DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the submission filed on 12/9/2025.
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 4 and 7 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
Examiner thanks Applicant for the explanation of relevance for the Sato foreign reference.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's remarks filed 12/9/2025 have been fully considered and have been found not persuasive in full. The amendments clarifying the meaning of “IC” are appreciated.
Oberle teaches associating a second tag’s data with data from the two different first tags by way of a time-based determination threshold. It takes a timestamp of the first reference tag, the product tag, and the second reference tag. If the product tag is within ten seconds of the reference tags, then the location of the product tag is associated with a location between the reference tags. Examiner equates the “same second IC tag” with the product tag in Oberle, and the two different first IC tags as the reference tags in Oberle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oberle (US 2009/0128333).
Claims 1, 4 and 7. Oberle teaches a product management apparatus that manages positions of a plurality of products in a store, wherein, (para. 19, Figure 4 showing computer receiving from reader)
in the store, a showcase for displaying the plurality of products is installed, and a mobile IC tag reader is disposed, (para. 19 showing RFID reader as well as a shelf in Figure 3)
a plurality of first IC tags are attached to the showcase or a floor of the store in a state of being away from one another, and a second IC tag is attached to each of the plurality of products, and (Para. 15, Figure 3 showing first tags attached to shelving, being apart, and second tags for products)
the IC tag reader tries to repeatedly read the first IC tag and the second IC tag while moving within the store, (para. 10 showing interrogation of tags by reader, para. 9 while moving within inventory environment)
the product management apparatus comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions: and (para. 19 showing computer)
at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising: (para. 19 showing computer with software)
acquiring first data read from the first IC tag by the IC tag reader, (para. 19 showing receiving data from reader) first timing information indicating a reading timing of the first data, second data read from the second IC tag by the IC tag reader, and second timing information indicating a reading timing of the second data; and (Figure 3, 302 showing timing of reading for markers)
generating position information indicating positions of the plurality of products in which a plurality of the showcases are set as a reference, by using the first data, the first timing information, the second data, and the second timing information. (Figure 3, 302 showing associating product tags to positions by said timing)
wherein generating the position information comprises, in response to detecting that specific second data read from a same second IC tag is associated with two different pieces of first data read from two different first IC tags, (Oberle para. 21 showing associative data establishments regarding item tags and reference tags) generating information indicating that a product corresponding to the same second IC tag is located between a location of one of the two different first IC tags and a location of the other of the two different first IC tags. (Figure 3 showing determination of item tags between the two reference tags. Examiner interprets the same second tag as an item tag and the two different first tags as the reference tags.)
Claim 7 additionally: a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program executable by a computer. (para. 19 showing computer)
Claims 2, 5 and 8. Oberle teaches the product management apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise, for each piece of the first timing information,
selecting the second timing information in which a difference with respect to the first timing information is equal to or less than a reference, (Figure 3 showing 10 seconds as a reference threshold for determining positioning of products tags)
combining the second data associated with the selected second timing information with the first data associated with the first timing information, and (Figure 3 showing comparison of timing data by looking at positioning tags’ and product tags’ timing data)
generating the position information by using the combination. (Figure 3 showing position determination according to said data)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oberle in view of Kamiya (US 20210356551).
Claims 3, 6 and 9. Oberle teaches the product management apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise, for each piece of the first timing information,
combining the second data associated with the selected second timing information with the first data associated with the first timing information, and (Figure 3 showing comparison of timing data by looking at positioning tags’ and product tags’ timing data)
generating the position information by using the combination. (Figure 3 showing position determination according to said data)
Oberle teaches selecting data within a time range (Figure 3, “within 10 seconds…in the period”), including time up to very nearly the same time as the reference marker, but not the same. However, Kamiya teaches: selecting the second timing information indicating a same timing as the first timing information. (para. 82 showing determining positions of items with same time reading as being together)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of time comparison in Oberle with the known technique of identifying identical readings in Kamiya, because applying the known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an allowing for desired data correlation. (Kamiya para. 82 showing position determination using timestamps being identical or same.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON TUTOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627