DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15-17 and 19-23 are pending, and claims 4, 14 and 18 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8 – 12 and 15 – 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. US 20210160879 A1, hereinafter Lin in view of Liu et al. US 20220345921 A1, hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: (Lin: Summary and Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 UE 116) at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: (Lin: Fig. 3 UE 116 para. [0035] UE 116 includes an antenna 305, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310, TX processing circuitry 315, a microphone 320, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, a touchscreen 350. Para. [0050-0057 & 0054] processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, such as processes for beam management)
receive a signaling message indicating a payload size of a first downlink control information (DCI) format for scheduling a downlink (DL) transmission,
(Lin: para. [0284-0289] A UE can be provided by higher layers a configuration of the GC-DCI format. The configuration includes at least one of the following: a payload size of the GC-DCI format)
wherein the first DCI format and the DL transmission are common to a group of UEs including the UE; and
(Lin: para. [0267-0268 & 0179 & 0189 & 0194] scheduling of multiple PDSCH receptions to or PUSCH transmissions from a group of UEs is provided based on a UE-group common DCI (GC-DCI) format)
in response to reception of the indicated payload size of the first DCI format,
(Lin: para. [0284-0289] A UE can be provided by higher layers a configuration of the GC-DCI format. The configuration includes at least one of the following: a payload size of the GC-DCI format)
add one or more padding bits to the first DCI format …
wherein the one or more padding bits in the first DCI format are reserved; and
(Lin: para. [0210 & 0151 & 0217-0218] bit-widths are (expected to be) the same, e.g., all [M] activation commands are size-aligned, e.g., using zero-padding (corresponds to claim limitation “adding one or more padding bits”). Fig. 7 780 zero padding and Fig. 10 1050, 1038 and 1048 zero padding)
receive the first DCI format based on the indicated payload size; (Lin: para. [0289] Based on the size of the GC-DCI format, the UE can decode the GC-DCI format. It is also possible that the size of the GC-DCI format is predetermined, for example equal to a size of a UE-specific DCI format that schedules PDSCH receptions or PUSCH transmissions only from the UE, or equal to a size of a UE-specific DCI format that a UE monitors according to a CSS such as a DCI format 0_0 or 1_0)
It is noted that Lin does not explicitly disclose: add one or more padding bits to the first DCI format until a size of the first DCI format is equal to the indicated payload size.
However, Liu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: add one or more padding bits to the first DCI format until a size of the first DCI format is equal (Liu: para. [0189-0191] If DCI format 0_0 is monitored in CSS and if the number of information bits in the DCI format 0_0 prior to padding is less than the payload size of the DCI format 1_0 monitored in CSS for scheduling the same cell, a number of zero-padding bits are generated (and appended) for the DCI format 0_0 until the payload size equals that of the DCI format 1_0.) to the indicated payload size. (UE configured/indicated by base station to monitor PDCCH candidates for DCI format 0_0 and DCI format 1_0)
(Liu: para. [0138] base station may configure a UE to whether monitor PDCCH candidates for DCI format 0_0 and DCI format 1_0, or for DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 1_1 in a USS set via the RRC parameter SearchSpace with information element structure A. Para. [0182] base station and a UE may perform a DCI size alignment operation via padding or truncating some bits of some fields for a DCI format until the DCI format size equals to another DCI size) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Liu in the apparatus of Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to implement communication feature with different service traffic types, different DCI formats may be generated according to different service traffic types. Introduction of new DCI format(s) other than the existing DCI formats would be beneficial and efficient for communication with a new service traffic type like URLLC between based station(s) and UE(s). Hence, the RRC parameter SearchSpace with current information element structure A may be problematic, which is incapable of indicating a new DCI format. It would be beneficial to introduce a RRC parameter related to search space configuration with a new information element structure so that the base station may indicate/configure a UE to monitor PDCCH candidates for new DCI format(s) other than the existing DCI formats in a USS. (Liu: para. [0139 & 0182]).
Regarding claim 8, Lin teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, (Lin: Summary and Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 UE 116) comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: (Lin: Fig. 3 UE 116 para. [0035] UE 116 includes an antenna 305, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310, TX processing circuitry 315, a microphone 320, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, a touchscreen 350. Para. [0050-0057 & 0054] processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, such as processes for beam management)
receive configuration information related to fields of a first downlink control information (DCI) format scheduling a downlink (DL) transmission,
(Lin: para. [0284-0289] A UE can be provided by higher layers a configuration of the GC-DCI format. The configuration includes at least one of the following: a payload size of the GC-DCI format)
wherein the first DCI format and the DL transmission are common to a group of UEs including the UE; (Lin: para. [0267-0268 & 0179 & 0189 & 0194] scheduling of multiple PDSCH receptions to or PUSCH transmissions from a group of UEs is provided based on a UE-group common DCI (GC-DCI) format)
determine the first DCI format and a payload size of the first DCI format based on the configuration information; and (Lin: para. [0289] Based on the size of the GC-DCI format, the UE can decode the GC-DCI format. It is also possible that the size of the GC-DCI format is predetermined, for example equal to a size of a UE-specific DCI format that schedules PDSCH receptions or PUSCH transmissions only from the UE, or equal to a size of a UE-specific DCI format that a UE monitors according to a CSS such as a DCI format 0_0 or 1_0)
in response to reception of the configuration information,
(Lin: para. [0284-0289] A UE can be provided by higher layers a configuration of the GC-DCI format. The configuration includes at least one of the following: a payload size of the GC-DCI format)
add one or more padding bits to the first DCI format …
wherein the one or more padding bits in the first DCI format are reserved; and
(Lin: para. [0210 & 0151 & 0217-0218] bit-widths are (expected to be) the same, e.g., all [M] activation commands are size-aligned, e.g., using zero-padding (corresponds to claim limitation “adding one or more padding bits”). Fig. 7 780 zero padding and Fig. 10 1050, 1038 and 1048 zero padding)
receive the first DCI format based on the determined payload size. (Lin: para. [0289] Based on the size of the GC-DCI format, the UE can decode the GC-DCI format. It is also possible that the size of the GC-DCI format is predetermined, for example equal to a size of a UE-specific DCI format that schedules PDSCH receptions or PUSCH transmissions only from the UE, or equal to a size of a UE-specific DCI format that a UE monitors according to a CSS such as a DCI format 0_0 or 1_0)
It is noted that Lin does not explicitly disclose: add one or more padding bits to the first DCI format until a size of the first DCI format is equal to the determined payload size.
However, Liu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: add one or more padding bits to the first DCI format until a size of the first DCI format is equal (Liu: para. [0189-0191] If DCI format 0_0 is monitored in CSS and if the number of information bits in the DCI format 0_0 prior to padding is less than the payload size of the DCI format 1_0 monitored in CSS for scheduling the same cell, a number of zero-padding bits are generated (and appended) for the DCI format 0_0 until the payload size equals that of the DCI format 1_0.) to the determined payload size. (UE configured/indicated by base station to monitor PDCCH candidates for DCI format 0_0 and DCI format 1_0)
(Liu: para. [0138] base station may configure a UE to whether monitor PDCCH candidates for DCI format 0_0 and DCI format 1_0, or for DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 1_1 in a USS set via the RRC parameter SearchSpace with information element structure A. Para. [0182] base station and a UE may perform a DCI size alignment operation via padding or truncating some bits of some fields for a DCI format until the DCI format size equals to another DCI size) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Liu in the apparatus of Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to implement communication feature with different service traffic types, different DCI formats may be generated according to different service traffic types. Introduction of new DCI format(s) other than the existing DCI formats would be beneficial and efficient for communication with a new service traffic type like URLLC between based station(s) and UE(s). Hence, the RRC parameter SearchSpace with current information element structure A may be problematic, which is incapable of indicating a new DCI format. It would be beneficial to introduce a RRC parameter related to search space configuration with a new information element structure so that the base station may indicate/configure a UE to monitor PDCCH candidates for new DCI format(s) other than the existing DCI formats in a USS. (Liu: para. [0139 & 0182]).
Regarding claim 9, Lin and Liu teach the UE of claim 8, wherein the configuration information indicates: whether a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback related field for the DL transmission is present or not in the first DCI format;
(Lin: Para. [0187 & 0156 & 0170 & 0179] HARQ retransmission can be (enabled or) disabled by an RRC parameter. if HARQ feedback and retransmission mechanism is supported, and HARQ retransmission is enabled or a HARQ disabling configuration is not provided, all UEs in a UE group that share a UE-group activation command for DL SPS/UL CG provide HARQ feedback for a PDSCH that carries the UE-group activation command, upon detection of a (group-common) DCI format that schedules the (groupcast/multicast) PDSCH according to a number of alternatives)
or
whether a combination of at least two HARQ-ACK feedback related fields for the DL transmission is present or not in the first DCI format.
(Lin: para. [0185] if active DL BWPs for UEs that share a UE-group activation command correspond to different numerologies, then a PDSCH-to-HARQ timing indicator field in the (group-common) DCI format corresponds to a default numerology (e.g., 15 kHz for FR1 and 60 kHz for FR2) or corresponds to a numerology for a configured/indicated reference numerology, and for UEs whose numerology is different from the default/configured/indicated reference numerology, appropriate scaling is applied to determine the PDSCH-to-HARQ timing value)
Regarding claim 10, Lin and Liu teach the UE of claim 8, wherein the configuration information is received in a system information block (SIB), a multicast control channel (MCCH), or a UE-specific radio resource control (RRC) signaling.
(Lin: para. [0180] ll UEs that share a UE-group activation command for DL SPS/UL CG apply the indicated parameters in the (group-common) DCI format in a same/similar manner. In one example, PUCCH resource indices for all UEs sharing a UE-group activation command is (pre-)configured, RRC configured or SIB indicated)
Regarding claim 11, Lin and Liu teach the UE of claim 8, wherein at least one hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) related field in the first DCI format is reused for a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) indication in the first DCI format based on a predefined order or a configured order.
(Lin: para. [0091] DCI format scheduling unicast PDSCH or PUSCH, such as a DCI format 1_0 or 1_1 or 1_2 and so on for PDSCH or a DCI format 0_0 or 0_1 or 0_2 and so on for PUSCH, indicate (basic) parameters related to resource allocation, power control, and scheduling and HARQ (if applicable), such as: time domain resource allocation (TDRA), frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA))
Regarding claim 12, Lin and Liu teach the UE of claim 8, wherein the configuration information indicates a corresponding size for each field with a configurable size in the first DCI format. (Lin: para. [0092] The order and/or bit-width of the information fields (IEs) in a scheduling DCI format can be configurable (e.g., as in DCI format 0_2 or 1_2 for compact scheduling of ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC) traffic))
Regarding claim 15, Lin teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), (Lin: Summary and Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 UE 116, and Fig. 3 UE 116 para. [0035] UE 116 includes an antenna 305, a radio frequency (RF) transceiver 310, TX processing circuitry 315, a microphone 320, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 325. The UE 116 also includes a speaker 330, a processor 340, an input/output (I/O) interface (IF) 345, a touchscreen 350. Para. [0050-0057 & 0054] processor 340 is also capable of executing other processes and programs resident in the memory 360, such as processes for beam management) and Lin and Liu teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and therefore apparatus claim 15 is rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 16, Lin teaches a base station (BS) for wireless communication, comprising: (Lin: Summary and Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 BS 102) at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the BS to: (Lin: Fig. 2 BS 102 para. [0045 0040-0045] BS 102 includes controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as an OS)
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a signaling message indicating a payload size of a first downlink control information (DCI) format for scheduling a downlink (DL) transmission,
(Lin: para. [0284-0289] A UE can be provided by higher layers a configuration of the GC-DCI format. The configuration includes at least one of the following: a payload size of the GC-DCI format)
wherein the first DCI format and the DL transmission are common to a group of UEs including the UE; and (Lin: para. [0267-0268 & 0179 & 0189 & 0194] scheduling of multiple PDSCH receptions to or PUSCH transmissions from a group of UEs is provided based on a UE-group common DCI (GC-DCI) format)
in response to reception of the indicated payload size of the first DCI format,
(Lin: para. [0284-0289] A UE can be provided by higher layers a configuration of the GC-DCI format. The configuration includes at least one of the following: a payload size of the GC-DCI format)
add one or more padding bits to the first DCI format …
wherein the one or more padding bits in the first DCI format are reserved; and
(Lin: para. [0210 & 0151 & 0217-0218] bit-widths are (expected to be) the same, e.g., all [M] activation commands are size-aligned, e.g., using zero-padding (corresponds to claim limitation “adding one or more padding bits”). Fig. 7 780 zero padding and Fig. 10 1050, 1038 and 1048 zero padding)
transmit the first DCI format based on the indicated payload size. (Lin: para. [0289] Based on the size of the GC-DCI format, the UE can decode the GC-DCI format. It is also possible that the size of the GC-DCI format is predetermined, for example equal to a size of a UE-specific DCI format that schedules PDSCH receptions or PUSCH transmissions only from the UE, or equal to a size of a UE-specific DCI format that a UE monitors according to a CSS such as a DCI format 0_0 or 1_0)
It is noted that Lin does not explicitly disclose: add one or more padding bits to the first DCI format until a size of the first DCI format is equal to the determined payload size.
However, Liu from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: add one or more padding bits to the first DCI format until a size of the first DCI format is equal (Liu: para. [0189-0191] If DCI format 0_0 is monitored in CSS and if the number of information bits in the DCI format 0_0 prior to padding is less than the payload size of the DCI format 1_0 monitored in CSS for scheduling the same cell, a number of zero-padding bits are generated (and appended) for the DCI format 0_0 until the payload size equals that of the DCI format 1_0.) to the determined payload size. (UE configured/indicated by base station to monitor PDCCH candidates for DCI format 0_0 and DCI format 1_0)
(Liu: para. [0138] base station may configure a UE to whether monitor PDCCH candidates for DCI format 0_0 and DCI format 1_0, or for DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 1_1 in a USS set via the RRC parameter SearchSpace with information element structure A. Para. [0182] base station and a UE may perform a DCI size alignment operation via padding or truncating some bits of some fields for a DCI format until the DCI format size equals to another DCI size) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Liu in the apparatus of Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to implement communication feature with different service traffic types, different DCI formats may be generated according to different service traffic types. Introduction of new DCI format(s) other than the existing DCI formats would be beneficial and efficient for communication with a new service traffic type like URLLC between based station(s) and UE(s). Hence, the RRC parameter SearchSpace with current information element structure A may be problematic, which is incapable of indicating a new DCI format. It would be beneficial to introduce a RRC parameter related to search space configuration with a new information element structure so that the base station may indicate/configure a UE to monitor PDCCH candidates for new DCI format(s) other than the existing DCI formats in a USS. (Liu: para. [0139 & 0182]).
Claim(s) 2 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. US 20230095598 A1 (Zhang: para. [0001] priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a) to Chinese Patent Application Nos. 202111131253.9 and 202210219501.3, filed in the Chinese Patent Office on Sep. 26, 2021), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 2, Lin and Liu teach the UE of claim 1, wherein hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) feedback related fields in the first DCI format of the first DCI format. (Lin: para. [0185] if active DL BWPs for UEs that share a UE-group activation command correspond to different numerologies, then a PDSCH-to-HARQ timing indicator field in the (group-common) DCI format corresponds to a default numerology (e.g., 15 kHz for FR1 and 60 kHz for FR2) or corresponds to a numerology for a configured/indicated reference numerology, and for UEs whose numerology is different from the default/configured/indicated reference numerology, appropriate scaling is applied to determine the PDSCH-to-HARQ timing value)
It is noted that Lin does not explicitly disclose: (HARQ-ACK) feedback related fields in the first DCI format are arranged at an end of the first DCI format.
However, Zhang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: (HARQ-ACK) feedback related fields in the first DCI format are arranged at an end of the first DCI format (Zhang: para. [0208 & 0171 & 0158] UE may be configured with a dynamic HARQ-ACK codebook (corresponds to claim limitation “arranged at an end of the first DCI format” as Zhang teaches HARQ-ACK can be dynamically configured/arranged at the end of the DCI format). It may be specified by protocols and/or configured by higher layer signaling that a DAI (e.g., a total DAI) of HARQ-ACK triggered to be retransmitted may be indicated by a specific DAI field (e.g., a newly added DAI field) in a DCI format (the DCI format may be a downlink DCI format and/or a downlink DCI format)) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dynamically configure HARQ-ACK by a specific DAI field at the end of DCI format of Zhang in the apparatus of Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for can improve the reliability of HARQ-ACK codebook (Zhang: para. [0208]), and improve the scheduling flexibility when the number of indication bits is the same. For example, if the number of possible values of different offset1 and/or offset2 is K, the joint indication may be realized by ┌log2(K+1)┐ bits. The method can improve the scheduling flexibility (Zhang: para. [0171]).
Regarding claim 22, Lin, Liu and Zhang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 2, and therefore apparatus claim 22 is rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Abdoli et al. US20190313378A1, hereinafter Abdoli.
Regarding claim 5, Lin and Liu teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the indicated payload size is:
a maximum size among all non-fallback DCI formats for scheduling the DL transmission with cyclic redundancy checks (CRCs) scrambled by UE-specific radio network temporary identifiers (RNTIs) of the group of UEs and the first DCI format;
the size (Lin: para. [0301 & 0284-0287] UE can be provided by higher layers a configuration for the GC-DCI format, wherein the configuration includes at least one of the following: a payload size of the GC-DCI format) all of the non-fallback DCI formats (Lin: para. [0091-0092 & 0105 & 0238] DCI format 1_0 or 1_1)
for scheduling the DL transmission with the CRCs scrambled by the UE-specific RNTIs of the group of UEs (Lin: para. [0269 & 0291] GC-DCI format can include a new RNTI that can be provided by higher layers for scrambling the CRC bits of the GC-DCI format. The new RNTI is referred as group scheduling radio network temporary identifier (GS-RNTI). In one example, the GS-RNTI is part of system information and is common to all UEs within a serving cell.);
or
the size (Lin: para. [0301 & 0284-0287] UE can be provided by higher layers a configuration for the GC-DCI format, wherein the configuration includes at least one of the following: a payload size of the GC-DCI format) DCI format 2_X series (Lin: para. [0094] via DCI format 2_1)
with the CRCs scrambled by corresponding RNTIs of the group of UEs. (Lin: para. [0269 & 0291] GC-DCI format can include a new RNTI that can be provided by higher layers for scrambling the CRC bits of the GC-DCI format. The new RNTI is referred as group scheduling radio network temporary identifier (GS-RNTI). In one example, the GS-RNTI is part of system information and is common to all UEs within a serving cell.)
It is noted that Lin and Liu do not explicitly disclose: the maximum size among all of the non-fallback DCI formats for scheduling the DL transmission with the CRCs scrambled by the UE-specific RNTIs of the group of UEs;
or
the maximum size among all DCI format 2_X series with the CRCs scrambled by corresponding RNTIs of the of UE.
However, Abdoli from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: the maximum size among all of the non-fallback DCI formats for scheduling the DL transmission (Abdoli: para. [0107] DCI formats 0_1 and 1_1 are known as “non-fallback” DCI formats for scheduling of uplink data and downlink data, respectively. para. [0117] payload sizes of DCI formats 0_1 and 1_1 with C-RNTI scrambling are selected as first and second sizes (sizes A and B in the table in FIG. 4 - the largest size among the sizes corresponds to claim limitation “maximum size among the non-fallback DCI formats”) where size A is based on the active UL BWP size and size B is based on the active DL BWP size) with the CRCs scrambled by the UE-specific RNTIs of the group of UEs; (Abdoli:para. [0110] UE proceeds to perform one or more blind decodings of DCI candidates within the PDCCH based on particular DCI payload sizes as well as other parameters pertaining to the PDCCH configuration, such as particular RNTIs that may have been used in encoding the DCI payload. Para. [0109] Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) bits may be appended to the DCI payload. In some embodiments, the CRC bits are scrambled with an appropriate RNTI.)
or
the maximum size among all DCI format 2_X series with the CRCs scrambled by corresponding RNTIs of the UE. (Abdoli: para. [0117] DCI formats 2_0/2_1 in CSS can be selected to have a payload size that is the same size as any of sizes A, B, C, or D (the largest size among the sizes corresponds to claim limitation “maximum size among the DCI format 2_X”). and Fig. 4-7. para. [0110] UE proceeds to perform one or more blind decodings of DCI candidates within the PDCCH based on particular DCI payload sizes as well as other parameters pertaining to the PDCCH configuration, such as particular RNTIs that may have been used in encoding the DCI payload. Para. [0109] Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) bits may be appended to the DCI payload. In some embodiments, the CRC bits are scrambled with an appropriate RNTI) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Abdoli in the apparatus of Lin and Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for a fully configurable size (size E) can be used for DCI formats 2_0/2_1 (in a TDM manner), which gives a better flexibility of DCI signaling (Abdoli: para. [0132]).
Regarding claim 19, Lin, Liu and Abdoli teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 5, and therefore apparatus claim 19 is rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Moon et al. US 20230254857 A1, hereinafter Moon.
Regarding claim 6, Lin and Liu teach the UE of claim 4, Lin teaches wherein the signaling message further
uplink (UL) transmission with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) specific to the UE (Lin: para. [0346] UE validates, for scheduling activation or scheduling release, a configured UL grant Type 2 PDCCH if: the CRC of a corresponding CGS-DCI format is scrambled with a CGS-RNTI)
and
a DL transmission with the CRC scrambled by the RNTI specific to the UE (Lin: para. [0269] GC-DCI format can include a new RNTI that can be provided by higher layers for scrambling the CRC bits of the GC-DCI format. The new RNTI is referred as group scheduling radio network temporary identifier (GS-RNTI))
Lin does not explicitly teaches: wherein the signaling message further indicates the UE to perform a size alignment between a non-fallback DCI format for scheduling an uplink (UL) transmission and a non-fallback DCI format for scheduling a DL transmission with the CRC scrambled by the RNTI specific to the UE.
Moon from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the signaling message further indicates the UE to perform a size alignment (Moon: para. [0128-0129 & 0110] terminal may align the sizes of the non-fallback DCI formats (e.g., DCI formats 0_2 and 1_2) of a USS set with each other. The aligning the sizes of the uplink non-fallback DCI format (e.g., DCI format 0_2) and downlink non-fallback DCI format (e.g., DCI format 1_2) with each other.) between a non-fallback DCI format for scheduling an uplink (UL) transmission and a non-fallback DCI format for scheduling a DL transmission with the CRC scrambled by the RNTI specific to the UE. (Moon: para. [0074] a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of a common DCI transmitted to the terminal may be scrambled with a system information-radio network temporary identifier (SI-RNTI), paging-RNTI (P-RNT), random access-RNTI (RA-RNTI), temporary cell-RNTI (TC-RNTI), or the like. A group-common DCI may correspond to DCI format 2_X (X=0, 1, 2, . . . ), and a CRC of the group-common DCI transmitted to the terminal may be scrambled with a slot format indicator-RNTI (SFI-RNTI), or the like. The CSS set may include Type 0, Type 0A, Type 1, Type 2, and Type 3 CSS sets). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Moon in the apparatus of Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for downlink communication using aggregated carriers may be efficiently performed. Accordingly, the performance of the communication system may be improved (Moon: para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 20, Lin, Liu and Moon teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 6, and therefore apparatus claim 20 is rejected using the same rationales.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 13, 17, 21 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 1 (pages 9-10), applicant submits:
“First, the activation command and the multiplexed SPS PDSCH as described in Lin are different than "the first DCI format" that is "common to a group of UEs," as recited in independent claim 1. In fact, Lin explains that the group activation command is contained in DL data, a MAC-CE, RRC, or a PDSCH scheduled by a DCI format. See [0174]- [0178]. Specifically, Lin states that the activation command is contained in a PDSCH scheduled by a new GC-DCI format and a size of the new GC-DCI format is aligned with one of an existing DCI format. [0178] and [0221]. The GC-DCI format of Lin does not include padding bits. See Figure 13 and [0293].” (pages 9-10)
As cited in the rejection, Lin in paragraph [0284-0289 & 0268] teaches UE can be provided by higher layers a configuration (corresponds to claim limitation “receive a signaling message”) of the GC-DCI format. The configuration includes at least one of the following: a payload size of the GC-DCI format (corresponds to claim limitation “payload size of a first downlink control information (DCI) format”). Therefore, Lin teaches claim limitation - “receive a signaling message indicating a payload size of a first downlink control information (DCI) format for scheduling a downlink (DL) transmission”.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 1 (pages 9-10), applicant submits:
“Second, Lin fails to disclose "in response to reception of the configuration information, add one or more padding bits to the first DCI format until a size of the first DCI format is equal to the determined payload size, wherein the one or more padding bits in the first DCI format are reserved," as recited in amended independent claim 1. In other words, Lin does not disclose adding padding bits to the activation command, the multiplexed SPS PDSCH, or the new GC-DCI format such that they are equal to a payload size indicated by received configuration information.” (page 10)
As cited in the rejection, Lin in paragraph [0210 & 0151 & 0217-0218] bit-widths are (expected to be) the same, e.g., all [M] activation commands are size-aligned, e.g., using zero-padding (corresponds to claim limitation “adding one or more padding bits”). Fig. 7 780 zero padding and Fig. 10 1050, 1038 and 1048 zero padding.
In addition, the newly cited prior art Liu et al. US 20220345921 A1 teaches in paragraphs [0189-0191] If DCI format 0_0 is monitored in CSS and if the number of information bits in the DCI format 0_0 prior to padding is less than the payload size of the DCI format 1_0 monitored in CSS for scheduling the same cell, a number of zero-padding bits are generated (and appended/added) for the DCI format 0_0 until the payload size equals that of the DCI format 1_0. This cited portion(s) of Liu teaches claim limitation “add one or more padding bits to the first DCI format until a size”.
Furthermore, Liu in paragraph [0138] teaches base station may configure (corresponds to claim limitation “indicated payload size”) a UE to whether monitor PDCCH candidates for DCI format 0_0 and DCI format 1_0, or for DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 1_1 in a USS set via the RRC parameter SearchSpace with information element structure A. Para. [0182] base station and a UE may perform a DCI size alignment operation via padding or truncating some bits of some fields for a DCI format until the DCI format size equals to another DCI size. Therefore, the cited portion or Liu teaches the claim limitation - “until a size of the first DCI format is equal to the indicated payload size.” Thus, the combination of Lin and Liu teach the claimed limitation and rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Pertinent to claim 1 - Salah et al. US 20200328840 A1 teaches appending a zero padding bit to the first DCI format in an event that the first payload size of the first DCI format is equal to the second payload size of the second DCI format.
Pertinent to claim 1 - Han et al. US 20100111107 A1 teaches another padding bit is further appended to the DCI format 1 such that the payload size of the DCI format 1 is not an ambiguous size.
Pertinent to claim 1 - Lee et al. US 20210282165 A1 teaches in para. [0208] When the number of information bits in a sidelink semi-persistent scheduling DCI format mapped to a given search space is less than the payload size of DCI format 0 that is mapped to the same search space, zeros are appended to the sidelink semi-persistent scheduling DCI until the sidelink semi-persistent scheduling DCI has the same size as that of DCI format 0 (including padding bits if present).
/WUTCHUNG CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418