Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al (US 20040124733 A1) in view of Imaizumi et al (US 20200106349 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a stator for an electric motor, the stator comprising: a star (fig. 18, stator 30, made of tooth cores 34) comprising a cylindrical central part around which a plurality of teeth extend radially (fig. 18, yoke 33), and a plurality of bobbins configured firstly to receive turns of a winding wire in order to form a coil, and secondly to be positioned around the respective teeth of the star (fig. 1, winding frame 36c), characterized in that wherein the star comprises a plurality of openings formed in the central part thereof between the teeth (fig. 18 marked below), and in that wherein the bobbins comprise a positioning pin arranged on an inner radial part of the bobbin (fig. 2, assembly guide 36d), and wherein, when the bobbin is mounted on the star, the positioning pin being configured to be positioned in an associated opening of the star so as to position the bobbin relative to the star in the axial direction (paragraph 63 “moreover, the assembly guide 36d extends from one end of the winding frame 36c on the yoke core tightening portion side in the lamination direction of the laminate 34b up to the vicinity of the tightening portion of the tooth core 34 in such a manner as to easily guide the insertion of the tooth core 34 into the yoke core 33, and further, it is formed into a rectangular shape having substantially the same width (i.e., the dimension in a direction perpendicular to the lamination direction of the laminate 34b) as that of the tightening portion of the tooth core 34 (i.e., the dimension in the direction perpendicular to the lamination direction of the laminate 34b).”).
Yamamoto does not teach “And wherein the positioning pin is positioned on a side of the bobbin that is directed toward a center of the stator when the bobbin is mounted on the star.”
Imaizumi and wherein the positioning pin is positioned on a side of the bobbin that is directed toward a center of the stator when the bobbin is mounted on the star (fig. 9, claw portion 33).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor and bobbins of Yamamoto with the positioning pins of Imaizumi in order to properly position the bobbins thereby facilitating stator winding alignment thereby improving ease of assembly of the core and the rigidity of the fully assembled core.
With respect to claim 2, Yamamoto in view of Imaizumi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Yamamoto further teaches the bobbins have an annular overall shape of rectangular cross section (fig. 1 and throughout, cross-section of winding frame 36 is generally rectangular).
With respect to claim 3, Yamamoto in view of Imaizumi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Yamamoto further teaches the openings formed in the central part of the star are configured to allow the magnetic field to circulate (paragraph 52 “The magnetic pole piece 46 is a region constituting a magnetic circuit for allowing the magnetic flux from the permanent magnet 42 to flow toward the stator 30 via a clearance defined between the stator 30 and the rotor 40.” And paragraph 57 “The groove 34n is formed in parallel to the longitudinal direction of the tooth core members 34a forming the laminate 34b (or in a direction in which the stator 30 and the rotor 40 face each other, or in a direction of a magnetic path in which the magnetic flux formed by the stator winding 32 flows) in such a manner as not to prevent the flow of the magnetic flux in the magnetic path. The intrusion 34k and the grooves 34m and 34n are formed continuously from one end in the lamination direction of the laminate 34b toward the other end thereof.”).
With respect to claim 4, Yamamoto in view of Imaizumi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Yamamoto further teaches the openings have a rectangular shape and the pins have a square or rectangular shape and are configured to come into contact with an edge of a respective opening in order to immobilize the bobbin in axial translation relative to the star in a first direction (paragraph 63 “the assembly guide 36d extends from one end of the winding frame 36c on the yoke core tightening portion side in the lamination direction of the laminate 34b up to the vicinity of the tightening portion of the tooth core 34 in such a manner as to easily guide the insertion of the tooth core 34 into the yoke core 33, and further, it is formed into a rectangular shape having substantially the same width”), wherein the immobilization of axial translation in the second direction being is provided by an internal wall of the bobbin in contact with a wall of the tooth (paragraph 56 “At the tip of the winding wound portion 34i on a side opposite to the tooth core tip 34j, there is formed an intrusion 34k constituting a tooth core tightening portion to the yoke core 33. Additionally, grooves 34m which constitute tooth core tightening portions to the yoke core 33 and the intrusions formed at the yoke core 33 are intruded at the tip of the winding wound portion 34i on the side opposite to the tooth core tip 34j and symmetric portions of two laminate thick faces 34l facing to each other in the winding wound portion 34i (i.e., two laminate thick faces 34l, in which the unit winding 32a is disposed via the slot insulator 36).” The Examiner is interpreting the combination of grooves and intrusion 34k as immobilizing the tooth core 34a) .
With respect to claim 5, Yamamoto in view of Imaizumi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Yamamoto further teaches the positioning pins have comprised a chamfered part at their free end to facilitate insertion of the positioning pin into an opening of the star (paragraph 63 “, the assembly guide 36d may be formed into a tapered shape having a width which is gradually reduced from the vicinity of the tightening portion of the tooth core 34 toward one end of the winding frame 36c on the yoke core tightening portion side in the lamination direction of the laminate 34b”).
With respect to claim 6, Yamamoto in view of Imaizumi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Yamamoto further teaches the star is formed from a stack of sheet-metal laminations assembled with one another in an axial direction (paragraph 54 “The tooth core 34 is a laminate 34b obtained by laminating, as shown in FIG. 5, a plurality of tooth core members 34a shown in FIG. 6. The tooth core member 34a can be obtained by punching a thin plate-like silicon steel plate as a magnetic member exhibiting a high magnetic permeability with a punch. The plurality of laminated tooth core members 34a are caulked inside of the punch, to be thus tightened together. Otherwise, the plurality of laminated tooth core members 34a are tightened together by welding the outer periphery of the laminate 34b with a laser after the lamination.”).
With respect to claim 7, Yamamoto in view of Imaizumi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Yamamoto further teaches the positioning pin is positioned facing an opening situated at one axial end of the star (paragraph 63 “Moreover, the assembly guide 36d extends from one end of the winding frame 36c on the yoke core tightening portion side in the lamination direction of the laminate 34b up to the vicinity of the tightening portion of the tooth core 34”), wherein the positioning pin being is configured to come into contact with that edge of the opening that is situated at the axial end of the star (fig. 2, and paragraph 63 above, assembly guide contacts axial end of tooth 34a).
With respect to claim 8, Yamamoto in view of Imaizumi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Yamamoto further teaches further comprising a yoke of cylindrical shape configured to be positioned around the star and the coils (fig. 18 yoke 33).
With respect to claim 9, Yamamoto in view of Imaizumi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Yamamoto further teaches the yoke and the star are formed by cutting from a stack of sheet- metal laminations configured to be superposed axially (fig. 14 and paragraph 75 “Furthermore, the yoke core members 33a are laminated in the laminate 33b in such a manner that tightening portions (i.e., split portions) 33g of the yoke core member 33a are shifted stepwise, zigzag or in a brick laying manner in the laminating direction of the yoke core members 33a.” and paragraph 54 “The tooth core 34 is a laminate 34b obtained by laminating, as shown in FIG. 5, a plurality of tooth core members 34a shown in FIG. 6. The tooth core member 34a can be obtained by punching a thin plate-like silicon steel plate as a magnetic member exhibiting a high magnetic permeability with a punch. The plurality of laminated tooth core members 34a are caulked inside of the punch, to be thus tightened together. Otherwise, the plurality of laminated tooth core members 34a are tightened together by welding the outer periphery of the laminate 34b with a laser after the lamination.”).
With respect to claim 10, Yamamoto in view of Imaizumi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Yamamoto further teaches an electric motor comprising a stator as claimed in claim 1one of the preceding claims (fig. 18, stator 30).
With respect to claim 11, Yamamoto in view of Imaizumi teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Yamamoto further teaches method for manufacturing a stator as claimed in claim 1one of claims 1 to 9, the manufacturing method comprising: a step of cutting a stack of sheet-metal laminations to form a star comprising a plurality of teeth (paragraph 54 “the tooth core member 34a can be obtained by punching a thin plate-like silicon steel plate as a magnetic member exhibiting a high magnetic permeability with a punch.”), and a yoke comprising a plurality of slots having a shape complementary to the ends of the teeth (paragraph 73 “The yoke core member 33a is a magnetic member obtained by punching a thin silicon steel plate having a high magnetic permeability with a punch, and further, one circumferential end of an arched unit yoke core member 33c having a predetermined curvature and one circumferential end of another unit yoke core member 33c formed in the same manner as described above are tightened by laser welding or the like in repetition by predetermined times.” And fig 15, recessed cutouts 33d), a step of forming a plurality of openings in the star between the teeth (fig. 18 marked above, and paragraph 62 “he insertion of the tooth core 34 into the yoke core 33 when the unit winding 32a is wound around the yoke core 33 by disposing the unit winding 32a in each of the tooth cores 34.”), a step of forming the coils by winding a winding wire around bobbins comprising a positioning pin on a part that is radially internal when the bobbin is mounted on the star (paragraph 62 “the unit winding 32a is wound around the yoke core 33 by disposing the unit winding 32a in each of the tooth cores 34.”), a step of positioning the coils on the teeth of the star (paragraph 62 “the unit winding 32a is wound around the yoke core 33 by disposing the unit winding 32a in each of the tooth cores 34.”), wherein the positioning pin of the bobbins becoming is inserted in an opening of the star, a step of inserting the star into the yoke using axial translation (paragraph 63 “Moreover, the assembly guide 36d extends from one end of the winding frame 36c on the yoke core tightening portion side in the lamination direction of the laminate 34b up to the vicinity of the tightening portion of the tooth core 34 in such a manner as to easily guide the insertion of the tooth core 34 into the yoke core 33”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.O.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834