave), 1) the layer velocity model (depth domain) obtained and the actual observation system, and the ray tracing algorithm and imaging method are used to image in the depth domain . The imaging uses the well-known VSPCDP conversion algorithm. […] This completes the processing of the depth-domain imaging profile of the zero-well-source-to-VSP data (see Figure 5). Also see [0074] The time domain approach is to cut the corridor along the time domain. The method of depth domain processing is to cut the imaging data along the corridor along the depth (as shown in Figure 5). Each depth sample retains about 5 valid data sets. The basic principle is to retain high signal-to-noise ratio data of imaging channels (within 10 m) along the well side to avoid possible multiple waves. The multiple datasets and filters are used to reconstruct the upward wave to zero-well-source-to-VSP data).
Regarding Claim 17, Yan in view of Nasser (as stated above) further teaches determining a plurality of preset output depth positions in the depth domain (Yan [0074] The method of depth domain processing is to cut the imaging data along the corridor along the depth (as shown in Figure 5). Each depth sample retains about 5 valid data sets. The data is divided into sets based on depth);
determining a second time window on the basis of the first arrival time information (Yan [0074] The time domain approach is to cut the corridor along the time domain.); and
processing the upgoing wave data on the plurality of preset output depth positions on the basis of the second time window to obtain the upgoing wave amplitude information (Yan [0076] The method of time domain processing is to calibrate the seismic reference plane (time) by static correction. The method of processing in the depth domain is to correct the above processing results to the core height according to the shot elevation and the known core height, so that it is convenient to compare and identify the horizon with drilling and logging data. Time and depth domain processing are both performed for calibration).
Regarding Claim 18, Yan in view of Nasser (as stated above) further teaches extracting the upgoing wave amplitude information to obtain a plurality of corresponding depth-domain data, wherein the upgoing wave amplitude information is in one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of preset output depth positions (Yan [0077]Since there is a depth starting reference plane consistent with the drilling and logging data (starting from the core height), it can be directly used for the comparison and identification of geological and seismic horizons.); and
processing the plurality of depth-domain data on the basis of the preset multichannel filtering method to obtain the zero offset profile of the depth domain (Yan [0074] The time domain approach is to cut the corridor along the time domain. The method of depth domain processing is to cut the imaging data along the corridor along the depth (as shown in Figure 5). Each depth sample retains about 5 valid data sets. The basic principle is to retain high signal-to-noise ratio data of imaging channels (within 10 m) along the well side to avoid possible multiple waves.).
Regarding Claim 19, Yan in view of Nasser (as stated above) further teaches determining the to-be-calibrated depth-domain profile (Yan [0041] The method is to make full use of the space-time relationship between the depth information and the wave field in the VSP measurement data, and use the longitudinal and transverse wave reflected wave signals to overlay the corridor in the depth domain to directly compare it with the drilling layered data. The subsequent seismic reflection wave group relationship identifies and calibrates the seismic response in the surface seismic, 2D or 3D VSP imaging profile.);
determining a depth error between the zero offset profile and the to-be-calibrated depth- domain profile and a corresponding relationship of reflection characteristics (Yan [0044] (2)Using VSP's direct wave travel data and optimized inversion algorithm to obtain a high-accuracy speed model. This velocity model is used for imaging the reflection wave data of zero-well source distance VSP.); and
analyzing the depth error and the corresponding relationship of the reflection characteristics to generate the corresponding calibration result (Yan [0045] When the speed inversion algorithm makes the measured direct wave travel and the theoretical model calculate the travel time error is small enough, the speed model is obtained. It can ensure that the reflected waves near the first arrival of the direct wave return to the depth accurately, and the superimposed section of the corridor can be obtained accordingly. Also see [0076] The method of processing in the depth domain is to correct the above processing results to the core height according to the shot elevation and the known core height, so that it is convenient to compare and identify the horizon with drilling and logging data. The purpose of domain processing is to ensure that modeled depth is accurate).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Carter (US 20160178772 A1) discloses High Resolution Estimation Of Attenuation From Vertical Seismic Profiles.
Bettinelli et al. (US 20140336940 A1) discloses Estimation Of Q-Factor In Time Domain.
Ireson (WO 2016135505 A1) discloses A Method Of Producing And Utilising High Resolution Impedance Logs Derived From Vsp Data For Use In Assessing An Oilfield Subterranean Formation.
/CHRISTIAN T BRYANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2857