Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 15 December 2023. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8 and 19-20) in the reply filed on 14 October 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-18 are cancelled and withdrawn from consideration from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being withdrawn to a non-elected invention, and non-elected species of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 1-8 and 19-20 are under examination and the requirement for restriction is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Rueping et al. “Effective synthesis of 2,5-disubstituted tetrahydrofurans from glycerol by catalytic alkylation of ketones” (located in Information Disclosure Statement).
With regard to claims 1-7 and 19-20, Reuping et al. teaches the catalytic α-alkylation of acetophenone with solketal to produce a compound of the following structure (Table 1, page 56):
This compound meets all limitations of formula (I), wherein n is 0, X is an oxygen atom, R¹ and R² are each an alkyl group, R³ and R⁴ are each a hydrogen atom, and R⁵, R⁶, R⁷, and R⁸ are each a hydrogen atom.
Claims 1-7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lan et al. “An iron-catalyzed hydro alkylation reaction of α,β-unsaturated ketones with ethers” (located in Information Disclosure Statement).
With regard to claims 1-7 and 19, Lan et al. teaches the hydro alkylation of vinyl ketones using catalyzed ethers to produce a compound of the following structure (Table 3, 3ard):
This compound meets all limitations of formula (I), wherein n is 0, X is an oxygen atom, R¹ and R², R5 are each an alkyl group, R³ and R⁴ are each a hydrogen atom, and R⁶, R⁷, and R⁸ are each a hydrogen atom.
With regard to claim 20, Lan et al. teaches the hydro alkylation of vinyl ketones using catalyzed ethers to produce a compound of the following structure (Table 3, 3ard):
This compound meets all limitations of formula (I), wherein n is 0, X is an oxygen atom, R¹ and R², R6 are each an alkyl group, R³ and R⁴ are each a hydrogen atom, and R5, R⁷, and R⁸ are each a hydrogen atom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rueping et al. “Effective synthesis of 2,5-disubstituted tetrahydrofurans from glycerol by catalytic alkylation of ketones” (located in Information Disclosure Statement) as applied to claims 1-7 and 19-20 above, and further in view of Rueping et al.
With regard to claim 8, while Rueping et al. does not teach the specified compounds of formula (I). However, Reuping et al. teaches a homolog structure of 1-phenyl-3-(2-phenyl-1,3-dioxan-4-yl)propan-1-one (Table 1, page 56):
With regard to the homolog structure, the compound of Reuping et al. is a homolog differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical groups, in the present instance, a -CH3-group. Homologs “are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties”. In re Wilder, 563 F.2D 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 245 (CCPA 1979); MPEP 2144.09. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Reuping et al.’s compound to arrive at the claimed invention of 1-phenyl-3-(2-phenyl-1,3-dioxan-4-yl)propan-1-one. Specifically, to modify to a straight chain comprising C1-C10 alkyl-compounds as homolog of compound of Reuping et al., as the compound is expected to possess similar properties and have similar utility relative to the claimed compounds.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lan et al. “An iron-catalyzed hydro alkylation reaction of α,β-unsaturated ketones with ethers” (located in Information Disclosure Statement) as applied to claims 1-7 and 19-20 above, and further in view of Lan et al.
With regard to claim 8, while Lan et al. does not teach the specified compounds of formula (I). However, Lan et al. teaches the hydro alkylation of vinyl ketones using catalyzed ethers to produce a compound of the following structure (Table 3, 3ard):
With regard to the homolog structure, the compound of Lan et al. is a homolog differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical groups, in the present instance, a -CH3-group. Homologs “are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties”. In re Wilder, 563 F.2D 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 245 (CCPA 1979); MPEP 2144.09. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Lan et al.’s compound to arrive at the claimed invention of 1-phenyl-3-(2-phenyl-1,3-dioxan-4-yl)propan-1-one. Specifically, to modify to a straight chain comprising C1-C10 alkyl-compounds as homolog of compound of Lan et al., as the compound is expected to possess similar properties and have similar utility relative to the claimed compounds.
Conclusion
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 October 27, 2026