DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A, claims 1-3, 5-21 in the reply filed on 1/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is unity between the groups. This is found persuasive and the restriction between Groups has been withdrawn. The restriction between species is maintained.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/16/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: [20], [22], [38]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a controllable valve configured to enable drawing an equilibrium partial vacuum between a lower pressure and a higher pressure chamber(s) when the doors are closed to each of the chamber(s)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a motive device” in claim 10, “a means to adjust compression of the variable compression vacuum pump to elevate the water vapor pressure sufficiently to condense inside the condenser” om claim 12.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: “a motive device” corresponds to a gear motor, a solenoid, or a pneumatic or hydraulic or electric cylinder in paragraph 0048 of the published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “a means to adjust compression of the variable compression vacuum pump to elevate the water vapor pressure sufficiently to condense inside the condenser”. The term “means” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which to adjust compression of the variable compression vacuum pump to elevate the water vapor pressure sufficiently to condense inside the condenser. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of adjusting compression of the variable compression vacuum pump to elevate the water vapor pressure sufficiently to condense inside the condenser. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim
Claims 1-3, 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a partial pressure vacuum” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “a partial pressure vacuum”. Applicant’s specification has not provided a quantifiable means for ascertaining “a partial pressure”. This ambiguity renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 5 recites “ the variable compression pump further comprises variable speed” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “variable speed”. The claim recites “variable compression pump” and is unclear is the compression a variable speed or the pump variable speed. Clarity is advised.
Claim 7 recites “enable the thermal transfer between heat exchanging contactors in one of the chambers and the another of the chambers” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “in one of the chambers and the another of the chambers” and the phrase lacks antecedent basis with claim 1 which recites “a chamber”.
Claim 9 recites “a variable compression vacuum pump configured to draw a partial vacuum within the chamber when the doors are closed” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear which chamber is being claim since claim 9 previously recites -- plural chambers -- .
Claim 9 recites “a partial vacuum within the condenser” and “a partial vacuum within the chamber when the doors are closed” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “a partial vacuum”. Applicant’s specification has not provided a quantifiable means for ascertaining “a partial vacuum”. This ambiguity renders the claim indefinite.
The term " sufficiently " in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "sufficiently" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification fails to describe describes what pressure is sufficient to elevate water pressure in the condenser and therefore any pressure generating water vapor inside the condenser is considered to meet the claim limitations.
Claim 14 recites “a partial vacuum” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “a partial vacuum”. Applicant’s specification has not provided a quantifiable means for ascertaining “a partial vacuum”. This ambiguity renders the claim indefinite.
Claims 20 and 21 recite “a controllable valve configured to enable drawing an equilibrium partial vacuum between a lower pressure and a higher pressure chamber(s) when the doors are closed to each of the chamber(s)” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what valve is drawing equilibrium partial vacuum. The valves described in the specification, 30, 32 and 232 do not appear to enable drawing an equilibrium partial vacuum. Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. There is no way of determining what structure is required to have the system to operate an equilibrium partial vacuum. Since there is no way of determining what are the metes and bounds of the claim, as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the system can operate as intended (in the different configurations).
Claim limitation “a means to adjust compression of the variable compression vacuum pump to elevate the water vapor pressure sufficiently to condense inside the condenser” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification fails to provide a structure to adjust compression of the variable compression vacuum pump to elevate the water vapor pressure sufficiently to condense inside the condenser.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-3, 6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15-19 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (US 20180135895) in view of Gebald et al (US 20170106330).
Regarding claim 1, in view of indefiniteness, Cho teaches a latent energy and water harvesting system (100), comprising: plural heat exchanging contactors (interior of 11, 12), thermally coupled to enable thermal transfer (coupled through 20 and 30), each heat exchanging contactor enclosed in a chamber (11, 12), each chamber comprising a seal (51, 52, 53, 54) surrounding an inlet (arrow through 52, open valves, paragraph 0056, 0058) and outlet of the chamber (arrow out 53, open valves, paragraph 0056, 0058) each chamber capable of having a sealable state (closed, paragraph 0056-0057, 0059) and a non-sealable state (open valves, paragraph 0056, 0058); wherein the plural heat exchanging contactors are coated with an adsorbent material (water vapor adsorbent, paragraph 0043) formulated to adsorb (an adsorption operation, paragraph 0041) and desorb the same gas molecules (a desorption operation, paragraph 0041) under a vacuum (a vacuum degree, paragraph 0040); wherein the thermal transfer involves the exchange of heat of adsorption and heat of desorption between one of the plural heat exchanging contactors acting as an adsorbing heat exchanging contactor enclosed in the chamber in a non-sealed state (52 and 53 are open, 11 undergoes adsorption, paragraph 0056) and another of the plural heat exchanging contactors acting as a desorbing heat exchanging contactor in the chamber in a sealed state (vapor valves are closed, 11 undergoes desorption, paragraph 0057); a variable compression vacuum pump (a vacuum pump, paragraph 0040), and a condenser (30) configured to collect thermal energy and liquid condensate from condensing gas molecules (condenses in the condenser 20, paragraph 0042, 0058) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the plural heat exchanging contactors are coated with an adsorbent material formulated to adsorb certain gas molecules in an air stream and desorb the same gas molecules under a partial pressure vacuum wherein the seal for the chamber in the sealed state allows a less than atmospheric pressure to be applied to the chamber while in the sealed state; and wherein the chamber in the non-sealed state is open to atmospheric pressure to expose an airstream to each heat exchanging contactor; wherein the partial pressure vacuum applied to the chamber in the sealed state is derived by the variable compression vacuum pump.
However, Gebald teaches a heat exchanging contactor (1) are coated with an adsorbent material (sorbent material, paragraph 0005) formulated to adsorb certain gas molecules (CO2, paragraph 0005) in an air stream (air, paragraph 0005) and desorb the same gas molecules (desorption, paragraph 0005) under a partial pressure vacuum (partial pressure, paragraph 0005, 0099) wherein the seal for the chamber in the sealed state allows a less than atmospheric pressure (6 is in a closed position, fig. 8b, a vacuum pump for desorption 8 evacuates the vacuum chamber 2 to the desired vacuum pressure and the vacuum chamber 2 is repressurized to ambient atmospheric pressure and the circular lids 6 are opened to the position where their plane is parallel with the vacuum chamber axis 15 paragraph 0099) to be applied to the chamber while in the sealed state (fig. 8b); and wherein the chamber in the non-sealed state (6 is in an open position) is open to atmospheric pressure (the circular lids 6 are opened to the position where their plane is parallel with the vacuum chamber axis 15 paragraph 0099) to expose an airstream (through 7a to 7b) to each heat exchanging contactor (fig. 8a); wherein the partial pressure vacuum applied to the chamber in the sealed state is derived by the variable compression vacuum pump (fig. 8b, a vacuum pump for desorption 8 evacuates the vacuum chamber 2 to the desired vacuum pressure and the vacuum chamber 2 is repressurized to ambient atmospheric pressure, paragraph 0099) to efficiently perform adsorption and desorption operations on the chamber.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the latent energy and water harvesting system of Cho to include the plural heat exchanging contactors are coated with an adsorbent material formulated to adsorb certain gas molecules in an air stream and desorb the same gas molecules under a partial pressure vacuum wherein the seal for the chamber in the sealed state allows a less than atmospheric pressure to be applied to the chamber while in the sealed state; and wherein the chamber in the non-sealed state is open to atmospheric pressure to expose an airstream to each heat exchanging contactor; wherein the partial pressure vacuum applied to the chamber in the sealed state is derived by the variable compression vacuum pump. in view of the teachings of Gebald to efficiently perform adsorption and desorption operations on the chamber.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein the condenser is configured to condense gas molecules in the partial pressure vacuum (paragraph 0040 of Cho).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach the variable compression vacuum pump compresses gas molecules to raise the pressure (paragraph 0099 of Gebald), allowing the gas molecules to condense in the condenser (paragraph 0040 of Cho).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach the variable compression vacuum pump further comprises variable speed (it is well known in the art of vacuum pumps to vary the speed of compression or pumping for efficiency).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach the adsorbent material comprises one or more metal organic framework compounds (paragraph 0013 of Cho).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach one or more fluid-carrying conduits (piping for hot and cold water and to 20 and 30, Fig. 1 of Cho) configured to enable the thermal transfer between heat exchanging contactors in one of the chambers and the another of the chambers.
Regarding claims 8 and 13, the combined teachings teach a variable speed pump (it is well known in the art of vacuum pumps to vary the speed of the pump for efficiency).
Regarding claim 9, in view of the indefiniteness, the combined teachings teach all the limitations of claim 9 including plural chambers (11 and 12 of Cho) each comprising a heat exchanging contactor coated with an adsorbent material (water vapor adsorbent, paragraph 0043), and each having at least one pair of doors (6 of Gebald) configured to open and close (fig. 8a and 8b), a conduit (piping for hot and cold water and to 20 and 30 back to 11 and 12, Fig. 1 of Cho) connecting the plural chambers to enable thermal transfer by enabling transfer of heat of adsorption accumulated by the coated heat exchanging contactor of one open chamber to the coated heat exchanging contactor of one closed chamber (closed, paragraph 0056-0057, 0059 of Cho) to assist the desorption of the gas molecules and to enable transfer of heat of desorption to one open chamber (open valves, paragraph 0056, 0058 of Cho) to assist the adsorption of the gas molecules; a condenser (20 of Cho) configured to recover thermal energy and liquid condensate from condensation of the gas molecules in a partial vacuum (a vacuum pump used to maintain a vacuum degree of the adsorption type cooling apparatus, paragraph 0040 of Cho) within the condenser; and a variable compression vacuum pump (a vacuum pump used to maintain a vacuum degree of the adsorption type cooling apparatus, paragraph 0040 of Cho) configured to draw a partial vacuum (partial pressure, paragraph 0005, 0099 of Gebald) within the chamber when the doors are closed (6 is in a closed position, fig. 8b, a vacuum pump for desorption 8 evacuates the vacuum chamber 2 to the desired vacuum pressure and the vacuum chamber 2 is repressurized to ambient atmospheric pressure and the circular lids 6 are opened to the position where their plane is parallel with the vacuum chamber axis 15 paragraph 0099 of Gebald), wherein the adsorbent material is formulated to desorb the gas molecules in the partial vacuum when the doors are closed (6 is in a closed position, fig. 8b, a vacuum pump for desorption 8 evacuates the vacuum chamber 2 to the desired vacuum pressure and the vacuum chamber 2 is repressurized to ambient atmospheric pressure and the circular lids 6 are opened to the position where their plane is parallel with the vacuum chamber axis 15 paragraph 0099 of Gebald), said variable compression vacuum pump compressing the gas molecules to a pressure sufficient to cause condensation to occur within the condenser (The water vapor desorbed in the first adsorption tower 11 moves to the condenser 20 and condenses in the condenser 20, a vacuum pump used to maintain a vacuum degree of the adsorption type cooling apparatus, paragraph 0040, paragraph 0058 of Cho). See rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach one or more motive devices (46 of Gebald) configured to open and close the doors (paragraph 0105 of Gebald).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach a controller (the Examiner takes official notice that a controller is well known in the art adsorption and desorption) and one or more sensors (sensor, paragraph 0100 of Gebald), the controller configured to actuate the one or more motive device to cause the doors to open or close based on input from the one or more sensors (the Examiner takes official notice that a controller is well known in the art adsorption and desorption in view of the describe of Gebald’s adsorption and desorption stages to be controlled by a controller to generate or shut off air by the fan and move the doors, paragraph 0098-0099 of Gebald).
Regarding claim 12, in view of indefiniteness, the combined teachings teach a means to adjust compression (a vacuum pump used to maintain a vacuum degree of the adsorption type cooling apparatus, paragraph 0040 of Cho) of the variable compression vacuum pump to elevate the water vapor pressure sufficiently to condense inside the condenser.
Regarding claim 14, it is noted that although the preamble of claim 14 is directed towards a method, the structure of the combined teachings disclose all the structure being provided in the method steps, thus the method is also anticipated by the combined teachings. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently or obviously perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach alternating a chamber from a non-sealed state to a sealed state (paragraph 0056-0059 of Cho, paragraph 0099-0098 of Gebald) while alternating another chamber from sealed state to a non-sealed state (paragraph 0056-0059 of Cho, paragraph 0099-0098 of Gebald), sensing relative humidity (sensor, paragraph 0100 of Gebald, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a humidity sensor is well known in the art of adsorption and desorption), and alternating the two chambers again when the relative humidity in the chamber in a sealed state indicates desorption is complete (paragraph 0099-0098 of Gebald).
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach adjusting a rate of the thermal energy exchange from the first adsorbent-coated heat exchanging contactor to the second adsorbent-coated heat exchanging contactor by varying the speed of a pump connected to the thermal conduits of the first and second adsorbent-coated heat exchanging contactors (paragraph 0040, 0056-0059 of Cho).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach adjusting a partial pressure difference between the chamber in the sealed state and the condenser (paragraph 0099-0098 of Gebald, paragraph 0056-0059 of Cho).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach adjusting the rate of desorption from the chamber in the sealed state to the condenser (paragraph 0099-0098 of Gebald, paragraph 0056-0059 of Cho).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings the desorbing is achieved at a coefficient of performance range of 10 to 20 (paragraph 0046 of Cho).
Regarding claims 20-21, the combined teachings a controllable valve (51-54 of Cho) configured to enable drawing an equilibrium partial vacuum between a lower pressure and a higher pressure chamber(s) when the doors are closed to each of the chamber(s) (paragraph 0056 of Gebald).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763