DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 5/29/26, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Any rejections made in the previous action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurakawa et al (US 2019/0176927 A1) in view of Hastie et al (US 2017/0021888 A1) and Olson et al US (5,803,476 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Kurakawa teaches an assembly for a motorcycle comprising a first element (e.g., swingarm) consisting of a first composite material comprising one or more fabrics of carbon fibers linked together by means of a polymeric resin; and a second element; wherein: the first element is bonded to the second element by means of a structural adhesive (e.g., adhered); the first element is a swingarm (25) and the second element is constrained to the swingarm and comprises a slider (e.g., end pieces) (28L, 28 R) (para 44, 106; figs 3-5)
Kurakawa fails to suggest the second element consists of a second composite material comprising chopped and randomly arranged carbon fibers linked together by means of a polymeric resin. However, Kurakawa teaches the end pieces are made from a light metal such as aluminum (para 70).
Hastie teaches composite materials that are used in motorcycle frame components (e.g., rear frames) comprising chopped carbon fiber composite resin including a random orientation of the chopped carbon fiber (i.e., chopped and randomly arranged carbon fibers linked together by means of a polymeric resin); wherein use of the chopped fiber resin systems achieves more complex shapes as compared to traditional layup composites as well as a greater stiffness-to-weight ratio when compared to conventional frames made from metal alloys without suffering a weight penalty that is typically associated with an increased stiffness-to-weight ratio (para 24, 33, 34, 61, 62, 64, 65). Hastie further teaches its methods can be used to form parts other than the frame (para 42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the chopped carbon fiber composite resins of Hastie as opposed to aluminum to make the sliders or end caps of Kurakawa, since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06 II); and since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07). This substitution would also provide sliders with a greater stiffness-to-weight ratio when compared to sliders or end caps made from metal alloys.
Kurakawa as modified by Hastie fails to suggest wherein the polymeric resin of said first and/or second composite material is an epoxy resin; and wherein said structural adhesive is an epoxy, acrylic, or urethane adhesive.
However, Hastie specifically teaches known composite tubular bicycle frames sometimes more closely resemble conventional, or “lug type”, bicycle frames, which are made of individual components joined together with welds, mechanical fasteners and/or adhesives; and examples of certain known bicycle frames, as well as methods for manufacturing them, are provided in U.S. Pat. No. 5,803,476. (para 5).
Olson teaches fiber reinforced polymer composite comprised of carbon fiber and epoxy resin (i.e., a known adhesive) (abstract, col 5, lines 22-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute the epoxy resin for the polymeric resin in the first and/or second composite material of Kurakawa as modified by Hastie, since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06 II); and, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07). This substitution comes with the additional motivation of being suggested by Hastie.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the epoxy resin of Olson as the structural adhesive in the assemblies of Kurakawa as modified by Hastie, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 2, Kurakawa teaches the first element (e.g., swingarm) is a hollow body comprising a shell made of first said composite material (abstract, para 5).
Regarding claim 3, in substituting the chopped carbon fiber composite resins of Hastie for the aluminum of Kurakawa, the second element would be made entirely of said second composite material.
In regards to the limitation “solid body,” it is noted that a change in size, scale, proportionality and shape is not patently distinct over the prior art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); In Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). MPEP 2144.04[R-1].
Changing the slider pieces of Kurakawa as modified by Hastie to that of a solid body would essentially changing the shape of the slider pieces. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the slider pieces of Kurakawa as modified by Hastie with the shape of a solid body based on the prior art's intended application as in the present invention.
Regarding claim 4, Kurakawa teaches that when fiber length in the fiber reinforced resin layers becomes shorter it’s difficult to obtain high rigidity (para 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to adjust the length of the chopped carbon fibers of the second composite material to optimize the rigidity of the second composite material and therein the rigidity of the sliders.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends Kurakawa describes mechanical insertion and connection between the end pieces and the swing arm structure, and does not teach using a structural adhesive. This is not persuasive as the Applicant is not considered the totality of the teachings of Kurakawa, e.g., “[t]he end piece 28L is inserted between the upper-side support section 65 and the lower-side support section 66 through the rear end opening 34, and is adhered to an inner surface of the swing arm main body 25” (para 106). The Examiner contends that “adhered” would have suggested or otherwise obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the use of a structural adhesive.
Applicant contends that Hastie emphasizes lightweight hollow shell construction and open-section geometries for reducing mass. (See paragraph [0067]). Therefore, Hastie would not have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kurakawa's metallic support/interface structures into the presently claimed adhesive-bonded chopped-fiber composite support bodies. Rather, Hastie teaches away from such modification by consistently favoring hollow monocoque shell construction integrated directly into the frame geometry itself.
This is not persuasive since Hastie further teaches its methods, and therein its materials of construction, can be used to form parts other than the frame (para 42).
Hastie further teaches composite materials that are used in motorcycle frame components (e.g., rear frames) comprising chopped carbon fiber composite resin including a random orientation of the chopped carbon fiber (i.e., chopped and randomly arranged carbon fibers linked together by means of a polymeric resin); wherein use of the chopped fiber resin systems achieves more complex shapes as compared to traditional layup composites as well as a greater stiffness-to-weight ratio when compared to conventional frames made from metal alloys without suffering a weight penalty that is typically associated with an increased stiffness-to-weight ratio (para 24, 33, 34, 61, 62, 64, 65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the chopped carbon fiber composite resins of Hastie as opposed to aluminum to make the sliders or end caps of Kurakawa, since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06 II); and since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07). This substitution would also provide sliders with a greater stiffness-to-weight ratio when compared to sliders or end caps made from metal alloys.
Applicant further contends that Olson is largely silent regarding the composition of any adhesive material and does not disclose epoxy, acrylic, or urethane structural adhesives utilized to bond distinct composite support/interface bodies to a composite swingarm structure.
This is not persuasive since it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the epoxy resin of Olson as the structural adhesive in the assemblies of Kurakawa as modified by Hastie, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07). The Examiner notes that epoxy resin was a well-known structural adhesive at the time of invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The History of Epoxy (2023) establishes that epoxy was a well-known adhesive for use in many applications at the time of invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATHAN VAN SELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/NATHAN L VAN SELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783