DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 14, 15, 16, 19 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the vehicle safety system” in line 12. It is presumed to recite “the vehicle safety device”, see line 4.
Claim 5 recites “at one or more of the receivers” in lines 5, 7 and 9. It is presumed to recite “at the one or more of the receivers”, see claim 1, line 4.
Claim 14 recites “The cycle safety device of claim 8, further comprising a receiver configured to receive a signal from a transmitter at the motor vehicle, or the cycle safety device of claim 10 wherein the computing device is configured to receive a signal from a transmitter at the motor vehicle.” It is presumed to recite “The cycle safety device of claim 8, further comprising a receiver configured to receive a signal from a transmitter at the motor vehicle, or
Claim 15 recites “replacing the saddle on the seat tube” in line 7. It is presumed to recite “replacing the saddle and seat post in
Claim 16 recites “the frame of a cycle” in line 4 and “a driver” in line 8. It is presumed to recite “a frame of the cycle” and “the driver”.
Claim 19 recites “The vehicle safety device of claim 16, wherein the or each anchor comprises a receiver housing including the receiver, the housing being configured for attachment to the motor vehicle, or the vehicle safety device of claim 18, wherein the or each anchor comprises a receiver housing including the receiver and the Bluetooth low energy transceiver.” It is presumed to recite “The vehicle safety device of claim 16, wherein the
Claim 25 recites “one or more anchors” in lines 2, 3, 5, 6 and 7. It is presumed to recite “the one or more anchors”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “the cyclist”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Clarification is requested.
Claim 14 recites “the motor vehicle” in line 2, and “the computing device” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Clarification is requested.
Claim 19 recites “the Bluetooth low energy transceiver”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 12, 14, 15, 16, 18 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wendt (US 2024/0185717 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wendt discloses a cycle safety system (see at least Figure 1, item 100 | [0092] note safety system 100 | [0044] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021) comprising:
a cycle safety device shaped for insertion into a frame of a cycle, the cycle safety device comprising a transmitter (see at least Figures 2A-2B, items 103, 114 and 118 | [0095] note the safety device 102 includes a connectivity module 114 comprising at least one connectivity device, such as a V2X, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth or cellular modem | [0140-0141] note the safety device 102/103 is contained within a seat post, seat tube or frame of a bicycle | [0046] and [0063-0064] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021);
a vehicle safety device comprising one or more receivers (see at least Figure 1, item 104 | [0096] note different automotive vehicles have an automotive vehicle connectivity device 104 including a connectivity module 114, such as a V2X, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth or cellular modem | [0047] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021); and
an alerting system, at least part of the alerting system configured to be positioned adjacent a driver's seat of a motor vehicle (see at least Figure 6B, items 160b, 162b and the steering wheel | [0166] note the vehicle’s display 160b shows a GUI 162b displaying a safety application | [0179-0180] note the (safety) application is integrated with a display 160b in an automotive vehicle, and the (safety) application may communicate with an automotive vehicle connectivity device 104 (e.g., a C-V2X chip), e.g., to receive alerts | [0198] note types of alerts | Figure 6B, [0079], [0089-0090] and [0101] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021),
wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit a signal advertising the presence of the transmitter (see at least [0094] note the safety device 102 transmits safety-related data, such as Basic Safety Messages, such as SAE J2735, location, proximity, speed/velocity, acceleration, deceleration, heading, distance, path/route/trajectory, movement changes, type, etc. | [0046] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021),
wherein the one or more receivers are configured to receive the signal advertising the presence of a transmitter (see at least [0094-0095] note the safety-related data may be transmitted to and received from other safety device(s) 102 and/or automotive vehicle connectivity device(s) 104 that are within a short-distance range | [0046] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021), and to communicate with the alerting system (see at least [0180] note the (safety) application is integrated with a display 160b in an automotive vehicle, and the (safety) application may communicate with an automotive vehicle connectivity device 104 (e.g., a C-V2X chip), e.g., to receive alerts | [0198] note types of alerts | Figure 6B, [0079], [0089-0090] and [0101] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021); and
wherein the alerting system is configured to indicate the presence of the cycle to a driver of the motor vehicle including the vehicle safety system based on the communication from the one or more receivers (see at least Figures 6B, 6D, 6F, 6R and 6S, item 163a/c | [0170] | [0180] note the (safety) application is integrated with a display 160b in an automotive vehicle, and the (safety) application may communicate with an automotive vehicle connectivity device 104 (e.g., a C-V2X chip), e.g., to receive alerts | [0198] note types of alerts | Figure 6D, item 165a and [0101] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Regarding claim 4, Wendt discloses wherein the cycle safety device and/or the vehicle safety device is configured to communicate with a cloud-based server, and wherein the alerting system is configured to provide information to the driver of the vehicle based on information from the cloud-based server (see at least [0094] | [0099] note the user devices 106 can receive alerts from the server 108 | [0180] note the user device 106 is a car display that receives the alerts from the server 108 | [0270] note safety-related data is transmitted to the cloud | [0046], [0050] and [0089] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021, note transmit/receive to/from the cloud or a server, and receive alerts from the server).
Regarding claim 5, Wendt discloses the alerting system comprises a visual indicator which is configured to be positioned within view of the driver of the vehicle, wherein: the visual indicator comprises a lamp configured to indicate the presence of the cycle based on a signal from the transmitter received at one or more of the receivers and/or the visual indicator comprises a screen configured to depict the location of the cycle with respect to the vehicle based on a signal from the transmitter received at one or more of the receivers and/or configured to indicate the location of the cycle using words or pictures on the screen based on a signal from the transmitter received at one or more of the receivers (see at least Figure 6D | [0094] | [0170-0171] | Figure 6D, [0082] and [0084] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Regarding claim 6, Wendt discloses wherein the alerting system is configured to be positioned within earshot of the driver of the vehicle, and wherein the alerting system comprises a speaker configured to indicate the location of the cycle using sound, based on a signal from the transmitter received at one or more of the receivers (see at least Figure 6B | [0180] note the user device 106 is in the vehicle | [0199-0200] note audible feedback is from the user device via a speaker | [0102] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Regarding claim 8, Wendt discloses a cycle safety device for fitting to a cycle (see at least Figures 2A-2B, items 103, 114 and 118 | [0095] note the safety device 102 includes a connectivity module 114 comprising at least one connectivity device, such as a V2X, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth or cellular modem | [0140-0141] note the safety device 102/103 is contained within a seat post, seat tube or frame of a bicycle | [0046] and [0063-0064] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021), the cycle safety device comprising a transmitter configured to transmit a signal advertising the presence of the transmitter (see at least [0094-0095] | [0046-0047] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021), wherein the cycle safety device is shaped to fit into a frame of the cycle (see at least [0140-0141] note the safety device 102/103 is contained within a seat post, seat tube or frame of a bicycle | [0063-0064] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Regarding claim 12, Wendt discloses a location tracker, wherein the location tracker is configured to transmit its location to a computing device and/or a cloud-based server (see at least Figure 2B, item 122 | [0124] note a GPS sensor 122 may in communication with the safety device and may transmit location data to the server 108 | [0057] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Regarding claim 14, Wendt discloses a receiver configured to receive a signal from a transmitter at the motor vehicle (see at least [0095] | [0046] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021), or the cycle safety device of claim 10 wherein the computing device is configured to receive a signal from a transmitter at the motor vehicle (see at least [0095] | [0046] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Regarding claim 15, Wendt discloses a method of installing the cycle safety device of claim 8, the method comprising: removing a saddle and seat post of the cycle from a seat tube of the cycle, such that inner hollow areas of the seat post and seat tube are exposed; inserting the cycle safety device into the inner hollow area of the seat post or seat tube; and replacing the saddle on the seat tube such that the cycle safety device is held inside the cycle (see at least Figures 2A-2B, items 103, 114 and 118 | [0140-0141] note the safety device 102/103 is contained within a seat post, seat tube or frame of a bicycle | [0063-0064] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Regarding claim 16, Wendt discloses a vehicle safety device for fitting to a motor vehicle (see at least Figure 1, item 104 | [0095-0096] note different automotive vehicles have an automotive vehicle connectivity device 104 including a connectivity module 114, such as a V2X, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and/or cellular modem | [0046-0047] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021), for indicating the presence of a cycle to a driver of the motor vehicle (see at least Figures 6B and 6D | Figures 6B and 6D in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021), the safety device comprising:
one or more anchors, each comprising a receiver (see at least [0096] note different automotive vehicles have an automotive vehicle connectivity device 104 including a connectivity module 114, such as a V2X, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and/or cellular modem | [0047] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021) configured to receive a signal from a transmitter within the frame of a cycle (see at least Figures 2A-2B, items 103, 114 and 118 | [0095] note the safety device 102 includes a connectivity module 114 comprising at least one connectivity device, such as a V2X, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth or cellular modem | [0140-0141] note the safety device 102/103 is contained within a seat post, seat tube or frame of a bicycle | [0046] and [0063-0064] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021);
an alerting system (see at least Figure 6B, items 160b, 162b and the steering wheel | [0166] note the vehicle’s display 160b shows a GUI 162b displaying a safety application | [0179-0180] note the (safety) application is integrated with a display 160b in an automotive vehicle, and the (safety) application may communicate with an automotive vehicle connectivity device 104 (e.g., a C-V2X chip), e.g., to receive alerts | [0198] note types of alerts | Figure 6B, [0079], [0089-0090] and [0101] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021), at least part of which is configured to be positioned adjacent a driver's seat of the motor vehicle (see at least Figures 6B and 6D | Figures 6B and 6D in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021), wherein the one or more anchors are configured to communicate with the alerting system and wherein the alerting system is configured to indicate the presence of the cycle to a driver of the motor vehicle based on the communication from the one or more anchors (see at least Figures 6B, 6D, 6F, 6R and 6S, item 163a/c | [0170] | [0180] note the (safety) application is integrated with a display 160b in an automotive vehicle, and the (safety) application may communicate with an automotive vehicle connectivity device 104 (e.g., a C-V2X chip), e.g., to receive alerts | [0198] note types of alerts | Figure 6D, item 165a and [0101] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Regarding claim 18, Wendt discloses wherein the one or more anchors each further comprise a Bluetooth transceiver configured to communicate with the alerting system using a Bluetooth signal (see at least [0095-0096] | [0046-0047] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Regarding claim 22, Wendt discloses a cycle comprising the cycle safety device of claim 8 (see at least Figure 5E | [0095] note the safety device 102 includes a connectivity module 114 comprising at least one connectivity device, such as a V2X, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth or cellular modem | [0140-0141] note the safety device 102/103 is contained within a seat post, seat tube or frame of a bicycle | [0063-0064] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Regarding claim 23, Wendt discloses a motor vehicle comprising the vehicle safety device of claim 16 (see at least Figure 6B | [0096] note the automotive vehicle safety device 104 | [0067] note vehicles, trucks, busses, etc. | [0032] and [0047] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Regarding claim 24, Wendt discloses wherein the motor vehicle is a heavy goods vehicle (see at least [0067] note vans and trucks carry heavy goods | [0032] and [0047] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 19 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendt (US 2024/0185717 A1) in view of Noujeim (US 2020/0124698 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Wendt does not specifically disclose wherein the vehicle safety device comprises a first pair of receivers and a second pair of receivers, wherein each receiver is configured to receive a signal from the transmitter of the cycle safety device and wherein the alerting system is configured to estimate the position of the transmitter by measuring the difference in the time of arrival of the signal at each of the receivers of the first pair and at each of the receivers of the second pair.
It is known for a vehicle to monitor surrounding objects. For example, Noujeim teaches a system wherein the vehicle safety device comprises a first pair of receivers and a second pair of receivers, wherein each receiver is configured to receive a signal from the transmitter of the safety device and wherein the alerting system is configured to estimate the position of the transmitter by measuring the difference in the time of arrival of the signal at each of the receivers of the first pair and at each of the receivers of the second pair (see at least Figure 1, items 110a-110p | [0017] | [0024] note TDOA).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Noujeim into Wendt. This provides the ability to geo-locate the transmitter of the cycle safety device, thereby increasing safety and collision avoidance (see [0014] of Noujeim).
Regarding claim 19, Wendt in view of Noujeim teach wherein the or each anchor comprises a receiver housing including the receiver, the housing being configured for attachment to the motor vehicle, or the vehicle safety device of claim 18, wherein the or each anchor comprises a receiver housing including the receiver and the Bluetooth low energy transceiver (see at least Figure 1 of Noujeim | [0017] of Noujeim, note the receiver devices are mounted to the vehicle).
Regarding claim 25, Wendt in view of Noujeim teach wherein: (i) one or more anchors are arranged at or proximate the front of the motor vehicle and one or more anchors are arranged at or proximate the back of the motor vehicle, and/or (ii) the motor vehicle extends a length behind a driver's seat and wherein the motor vehicle comprises one or more anchors at or proximate the centre of the length, and/or (iii) the motor vehicle comprises one or more anchors on a left side of the motor vehicle and one or more anchors on the right side of the motor vehicle, wherein the left and right sides are distinct from front and back sides of the motor vehicle (see at least Figure 1, items 110 of Noujeim | [0017] of Noujeim | [0024] of Noujeim).
Claims 3, 9, 10, 13, 17, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendt (US 2024/0185717 A1) in view of Esselink (US 11,189,173 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Wendt does not specifically disclose wherein the transmitter is an ultra wide band transmitter and wherein the one or more receivers are configured to receive an ultra wide band signal.
It is known for vehicles and bicycles to communicate in different ways. For example, Esselink teaches a system wherein the transmitter is an ultra wide band transmitter and wherein the one or more receivers are configured to receive an ultra wide band signal (see at least Figure 1, items 115 and 155 | col. 3, line 54 – col. 4, line 26 | col. 8, lines 47-60).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Esselink into Wendt. This provides a known alternative communication means that can be used in place of, or in addition to, Wendt’s communication means while providing predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Wendt in view of Esselink teach wherein the transmitter is an ultra wide band transmitter configured to transmit ultra wide band signals (see at least Figure 1, items 115 and 155 of Esselink | col. 3, line 54 – col. 4, line 26 of Esselink | col. 8, lines 47-60 of Esselink).
Regarding claim 10, Wendt in view of Esselink teach a Bluetooth transmitter configured to transmit Bluetooth signals (see at least [0095] of Wendt, note the safety device 102 includes a connectivity module 114 comprising at least one connectivity device, such as a V2X, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth or cellular modem | [0046] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021 | Figure 1, items 115 and 155 of Esselink | col. 3, line 54 – col. 4, line 26 of Esselink | col. 8, lines 47-60 of Esselink).
Regarding claim 13, Wendt in view of Esselink teach a computing device and an application configured to be run on the computing device, wherein the computing device is configured to receive a signal from the Bluetooth transmitter and/or wherein the computing device comprises a motion sensor and/or a location sensor, and/or is configured to receive a signal from a motion sensor and/or a location tracker, wherein the application is configured to present information to the cyclist (see at least Figures 6A and 36 of Wendt | [0099] of Wendt | [0113] of Wendt | Figure 6A, [0050-0051], [0078], [0080] and [0140] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021).
Regarding claim 17, Wendt in view of Esselink teach wherein the one or more receivers are configured to receive ultra wide band signals and wherein the transmitter at the cycle is an ultra wide band transmitter (see at least [0095-0096] of Wendt, note the safety device 102 includes a connectivity module 114 comprising at least one connectivity device, such as a V2X, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth or cellular modem | [0046-0047] in U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/173,593 dated April 12, 2021 | Figure 1, items 115 and 155 of Esselink | col. 3, line 54 – col. 4, line 26 of Esselink | col. 8, lines 47-60 of Esselink).
Regarding claim 20, Wendt does not disclose a camera configured to provide image information to the alerting system and/or to a cloud-based server and/or a physical server, wherein the alerting system is configured to indicate the presence of a cycle based on an image captured by the camera.
It is known for a vehicle to utilize a camera to monitor for a bicycle. For example, Esselink teaches a system with a camera configured to provide image information to the alerting system and/or to a cloud-based server and/or a physical server, wherein the alerting system is configured to indicate the presence of a cycle based on an image captured by the camera (see at least Figures 1 and 4, items 105, 160, 425 and 115 | col. 5, lines 37-49 | col. 8, line 61 – col. 9, line 5).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Esselink into Wendt. This provides the ability to augment or confirm the presence of Wendt’s cycle as determined via the transmitter/receiver system and/or help avoid colliding with the cycle via maneuvers.
Regarding claim 21, Wendt in view of Esselink teach a computer vision system comprising the camera and a computational unit configured to identify a cycle in an image captured by the camera (see at least Figures 1 and 4, items 105, 160, 425 and 115 | col. 5, lines 37-49, note evaluation of the images is done via the processor of the alerting apparatus | col. 8, line 61 – col. 9, line 5).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendt (US 2024/0185717 A1) in view of Sala (US 2013/0155534 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Wendt does not specifically disclose wherein the vehicle safety device is wired in with a lighting circuit of the motor vehicle, wherein the vehicle safety device is configured to sense when a light is used and wherein the alerting system is configured to base an alert to the driver on use of the light.
It is known to alert a user in different ways. For example, Sala teaches a system wherein the vehicle safety device is wired in with a lighting circuit of the motor vehicle, wherein the vehicle safety device is configured to sense when a light is used and wherein the alerting system is configured to base an alert to the driver on use of the light (see at least [0002] note blind spot detection systems provide an alert to the driver only when the driver takes action that may result in a collision with the object, such as when they activate a turn signal | [0016] | [0022]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Sala into Wendt. This provides the ability to notify the driver of an object in their blind spot, thus improving safety.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wendt (US 2024/0185717 A1) in view of Alarcon (US 2004/0263330 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Wendt does not specifically disclose a motion sensor, wherein the transmitter is configured to enter a powered state when the motion sensor determines that the cycle is moving and wherein the transmitter is configured to enter an unpowered state when the motion sensor determines that the cycle has been stationary for a predetermined period of time.
It is known to conserve power. For example, Alarcon teaches a system with a motion sensor, wherein the transmitter is configured to enter a powered state when the motion sensor determines that the cycle is moving and wherein the transmitter is configured to enter an unpowered state when the motion sensor determines that the cycle has been stationary for a predetermined period of time (see at least Figure 6, steps 650→652 and 660→662→668→ 670 | [0060]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Alarcon into Wendt. This provides the ability to conserve Wendt’s battery when the user is no longer using the bicycle (see [0286] of Wendt, note the power source is activated by an external signal).
Conclusion
/BRIAN WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689