DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 16 be found allowable, claim 34 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 18-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopfert et al. (EP 3708512 A1) in view of Hiltser et al. (WO 2020132247 A1).
Claim 16, Gopfert discloses a main body (1) for fastening to a container, a metering unit (2, 2’) for the metered dispensing of a liquid, wherein the metering unit (2, 2’) has a metering body (4, 4’) having a discharge opening (21, 21’) and a channel (22, 22’) which adjoins the discharge opening (21) and extends in the direction of the container and forms an annular channel (23, 23’) with the metering unit (2, 2’), wherein a metering cap (3) is arranged on the metering body (4), wherein the metering cap (3, 3’) closes the annular channel (23, 23’) to form an annular volume, wherein the annular volume is connected by a first opening (ring shaped opening between 3’ and 4’; FIG 9-11) to a buffer volume (volume between 3’,4’ and 41’; FIG 9-11) and by a second opening (25, 25’) to the channel (22, 22’), wherein the first opening and the second opening are arranged such that all liquid which flows from the first opening to the second opening passes through the annular volume at least along a portion of the annular volume in a direction around the channel (22, 22’).
But is silent on wherein the buffer volume is separated from the container interior by the metering cap.
Hiltser teaches wherein the buffer volume (volume 56 between 42, 26, and 30) is separated from the container interior (12) by the metering cap (42; FIG 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopfert with separate buffer volume as taught by Hiltser in order to provide a disk to control fluid and air flow.
Claim 18, the modified apparatus of Gopfert teaches wherein at least one third opening (Hiltser: 50; FIG 4 and 6) is arranged in the metering cap for connecting the buffer volume to the container interior.
Claim 19, Gopfert discloses wherein one or more partitions (26, 26’) are arranged in the annular volume for preventing a direct connection between the first opening and the second opening.
Claim 20, Gopfert discloses wherein the first opening (ring shaped opening between 3’ and 4’; FIG 9-11) is arranged at a distance from the second opening (25, 25’) in an axial direction of the channel (22, 22’).
Claim 21, Gopfert discloses wherein the second opening (25, 25’) is formed inside the channel (22, 22’).
Claim 22, Gopfert discloses wherein the first opening (ring shaped opening between 3’ and 4’; FIG 9-11) is formed inside the metering body (4, 4’).
Claim 23, Gopfert discloses wherein the metering body (4, 4’) has a wall (41, 41’) to form the annular groove (23, 23’).
Claim 24, Gopfert substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on wherein the metering cap has a projection for engaging in a corresponding depression on the metering unit.
Hiltser teaches wherein the metering cap has a projection (44, 42; FIG 4) for engaging in a corresponding depression on the metering unit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopfert with projection as taught by Hiltser in order to provide a disk with a secure connection.
Claim 25, Gopfert discloses a closure cap (5) which is connected in an articulated manner to the main body (1) and has a closure pin (51) for closing the discharge opening (21, 21’).
Claim 26, Gopfert discloses wherein the main body and the metering body are formed in one piece ([0036]).
Claim 27, Gopfert discloses wherein the cross- section of the second opening is less than 50% of the cross-section of the channel ([0038]).
Claim 28, Gopfert discloses wherein the container closure (100) is free of movable or flexible sealing elements ([0040]).
Claim 29, Gopfert discloses a container closure (100).
Claim 30, Gopfert discloses wherein the container is flexible ([0044]).
Claim 31, Gopfert discloses wherein the buffer volume (volume between 3’,4’ and 41’; FIG 9-11) is arranged circumferentially around the annular volume (FIG 11).
Claim 32, Gopfert discloses wherein the buffer volume (volume between 3’,4’ and 41’; FIG 9-11) is arranged circumferentially around the wall (41, 41’).
Claim 33, Gopfert discloses a main body (1) for fastening to a container,
a metering unit (2, 2’) for the metered dispensing of a liquid, wherein
the metering unit (2, 2’) has a metering body (4, 4’) having a discharge opening (21, 21’) and a channel (22, 22’) which adjoins the discharge opening (21) and extends in the direction of the container and forms an annular channel (23, 23’) with the metering unit (2, 2’), wherein
a metering cap (3) is arranged on the metering body (4), wherein
the metering cap (3, 3’) closes the annular channel (23, 23’) to form an annular volume,
wherein the annular volume is connected by a first opening (ring shaped opening between 3’ and 4’; FIG 9-11) to a buffer volume (volume between 3’,4’ and 41’; FIG 9-11) and by a second opening (25, 25’) to the channel (22, 22’), wherein the first opening and the second opening are arranged such that all liquid which flows from the first opening to the second opening passes through the annular volume at least along a portion of the annular volume in a direction around the channel (22, 22’).
But is silent on wherein the buffer volume is separated from the container interior by the metering cap.
Hiltser teaches wherein the buffer volume (volume 56 between 42, 26, and 30) is separated from the container interior (12) by the metering cap (42; FIG 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Gopfert with separate buffer volume as taught by Hiltser in order to provide a disk to control fluid and air flow.
Claim 34, Gopfert discloses wherein a wall (41, 41’) separates the buffer volume from the annular volume (FIG 9-11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that there is no buffer volume present in Gopfert or Hiltser, and that the volume cited by the examiner is an annular volume. This argument is not persuasive as claim 16 recites “wherein the annular volume is connected by a first opening to a buffer volume and by a second opening to the channel”, therefore the volume connected to the first opening that allows flow to go into first opening and through the annular volume and out the second opening into the channel as indicated by the claim is the buffer volume. See rejection above for citations.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., one cap) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Applicant argues on page 7 that “Gopfert et al. ‘512 and Hiltser et al. ‘247 would not be comparable at all and would not belong to the same technical field…and thus would not be combinable.” This argument is not persuasive as both Gopfert and Hiltser are both directed to container closures for fluid dispensing and both classified in B65D.
Conclusion
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754