DETAILED ACTION
The action is in response to claims dated 3/29/2024
Claims pending in the case: 1-20, 22-29
Cancelled claims: 21
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11-14, 17, 22-25, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (Memory-efficient Transformers via Top-k Attention).
Regarding Claim 1, Gupta teaches, a system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices storing instructions that when executed by the one or more computers cause the one or more computers to implement a neural network (Gupta: Pg. 1 section 1 [1-2]: transformer neural network; Pg. 5 section 3: benchmarking – computer implementation) configured to
process a network input to generate an output sequence comprising a respective output element at each of multiple output positions in an output order (Gupta: Pg. 2 [1]: computing output one chunk at a time),
the output sequence being partitioned into a plurality of subsequences each comprising a different subset of the output elements at respective output positions (Gupta: Pg. 2 [1]: computing output one chunk at a time),
the generating comprising, for each subsequence and for each particular output position in the subsequence, processing an input sequence comprising any previous output elements at respective previous output positions preceding the particular output position in the subsequence (Gupta: Pg. 4, section Query chunking: "we partition the queries into chunks and process them sequentially, one chunk at a time"; Pg. 5, section Improving efficiency through top-k attention: "a highly compressed but accurate representation of QKAT and requires only …. storage") ,
the neural network comprising a sequence of one or more network blocks, the sequence comprising at least one self-attention network block (Gupta: Abstract, Pg. 1 section 1 [1-2]: transformer neural network; Pg. 5, section 3 [1]: "a single self-attention layer" ) configured to perform, for each output position in each subsequence after a first subsequence of the output sequence (Gupta: Pg. 2, [1]: "chunking the query vectors when computing the output one chunk at a time"), operations comprising:
obtaining a block input sequence generated from the input sequence for the output position and comprising a respective block input at each of the previous output positions in the subsequence (Gupta: Pg. 2, [1]: "chunking the query vectors when computing the output one chunk at a time");
for each particular previous output position in the subsequence, applying a self-attention mechanism over the block inputs at the previous output positions to generate a respective attention output for the particular previous output position (Gupta: Pg. 2, [1]: "chunking the query vectors when computing the output one chunk at a time"), wherein applying the self-attention mechanism comprises:
determining a query from the block input at the particular previous output position (Gupta: Pg. 2, [1]: "chunking the query vectors when computing the output one chunk at a time"),
obtaining, from a memory configured to store previous keys and corresponding previous values generated by the neural network when generating previous subsequences preceding the subsequence in the output sequence, one or more particular previous keys and corresponding particular previous values according to a similarity between the determined query and the particular previous values (Gupta: Pg. 5, section -Improving efficiency through top-k attention: "avoid recomputing activations ... a highly compressed but accurate representation of QKT and ... we can cache it in addition to Q, K, v~), and
using the query, previous keys, and previous values to generate the attention output for the particular previous output position (Gupta: Pg. 4, sections -Query chunking and Input checkpointing, Pg. 5 section-Improving efficiency through top-k attention: the current query is processed according to the cached Q, K, V); and
generating, from the attention outputs corresponding to respective previous output positions, a block output sequence comprising a respective block output at each of the previous output positions in the subsequence (Gupta: Pg. 2 [1], Pg. 9 section 5 [1]: chunking the query vectors when computing the output one chunk at a time sequentially).
The examiner finds that sequentially processing query by chunking the query vectors read on the subsequences as claimed in the last limitation. Hence the limitations as claimed are obvious over the teachings in Gupta.
Regarding Claim 2, Gupta teaches the limitations as claimed in claim 1 and, wherein:
the self-attention mechanism is a first self-attention mechanism, and the at least one self-attention network block is configured to perform, for each output position in each subsequence, operations further comprising:
for each particular previous output position in the subsequence, applying a second self-attention mechanism over the block inputs at the previous output positions to generate a respective second attention output for the particular previous output position, wherein applying the second self-attention mechanism comprises:
determining a second query from the block input at the particular previous output position, determining second keys from the block inputs at the plurality of previous output positions, determining second values from the block inputs at the plurality of previous output positions, and using the second query, second keys, and second values to generate the second attention output for the particular previous output position (Gupta: Pg. 2 [1], Pg. 4, sections -Query chunking and Input checkpointing, Pg. 9 section 5 [1]: chunking the query vectors and processing sequentially; Abstract, Pg. 7 section 4: multi-head attention layers- each head performing its own self-attention computation).
Regarding Claim 3, Gupta teaches the limitations as claimed in claim 2 and, wherein, for each particular previous output position, the corresponding query and second query are the same (Gupta: Pg. 2 [1], Pg. 9 section 5 [1]: chunking the query vectors when computing the output one chunk at a time sequentially). The Examiner further notes that the query being same is not functionally involved in the steps recited. Thus, this information appears arbitrary and will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability.
Regarding Claim 4, Gupta teaches the limitations as claimed in claim 2 and, wherein generating the block output sequence comprises, for each particular previous output position, combining (i) the attention output for the particular previous output position and (ii) the second attention output for the particular previous output position (Gupta: Abstract, Pg. 2 [1-4], Pg. 7 section 4: multi-head attention layers- each head performing its own self-attention computation).
Regarding Claim 7, Gupta teaches the limitations as claimed in claim 1 and, wherein obtaining one or more particular previous keys and corresponding particular previous values according to a similarity between the determined query and the particular previous values comprises:
determining, from the previous keys stored by the memory, the one or more particular previous keys that are closest to the determined query according to a distance metric; and obtaining (i) the one or more determined particular previous keys and (ii) for each determined particular previous key, the corresponding particular previous value stored by the memory (Gupta: Abstract, Pg. 2 [1], Pg 3-5 section 2.2: keep k largest similarity scores with respect of the L keys in Top-k Attention).
Regarding Claim(s) 11-14, 17, this/these claim(s) is/are similar in scope as claim(s) 1-4, 7 respectively. Therefore, this/these claim(s) is/are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim(s) 22-25, 27, this/these claim(s) is/are similar in scope as claim(s) 1-4, 7 respectively. Therefore, this/these claim(s) is/are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 5-6, 8-10, 15-16, 18-20, 26, 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (Memory-efficient Transformers via Top-k Attention) in view of Byun (US 20220230623).
Regarding Claim 5, Gupta teaches the limitations as claimed in claim 4 and, wherein, for each particular previous output position, combining (i) the attention output for the particular previous output position and (ii) the second attention output for the particular previous output position comprises summing the attention output and the second attention output position (Gupta: Abstract, Pg. 2 [1-4], Pg. 3 section 2.1 [2], Pg. 7 section 4: multi-head attention layers- each head performing its own self-attention computation); The limitation appear to claim the fundamentals of muti-head attention which combines all of the attention outputs;
Nonetheless Byun teaches, combining the attention outputs (Byun: Figs 4A-4B, [90-91, 100-101, 103, 110]: combine multi-head attention outputs);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gupta and Byun because the combination would enable using multi-head attention outputs to generate combined output. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because the combination utilizes the inherent benefits of using Multi-head attention to improve deep learning models by running multiple attention operations in parallel, allowing the network to capture diverse relationships and feature maps.
Regarding Claim 6, Gupta teaches the limitations as claimed in claim 2 and,
Byun further teaches, the operations further comprising: providing, for each previous output position in the subsequence, the corresponding second key and second value to the memory for future stages (Byun: Figs 4A-4B, [87, 110]: Key values generated for future stages).
The same motivation to combine as stated above applies.
Regarding Claim 8, Gupta teaches the limitations as claimed in claim 1 and, wherein using the query, previous keys, and previous values to generate the attention output for the particular previous output position comprises: for each of the one or more previous keys, generating a respective weight value by determining a product of the query and the previous key; and computing a weighted sum of the previous values, wherein each previous value is weighted according to the weight value generated from the corresponding previous key (Gupta: Pg. 3 section 2.1, Pg 4 equation 4: Multi head Attention); The limitation appear to claim the fundamentals of muti-head attention operation;
Nonetheless Byun teaches, generating weights in multi-head operation (Byun: [94, 106]: updating weights to train network);
The same motivation to combine as stated above applies.
Regarding Claim 9, Gupta and Byan teach the limitations as claimed in claim 8 and, wherein, for each of the one or more previous keys, generating a respective weight value comprises normalizing the determined product of the query and previous key using one or more of: a dimensionality of the query, a sum of the products of the query and respective previous keys, or a sum of a set of second products computed between the query and respective second keys determined from the block inputs at the previous output positions in the subsequence (Gupta: Abstract, Pg, 4 [4], Pg. 7 section 4: BERT-base transformer architecture; multi-head attention layers- each head performing its own self-attention computation) (Byan [88-91]: generating outputs using key values).
Regarding Claim 10, Gupta teaches the limitations as claimed in claim 1 and, Gupta and Byan further teach, wherein the sequence of network blocks further comprises one or more local self-attention network blocks that are each configured to perform, at each stage, operations comprising, for each output position in each subsequence after a first subsequence of the output sequence:
obtaining a local self-attention block input sequence generated from the input sequence for the output position and comprising a respective local self-attention block input at each of the previous output positions in the subsequence; for each particular previous output position in the subsequence, applying a third self-attention mechanism over the local self-attention block inputs at the previous output positions to generate a respective third attention output for the particular previous output position, wherein applying the third self-attention mechanism comprises:
determining a third query from the local self-attention block input at the particular previous output position ,determining third keys from the local self-attention block inputs at the previous output positions in the subsequence, determining third values from the local self-attention block inputs at the previous output positions in the subsequence, and using the third query, third keys, and third values to generate the third attention output for the particular previous output position (Gupta: Abstract, Pg, 4 [4], Pg. 7 section 4: BERT-base transformer architecture; multi-head attention layers- each head performing its own self-attention computation) (Byan: Figs. 4A-B, [87-91, 94, 108]: generating outputs using key values).
The same motivation to combine as stated above applies.
Regarding Claim(s) 15-16, 18-20, this/these claim(s) is/are similar in scope as claim(s) 5-6, 8-10respectively. Therefore, this/these claim(s) is/are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim(s) 26, 28-29 this/these claim(s) is/are similar in scope as claim(s) 6, 8-9 respectively. Therefore, this/these claim(s) is/are rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the attached 892.
/Mandrita Brahmachari/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144